内容


面向区块链网络的 Hyperledger Fabric 的 6 大技术优势

最新的 Hyperledger 有何独到之处,为什么它对业务网络至关重要,如何开始使用它

Comments

借助其彻底改变行业运营模式的潜力,区块链正成为全球最激动人心的新技术之一。为您的行业解决方案选择区块链平台时,要考虑的最重要的属性有哪些?这个 6 大优势列表将逐一剖析这些属性。

Hyperledger Fabric™ 是 The Linux Foundation® 主办的 Hyperledger® 项目之一。Hyperledger Fabric 旨在作为开发模块化体系结构的区块链应用程序的基础,以便诸如共识和会员服务等组件可以即插即用。它使用容器技术来托管构成系统应用逻辑的智能合约(也称为链代码)。 简而言之,Hyperledger Fabric是为企业构建的领先的开源、通用区块链结构。它是我们将在这里详细介绍的企业级区块链网络的 6 个基本属性的支撑平台。

1

获得许可的成员

Hyperledger Fabric 因作为许可网络的平台而闻名,其中的所有参与者都有已知的身份。考虑许可网络时,您应该考虑自己的区块链用例是否需要遵守数据保护法规。许多用例(具体来讲,是在金融领域和医疗行业中的许多用例)都需要遵守数据保护法律,要求知道网络成员和访问特定数据的人的身份。

例如,假设有一家私募股权公司。根据定义,私募股权不在证券交易所公开交易,而且它的投资者通常是风险投资公司、私募股权公司或天使投资者。此网络的参与者需要是已知的,而且在资本投资方面具有可信度,然后才能参与区块链。

2

性能、可伸缩性和信任水平

Hyperledger Fabric 构建于一种模块化架构之上,该架构将交易处理分为 3 个阶段:分布式逻辑处理和协商(“链代码”)、交易订购,以及交易验证和提交。这种分离提供了一些优势:不同节点类型之间需要的信任和验证水平更低,网络可伸缩性和性能得到了优化。

为了进行演示,让我们看看 Hyperledger Fabric v1.0 中的交易流,如图 1 所示。(图中的术语已在 Hyperledger Fabric 术语库中定义。)

从图的左侧开始:1) 应用程序将交易提案提交给背书对等节点。2) 背书策略规定需要多少个背书者和/或何种背书者组合来签署提案。背书者执行链代码,以便在网络对等节点中模拟该提案,并创建一个读/写集。3) 然后背书对等节点将经过签署的提案回复(背书)发回给应用程序。4) 应用程序将交易和签名提交给订购服务,后者 5) 创建一批或一组交易,并将它们传送给提交对等节点。6) 提交对等节点收到一批交易后,对于每个交易,它会 7) 确认满足背书策略,并检查读/写集以检测冲突的交易。如果两项检查都通过,则将该组交易提交到账本,并在状态数据库中反映出每个交易的状态更新。

图 1. Hyperledger Fabric v1.0 中的交易生命周期
交易生命周期
交易生命周期

因为在新的 v1.0 架构中,仅在网络上发送签名和读/写集,所以可伸缩性和性能得到了优化。此外,因为仅背书者和提交者能够真正看到该交易,所以区块链系统的不同部分中需要的信任水平更低,提供了更高的安全性。

例如,在资本市场中,购买和销售基于股权的证券或债务,由于参与者数量增多,所以交易量也在增加。更多的交易要求更高的可伸缩性和性能,Hyperledger Fabric v1.0 提供了这一优势,该优势从某种程度上讲归功于链代码执行过程的拆分。

拆分链代码执行还在网络中实现了动态增长。在 Hyperledger Fabric v1.0 中,可以动态地或以编程方式添加对等节点,而不是像 v0.6 中一样静态添加。例如,假设一家管理外汇汇率的公司要向网络中添加一家新银行。在 Hyperledger Fabric v1.0 中,他们能够以编程方式完成此操作。

3

以“需要知道”为原则来公开数据

由于竞争形势、保护法律和有关个人数据机密性的法规,企业规定需要确保某些数据元素的隐私,这可以通过区块链上的数据分区来实现。Hyperledger Fabric 中支持的渠道允许仅将数据传递给需要知道的相关方。

