内容


使用 Rational Performance Tester 执行 WebSphere Commerce 性能测试,第 1 部分

使用 Rational Performance Tester 设计测试

Comments

系列内容:

此内容是该系列 # 部分中的第 # 部分: 使用 Rational Performance Tester 执行 WebSphere Commerce 性能测试,第 1 部分

敬请期待该系列的后续内容。

此内容是该系列的一部分:使用 Rational Performance Tester 执行 WebSphere Commerce 性能测试,第 1 部分

敬请期待该系列的后续内容。

简介

WebSphere Commerce 是 IBM 的企业电子商务解决方案。网站性能和可靠性是人们一直关注的一个问题。要解决此问题,可通过 Rational Performance Tester 等工具执行性能测试和件事。一个 WebSphere Commerce 解决方案由多个软件应用程序和集成组成,因此,性能问题可能很复杂,而且是多方面的。部署的硬件资源是另一个因素,因为它们可能会限制整体解决方案的可伸缩性。

要执行性能测试,首先要制定一个测试计划,定义用来评估结果的目标和标准。测试在性质上是迭代式的,因为结果可能导致应用程序调优、代码修改或资源重新分配。然后必须重新测试这些更改来观察是性能是提高了还是降低了。

编写测试需要理解生产中发生了哪些商业事务,以及如何真实地重新创建这些事务。事务信息可从 Web 分析工具中找到,或者通过检查应用程序日志和数据库表来找到。要模拟的事务量应该基于正常和峰值业务活动期间所预期的情况。可以在 Rational Performance Tester 中使用进度表和随机选择器的特性来模拟这种情况。

性能测试需要提供有意义且可由利益相关者解释的结果。一些相关的重要性能指标包括:

  • 订单吞吐量
  • 响应时间
  • 页面查看次数
  • CPU 利用率
  • 缓存命中率
  • 数据库 SQL 活动

订单吞吐量显示了解决方案可处理的事务的收益率。可增加测试工作负载来查看是否可以支持更大的订单吞吐量,同时不超出响应时间和 CPU 资源等限制。响应时间直接影响到客户满意度,与吞吐量呈反比关系。页面查看次数指标表明了网站的流行度,无论它是否创造收入。架构师和开发人员对系统细节感兴趣,比如 CPU 利用率、缓存命中率和数据库 SQL 活动,他们需要知道修改哪些方面来实现更高性能。Rational Performance Tester 可联系应用程序度量指标来提供这些细节。

这是一个由 3 部分组成的文章系列的第 1 部分。第 1 部分将介绍设计编写过程中的设计和重用。第 2 部分将介绍如何实现浏览 Commerce 目录。第 3 部分将介绍问题判定并提供调查测试问题的技巧。

设计测试

本文将介绍设计 Rational Performance Tester 测试的一些建议。本文的内容包括:

  • 模块化测试以重用它们
  • 使用局部和全局变量
  • 清理 cookie 缓存
  • 设置针对响应的验证点
  • 按进度表对事务中的任务进行排序
  • 配置自动 HTTP 重定向

所有示例中使用的目录是平衡的,包含 3 个一级类别。每个类别有两个子类别,每个子类别有 3 款产品,如 图 1 所示。

图 1. 目录结构
该图显示了一个目录结构,其中包含 3 个一级类别,每个类别包含 2 个子类别,每个子类别包含 3 款产品
该图显示了一个目录结构,其中包含 3 个一级类别,每个类别包含 2 个子类别,每个子类别包含 3 款产品

模块化和重用

在 Rational Performance Tester 中,测试的构建通常从记录开始。在这一节中,将记录一个注册用户的一次端到端浏览对话,并将它修改为可重用的测试,然后用它来构建一个测试进度表。

记录会经历以下路径,如 图 2 中所述:主页 → 登录 → 通过 Departments 按钮浏览到顶级类别 #2 → 浏览到子类别 #4 → 显示产品 #10 → 退出

图 2. 测试记录
该图显示了测试记录内容

该记录生成了一组页面,这些页面可划分到 4 个可重用的测试中:

