云计算服务模型,第 3 部分: 软件即服务

研究软件即服务 (SaaS) 推动投资回报的四个主要因素,以及如何利用这些因素让 SaaS 给投资人带来收益。在这个分三部分的系列的最后一篇文章中,讨论 SaaS 提供的业务模型机会,分析 SaaS 应用程序的用户体验设计的作用。

Dan Orlando, CEO, Creative RIA

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-dorlando.jpgDan Orlando 是企业开发社区公认的领导者。作为长期顾问,Dan 经常向行业领导者以及 IBM developerWorks、Adobe Developer Connection 和 Amazon Web Services 等出版物提供 Adobe 技术平台方面的专业经验。Dan 还在 DanOrlando.com 上定期发表博客文章。



2011 年 4 月 28 日

欢迎您访问“云计算讨论组”,和更多的技术人员讨论云计算方面的话题!

软件即服务 (SaaS) 为商用软件提供基于网络的访问。您有可能已经使用过 SaaS,即使您当时并不知道。SaaS 的示例包括 Netflix、Photoshop.comAcrobat.com、Intuit QuickBooks Online、Gmail 和 Google Docs。可能不太明显的 SaaS 实现包括移动应用程序市场中的相当一部分。

常用缩略词

  • API: 应用程序编程接口
  • GUI: 图形用户界面
  • IT: 信息技术
  • LAN: 局域网
  • ROI: 投资回报
  • UI: 用户界面

SaaS 为企业提供一种降低软件使用成本的方法 — 按需使用软件而不是为每台计算机购买许可证。尤其是考虑到大多数计算机在差不多 70% 的时间是空闲的,SaaS 可能非常有效。企业不必为单一用户购买多个许可证,而是让许可证的使用时间尽可能接近 100%,从而尽可能节省成本。

为了方便,表 1 再次给出本系列第 1 部分中提供的三类服务的概念交叉矩阵。

表 1. 三类云计算的概念交叉矩阵
范型转变特征关键词汇优点缺点和风险不应该使用的场合
基础设施即服务 (IaaS)基础设施即资产常常独立于平台;分担基础设施成本,因此会降低成本;服务水平协议 (SLA);按使用量付费;自我伸缩 网格计算,效用计算,计算实例,系统管理程序,暴雨 (cloudbursting),多租用者计算,资源池 避免在硬件和人力资源方面花费资产费用;降低 ROI 风险;降低进入门槛;简化和自动化伸缩过程 企业效率和生产力很大程度上取决于厂商的能力;可能会增加长期成本;集中化需要新的/不同的安全措施 当资产预算大于运营预算时
平台即服务 (PaaS)许可证购买消费云基础设施;能够满足敏捷的项目管理方法 解决方案堆简化的版本部署集中化需要新的/不同的安全措施
SaaS软件即资产(企业和消费者)SLA;由 “瘦客户机” 应用程序提供 UI;云组件;通过 API 进行通信;无状态;松散耦合;模块化;语义性互操作能力 瘦客户机;客户机-服务器应用程序 避免在软件和开发资源方面花费资产费用;降低 ROI 风险;简化和迭代式的更新 数据的集中化需要新的/不同的安全措施

SaaS 推动 ROI 的四个因素

SaaS 给软件厂商提供了新的机会。尤其是,SaaS 软件厂商可以通过四个因素提高 ROI:

  • 提高部署的速度
  • 增加用户接受率
  • 减少支持的需要
  • 降低实现和升级的成本

部署的速度

在过去,部署传统的桌面应用程序需要很大的工作量。实际上,我曾经多次听到桌面应用程序开发人员把更新他们的应用程序称为 “部署噩梦”。正如 Tariq Ahmed 在 Flex 4 in Action (Manning Press) 的第 1 章中指出的,“要想让数千甚至数万客户机同时运行软件的某一版本,后勤方面的复杂性是非常高的。”

Ahmed 说,复杂性这么高,以致于大多数桌面软件开发公司甚至认为这根本不合理或不可行。过去受到这个问题困扰的开发商应该考虑部署软件的 SaaS 版本。但是,妨碍传统软件开发公司进入 SaaS 市场的最大障碍是让桌面应用程序能够作为 SaaS 应用程序运行。在许多情况下,这需要在某种程度上重新编写软件,一些公司觉得这么做成本太高。

