内容


IBM Power Virtualization Center (PowerVC) 入门

最大限度地提高 PowerVC 中的 Power Systems 硬件的虚拟化功能

Comments

虚拟化在云计算中起着重要作用。IBM Power Virtualization Center (PowerVC) 是一个构建于 OpenStack 之上的新的虚拟化管理工具。该工具旨在简化 Power Systems™ 环境中的虚拟资源的管理,从而提高管理员的工作效率。

在本教程中,我们将介绍基本概念、安装和基本配置技术,还将介绍如何配置各种资源,比如主机、存储和网络。我们还将了解虚拟机和映像,并向您展示如何在一些屏幕的帮助下,使用 PowerVM 创建和管理虚拟机。

PowerVC 的优势

PowerVC 使您能够最大限度地提高 Power Systems 硬件的虚拟化功能。您可以注册物理主机/系统、存储和网络资源,并使用它们来创建一个虚拟环境。您可以捕获和管理一个虚拟机 (VM) 映像库,并快速部署 VM 环境,而不是手动创建它。

一旦注册了物理主机、存储供应商、各种构件和网络资源,您就可以:

  • 导入现有 VM(客户端逻辑分区,或 LPAR)以及由 PowerVC 管理的卷
  • 捕获在您的环境中自定义配置的正在运行的现有 VM 映像
  • 通过快速部署映像来满足您的工作负载需求,创建新的 VM
  • 启动、停止、重新启动和调整 VM,并将更多的卷连接到这些 VM
  • 监控您的资源利用率
  • 在 VM 正在运行的时候迁移它们(实时分区迁移)
  • 在部署或迁移 VM 时,根据您指定的标准(放置策略)自动放置它们

PowerVC 允许您捕获和管理虚拟机 (VM) 映像库,并快速部署 VM 环境,而不是手动创建它。

PowerVC 还可以自动捕获 VIO 服务器上的现有虚拟环境的信息、来自主机和存储卷的 VM,以及来自 SAN 交换机的分区信息。

PowerVC Standard Edition 管理由 PowerVM® 虚拟化的系统,这些系统目前正由硬件管理控制台 (HMC) 控制,或者直接由 POWER 内核虚拟机 (PowerKVM) 管理。

我们在一个基于 POWER8® 处理器的系统上(该系统由 HMC V8.2.0.1 管理),通过在 RHEL 7.1 LPAR 上设置 PowerVC Standard Edition V1.2.3.2,在我们的环境中测试以下过程。Virtual I/O Server 的版本是 2.2.3.52,我们对 VM 使用了 AIX® 7.1.3.4。

安装 IBM Power Virtualization Center

要安装 PowerVC:

  1. 安装 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 作为 PowerVC 管理服务器
  2. 安装必备的程序包
  3. 安装 PowerVC

第 1 步. 安装 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 作为 PowerVC 管理服务器

在安装 PowerVC 之前,需要将 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 安装到管理服务器中。运行 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 安装向导并在 Software Selection 窗口中选择 Basic Web Server

在安装该操作系统后,通过输入以下命令将操作系统的最大文件大小设置为 unlimited(无限制):

ulimit -f unlimited

第 2 步. 安装必备的程序包

PowerVC 要求安装某些程序包,因此需要使用一个 DVD 安装盘或 Red Hat Network (RHN) 在配置并管理主机上配置和启用 Red Hat Enterprise Linux "yum" 存储库。这允许 PowerVC 在安装过程中查找并安装所需的程序包。对于 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 和更高的版本,安装 PowerVC 的前提条件是从 Red Hat Enterprise Linux OS 媒体移动到一个可通过 RHN 订阅访问的可选软件通道。安装 PowerVC 知识中心页面 的表 1 中提到的所有程序包。

第 3 步. 安装 PowerVC

备注 1:PowerVC 使用了默认网络接口 eth0。要使用不同的网络接口,可以在运行安装脚本之前,设置环境变量 HOST_INTERFACE。例如,对于接口 eth1:

export HOST_INTERFACE=eth1

备注 2:PowerVC 没有要求 DB2 使用 32 位文件 libpam.so,因此您可以忽略以下警告:

    Requirement not matched for DB2 database "Server".
    Summary of prerequisites that are not met on the current system:
         DBT3514W The db2prereqcheck utility failed to
         find the following 32-bit library file: "/lib/libpam.so*".
 