  • 主页
  • 登录
  • 浏览
  • 退出

将一组页面或测试分组到一个事务块下,使 Rational Performance Tester 能够报告该事务的统计数据。通过将记录拆分为小型的测试,并在事务中使用它们,您可以为来宾用户和注册用户创建一个浏览事务,如 图 4 所示。

变量

这些测试会彼此传递一些信息。使用全局变量将数据从一个测试传递到下一个测试。

这些全局变量中的大部分变量都是从数据池设置的。其中一些通过直接变量赋值或自定义代码来设置。

一种最佳实践是在一个单独的测试(具有类似 InitVariables 的名称)中从数据池初始化所有全局变量,然后将它放在进度表的开头处。这么做可以避免只要一个数据池更改就需要修改所有测试的情况。

应创建另一个测试来设置虚拟用户在每次迭代中的登录 ID。如果用户 ID 为 sadmin1 到 sadmin300,自定义代码可从此范围随机生成一个登录 ID。此自定义代码可放在同一个 InitVariables 测试中,或者放在新测试中。使用第二个选项并创建一个新测试 InitUser。Rational Performance Tester 在选择将一个值替换为什么值时,在测试数据来源中还有一个内置的随机数生成器。

使用一个包含一行值的数据池来初始化所有测试中的变量。每个测试都需要主机名、目录 ID、语言 ID 和商店 ID。UsedIdPrefix 和 MaxRegisteredUsers 值用于生成登录 ID。Rational Performance Tester 还允许建立一个进度表来从一个文件初始化全局变量,并让一个用户组拥有自己的变量初始化表。这些示例中使用了数据池方法。

图 3. 常量数据池
该图显示了常量数据池
该图显示了常量数据池

性能进度表类似于 图 4 中所示的进度表。

图 4. 测试进度表
该图显示了测试进度表
该图显示了测试进度表

每个选择器下方的事务块帮助定义规则,以防变量没有正确设置或验证点出现失败。

请注意,登录和退出测试不在事务之下,而在事务之外。在真实的进度表中,注册用户不仅要执行浏览事务,还要将产品添加到购物车,订购产品,将产品添加到愿望清单或结算订单。这些测试中的每一种测试都可放在自己的事务下。

如果登录和退出响应时间应包含在事务中,那么应该将它们移动到事务内。

InitVariables 测试使用了常量数据池。变量容器的标签 OUTPUT 用于逻辑地表明这些变量是此测试的输出;也就是说,它们由此测试设置,并由其他测试使用。这些全局变量的可视性必须是 “All tests for this user”,如 图 6 所示。

图 5. InitVariables 测试
该图显示了 InitVariables 测试
该图显示了 InitVariables 测试
图 6. 变量可视性
该图显示了变量可视性

需要使用 InitVariables 测试中设置的变量的测试,应设置一个标为 INPUT 的变量容器并声明同样的变量。这些变量必须具有相同的名称,而且可视性必须设置为 “All tests for this user”,这意味着它们会在测试之间共享。

举例而言,在主页测试中,全局变量 StoreId 是从 InitVariables 测试中设置的。它被用于替换主页中任何硬编码的商店 ID。

图 7. StoreId 变量和替换值
该图显示了 StoreId 变量和替换值
该图显示了 StoreId 变量和替换值

控制 cookie 缓存

进度表中的第一个测试应清除 cookie 缓存,因为它要模拟一个新的 Web 浏览器会话。如果在进度表中使用了一个循环来重复测试,那么配置 cookie 缓存的行为很重要。cookie 缓存已被清除,如 图 8 中所示。

图 8. 清除 cookie 缓存
该图展示了如何清除 cookie 缓存
该图展示了如何清除 cookie 缓存

验证点

要验证测试的正确性,需要创建验证点。这些验证点用于检查响应是否有问题。如果页面包含错误或意外的内容,性能结果将会是无效的。有 3 种类型的验证点:响应大小、响应代码和响应内容。可通过 Add 上下文菜单来为响应创建它们。也可以通过单击测试树中的测试名称并单击 Add,为整个测试创建它们。响应代码验证点和响应大小验证点也可以在测试首选项中自动打开。图 9 展示了如何添加一个验证点。