这正是向云计算转移的过程比较缓慢且平缓的主要原因之一。在大多数情况下,符合逻辑的解决方案是分阶段地把软件转移到云中,首先以 SaaS 的形式提供原应用程序的高度简化的版本。考虑到开发商对版本控制的控制水平,这么做是很合理的。在这里,分析一下 SaaS 的特点会很有帮助。

您可以看出在云计算与过去的 “LAN 计算” 之间有许多相似之处。典型的 LAN 架构由站内的许多工作站组成,它们常常被称为哑终端,它们通过连接强大的大型机(常常由 IBM 提供)运行应用程序,见 图 1

图 1. 显示在基本 LAN 中客户机终端与大型机系统的关系的简单示意图
显示在基本 LAN 中客户机终端与大型机系统的关系的简单示意图

这种计算类型过去非常适合企业,因为 IT 部门能够完全控制版本,可以非常方便地多次部署更新。同样,过去妨碍桌面软件应用程序开发商进行版本控制的后勤障碍在云中也不存在,因为软件在开发公司能够直接访问的基础设施上运行。

考虑到 SaaS 必须能够服务的客户机数量,SaaS 基础设施的规模要比 LAN 大得多。但是,底层的概念是相同的。图 1 所示的大型机能够驻留足够多的软件实例,从而为本地网络中连接它的所有客户机提供服务;而 图 2 所示的云由许多不同的计算机资源组成,它们共同提供计算能力,从而运行为世界各地的客户机提供服务所需的许多软件实例。

图 2. 显示在 SaaS 中客户机设备与云的关系的简单示意图
显示在 SaaS 中客户机设备与云的关系的简单示意图

增加接受率

如果您走出企业,看看 SaaS 对于一般消费者的意义,就会发现以前一些软件的许可证费用太高,而现在 SaaS 让一般消费者能够以合理的价格使用它们。一个好例子是 Adobe 以 SaaS 的形式提供 Adobe® Photoshop®。尽管这项工作是 Adobe 正在做的试验,但是已经取得了一些效果。例如,我注意到在需要执行简单的照片编辑任务时,在我的朋友和家庭成员中越来越多的人开始使用 Photoshop.com 进行基本的照片编辑,而不是启动全功能的版本。出现这种趋势的原因是,不需要完整版本中的功能的人现在可以省钱。与此同时,过去不使用 Photoshop 的人也开始使用 Photoshop.com 了,这给 Adobe 带来了争取新的长期客户的机会,扩大了潜在客户的范围。

SaaS 提供的多种业务模型尤其有吸引力。例如,Intuit 以 SaaS 的形式提供 QuickBooks Online,按月收取服务费。作为经常旅行的企业主,我发现这种服务非常有用,尤其是因为我的业务伙伴住在 400 英里外的另一个州里。同时,Adobe 在 Photoshop.com 和 Acrobat.com 中应用了 SaaS,以 freemium 服务的形式提供软件 — freemium 服务是指一种基于许可证软件产品的 SaaS 缩略版的业务模型。

freemium SaaS 基于的收入模型是,预计免费用户中的一部分最终会觉得软件很有用,他们会升级到启用了更多特性的 SaaS 付费版本,或者购买包含所有特性和功能的桌面版本的许可证。这种方法往往比通过 “受限制的演示” 模式试用软件更好,因为演示模式要求用户在桌面计算机上安装他们可能不会购买的应用程序。另外,如果免费用户中升级的比例低于预期,还可以通过广告进一步补充这个模型。随着云计算的发展,传统的桌面软件厂商经常使用这种方法适应市场的变化。

减少支持的需要

大型客户服务中心的成本很高,不得不支持多种平台会导致支持问题增加,而 SaaS 可以大大缓解这些难题。首先,部署的简便性让开发人员能够在发现 bug 之后很快进行修复,这意味着大多数 bug 可以在大量用户遇到它们之前被修复,这会减少客户支持部门接到的电话数量,提高客户满意度,降低客户流失的可能性。

