16 replies Latest Post - ‏2011-03-06T09:51:16Z by mikee111
mikee111
mikee111
13 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic branch histories

‏2008-12-29T04:31:59Z |
Hi,
I have a problem with using branch and hint histories which I got out of the cell simulator. I was able to get to a branch which is mispredicted (ran spu-gdb on ps3 and disas'd to the address) .. but I dont really know what to do now ;] because I have no idea how to "link" this branch in asm with a branch in my code ..

thanks for any hint
michal

ps. i am finishing my diploma thesis now, a part of it was implementing a ray-tracer with different acc. structures on Cell (currently BIH and KDT) ... let's say that me not being a linux guru (I am a game programmer, a windows person usually :]) really made be bang my head against the wall a lot in the last few months ;] lots of times I felt that the documentation just presumed that people are linux experts (this ps is not about the branch histories in particular, this is just my first post here, so I felt a need to say this :])
Updated on 2011-03-06T09:51:16Z at 2011-03-06T09:51:16Z by mikee111
  • mikee111
    mikee111
    13 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: branch histories

‏2008-12-29T07:23:16Z  in response to mikee111
    I've managed to get help from my roomie, who happens to know his way around *nix .. anyhow, through gdb disas and info line I can look at which branch is where in code ... now, what's weird is this

my histories look like this: http://www.pastebin.cz/13657

I am wondering, shouldn't there be always a branch for every hint?
    on line 109 you can find

line 109 hbrr 0x00f4c: 0x00f8c 0x00c68 9716 0 9716

there's a branch there (on f8c), but it is not listed in branch history .... instead on line 75 is 0x00d80, which does not point to a line with a branch (which is kinda confusing for me, why is there a wrong address) ... but the stats correspond to the while cycle happening on f8c

line 75 brhnz 0x00d80: 9716 3928 5788 0 3928