4 replies Latest Post - ‏2011-08-12T10:04:32Z by bwilliams
bwilliams
bwilliams
41 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Publishing Engine, DocExpress, WEXP

‏2009-03-11T12:41:38Z |
Hello all

Im a product manager in IBM Rational (from the legacy Telelogic organization), and Publishing Engine (and the product it replaces, DocExpress) fall under my remit.

DocExpress is no longer for new customers to purchase.
WEXP was a DOORS only professional services script that has not been available for a couple of years, and is incompatible with later DOORS versions.

Having used DocExpress (and WEXP, as well as the built in export capabilities of DOORS) for a number of years supporting real customer implementations before I moved into product management, I was acutely aware of the importance of document generation in the systems and software development lifecycles and the pains that customers faced with the current generation of solutions.

We set about to conceive a replacement for these legacy solutions that addressed all of their shortcomings, including, but not limited to:

* Performance (TPE generates documents from DOORS on average 40 to 60 times the speed of DocExpress and WEXP)
* Invasiveness (TPE does not use the system clipboard and as such you can carry on working with typical copy/paste functions in other applications without interfering with document generation)
* Pre-requisites (TPE does not require the target application (eg MS Word) to be installed on the system performing the document generation)
* Modular (TPE can add additional input data sources and output formats very easily without risk of affecting other parts of the codebase. This helps us ensure such new capabilities can be added more quickly, and that overall product stability and quality is higher)