另外,传统桌面软件应用程序的开发商常常必须支持多种平台。例如,开发商可能必须支持 Windows® 7 和 Apple Mac OS X 10.6 操作系统,添加对第二种操作系统的支持差不多会让开发成本加倍;而且,如果支持这些操作系统的许多不同版本,问题会更多。支持操作系统的多个版本还会产生限制。

例如,如果您要构建一个在 Windows 7 上运行的程序,但是它必须与 Windows XP 兼容,就必须非常小心,要确保特性和功能在这两个版本上都能够运行;否则,就必须把项目分为两个分支,为每个版本开发单独的代码,这会不可避免地降低生产力和效率,延长完成项目的预期时间。让业务执行官心跳加速的最快方法之一是,告诉他后两年的预期开发进度要减慢一半儿。另外,支持不同的操作系统和这些操作系统的不同版本会增加预算;这个问题和其他因素导致目前软件开发项目的失败率非常高。

降低实现和升级的成本

SaaS 推动 ROI 的第四个因素与第一个因素有点儿相似。但是,部署的速度 是指快速、简便地部署应用程序更新所带来的好处。与之相反,降低实现和升级的成本 是指开发公司由于能够控制版本和运行软件的基础设施所获得的经济利益。

因为开发商可以控制运行软件的平台(平台通常对于用户完全透明),所以他们不必负担在多个平台上测试和部署 bug 补丁和新特性的额外开销,这会节省大量资金。这让 SaaS 应用程序的升级成本更低。节省的大量时间和资金让开发商有机会更好地响应客户的请求并增强易用性,从而提高客户满意度,降低客户流失的可能性,这会带来间接的经济利益。


SaaS 和用户体验设计

SaaS 应用程序代表着一种新一代应用程序设计方式。尽管在我目前看到的文档中没有明确地指出,但是看起来 SaaS 程序也带来了一种新的 UI 设计方式,这种方式与大多数其他行业中的产品设计流程更一致。这种方式包含一个称为用户体验设计 (UXD) 的流程,在这个流程中由产品团队而不是开发团队设计 GUI。

UXD 的主要目的是,确定哪些特性会让应用程序对于目标客户最有价值,并在设计中融入这些知识。尽管对于是否应该在所有类型的软件的开发中都执行这个流程有争议,但是在 SaaS 应用程序开发中这种做法非常普遍。出现这种现象的原因可能是,SaaS 可以实现的业务模型与传统软件不同,需要执行 UXD;而且通过开发 SaaS 可以节省大量时间和资金,让开发商有能力执行 UXD。


SaaS 对于开发人员的意义

正如您看到的,完全成熟的云计算对于企业和消费者来说都是巨大的转变,必须克服很多难题。因此,这个转变过程会花费一段时间,要经过几个阶段的渐进迁移。在这次计算模式演变期间,软件开发商必须能够适应变化的环境,从而继续满足企业和消费者的需要。

随着云计算的发展,企业必须能够适应变化的环境,而软件程序员需要扩充他们的技能并了解 SaaS 编程模型,从而适应企业的要求。云计算不仅仅是通过虚拟化提供可伸缩的基础设施和平台可移植性。它还把软件提升到全新的水平,可以认为它代表着新一代计算机编程模型。这一论断可能比较大胆,但是考虑到本文中讨论的 SaaS 提供的机会,这并非没有根据。

例如,一般消费者能够负担软件费用意味着潜在客户更多。能够控制平台、基础设施和软件版本会直接节省成本。显然,SaaS 很快会带来某种程度的 “民主”,也就是说中小型的开发企业也能够与大型开发商在同一领域中竞争。


结束语

在本文中,我们分析了云计算的第三种类型 SaaS。更重要的是,您了解了 SaaS 应用程序的日益流行所带来的机会和挑战。

在阅读本系列中的三篇文章之后,我希望您对云计算对于您的职业前途和企业意味着什么有了更清晰的认识。除了前两篇文章中提供的 IaaS 和 PaaS 方面的参考资料之外,参考资料 提供关于 SaaS 的更多信息的链接。

参考资料

学习

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=651197
ArticleTitle=云计算服务模型,第 3 部分: 软件即服务
publish-date=04282011

Cloud computing service models, Part 3: Software as a Service

Explore the four primary factors that drive return on investment for Software as a Service developers and how those factors are leveraged to make SaaS profitable for stakeholders. In this final article of a three-part series, discover the business model opportunities that SaaS presents and gain insight into the role of user experience design for SaaS applications.