  1. 配置 yum 存储库来实现 PowerVC 安装。像对待必备程序包一样,对于 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 和更高版本,安装 PowerVC 的前提条件是从 Red Hat Enterprise Linux OS 媒体移动到一个可通过 Red Hat Network (RHN) 连接访问的可选软件通道。

    通过为可选软件选择并添加新通道来配置 yum 存储库。有关的更多信息,请参阅 Red Hat 文档中的 “添加可选和补充存储库”。

    验证 yum 将会查看新的可选存储库文件:

    yum repolist
  2. 修复中心 安装 interim 补丁 IT10588。
  3. 从 Entitled Software Support 网站下载 PowerVC V1.2.3。
  4. 解压下载的文件。
  5. 运行下列命令开始安装:
    cd <extract location>/powervc-1.2.3.0/
    ./install –s standard

    在接受许可协议后,PowerVC 将安装在管理服务器上。可以在 /opt/ibm/powervc/log 文件中找到一个安装日志文件。
  6. 在完成安装后,我们建议您下载并安装 修复中心 内可用的所有补丁包。我们在我们的环境中安装了 PowerVC 补丁包 2。

添加资源

开始在 PowerVC 中执行任务之前,必须注册您想要管理的资源。您可以注册存储、SAN 结构和主机,并创建网络,以便在部署 VM 时使用它们。

要注册资源,可使用 admin 组中的某个用户的凭证登录到 PowerVC GUI,打开您的 Web 浏览器并键入 URL:

https://powervc_hostname

https://powervc_IP_address

第 1 步. 存储和 SAN 结构

如果您使用了一个存储区域网络 (SAN),那么最初必须注册您的存储供应商和 SAN 交换机。在注册时,必须指定一个来自存储系统的 "Administrator" 组的用户 ID,您可能会获得提示,要求您接受 SSH 主机密钥。

在注册存储时,会创建一个默认存储模板和一个存储连接组。存储模板允许您指定存储卷的属性,比如精简配置和压缩。存储连接组是一组虚拟的 I/O 服务器,在部署期间、迁移期间,以及在将新的存储卷附加到一个 VM 时,这些服务器被认为是 VM 的存储连接候选。

当您部署和迁移 VM 时,可以使用这些默认值,或者可以通过创建存储模板和存储连接组来定制您的环境,以满足您的需求。

要注册存储,请单击 PowerVC 主页上的 Add Storage。然后选择存储类型(我们使用的类型是 XIV),键入您的存储的其他访问细节,并单击 Connect

图 1. 添加存储
添加存储
添加存储

在下一屏幕上,选择默认存储模板的存储池。单击 Add Storage

在下一屏幕上,您会获得一个添加 SAN 结构的选项。选择 Add Fabric 继续后面的操作。选择结构类型,输入您的结构的其他访问细节,然后单击 Add Fabric。我们使用了 Brocade 和 Cisco SAN 结构来完成这个测试。

图 2. 添加结构
添加结构
添加结构

您可以通过单击主页上的 Storage ProvidersFabrics 链接来查看已添加的来源。

第 2 步. 网络

PowerVC 中的网络可以是静态的,具有在部署 VM 时由 PowerVC 确定的 IP 地址,或者该网络可以是动态主机配置协议 (DHCP),具有在启动 VM 后由 DHCP 服务器设置的 IP 地址。在创建静态网络时,PowerVC 根据您提供的子网掩码和网关 IP 地址,创建了一个可由网络中的 VM 使用的 IP 地址池。如果想要保留某个 IP 地址,使其在部署期间不被使用,那么可以在部署映像之前,在 IP 地址池中锁定它。当部署映像时,可以选择现有的网络,该网络的设置被应用于新的 VM。

