• 5 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2008-03-28T19:53:11Z by SystemAdmin
evandras
evandras
4 Posts

Pinned topic z/OS log trace etc. import

‏2008-02-25T16:57:18Z |
Hi

I'm in searching for a tool to analyse and evaluate the z/OS log , trace, SMF etc. files, and
I found in the WebSphere Developer for System Z the various log trace samples.
It is fine, but the log views in my current versions are not very nice and most of them are not very usefull in the current form.

My questions:
  • Exist somewhere something better adapter/formatter ?
  • I would like to write some adapter or converter for exsisting GTF, SMF etc output to the Common Base Event format,
where can I start ?
(as I'm not very experienced in Java I would prefer a C++ API)
Updated on 2008-03-28T19:53:11Z at 2008-03-28T19:53:11Z by SystemAdmin
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    549 Posts

Re: z/OS log trace etc. import

‏2008-02-27T12:06:27Z  
    I am not sure how old is ur WebSphere Developer or the adapters. You may try the BTM Toolkit, which might have a newer version:
    http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/autonomic/btmpd/

You may either use the "Log and Trace Analyzer, GLA, and Eclipse" for an eclipse environment or "Log and Trace Analyzer for Java Desktop" if you want a java swing application. But note that Log and Trace Analyzer for Java Desktop doesn't support remote import of log files thru RAC (but instead u can use a URL to access remote logs).

You may also try the ISA (IBM Support Assistant), it also ships the LTA tool (This forum supports only BTM Toolkit)
    http://www-306.ibm.com/software/support/isa/

Regarding creating a new one... you have two options:
    1) Static Adapter - you have to write a java class with the parsing logic (faster performance)
    2) Rules Adapter - the parse logic is written as regular expressions (slower, but easy)

Check these articles on creating a rules-based adapter: