Do you have a particular question?
    • SystemAdmin
      SystemAdmin
      47293 Posts
      ACCEPTED ANSWER

RE: [cciug] SVN to Clearcase migration

‏2008-07-02T13:30:20Z  in response to Tgefen
      Hi,
      Thanks for your reply. I need step by step procedure to move all the source code from SVN to clearcase. I have never done this ever before.

Please help

Regards
      Irfan.
      -----Original Message-----
      From: cciug-bounces@lists.ca.ibm.com mailto:cciug-bounces@lists.ca.ibm.com On Behalf Of Rational ClearCase
      Sent: Wednesday, July 02, 2008 3:55 PM
      To: cciug@lists.ca.ibm.com
      Subject: Re: cciug SVN to Clearcase migration

I did it a few years ago.

Do you have a particular question?

• SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    47293 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: [cciug] SVN to Clearcase migration

‏2008-07-02T11:45:03Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    There is a open source program called svn2cc that works pretty well. You can download it at http://svn2cc.sarovar.org. If you choose to use this tool, a couple things I would recommend are:
    1. Clean out your svn repository. Primarily make sure no file names contain a '$' as it will cause the load to fail due to a regex parsing error.
    2. When dumping your svn repository (the svn2cc uses a svn dump file), keep the dump to small blocks of revisions incrementally. I kept the blocks 100 revs or less. This will make recovering from any errors much easier. The first dump I did not add the incremental flag too.
    Example dumps:
    svnadmin dump -r 0:100 > dump-1-100.dmp
    svnadmin dump -r 101:200 --incremental > dump-101-200.dmp
    3. Create a dedicated CC stream for the import process.
    4. Create a dedicated CC label for the import process.