图 9. 添加一个验证点
该图展示了如何添加一个验证点
该图展示了如何添加一个验证点

举例而言,图 10 展示了创建内容验证点的对话框。您可以根据响应内容中是否存在一些字符串来定义验证。

图 10. 创建内容验证点
该图展示了内容验证点的创建
该图展示了内容验证点的创建

在输入一个字符串后,还可以设置验证点失败时的操作,比如停止当前事务或退出当前循环迭代,如 图 11 所示。

图 11. 验证点操作
该图显示了验证点操作
该图显示了验证点操作

可在测试或进度表回放期间使用验证点报告来监视验证点。这提供了一次测试运行的正确性的实时信息。图 12 显示了一个验证点报告。

图 12. 验证点报告
该图显示了验证点报告
该图显示了验证点报告

使用测试进度表

如之前所述,模块化测试后,您可以按顺序将它们放在一个事务容器下的进度表中。根据所模拟的场景,您可以创建不同的顺序或事务。例如,图 13 中的进度表包含一个事务 RegisteredShopper_CompleteOrder,包含完成一个订单所需的测试。

图 13. 已注册的购物者事务的进度表
该图显示了已注册的购物者事务的进度表
该图显示了已注册的购物者事务的进度表

可以基于注册的购物者版本,为来宾购物者创建一个新进度表,如 图 14 所示。定义一个新事务 GuestShopper_CompleteOrder,并对完成事务所需的测试进行排序。请注意,重用了在已注册的购物者和来宾购物者之间通用的测试,而添加或删除了其他测试,因为这些测试是特定于某个事务的。

图 14. 来宾购物者事务的进度表
该图显示了来宾购物者事务的进度表
该图显示了来宾购物者事务的进度表

一个 Rational Performance Tester 进度表中的虚拟用户划分为用户组,该进度表提供了随机选择器来选择不同的事务。您可以向一个用户组分配一个百分比或绝对数量的虚拟用户。在 图 15 中,进度表显示了已注册和来宾购物者用户组,每个组包含所有虚拟用户的 50%。依据在随机选择器中的权重,来宾购物者即可以执行完整订单,也可以执行浏览事务。事务 GuestShopper_CompleteOrder 和 GuestShopper_Browse 都拥有权重 1,这意味着它们具有相等的权重,所以执行每个事务的几率为 50%。

图 15. 完整进度表
该图显示了完整进度表
该图显示了完整进度表

自动 HTTP 重定向

Rational Performance Tester V8.3 和更高版本可自动跟踪 HTTP 重定向,无需在测试中明确显示重定向的请求。HTTP 重定向意味着一个请求返回对另一个 URL 的请求。一个 HTTP 重定向的示例发生在登录请求中。登录请求返回一个 HTTP 代码 302,这意味着它是一种重定向且新请求是 OrderItemMove。OrderItemMove 被重定向到 OrderCalculate。OrderCalculate 被重定向到 AjaxLogonForm,后者是最终的请求。

没有自动 HTTP 重定向的登录测试必须包含这 3 个请求,才能成功完成登录。重定向请求链是硬编码的。如果登录有一个新的重定向顺序,该顺序需要重新硬编码。

图 16. 登录重定向
该图显示了登录重定向
该图显示了登录重定向

更可靠的方法是跟踪重定向的发生。这就是自动 HTTP 冲定性,通过将登录的预期响应状态码从 [302 – Found] 更改为 [200 – OK] 来实现。这会告诉 Rational Performance Tester 完成所有重定向,直到最终获得 [200 – OK],这在登录测试中是 AjaxLogonForm 页面。

图 17图 18 所示,通过更改预期的响应状态码并禁用重定向的请求,将登录测试设置为使用自动重定向。它被回放并表明所有重定向请求都已正确发出。

图 17. 登录自动重定向
该图显示了登录自动重定向
该图显示了登录自动重定向
图 18. 登录自动重定向回放
该图显示了登录自动重定向回放
该图显示了登录自动重定向回放

