Topic
11 replies Latest Post - ‏2009-11-12T06:41:37Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
37426 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Trouble installing WAS 6.1 on AIX ?!?!

‏2009-09-17T16:51:03Z |
I am a newbie attempting to install WAS v6.1 (32bit Base) on AIX (oslevel 6100-03). I 'passed' the prereq check and I followed the step by step instructions,
set 'umask 022'
use correct JDK +'./install -is:javahome opt/JDK/jre.pak/repository/package.java.jre/java/jre'+there is plenty of disk space, and I have an acceptable Mozilla browser (1.7.13)
I have killed java, and rebooted to no avail. I am installing remotely, with the display exported to my XP laptop running (Xming)

I have attempted to install, and directories for /usr/IBM/WebSphere are created, however the contents are missing subdirectories like /bin, /logs, /configuration etc.

I have an installation that I can compare to, and I know there are a lot of things missing. After doing a manual uninstall, using the procedures from documentation I am back at the beginning. I have been trying this for a week.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Updated on 2009-11-12T06:41:37Z at 2009-11-12T06:41:37Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    37426 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Trouble installing WAS 6.1 on AIX ?!?!

‏2009-09-17T17:01:13Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    I think if the installation is failed....it will create a log in the temp directory for WINDOWS environment. So you probably can check for the log in the temp directory of AIX environment with respect to the timestamp you started the WAS installation. I hope that log will explain why the installation is failed.

Thanks....
  • BrettS741
    BrettS741
    31 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

‏2009-09-17T18:31:33Z  in response to SystemAdmin