在 PowerVC 中创建一个网络时,会自动从每个已注册的主机中选择一个共享以太网适配器。这个共享以太网适配器是根据您在定义网络时指定的 VLAN 来选择的。如果 VLAN 不存在于该共享以太网适配器上,那么网络会向适当的一组可用共享以太网适配器提供 VLAN。

要添加一个网络,请单击 PowerVM 主页上的 Add Network

图 3. 添加网络
添加网络
添加网络

键入您的网络的所有详细信息并单击 Add Network

第 3 步. 主机

在 PowerVC 中,主机是一个物理服务器,它包含物理处理器、内存和 I/O 资源。当注册一个主机时,需要提供管理该主机的硬件管理控制台 (HMC) 的名称和凭证。指定一个具有超级管理员权限的用户 ID。

要添加主机,请在 PowerVC 主页上单击 Add Host

图 4. 添加主机
添加主机
添加主机

输入您的 HMC 的所有访问细节并单击 Add Connection

在下一屏幕上,选择您的系统并单击 Add Host。在完成此过程后,您可以创建一个新的主机组,并将系统添加到这个新组。

配置 PowerVC

在安装 PowerVM 时,可以使用默认设置和您最初注册资源时创建的模板快速入门。但是,您可能想更改一些默认设置,或者进一步定制 PowerVC。在这里,我们不打算介绍所有的定制,但我们会介绍一个重要的定制选项:存储连接组。这是对连接到存储的资源进行分组的一种方法,存储连接组是一组虚拟的 I/O 服务器,在部署期间、迁移期间,以及在将新的存储卷附加到一个 VM 时,这些服务器被认为是 VM 的存储连接候选。请参阅 PowerVC 知识中心,以便了解其他配置和定制。

要创建一个新的存储连接组,请单击 PowerVC 主页上的 Configuration,然后单击下一页上的 Storage Connectivity Group。输入所有的细节,以满足您的要求和环境(比如启动卷连接性、NPIV 结构连接性、VIO 服务器冗余和 VIO 服务器),最后单击 Add Group

图 5. 创建存储连接组
创建存储连接组
创建存储连接组

管理 VM

在 PowerVC 术语中,虚拟机 (VM) 是指通常用于 Power Systems 上下文中的逻辑分区或者 LPAR。它是为了运行操作系统及其应用程序而定义的处理器、内存和 I/O 资源的集合。

您可以通过部署映像来创建一个 VM,这些映像是通过捕捉某个卷中的 VM 映像或导入一个卷支持的映像来创建的。您还可以将现有的 VM 添加到 PowerVM 进行管理。在这个过程中,还将管理连接到 VM 的所有受支持的卷。

第 1 步. 添加现有 VM

要管理现有的 VM,请单击 PowerVC 主页的左窗格中的 Virtual Machine 链接。在新的窗口,您可以选择管理所有 VM 或特定的 VM,然后单击 Manage

图 6. 管理虚拟机
图 6. 管理虚拟机
图 6. 管理虚拟机

在新页面上,选择您想要添加到 PowerVC 的 VM,然后单击 Manage

第 2 步. 部署一个新的 VM

要在 PowerVC 中创建一个 VM,必须部署一个映像。获得映像的方法有很多,但在这里,我们获得映像的方法是:手动将一个现有 VM 添加到您的 PowerVC 环境中(已在 第 1 步 中描述)并捕捉其映像。

捕获 VM

您可以捕捉已经创建好的一个 VM,但在捕捉该 VM 之前,必须准备好它。

您可以使用一个激活引擎或云初始化来启用 VM,从而捕获它。激活引擎和云初始化是采用用户输入并在已部署好的 VM 上配置操作系统和软件的一些技术。

下面介绍了在您使用激活引擎来准备您的 VM 时如何捕获一个 VM:

  1. 执行您想对 VM 进行捕获前应做的所有准备工作,比如删除日志文件,安装补丁包,等等。
  2. 在您想捕捉的 VM 上安装激活引擎。您应该仅在第一次捕获 VM 时执行此步骤;当您再次捕获 VM 时,不必重新安装激活引擎。

