Topic
  • 2 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-04-30T20:55:35Z by sagar.kar
sagar.kar
sagar.kar
2 Posts

Pinned topic Message broker 8.0 with Oracle XE ODBC

‏2013-04-24T23:51:14Z |

I am very new to Message broker. I just started to play around with it.

I was trying to setup odbc connection with oracle xe and test record and replay functionality of message broker 8.0.

Oracle Database 11g Express Edition Release 11.2.0.2.0

I was reading the article from http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/websphere/tutorials/1212_storey/

This article talks about DB2 but I have oracle xe on my laptop hence was trying out with oracle.

My laptop is running on Windows 7 professional edition 64 bit version.

Websphere Message broker 8 is also 64 bit version.

When I run the following command.

mqsisetdbparms MB8BROKER -n odbc::MBRECORD -u xyzabc -p xyzabc

it says "BIP8071I: Successful command completion."

However mqsicvp doesn't run successfully.

C:\IBM\MQSI\8.0.0.1>mqsicvp MB8BROKER -n MBRECORD
BIP8272E: Datasource 'MBRECORD' has not been associated with broker 'MB8BROKER'.

This invocation of the mqsicvp command requires that the datasource name has bee
n associated with the broker, using the mqsisetdbparms command.
Check that this datasource has been associated with the broker.

However if I prefix the datasource name with odbc:: then it gives me another error. When I tested the odbc data source in the windows Data Source dialog by clicking on the Test connection it works fine.

C:\IBM\MQSI\8.0.0.1>mqsicvp MB8BROKER -n odbc::MBRECORD

BIP2393E: Database error: ODBC return code '-1' from data source ''odbc::MBRECOR
D'' using ODBC driver manager ''odbc32.dll''.
The broker received an error when processing a database operation. The ODBC retu
rn code was '-1'. See the following messages for information obtained from the d
atabase about this error.
Use the following messages to determine the cause of the error. Typical problems