Topic
IC4NOTICE: developerWorks Community will be offline May 29-30, 2015 while we upgrade to the latest version of IBM Connections. For more information, read our upgrade FAQ.
3 replies Latest Post - ‏2008-05-27T00:51:23Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
1130 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Which diagram to use to show different outcomes based on event sequences?

‏2008-05-22T13:31:50Z |
Hi

I'm fairly new to UML, and want to model a given use case (update order), which could have different outcomes depending on a given sequence of events from two objects interacting asynchronously.

For example, one out come is where message (m1) from object 1 is sent before a message (m2) is received from object 2.

The other outcome is when the same message (m1) from object 1 is sent after the message (m2) is received from object 2.

At the moment I think I need two separate sequence diagrams to show both possible scenarios. Would that be the best approach?

Thanks
Updated on 2008-05-27T00:51:23Z at 2008-05-27T00:51:23Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    1130 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: [uml] Which diagram to use to show different outcomes based on event sequences?

‏2008-05-22T22:03:13Z  in response to SystemAdmin
    What you are referring to is asynchronous processing.
    Here is one way to do it:
    Take a look at the message numbering format on a communications diagram. You
    can number the messages on a sequence diagram if you like. Use an uppercase
    letter at the beginning of the message ID to identify the thread.
    Scott

On Thu, May 22, 2008 at 8:31 AM, uml wrote:

Hi

I'm fairly new to UML, and want to model a given use case (update order),
    which could have different outcomes depending on a given sequence of events
    from two objects interacting asynchronously.

For example, one out come is where message (m1) from object 1 is sent
    before a message (m2) is received from object 2.