    要安装激活引擎,请将激活引擎文件 vmc.vsae.tar 从 /opt/ibm/powervc/activation-engine 上的 PowerVC 管理服务器转移到您将要捕获的 VM,并解压 .tar 文件的内容。对于 AIX,请确保已经设置好了 JAVA_HOME 环境变量,而且该变量指向一个 Java 运行时环境 (JRE),例如:
    # export JAVA_HOME=/usr/java5/jre

    然后运行下面的命令,该命令包含在 .tar 文件中:
    <location of extracted package>/aix-install.sh
  3. 在您想要捕获的 VM 上启用激活引擎。在每次想要捕获 VM 时执行此步骤。您必须启用激活引擎,即使您将要捕获一个以前已经捕捉过的 VM,或者重新启动了一个先前已经启用的 VM。

    如果先前捕获过 VM,并希望再次捕获它,请运行以下命令:
    rm /opt/ibm/ae/AP/*
    cp /opt/ibm/ae/AS/vmc-network-restore/resetenv /opt/ibm/ae/AP/ovf-env.xml

    执行下列步骤来启用激活引擎。在一个 AIX VM 上,到达 Java 可执行文件的路径必须位于 PATH 环境变量中,以便成功执行以下命令。到达 Java 可执行文件的路径还必须位于系统上的 /etc/environment 文件中的 PATH 环境变量中。
    /opt/ibm/ae/AE.sh -R
    备注:此命令结束了捕获 VM 的准备工作,然后关闭虚拟服务器。
  4. 在 Virtual Machine 视图中,选择您准备捕获的 VM,然后单击 Capture。在新窗口中,单击 Continue,在接下来的窗口中单击 Capture,并再次确认。

部署捕获的映像

您可以部署在上面步骤中创建的映像。部署目标可以是一个特定的主机或主机组。在部署一个映像之前,应查看相关的要求和注意事项。

  1. 选择 Images 页面上的映像并选择 Deploy
  2. 指定新 VM 的属性,比如名称、VM 实例的数量、目标系统或系统组。您可以使用 PowerVM 资源,比如存储模板、模板计算或存储连接组,以便指定定制设置。
  3. 可选:您还可以按照任何顺序添加现有的卷或新的(空白)卷,或者根据需要删除一些卷。
  4. 输入网络的详细信息。
  5. 单击 Deploy
图 7. 部署 AIX-7134 映像
部署 AIX-7134 映像
部署 AIX-7134 映像

结束语

本教程展示了如何安装 PowerPC、注册各种资源、配置资源、添加现有 VM,以及如何部署新的 VM。完成这些步骤后,您就可以开始使用其他特性来创建满足新需求的更多 VM,其他特性包括调整卷和将卷附加到 VM,监控资源的利用率,在 VM 运行时迁移它们(这是其他主机所需要的),快速部署映像;并应用自动化策略来确定哪些服务器将根据 CPU 容量、存储器容量和 CPU 利用率来部署 VM。


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing, Linux, AIX and UNIX, IBM i
ArticleID=1029833
ArticleTitle=IBM Power Virtualization Center (PowerVC) 入门
publish-date=04112016

Contents


Get started with IBM Power Virtualization Center (PowerVC)

Maximize the virtualization capabilities of Power Systems hardware with PowerVC

Comments

Virtualization plays a key role in cloud computing. IBM Power Virtualization Center (PowerVC) is a new virtualization management tool that's built on OpenStack. It's designed to simplify the management of virtual resources in Power Systems™ environments, and thus improve administrator productivity.

In this tutorial, we'll cover fundamental concepts, installation, and basic configuration techniques, as well as ways to configure various resources like hosts, storage, and networks. We'll also take a look at virtual machines and images, and show you how to create and manage a VM using PowerVC with the help of screens.

Advantages of PowerVC

PowerVC enables you to maximize the virtualization capabilities of Power Systems hardware. You can register physical hosts/systems, storage, and network resources, and use them to create a virtual environment. You can capture and manage a library of Virtual Machine (VM) images, and quickly deploy the VM environment instead of manually creating it.

