Every now and then, users with the necessary access(authors,editors,etc) accidentally restart the workflow on content . This can cause unintended consequences often causing the content item go through the whole workflow process again to get published . The following property setting can control access to the button and hide it from users who would otherwise be able to invoke it .
workflowrestart.requires.manager = true
wcmconfigservice.properties Or via the WCM WCMConfigService service.
Notes on the settings Setting this to true means editors will not see the button and only managers and above will. This means the user will need delete access to restart workflow.It also adds the 'restart workflow' to those actions that can be hidden at the authoring template. This provides the user more control over the restart workflow button allowing the restart workflow to be hidden from authors and approvers.