IC5Notice: We have upgraded developerWorks Community to the latest version of IBM Connections. For more information, read our upgrade FAQ.
Topic
  • 6 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2013-08-21T09:59:47Z by wanye_m
wanye_m
wanye_m
4 Posts

Pinned topic custom report of processes and versions?

‏2013-05-01T12:32:49Z |

I'm pretty new to systems director (our server went live a few weeks ago) and i'm trying to get a custom report out of it...

I've set up a bunch of static and dynamic groups based on our server types/functions (eg reporting, batch, who manages them, etc)

what i'm trying to now get out of them is a custom list of what processes are running on a server and what version of the program it is.

in the "view and collect inventory" section i've got a traget systems group of servers, but when i go to "manage profiles" there doesnt seem to be a way to set up a custom list.

I'm not bothered about which windows patches are installed, or other stuff like that, what i need is to set a list of possible apps running eg:

c:\program1\customapplication1.exe

c:\program2\customapplication2.exe

c:\program3\customapplication3.exe

(or in the case of linux servers)

/opt/app1/bin/customapplication1

and so on. then if a server has that application installed (and running) on a machine, for it to report the executable name, version, datestamp and a few other bits.

then i want to be able to apply this to a group of servers (target systems) and output to csv/html/etc like you can by selecting something like the "basic windows info" option in "view by" and then "export all"

does that make sense?

is it possible? i've spent the last two days trying to figure out how to do this... it's for a report we want to run every few months to identify servers running old versions of the custom applications running...

cheers,

w.

*edit*