例如,许多金融实体表明担忧竞争对手看到所处理的交易数量。一些金融机构没有考虑通过“足够”的加密来保护其数据。考虑到这种情况,一些金融工具可能需要 10 年或更长时间才会发挥价值,随着时间的推移,密码被破解的风险可能使私有信息变成公开信息。渠道有助于提供数据分区功能,只有需要知道数据的相关方才能看到交易数量和数据本身。

4

对不可变分布式账本的丰富查询

账本是区块链应用程序的状态过渡的有序记录。每个交易都会产生一组资产键值对,这些信息以创建、更新或删除数据的形式提交给账本。v1.0 的不可变事实来源被附加到嵌入了 LevelDB 的对等节点的文件系统中。

默认情况下,LevelDB 有一个键值数据库,支持键查询、组合键查询和键范围查询。如果还需要复杂的富格式查询,CouchDB 支持 LevelDB 的基本功能,并添加了全面的富数据查询。可以选择支持 CouchDB 等文档数据库,内容需是 JSON 格式,而且完全可查询,其数据模型应与现有的键/值编程模型兼容。因此,在利用 CouchDB 时,如果将链代码数据建模为 JSON,则不需要更改应用程序。

这种 JSON 格式有助于最大限度减少生成简单报告和执行审计功能所需的工作。例如,在供应链场景中,可以使用 JSON 文档样式来帮助列出商品和运输实体的特定数据。对于运送到资产最终目的地的过程中涉及的位置和运输实体,可以轻松地为它们生成资产报告。

5

支持插件组件的模块化架构

Hyperledger Fabric 架构的模块化使网络设计师能够插入其首选实现的组件,这是一个优势。呼声最高的模块化区域之一是“自带身份”。一些多公司网络已拥有身份管理功能,并希望重用该功能,而不是重新构建它。该架构中可轻松插入的其他组件包括一致性或加密组件,其中一些国家/地区有自己的加密标准。

6

保护数字密钥和敏感数据

HSM(硬件安全模块)支持对保护和管理数字密钥来实现强身份验证至关重要。Hyperledger Fabric 提供了经过修改和未经修改的 PKCS11 来生成密钥,这支持处理各种情况,比如需要更多保护的身份管理。对于处理身份管理的场景,HSM 增加了对密钥和敏感数据的保护。

后续行动


要进一步了解开源 Hyperledger Fabric 的起源、它的架构,以及如何为该项目做出贡献,请观看以下视频:使用 Hyperledger 项目构建企业级区块链


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=1045944
ArticleTitle=面向区块链网络的 Hyperledger Fabric 的 6 大技术优势
publish-date=12062017

Contents


Top 6 technical advantages of Hyperledger Fabric for blockchain networks

What's unique about the Hyperledger Fabric, why it matters to business networks, and how to start using it

Comments

With its potential to radically transform industry operating models, blockchain is one of the most exciting new technologies on the planet. When selecting a blockchain platform for your industry solutions, what are the most important attributes to consider? This top-6 list counts them down.

Hyperledger Fabric™ is one of the Hyperledger® projects hosted by The Linux Foundation®. It's intended as a foundation for developing blockchain applications with a modular architecture, so that components, such as consensus and membership services, can be plug-and-play. It uses container technology to host smart contracts (also called chaincode) that make up the application logic of the system. In short, Hyperledger Fabric the leading open-source, general-purpose blockchain fabric built for enterprises. And it's the backdrop for the 6 essential attributes of enterprise-ready blockchain networks that we detail here.

1

Permissioned membership

Hyperledger Fabric is distinguished as a platform for permissioned networks, where all participants have known identities. When considering a permissioned network, you should think about whether your blockchain use case needs to comply with data protection regulations. Many use cases — in the financial sector and healthcare industry, in particular — are subject to data protection laws that require knowing who the members of the network are and who is accessing specific data.

For example, consider a private equity company. By definition, a private equity is not publicly traded on the stock exchange, and its investors are typically venture capital firms, private equity firms, or angel investors. The participants in this network need to be known and have credibility in capital to invest to be able to participate in the blockchain.

2

Performance, scalability, and levels of trust

Hyperledger Fabric is built on a modular architecture that separates transaction processing into three phases: distributed logic processing and agreement ("chaincode"), transaction ordering, and transaction validation and commitment. This separation confers several advantages: Fewer levels of trust and verification are required across node types, and network scalability and performance are optimized.

To illustrate, let's look at the transaction flow in v1.0 of Hyperledger Fabric, shown in Figure 1. (Terms the figure are defined in the Hyperledger Fabric glossary.)