Once the physical hosts, storage providers, fabrics, and network resources are registered, you can:

  • Import existing VMs (client Logical Partitions, or LPARs) and volumes to be managed by PowerVC
  • Capture the existing running VM image that is custom configured in your environment
  • Create new VMs by deploying images quickly to meet the demands of your workload
  • Start, stop, restart, and resize VMs, and attach more volumes to them
  • Monitor the utilization of your resources
  • Migrate VMs while they are running (Live Partition Mobility)
  • Automatically place VMs when you deploy or migrate them, based on the criteria (placement policy) that you specify

PowerVC allows you to capture and manage a library of Virtual Machine (VM) images, and quickly deploy the VM environment instead of manually creating it.

PowerVC can also automatically capture existing virtual environment information on VIO servers, VMs from host and storage volumes, and zoning information from SAN switches.

PowerVC Standard Edition manages systems virtualized by PowerVM® that are currently being controlled by the Hardware Management Console (HMC) or that are managed directly by POWER Kernel Virtual Machine (PowerKVM).

We tested the following procedure in our environment by setting up PowerVC Standard Edition version 1.2.3.2 on RHEL 7.1 LPAR on an IBM POWER8® processor-based system that was managed by the HMC version 8.2.0.1. The Virtual I/O Server version was 2.2.3.52, and we used AIX® 7.1.3.4 for the VMs.

Installing IBM Power Virtualization Center

To install PowerVC:

  1. Install Red Hat Enterprise Linux as the PowerVC management server
  2. Install the prerequisite packages
  3. Install PowerVC

Step 1. Install Red Hat Enterprise Linux as the PowerVC management server

Before you install PowerVC, you need to install Red Hat Enterprise Linux into the management server. Run the Red Hat Enterprise Linux installation wizard and choose Basic Web Server in the Software Selection window.

After you install the operating system, set the operating system maximum file size to unlimited by typing the command:

ulimit -f unlimited

Step 2. Install the prerequisite packages

PowerVC requires certain packages to be installed, so configure and enable the Red Hat Enterprise Linux "yum" repository on the management host by using a DVD mount or Red Hat Network (RHN). This allows PowerVC to find and install the required packages during installation. For Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 and above, some of the prerequisites for installing PowerVC are moved from the Red Hat Enterprise Linux OS media to an optional software channel that is accessed through the RHN subscription. Install all of the packages that are mentioned in Table 1 of the PowerVC Knowledge Center page.

3. Install PowerVC

Note 1: PowerVC uses the default network interface, eth0. To use a different network interface, set the environment variable, HOST_INTERFACE, before running the install script. For example, for the interface eth1:

export HOST_INTERFACE=eth1

Note 2: PowerVC does not require that DB2 use the 32-bit file libpam.so. So you can ignore the following warning:

    Requirement not matched for DB2 database "Server".
    Summary of prerequisites that are not met on the current system:
         DBT3514W The db2prereqcheck utility failed to
         find the following 32-bit library file: "/lib/libpam.so*".
 

  1. Configure the yum repository for the PowerVC install. As with the prerequisite packages, for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 and above, some of the prerequisites for installing PowerVC are moved from the Red Hat Enterprise Linux OS media to an optional software channel that is accessed through the Red Hat Network (RHN) connection.

    Configure the yum repo by selecting and adding the new channel for optional software. For more information, see "Adding the Optional and Supplementary Repositories" in the Red Hat documentation.

    Verify that yum is seeing the new optional repo file:

    yum repolist
  2. Install interim fix IT10588 from Fix Central.
  3. Download PowerVC Version 1.2.3 from the Entitled Software Support website.
  4. Extract the downloaded file.
  5. Run the following command to start the installation:
    cd <extract location>/powervc-1.2.3.0/
    ./install –s standard

    After you accept the license agreement, PowerVC will be installed on the management server. An installation log file can be found in /opt/ibm/powervc/log file.
  6. After the installation is complete, we recommend that you download and install any fix pack that is available in Fix Central. We installed PowerVC fix pack 2 in our environment.

Adding resources

You must register the resources that you want to manage before you can start performing tasks in PowerVC. You can register storage, SAN fabric, and host, and create networks to use when you deploy VMs.