In this three-part series, straightforward, real-world examples of cloud computing help eliminate the confusion around the concepts. Each article in this series covers one of the three service models: Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), Software as a Service (SaaS).

Dan Orlando, CEO, Creative RIA

Photo of Dan OrlandoDan Orlando is a recognized leader in the enterprise development community. As a long-time consultant, Dan's expertise on Adobe technology platforms is often called upon by industry leaders as well as publications such as IBM developerWorks, Adobe Developer Connection, and Amazon Web Services. Dan can also be found blogging regularly at DanOrlando.com.



31 January 2011

Also available in Chinese Russian Japanese Vietnamese Spanish

Software as a Service provides network-based access to commercially available software. Chances are, you've already used SaaS, even if you didn't know it at the time. Examples of SaaS include Netflix, Photoshop.com, Acrobat.com, Intuit QuickBooks Online, Gmail, and Google Docs. SaaS implementations that may be somewhat less obvious include a significant portion of the growing mobile application marketplace.

Frequently used acronyms

  • API: Application programming interface
  • GUI: Graphical user interface
  • IT: Information technology
  • LAN: Local area network
  • ROI: Return on investment
  • UI: User interface

SaaS represents the potential for a lower-cost way for businesses to use software—using it on demand rather than buying a license for every computer, especially when you consider that most computers sit unused almost 70% of the time. Rather than having to buy multiple licenses for a single user, the closer a business can get to putting a license to use 100% of the time, the more money that business will save.

The cross-concept matrix of the three services provided in Part 1 of this series is provided again in Table 1 for your convenience.

Table 1. Cross-concept matrix of the three classifications of cloud computing
Paradigm shiftCharacteristicsKey termsAdvantagesDisadvantages and risksWhen not to use
Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)Infrastructure as an assetUsually platform-independent; infrastructure costs are shared and thus reduced; service level agreements (SLAs); pay by usage; self-scaling Grid computing, utility computing, compute instance, hypervisor, cloudbursting, multi-tenant computing, resource pooling Avoid capital expenditure on hardware and human resources; reduced ROI risk; low barriers to entry; streamlined and automated scaling Business efficiency and productivity largely depends on the vendor's capabilities; potentially greater long-term cost; centralization requires new/different security measures When capital budget is greater than operating budget
Platform as a Service (PaaS)License purchasingConsumes cloud infrastructure; caters to agile project management methodsSolution stackStreamlined version deploymentCentralization requires new/different security measuresN/A
SaaSSoftware as an asset (business and consumer)SLAs; UI powered by "thin client" applications; cloud components; communication via APIs; stateless; loosely coupled; modular; semantic interoperability Thin client; client-server applicationAvoid capital expenditure on software and development resources; reduced ROI risk; streamlined and iterative updates Centralization of data requires new/different security measuresN/A

The four driving factors of ROI for SaaS

Develop skills on this topic

This content is part of progressive knowledge paths for advancing your skills. See:

SaaS presents new opportunities for software vendors. In particular, four driving factors are cited by SaaS software vendors as leading to increased ROI:

  • Increased speed of deployment
  • Increased user adoption
  • Reduced support requirements
  • Lowered cost of implementation and upgrades

Speed of deployment

Traditional desktop applications have historically involved significant deployment hurdles. In fact, I've heard desktop application developers refer to updating their applications as a "deployment nightmare" on several occasions. As Tariq Ahmed states in the first chapter of Flex 4 in Action (Manning Press), "The logistical complications of trying to get thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, of clients to run the precise version of your software at the exact same time are immense."

