Topic
6 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-06-03T15:19:38Z by 3A6E_Tom_Russell
3A6E_Tom_Russell
3A6E_Tom_Russell
9 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic EBCDIC HTML pages in WAS 8.5 Liberty

‏2013-05-17T15:41:18Z |

I am migrating a servlet from the WAS 3.5 plugin to the HTTP server on z/OS 1.8 to WAS 8.5 Liberty Profile on z/OS 1.13.  I admit I am new to WAS, but I have a lot of experience with z/OS.

This servlet does a lot of its work by creating html on disk and then sending a small page to the client which contains a frameset with multiple frames that use SRC= to point at the html files it created.  I have most of this working now. 

However, I found that on one code path, the servlet sends a file name to the host, and the host puts the html into the file.  When this html file is rendered by the SRC= in the frameset page, it shows as garbage. The page that the host created is in EBCDIC.  All other pages generated by the servlet are in ASCII. 

The production application (WAS 3.5 plugin) renders the page correctly.

I have tested by editing the html file to change the first line to include a <meta http-equiv="content-type" content='text/html; charset=IBM-1047"> but it still displays as garbage.

Is there some option in Liberty that tells it to translate pages?  

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

regards, Tom

• bergmark
    bergmark
    42 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: EBCDIC HTML pages in WAS 8.5 Liberty

‏2013-05-21T20:17:52Z  in response to 3A6E_Tom_Russell

Assuming I am correctly understanding the problem, you likely have at least a couple different options:

1) Explicitly specify the file encoding of the html file you are writing to the file system.  For example if you are using a PrintWriter you can pass the desired encoding as part of the constructor.

2) Set -Dfile.encoding=desiredEncoding value in jvm.options file to change the default file.encoding for the Liberty jvm.

• 3A6E_Tom_Russell
    3A6E_Tom_Russell
    9 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER