Topic
  • 2 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2010-01-27T11:06:00Z by SystemAdmin
jkotuby
jkotuby
1 Post

Pinned topic In what context do I use xQuery?

‏2010-01-26T14:00:23Z |
Hi all,
I am new to the open source programming world after 20 years working with other languages like cobol, dbase, and more recently Microsoft ASP.NET.

I am studying PHP, JavaScript and XML data manipulation.
I have spent quite a bit of time looking at xQuery as it appears to be the answer to my task of querying raw XML files that I must work with.
I would like to utilize a query such as:

for $x in doc("books.xml")/bookstore/book
where $x/price>30
order by $x/title
return $x/title

But, I have no idea what context to use it in. I have some XML files on a web server and wish to run a query like that with PHP if possible because I don't want to pull 1 MB files into the browser memory using JavaScript and AJAX. I just want to return the results of an XML query on the web server and display them in the browser in HTML.

So far searches with the keywords "xQuery" and "PHP" combined have yielded not much.

My first simple goal is to:
1. Pass a numeric ID value to a PHP script.
2. Use PHP to look up that ID in an XML file where the "id" is an attribute of a <person> element. I will post a snippet of the XML below.
3. I want to return the contents of a "name" attribute that is a sibling of the "id" attribute in the found <person> element.

So far I have managed the following PHP with XPath which returns to the browser "Array". At this point I don't even know how to process an array in PHP, but I really just need the value of the "name" attribute.

Here is my PHP code so far...
<?php
$asdf = simplexml_load_file('../data/xml/people.xml');
$query = "/people/person";
echo $asdf->xpath($query);
?>

Here is an example of the XML...

<?xml version="1.0" ?>
<people session="111">