Ahmed goes on to say that such complications are so immense that most desktop software development companies don't even consider it reasonable or even feasible. Developers who have struggled with this in the past are good candidates for deploying SaaS versions of their software. However, the biggest barrier to entry into the SaaS marketplace that traditional software houses experience is enabling desktop applications to run as SaaS applications. In many cases, doing so involves re-writing the software on some level, which some companies find too cost-prohibitive.

This is one of the primary reasons the movement to cloud computing has been a slow and gradual process. In most cases, the logical solution is to move software to the cloud in phases, beginning with a highly scaled-down version of the original application provided as SaaS. This makes obvious sense when considering the level of control the developer has on version control. It's also where the specific anatomy of SaaS plays a significant role.

You can see many similarities between cloud computing and the "LAN computing" of years past. A typical LAN architecture consisted of an array of on-site workstations, often referred to as dummy terminals, that ran applications by connecting to a powerful mainframe, usually provided by IBM, as seen in Figure 1.

Figure 1. A simple diagram showing the relationship of client terminals and mainframe system in a basic LAN
simple diagram showing the relationship of client terminals and mainframe system in a basic LAN

This type of computing worked out nicely for enterprises, because IT departments had the ultimate level of control over versioning and updates could be deployed on an iterative and seamless basis with little or no hassle. Similarly, the logistical barriers that prevented version control for developers of desktop software applications in the past is nonexistent in the cloud, because the software runs on an infrastructure that the developing company has immediate access to.

The size and scale of an SaaS infrastructure is clearly massive in comparison to that of a LAN in consideration of the number of clients that it must be able to serve. But the underlying concept is the same. Whereas Figure 1 shows a single mainframe that is able to host enough software instances to serve all of the clients connecting to it within the local network, Figure 2 shows a cloud that consists of many different computer resources, all contributing to the total compute power able to run the many software instances required to service clients around the world.

Figure 2. A simple diagram showing the relationship of client devices to the cloud in SaaS
Simple diagram showing the relationship of client devices to the cloud in SaaS

Increased adoption

If you step away from business or a moment and look at what SaaS does for the general consumer, you find that SaaS makes software available that previously may have carried too high a licensing fee to be reasonable for general consumer use. A good example is Adobe's efforts to make Adobe® Photoshop® an SaaS. Although this is still a work in progress and has been an evolving experiment for Adobe, it still shows progress. For instance, I've noticed that a growing number of my friends and family members are starting to prefer the use of Photoshop.com for basic photo editing as opposed to launching the full-blown version when they need to carry out rudimentary photo-editing tasks. The significance of this is in the fact that people who don't require the functionalities contained in the full version will now save money. Meanwhile, others are using Photoshop.com who would not have otherwise tried it, which presents an opportunity for Adobe to capture long-term customers that it would not have otherwise had access to.

The various business models for SaaS are particularly intriguing. For example, Intuit offers QuickBooks Online as an SaaS with a monthly service charge. As a business owner who does a lot of traveling, I've found this to be particularly useful, especially because my business partner lives 400 miles away in a different state. Meanwhile, Adobe leverages the power of SaaS with Photoshop.com and Acrobat.com by offering software as a freemium service—a term that was coined to describe a particular business model based on a scaled-down SaaS offering of a licensed software product.

Freemium SaaS is based on a revenue model where it is anticipated that a certain percentage of free users will eventually find it useful enough to upgrade to either a paid version of the SaaS that has additional features enabled or a licensed copy of a desktop version of the software that includes all the additional features and functionalities available. This tends to be a preferred method of trying out software in "restricted demo" mode compared to having to install an application on your desktop that you may not end up buying. In addition, this model can be further supplemented with advertising if the ratio of free users to upgrades is less than expected. This is a common method that traditional desktop software vendors use as a way of adapting to the changing marketplace as cloud computing continues to evolve.

Reduced support requirements

The cost of large customer service help desks and the problem of increased support issues that occur as a result of having to support multiple platforms is largely mitigated with SaaS. For starters, ease of deployment allows developers to implement fixes shortly after bugs are initially found, which means that most bugs can be fixed before the vast majority of users encounter them, resulting in fewer phone calls for customer support as well as a much higher likelihood for customer satisfaction and retention.

