IC5Notice: We have upgraded developerWorks Community to the latest version of IBM Connections. For more information, read our upgrade FAQ.
Topic
  • 5 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2014-12-02T15:40:29Z by Robin400
JustAFreeName
JustAFreeName
10 Posts

Pinned topic Where to place "ON ENDFILE" within a PACKAGE?

‏2014-08-11T09:51:58Z |

Hi all.

I need an advice. Maybe someone can give a hint.

I coded a z/OS Batchprogramm using some files.

The coding pattern was "nested procedures", like this

PGM: PROCEDURE OPTIONS (MAIN)

DCL FILE...

ONE ENDFILE EOF = '1'B;

P1: PROCEDURE

END P1;

P2: PROCDURE

END P2;

END PGM;

OK. I studied the "Programming Guide" where I found the Topic "nested procedures vs. package"

I switched to the package style.

PKG: PACKAGE  EXPORTS( PGM )

DCL FILE...

ON ENDFILE EOF = '1'B;

PGM: PROCEDURE OPTIONS( MAIN)

END PGM;

P1: PROCEDURE

END P1;

P2: PROCDURE

END P2;

END PKG;

OK. The compiler was not happy. The "ON ENDFILE EOF = '1'B;" was flagged. => No executable statments outside a procedure.

I tried different alternative. The only working one was to place the ON ENDFILE as the first statement in the PROCEDURE PGM.

As I have total 4 files, each has ON UNDEFIED and ON ENDFILE, the placement of these ON-Blocks in the Code of my main procedure PGM

hurts my aesthetic feeling of code.

Can anyone give a hint where to plac file related ON Blocks when using PACKAGE()?

Thx for any feedback.

JustAFreeName 

• PeteKidwell
    PeteKidwell
    6 Posts

Re: Where to place "ON ENDFILE" within a PACKAGE?

‏2014-08-11T12:09:19Z  

The "No executable statements outside a procedure" error is not new, and not related to the PACKAGE style of coding.  Even in your original example, the entire PGM block is itself a main procedure, and that is where all code, including the ON-blocks, resides.