结束语

在这个关于使用 Rational performance Tester 设计测试的文章系列的这一部分(第 1 部分)中,为测试设计实现了一些最佳实践。在第 2 部分中,将实现一个浏览 WebSphere Commerce 目录的真实示例,其中将应用这些最佳实践的一部分。

致谢

非常感谢来自 Rational Performance Tester 的以下人员的审阅和提供的宝贵建议:

  • Kent Siefkes - 首席架构师,Rational Performance Tester
  • Dawn Peters - 软件设计师,Rational 质量和需求管理

相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere, Rational
ArticleID=1014951
ArticleTitle=使用 Rational Performance Tester 执行 WebSphere Commerce 性能测试,第 1 部分: 使用 Rational Performance Tester 设计测试
publish-date=09152015

Contents


WebSphere Commerce Performance Tests with Rational Performance Tester, Part 1

Designing tests with Rational Performance Tester

Comments

Content series:

This content is part # of # in the series: WebSphere Commerce Performance Tests with Rational Performance Tester, Part 1

Stay tuned for additional content in this series.

This content is part of the series:WebSphere Commerce Performance Tests with Rational Performance Tester, Part 1

Stay tuned for additional content in this series.

WebSphere Commerce is IBM's enterprise solution for e-commerce. An ongoing concern is website performance and reliability. To address this issue, performance testing and monitoring can be conducted through tools such as Rational Performance Tester. A WebSphere Commerce solution is composed of several software applications and integrations so performance issues can be complex and multifaceted. The deployed hardware resources are another factor because they can limit the scalability of the overall solution.

Performance testing begins with a test plan that defines objectives and criteria that are used to evaluate the results. The testing is iterative in nature because results can lead to application tuning, code modification, or resource reallocation. These changes must then be retested to observe improvement or regression.

Writing tests requires an understanding of what business transactions occur in production and how to realistically recreate those transactions. Transaction information can be found from web analytics tools or by examining application logs and database tables. The volume of transactions to simulate should be based on what is expected during normal and peak business activity. This can be simulated in Rational Performance Tester using properties of a schedule and random selectors.

Performance tests need to provide results that are meaningful and that can be interpreted by stakeholders. Some relevant and key performance indicators include:

  • Order throughput
  • Response time
  • Page views
  • CPU utilization
  • Cache hit ratio
  • Database SQL activity

Order throughput showcases the rate of revenue transactions that the solution can handle. The test workload can be increased to see whether a greater order throughput is possible without exceeding constraints, such as response time and CPU resources. Response time directly impacts customer satisfaction and has an inverse relationship to throughput. The number of page views is an indicator of how popular the website is, regardless of whether it is generating revenue or not. System details, such as CPU utilization, cache hit ratios, and database SQL activity are of interest to architects and developers who need to know what to modify to achieve better performance. Rational Performance Tester can interface with application metrics to provide these details.

This is Part 1 of a three-part article series. Part 1 addresses design and reuse in writing tests. Part 2 examines how to implement browsing in the Commerce catalog. Part 3 describes problem determination and provides tips on investigating test issues.

Designing tests

This article describes recommendations for designing Rational Performance Tester tests. It includes:

  • Modularizing tests to reuse them
  • Using local and global variables
  • Clearing the cookie cache
  • Setting verification points against responses
  • Sequencing tasks into transactions in a schedule
  • Configuring automatic HTTP redirection

The catalog that is used in all the examples is balanced and has three first-level categories. Each category has two subcategories, and each subcategory has three products, as shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1. Catalog structure
Graphic showing a catalog structure of three first-level categories, each with two subcategories, and each subcategory with three products
Graphic showing a catalog structure of three first-level categories, each with two subcategories, and each subcategory with three products

Modularization and reuse

In Rational Performance Tester, building a test usually starts from a recording. In this section, an end-to-end browsing session of a registered user was recorded and modified into reusable tests and then used to build a test schedule.