In addition, manufacturers of traditional desktop software applications often have to support more than one platform. For example, a developer that must support the Windows® 7 and Apple Mac OS X version 10.6 operating systems has nearly doubled the cost of development just by adding support for the second operating system—and this is before getting into the problems associated with supporting the many different versions of such operating systems. Supporting multiple versions of an operating system presents limitations, as well.

For example, if you are building a program to run on Windows 7 but it has to be compatible with Windows XP, you have to be very careful that the features and functionalities will be able to run on both versions; otherwise, you'll be forced to branch the project again, leaving you with separate code bases for each, which inevitably decreases productivity and efficiency and increases your time-to-completion estimates. One of the quickest ways to give a business executive a heart attack is to tell him or her that the estimated time lines for the next two years' worth of iterations have been doubled. Add to that the increase in budget for supporting different operating systems and the different versions of those operating systems, and (among other things) it's no wonder that you see such a high rate of failure for software development projects presently.

Lowered cost of implementation and upgrades

The fourth driving factor of ROI for SaaS is somewhat similar to the first. However, speed of deployment describes the advantages gained from being able to quickly and painlessly deploy application updates. In contrast, lowered cost of implementation and upgrades describes the financial benefits to the development company, which are gained as a result of having control over versioning and the infrastructure that runs the software.

A big savings to the developer comes from not having the added overhead of testing and deploying bug fixes and new features on multiple platforms, because the developer has control over the platform on which the software runs—typically completely transparent to the user. This makes the upgrade path for SaaS applications less cost-prohibitive. The indirect financial result comes from customer satisfaction and retention, because the substantial savings in both time and money provide the developer with the opportunity to have a greater level of responsiveness to feature requests and enhanced usability.


SaaS and user experience design

SaaS applications represent a sort of next-generation approach to application design. Although it might not be technically stated in any of the documents that I have seen to date, it seems that SaaS programs also include a modern approach to UI design that is more consistent with the product design process seen in most other industries. This approach includes a process known as user experience design (UXD), where the GUI is designed by a product team rather than the development team.

The primary objective of UXD is to identify what will make the application most useful for the intended customer base and including that knowledge as part of the design. Although it can be logically argued that this should take place in the development of any kind of software, it seems to be most prevalent among SaaS application development. Perhaps the reason for this has to do with the different business models available with SaaS compared to that of traditional software as well as the substantial savings gained from developing SaaS.


SaaS for developers

As you've learned, full-blown cloud computing is a massive transition for both businesses and consumers, and many challenges must be overcome. As a result, the process will take time and go through several periods of gradual change. During this evolution in computing, it is critical for software houses to be able to adapt to the changing environment to continue to fulfill the needs of businesses and consumers alike.

Just as businesses must be able to move with the changing environment as computing in the cloud evolves, software programmers will need to adapt their skill sets and understand SaaS programming models in order to stay sharp and keep themselves in demand. Cloud computing is not just about scalable infrastructures and platform portability through virtualization. It also takes software to an entirely new level and represents what could reasonably be considered the next generation of computer programming. That might be a bold statement, but consider the opportunities that SaaS presents discussed in this article.

For instance, affordability means wider availability, which equates to a larger potential customer base. Add to that the savings that come as a direct result of having control over the platform, infrastructure, and versioning of the software, and it quickly becomes evident that SaaS brings with it a certain level of "democratization," where small and medium-sized development shops can play on the same field as the majors.


Conclusion

In this article, you learned about the anatomy of SaaS, the third classification of cloud computing. More importantly, you learned about the opportunities and challenges presented by the growing popularity of SaaS applications.

My hope is that after having read the three articles in this series, you have a clearer picture of what cloud computing means for the future of your career or business. In addition to the resources provided on IaaS and PaaS in the previous two articles, the Resources section provides links to more information on SaaS for your enjoyment.

Resources

Learn

Discuss

  • Get involved in the My developerWorks community. Connect with other developerWorks users while exploring the developer-driven blogs, forums, groups, and wikis.

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • BlueMix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • Cloud digest

    Complete cloud software, infrastructure, and platform knowledge.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=620150
ArticleTitle=Cloud computing service models, Part 3: Software as a Service
publish-date=01312011