To register resources, log on to the PowerVC GUI with the credentials of a user in the admin group by opening your web browser and typing the URL:

https://powervc_hostname
or
https://powervc_IP_address

Step 1. Storage and SAN Fabric

If you are using a storage area network (SAN), you must initially register your storage provider and SAN switch. For registration, you must specify a user ID from the storage system's "Administrator" group, and you may be prompted to accept the SSH host key.

When you register storage, a default storage template and a storage connectivity group are created. Storage templates enable you to specify the properties of a storage volume, such as thin provisioning and compression. A storage connectivity group is a set of virtual I/O servers that are considered storage connectivity candidates for VMs during deployment, during migration, and when new storage volume is attached to a VM.

You can use these defaults when you deploy and migrate VMs, or you can customize your environment by creating storage templates and storage connectivity groups to suit your needs.

To register storage, click Add Storage on the PowerVC home page. Then select the storage type (we used type XIV), type in other access details of your storage, and click Connect.

Figure 1. Add storage
Add storage
Add storage

On the next screen, select a storage pool for the default storage template. Click Add Storage.

On the next screen, you will get an option to add SAN Fabric. Choose Add Fabric to continue. Select the fabric type, type in the other access details for your fabric, and click Add Fabric. We used Brocade and Cisco SAN fabrics for this testing.

Figure 2. Add fabric
Add fabric
Add fabric

You can view the added sources by clicking Storage Providers or the Fabrics links on the home page.

Step 2. Network

A network in PowerVC can be static with IP addresses determined by PowerVC when a VM is deployed, or the network can be Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) with IP addresses set by a DHCP server after a VM boots. When you create a static network, PowerVC creates an IP address pool that can be used by the VMs in the network based on the subnet mask and the gateway IP addresses you provide. If you want to reserve an IP address so that it is not used during deploy, you can lock it in the IP address pool before deploying your images. When you deploy an image, you choose an existing network, and the network settings are applied to the new VM.

When you create a network in PowerVC, a Shared Ethernet Adapter is automatically chosen from each registered host. The Shared Ethernet Adapter is chosen based on the VLAN that you specified when you defined the network. If the VLAN does not yet exist on the Shared Ethernet Adapter, the network will provision the VLAN to the appropriate set of available Shared Ethernet Adapters.

To add a network, click Add Network on the PowerVC Home page.

Figure 3. Add network
Add network
Add network

Type in all the details of your network and click Add Network.

Step 3. Host

In PowerVC, a host is a physical server that contains physical processors, memory, and I/O resources. When you register a host, you provide the name and credentials for the Hardware Management Console (HMC) that manages the host. Specify a user ID with the hmcsuperadmin role.

To add a host, on the PowerVC home page, click Add Host.

Figure 4. Add host
Add host
Add host

Type in all the access details of your HMC and click Add Connection.

On the next screen, select your system(s) and click Add Host. After completing the process, you can create a new Host Group and add system(s) to that new group.

Configuring PowerVC

When you install PowerVC, you can get started quickly using the default settings and the templates that are created when you initially register your resources. However, you may want to change some settings from the defaults or further customize PowerVC. We won't cover all the customization here, but we will describe one important customization option: the storage connectivity group. This is a way of grouping resources that connect to the storage, a set of virtual I/O servers that are considered storage connectivity candidates for VMs during deployment, during migration, and when a new storage volume is attached to a VM. Refer to the PowerVC knowledge center to learn about other configurations and customizations.

To create a new storage connectivity group, click Configuration on the PowerVC home page, and then click Storage Connectivity Group on the next page. Enter all of the details to match your requirements and environment (such as Boot volume connectivity, NPIV Fabric connectivity, VIO Server Redundancy, and VIO Servers), and finally click Add Group.

Figure 5. Create storage connectivity group
Create storage connectivity group
Create storage connectivity group

Managing VMs

In PowerVC terminology, Virtual Machine (VM) refers to logical partitions or LPARs that are generally used in a Power Systems context. It is a collection of processors, memory, and I/O resources defined to run an operating system and its applications.

