• 1 reply
  • Latest Post - ‏2019-04-12T06:54:17Z by DanielJunglas
Gert-Jaap
Gert-Jaap
2 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic Multithreaded Optimization and Lazy Constraint Callback

‏2019-04-10T17:44:13Z | callback; mip; parallel synchronisation

I have been using CPLEX for a few years now. Currently, I am working on a project where I solve a difficult MIP while using a Lazy Constraint Callback. Now I have noted the following issue: I start solving my model (a minimization objective in my case), and at some point a feasible solution is found, no lazy constraints can be added, so this is set as the incumbent. Let's assume this has objective value 100. Then in some parallel threads, other parts of the branch and bound tree are explored. What happens is that this other thread can explore a node of which the objective is higher than that of the incumbent, e.g., the value is 150. Then it keeps adding lazy constraints if applicable, even though the objective value can never get better than that of the incumbent solution (100). It only stops when it finds out that no lazy constraints have to be added any more, or that the node has no longer an integer feasible solution and more branching is needed. However, my impression is that this callback is doing a lot of useless work, it can better spend it's time on other things as another thread already found a better solution, so the current node of this thread with value 150 can already be pruned.