The recording went through the following path, as depicted in Figure 2: Homepage → Login → Browse to top-category #2 through Departments button → Browse to subcategory #4 → Display Product #10 → Logout

Figure 2. Test recording
Graphic showing the test recording contents

The recording produced a set of pages, which can be divided into a set of four reusable tests:

  • Homepage
  • Login
  • Browse
  • Logout

Grouping a set of pages or tests under a transaction block allows Rational Performance Tester to report statistics on that transaction. By dividing the recording into small tests and using them inside transactions, you can create a browse transaction for guest and registered users, as depicted in Figure 4.

Variables

These tests pass some information to each other. The data is passed from one test to the next using global variables.

Most of these global variables are set from data pools. Some of them are set either by direct variable assignments or by custom code.

One of the best practices is to initialize all global variables from data pools in a separate test (with a name such as InitVariables) and put it at the beginning of the schedule. Doing so avoids modifying all tests whenever a data pool is changed.

Another test should be created to set the login ID for virtual users in each iteration. If user IDs go from sadmin1 to sadmin300, a custom code can randomly generate a login ID from this range. This custom code can be put in the same InitVariables test or in a new test. The second option was used and a new test, InitUser, was created. Rational Performance Tester also has a built-in random number generator in the test data sources when choosing what to substitute a value with.

A data pool with one row of values is used to initialize variables in all tests. Hostname, catalog ID, language ID, and store ID are needed for every test. The UsedIdPrefix and MaxRegisteredUsers values are used to generate the login ID. Rational Performance Tester also allows for a schedule to initialize global variables from a file and for a user group to have its own variable initialization table. The data pool approach was used in these examples.

Figure 3. Constants data pool
Graphic showing the constants data pool
Graphic showing the constants data pool

The performance schedule is similar to the one shown in Figure 4.

Figure 4. Test schedule
Graphic showing the test schedule
Graphic showing the test schedule

The Transaction blocks under each selector help to define the rules in case variables are not properly set or a verification point fails.

Notice that Login and Logout tests are not under a transaction but outside of it. In a realistic schedule, registered users not only do a browse transaction but also add a product to a cart, order a product, add a product to a wish list, or check orders. Each of these tests can be under its own transaction.

If the login and logout response time should be included as part of a transaction, then they should be moved inside the transaction.

The InitVariables test uses the Constants data pool. The label OUTPUT for the variable container is used to logically indicate that these variables are the output of this test; that is, they were set by this test and are used by others. The visibility of these global variables must be “All tests for this user”, as shown in Figure 6.

Figure 5. InitVariables test
Graphic showing the InitVariables test
Graphic showing the InitVariables test
Figure 6. Variable visibility
Graphic showing the variable visibility

The tests that need to use the variables set in the InitVariables test should set up a variable container that is labeled INPUT and declare the same variables. The variables must have the same name and the visibility must be set to “All tests for this user”, which means that they are shared across tests.

In the Homepage test, for example, the global variable StoreId is set from the InitVariables test. It is used to substitute any hardcoded store ID in the Homepage.

Figure 7. StoreId variable and substitution
Graphic showing the  StoreId variable and substitution
Graphic showing the StoreId variable and substitution

Controlling cookie cache

The first test in a schedule should clear the cookie cache because that simulates a new web browser session. If a loop is used in the schedule to repeat tests, then it is important to configure the behavior of the cookie cache. The cookie cache is cleared, as shown in Figure 8.

Figure 8. Clear cookie cache
Graphic showing how to clear the cookie cache
Graphic showing how to clear the cookie cache

Verification points

To validate tests for correctness, verification points need to be created. They are used to check whether responses have problems. Performance results are invalid if the pages contain errors or unexpected content. There are three types of verification points: response size, response code, and response content. They can be created against a response through the Add context menu. They can also be created for the entire test by clicking the test name in the test tree and clicking Add. Response code verification points and response size verification points can also be turned on automatically in the test preferences. Figure 9 shows how to add a verification point.

Figure 9. Adding a verification point
Graphic showing how to add a verification point
Graphic showing how to add a verification point

As an example, Figure 10 shows the dialog for content verification point creation. You can define verification that is based on the strings present or missing in the response content.

Figure 10. Content verification point creation
Graphic showing content verification point creation
Graphic showing content verification point creation

After a string is entered, you can also set the action when the verification point fails, such as stopping the current transaction or exiting the current loop iteration, as shown in Figure 11.