You can create a VM by deploying images that are created by capturing a VM image in a volume or import a volume-backed image. You can also add an existing VM to PowerVC to manage. In this process, any supported volumes attached to the VMs will also be managed.

Step 1. Add existing VMs

To manage an existing VM, click the Virtual Machine link on the left pane of the PowerVC home page. In the new window, you can choose to manage all VMs or specific ones, and then click Manage.

Figure 6. Manage virtual machines
Figure 6. Manage virtual machines
Figure 6. Manage virtual machines

On the new page, select the VM(s) you want to add to PowerVC, and click Manage.

Step 2. Deploy a new VM

To create a VM in PowerVC, you must deploy an image. There are multiple ways to obtain an image, but here, we do it by manually adding an existing VM to your PowerVC environment (described in Step 1) and capturing its image.

Capture a VM

You can capture a VM that you've created, but you have to prepare the VM before you capture it.

You can use either an activation engine or cloud-init to enable the VM for capture. Activation engine and cloud-init are technologies that take user input and configure the operating system and software on deployed VMs.

Here's how to capture a VM if you are using the activation engine to prepare your VM:

  1. Perform any pre-capture preparation that you want to do on the VM, such as deleting log files, installing fix packs, etc.
  2. Install the activation engine on the VM that you want to capture. You should perform this step only the first time that you capture a VM; you do not have to install the activation engine again when you capture VMs.

    To install the activation engine, transfer the activation engine file, vmc.vsae.tar, from the PowerVC management server on /opt/ibm/powervc/activation-engine to the VM that you are going to capture, and extract the contents of the .tar file. For AIX, ensure that the JAVA_HOME environment variable is set and points at a Java runtime environment (JRE), for example:
    # export JAVA_HOME=/usr/java5/jre

    Then run the following command, which is included in the .tar file:
    <location of extracted package>/aix-install.sh
  3. Enable the activation engine on the VM that you want to capture. Perform this step each time you want to capture a VM. You must enable the activation engine even if you are capturing a VM that was captured before, or if you rebooted a VM that was previously enabled.

    If you previously captured the VM and want to capture it again, run the following commands:
    rm /opt/ibm/ae/AP/*
    cp /opt/ibm/ae/AS/vmc-network-restore/resetenv /opt/ibm/ae/AP/ovf-env.xml

    Perform the step below to enable the activation engine. On an AIX VM, the path to the Java executable files must be in the PATH environment variable for the following command to succeed. The path to the Java executable files must also be in the PATH environment variable in the /etc/environment file on the system.
    /opt/ibm/ae/AE.sh -R
    Note: This command finishes preparing the VM for capture and then powers off the virtual server.
  4. In the Virtual Machine view, select the VM that you prepared for capture and click Capture. In the new window, click Continue, and in the next window click Capture and confirm it again.

Deploy the captured image

You can deploy images that are created in the above step. The deploy target can be a specific host or a host group. Before you deploy an image, review the requirements and considerations.

  1. Select the image on the Images page and select Deploy.
  2. Specify the properties of the new VM, such as name, number of VM instances, target system, or system group. You can use PowerVC resources, such as a storage template, compute template, or storage connectivity group, to specify custom settings.
  3. Optional: You can also add existing volumes or new (blank) volumes in any order, or remove the volumes as needed.
  4. Enter the network details.
  5. Click Deploy.
Figure 7. Deploy AIX-7134 image
Deploy AIX-7134 image
Deploy AIX-7134 image

Conclusion

This tutorial has shown how to install PowerVC, register various resources, configure it, add existing VMs, and deploy new ones. After you have completed these steps, you can start using other features like resizing and attaching volumes to VMs, monitoring the utilization of resources, migrating VMs while they are running (a second host is required), deploying images quickly to create more VMs that meet new demands, and applying automated policies to determine which servers to deploy VMs on based on CPU capacity, memory capacity, and CPU utilization.


Downloadable resources


Related topics


Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing, Linux, AIX and UNIX, IBM i
ArticleID=1028138
ArticleTitle=Get started with IBM Power Virtualization Center (PowerVC)
publish-date=03092016