Topic
6 replies Latest Post - ‏2014-01-09T08:08:08Z by MatthiasNicola
XpertDBA
XpertDBA
3 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Updating attributes

‏2014-01-07T21:03:50Z |

Hello,  I'm a DB2 PureXML newbie, so sorry if this question is easy or obvious.

If I have repeating pieces of XML like the following that have different appender elements, and I want to change an attribute inside a particular block based upon the value of another attribute (for example the appender name), what would be an example of an UPDATE statement I could write for this case.  For example if I want to change the value to FALSE for one of the Param name attributes with the Appender name one (i.e. APPENDER NAME = LambLogServer, and Param name = APPEND).

- <appender name="LambLogServer"class="org.apache.log4j.DailyRollingFileAppender">
  <param name="DatePattern"value="'.'yyyy-MM-dd" />
  <param name="File"value="${user.install.root}/logs/app/pubsub.log" />
  <param name="Append"value="true" />
- <layout class="com.g2switch.common.logger.G2PatternLayout">
  <param name="ConversionPattern"value="%D|%T|%z|%l|%p|%I|%c|%N|%t|%m|%E%n" />
  </layout>
  </appender>
- <appender name="DataTrackingHandOffLogServer"class="org.apache.log4j.DailyRollingFileAppender">
  <param name="DatePattern"value="'.'yyyy-MM-dd" />
  <param name="File"value="${user.install.root}/logs/app/dataTrackingHandoff.log" />
  <param name="Append"value="true" />
- <layout class="com.g2switch.common.logger.G2PatternLayout">
  <param name="ConversionPattern"value="%D|%T|%z|%l|%p|%I|%c|%N|%t|%m|%E%n" />
  </layout>
  </appender>

• MatthiasNicola
    MatthiasNicola
    309 Posts
    ACCEPTED ANSWER

Re: Updating attributes

‏2014-01-08T16:20:39Z  in response to XpertDBA

Hello,

you might find the following article useful, which explains different ways of writing XML updates in DB2.

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/data/library/techarticle/dm-0710nicola/