Topic
2 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-06-19T17:24:37Z by syik
syik
syik
14 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic RDz Add new Custom Code Review Rule - Java Source Sample?

‏2013-06-13T19:40:25Z |

Hi,

I am trying to add a new custom rule to RDz code review. I have watched the Youtube video by Cindy Krauss  regarding of the process needed for new custom rule. I understand the example in the video and did tried the same and work. Since I am not a java programmer (still learning) and  have limited knowledge on Java. I have been struggling on the java coding part to put my new rule. I am trying to add a rule so that the paragraph name should start with a sequence number such as 0100-XXXXX.  In the Cobol rule Template, I choose Paragraph.   But I have problem when I get to the point of changing the java source on the visit method. By looking at the javadoc, it seems getSentences is the only feature for paragraph. And the getSentences return is a list. And I don't know how to do it. I was thinking may be I can get the paragraph name and then check if the first few character is a number, something like that.  Just wondering if anyone has try to create similar rule?  Also, is there any resource that we can look at the java source for all code review rules that come with RDz? I think it will definitely help to have a better understanding of the java code if it is available.

Thanks  Sidney

• jgellin
    jgellin
    11 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: RDz Add new Custom Code Review Rule - Java Source Sample?

‏2013-06-17T19:22:14Z  in response to syik

Hi Sidney - 

Since Java is an object-oriented language, each class inherits the public features of it's parent classes. Let's take another look at the Paragraph Javadoc:

http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/ratdevz/v8r5/topic/com.ibm.rsar.analysis.codereview.cobol.doc/javadoc/cobmodelapi/com/ibm/etools/cobol/application/model/cobol/Paragraph.html