Starting at the left of the figure: 1) The transaction proposal is submitted by an application to an endorsing peer. 2) The Endorsement policies outline how many and/or what combination of endorsers are required to sign a proposal. The endorser executes the chaincode to simulate the proposal in the network peer, creating a read/write set. 3) Then the endorsing peers send back the signed proposal responses (endorsements) to the application. 4) The application submits the transactions and signatures to the ordering service, which 5) creates a batch, or block, of transactions and delivers them to committing peers. 6) When a committing peer receives a batch of transactions, for each transaction it 7) validates that the endorsement policy was met and checks in the read/write sets to detect conflicting transactions. If both checks pass, the block is committed to the ledger, and the state updates for each transaction are reflected in the state database.

Figure 1. Transaction lifecycle in v1.0 of Hyperledger Fabric
Transaction lifecycle
Transaction lifecycle

Because only the signatures and read/write set are being sent around the network with the new v1.0 architecture, the scalability and performance are optimized. In addition, because only the endorsers and the committers truly see the transaction, fewer levels of trust are required in different parts of the Blockchain system, offering more security.

For example, in the capital market, with equity-backed securities or debt being bought and sold, transaction volume has increased, due to a growing number of participants. Increased transactions require improved scalability and performance, which v1.0 of Hyperledger Fabric provides, due in part to splitting out the chaincode execution.

Splitting out the chaincode execution also enables dynamic growth in the network. In v1.0 of Hyperledger Fabric, peers can be added dynamically and programmatically, rather than statically as in v0.6. For example, suppose a company that manages foreign exchange rates has a new bank to add to the network. With Hyperledger Fabric v1.0, they can do this programmatically.

3

Data on a need-to-know basis

Businesses, due to competitiveness, protection laws, and regulation on confidentiality of personal data dictate the need for privacy of certain data elements, which can be achieved through data partitioning on the blockchain. Channels, supported in Hyperledger Fabric, allow for data to go to only the parties that need to know.

For example, many financial entities express concern over competitors seeing even the number of transactions being processed. Some financial institutions do not consider cryptography "enough" to protect their data. Given that some financial instruments can take 10 years or more to come to value, the risk of cryptography breaks over time could allow private information to become public. Channels help provide a data-partitioning capability where only those that need to know the data will see the number of transactions and the data itself.

4

Rich queries over an immutable distributed ledger

The ledger is the sequenced record of state transitions for the blockchain application. Each transaction results in a set of asset key-value pairs that are committed to the ledger as creates, updates, or deletes. The immutable source of truth for v1.0 is appended into the file system of the peer, which also has LevelDB embedded.

LevelDB has, by default, a key value database and supports keyed queries, composite key queries, and key range queries. If you also need complex, rich queries, CouchDB supports the basic capabilities of LevelDB, and adds the full data-rich queries. With optional support of a document database such as CouchDB, the content is JSON and fully queryable, where the data model is compatible with existing key/value programming model. As a result, the application changes are not required when modeling chaincode data as JSON when utilizing CouchDB.

This JSON format helps minimize the work required to produce simple reports and perform audit functions. For example, in supply-chain scenarios, you can use JSON document style to help outline specific data for goods and transportation entities. You can easily produce a report on an asset for the different locations and transportation entities that were used in delivery to the asset's final destination.

5

Modular architecture supporting plug-in components

The modularity of Hyperledger Fabric architecture enables network designers to plug in their preferred implementations for components, which is an advantage. One of the most requested areas for modularity is "bring your own identity." Some multi-company networks already have identity management and want to reuse instead of rebuild. Other components of the architecture that can be easily plugged in include consensus or encryption, where some countries have their own encryption standards.

6

Protection of digital keys and sensitive data

HSM (Hardware Security Module) support is vital for safeguarding and managing digital keys for strong authentication. Hyperledger Fabric provides modified and unmodified PKCS11 for key generation, which supports cases like identity management that need more protection. For scenarios dealing with identity management, HSM increases the protection of keys and sensitive data.

Next steps


To learn more about the origins of the open source Hyperledger Fabric, its architecture, and how to contribute to the project, watch this video:


Downloadable resources


Related topics


Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Blockchain, Cloud computing
ArticleID=1043843
ArticleTitle=Top 6 technical advantages of Hyperledger Fabric for blockchain networks
publish-date=08212017