This isn't new, but one of my favorite preference settings is this one:
This preference prevents you from accidentally starting a chat or call with a group when you didn't meant to. (You still can, you just get prompted first).
You can find this setting on the Contact List tab of preferences.
IBM Sametime design
with Tags: preferences X