Figure 11. Verification point action
Graphic showing verification point action
Graphic showing verification point action

You can monitor verification points using the verification point report during playback of a test or schedule. This provides real-time information about the correctness of a test run. Figure 12 shows a verification point report.

Figure 12. Verification point report
Graphic showing the verification point report
Graphic showing the verification point report

Using a test schedule

After modularizing a test, as described earlier, you can sequence them in a schedule under a transaction container. You can create different sequences or transactions depending on what scenario is being simulated. For example, the schedule in Figure 13 contains a transaction RegisteredShopper_CompleteOrder and contains the tests necessary to complete an order.

Figure 13. Schedule for registered shopper transaction
Graphic showing the schedule for registered shopper transaction
Graphic showing the schedule for registered shopper transaction

You can create a new schedule for guest shoppers based on the registered shoppers version, as shown in Figure 14. You define a new transaction GuestShopper_CompleteOrder and sequence the tests that are required to complete the transaction. Notice that tests that are common to both Registered and Guest shoppers are reused, while others are added or removed because they are specific to either transaction.

Figure 14. Schedule for guest shopper transaction
Graphic showing the schedule for guest shopper transaction
Graphic showing the schedule for guest shopper transaction

Virtual users in a Rational Performance Tester schedule are divided into user groups and the schedule provides random selectors for choosing different transactions. You can assign a percentage or absolute quantity of virtual users to a user group. In Figure 15, the schedule shows registered and guest shopper user groups, each with 50% of all virtual users. The guest shoppers can perform either complete order or browse transactions according to their respective weightings in the random selector. The transactions GuestShopper_CompleteOrder and GuestShopper_Browse both have a weight of 1, which means they are equally weighed so there is a 50% chance of either transaction.

Figure 15. Full schedule
Graphic showing the full schedule
Graphic showing the full schedule

Automatic HTTP redirection

Rational Performance Tester V8.3 and later can automatically follow HTTP redirections without having the redirected requests explicitly shown in the test. An HTTP redirection means that a request returns with a request for another URL. An example of HTTP redirection occurs with the Login request. The Login request returns with an HTTP code of 302, meaning it is a redirection and the new request is OrderItemMove. The OrderItemMove redirects to OrderCalculate. OrderCalculate redirects to AjaxLogonForm, which is the final request.

A Login test without automatic HTTP redirection must include these three requests to complete Login successfully. The redirection request chain is hardcoded. If Login has a new redirection sequence, it needs to be re-recorded.

Figure 16. Logon redirection
Graphic showing the logon redirection
Graphic showing the logon redirection

The more robust approach is to follow redirects as they occur. This is automatic HTTP redirection and is accomplished by changing the expected response status code of Login from [302 – Found] to [200 – OK]. This instructs Rational Performance Tester to complete all redirections until it ends up with [200 – OK], which in the Login test is the AjaxLogonForm page.

As shown in Figure 17 and Figure 18, the Login test is set to use automatic redirection by changing the expected response status code and disabling the redirected requests. It was played back and shows that all the redirection requests are properly made.

Figure 17. Logon auto redirection
Graphic showing the logon auto redirection
Graphic showing the logon auto redirection
Figure 18. Logon auto redirection playback
Graphic showing the logon auto redirection playback
Graphic showing the logon auto redirection playback

Conclusion

In this part, Part 1, of the series about designing tests with Rational performance Tester, some best practices are implemented for test design. In Part 2, a real example of browsing a WebSphere Commerce catalog is implemented in which some of these best practices are applied.

Acknowledgments

The authors thank and acknowledge the following people from Rational Performance Tester for their review and valuable input:

  • Kent Siefkes - Lead Architect, Rational Performance Tester
  • Dawn Peters - Software Designer, Rational Quality and Requirements Management

Downloadable resources


Related topics


Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Commerce, Rational, WebSphere
ArticleID=970632
ArticleTitle=WebSphere Commerce Performance Tests with Rational Performance Tester, Part 1: Designing tests with Rational Performance Tester
publish-date=05072014