• 3 replies
  • Latest Post - ‏2014-02-06T22:57:13Z by schwicht
htanamas
htanamas
5 Posts

Pinned topic SCE with existing infrastructure

‏2013-06-26T01:34:54Z |

Hi,

I am new to SCE. Would like to know whether SCE could (after 1st install and add all necessary clouds):

1. Recognize and import all existing VMs from vCenter
  2. Recognize and import all existing PowerVM

Thank you for any response.

Updated on 2013-06-26T01:35:56Z at 2013-06-26T01:35:56Z by htanamas
  • WissamElriachy
    WissamElriachy
    9 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: SCE with existing infrastructure

‏2013-06-27T21:35:05Z  

Hi,

For Vcenter, the VMs will show up on the SCE side as long as they show up in the vcenter inventory.

For Power, it's different. Only workloads can show up on the SCE side. So if you have existing workloads that you deployed through VMC, those will show up fine. On the other hand, if you only have lpars, I believe VMC will allow you to build a workload from an existing lpar. Once you do that, the workload will show up in SCE.

I hope this helps,

Wissam

• WissamElriachy
    WissamElriachy
    9 Posts

‏2013-06-27T21:35:05Z  

Hi,

For Vcenter, the VMs will show up on the SCE side as long as they show up in the vcenter inventory.

For Power, it's different. Only workloads can show up on the SCE side. So if you have existing workloads that you deployed through VMC, those will show up fine. On the other hand, if you only have lpars, I believe VMC will allow you to build a workload from an existing lpar. Once you do that, the workload will show up in SCE.

I hope this helps,

Wissam

• cgrvy
    cgrvy
    6 Posts

‏2013-12-19T20:52:39Z  

Is it possible to automatically set all VM's in an existing environment to go into a project folder that is hidden from all users bar Admin ones? I know you can move them after the install, but if you have other users creating vm's in vCenter, they will show up in the public folder in SCE.