• 4 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2007-05-30T16:32:37Z by SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
SystemAdmin
1525 Posts

Pinned topic Users in database

‏2007-03-18T17:22:07Z |
Hello,

I'm working on application to store some kind of medical data. Let say, that I would like to have these tables:
Users (to store users names, surnames, age and some settings),
Measurements (to store results)

Every row in Measurements table will be iditified by user ID.

I have problem with built-in authentication. Should I, when I'm creating new user, not only add this new user to the built-in repository(call syscs_util.syscs_set_database_property('derby.user.userName', 'userPassword')), but also somehow add him to the Users table? Basically, what I want to do, is to have user ID to address results. I hope you know what I mean, but if not I can provide some more pieces of information.

(I am a newbie in this area)

Regards,

Stanley
Updated on 2007-05-30T16:32:37Z at 2007-05-30T16:32:37Z by SystemAdmin
  • Jean_Anderson
    Jean_Anderson
    179 Posts

Re: Users in database

‏2007-03-19T16:43:47Z  
    Hi, to enable builtin authentication, you need to first enable authentication and set the provider to BUILTIN:

1) Enable authentication:codederby.connection.requireAuthentication=true[/code]http://db.apache.org/derby/docs/dev/devguide/cdevcsecure36127.html

2) Set the provider to BUILTIN:codederby.authentication.provider=BUILTIN[/code]http://db.apache.org/derby/docs/dev/devguide/cdevcsecure21547.html

Once you have done those two steps you can add your builtin users.

Did you enable authentication and set the provider to BUILTIN?

regards,

-jean
  • SystemAdmin
    SystemAdmin
    1525 Posts

‏2007-05-14T17:02:20Z  
    Hi, to enable builtin authentication, you need to first enable authentication and set the provider to BUILTIN:

1) Enable authentication:codederby.connection.requireAuthentication=true[/code]http://db.apache.org/derby/docs/dev/devguide/cdevcsecure36127.html