内容


关于 Cloud Foundry 您可能不知道的 5 个事实

澄清一直以来有关开源平台即服务的一些误解

Comments

随着云技术的使用日渐成熟,一些公司发现需要进一步发展来获取价值。具体来讲,平台即服务 (PaaS) 为云提供了一站式的完整操作系统。

使用 Cloud Foundry (CF) 等 PaaS 解决方案的企业不需要担心如何管理云资源来运行其应用程序的细节。平台会为他们完成这些工作。他们唯一需要关注的是应用程序代码以及对服务目录的访问。平台会完成剩余工作:扩展、修复、HA/DR 等。

由于不断的创新,像 Cloud Foundry 这样的早期平台才得以继续在这一领域保持领导地位。然而,跟上采用新方法来解决容器编排(如Docker Swarm和Kubernetes)挑战的创新也同样重要 ,与他们共享令人激动的成果。

尽管 CF 等平台在最近几年取得了巨大的成功,但也有人抨击它们。具体来讲,通过强制采用一种云世界视图(应用程序、服务、组织、用户等),这些平台可能对您可以部署的应用程序类型施加了一些限制。

例如,CF 不是很适合部署数据库这样的服务。在 CF 中,可以直接使用 BOSH(一个可扩展的多云发布工程工具)来完成此工作,并使用 VM 或 VM 上运行的容器集群部署到基础架构即服务 (IaaS) 上。这些限制导致一些替代平台出现,比如 Kubernetes 和 Docker Swarm,它们为开发人员提供了充分的自由,允许他们直接管理容器集群,并在集群上运行自己的应用程序。

CF 的替代平台很受欢迎,因为它们全面鼓励创新。但是,关于 CF 云操作系统,有一些谣言或误解值得澄清一下。本文将探讨关于 CF 您可能不知道的 5 件事。

我们强调这些问题不是为了全面比较或对比 CF 与其他平台,而是为了确保误解得到纠正,事实得到公开。我们希望阐明当前的 CF 架构和设计重点,使尝试使用 PaaS 的企业用户能制定最佳决策。

1

Cloud Foundry 一直都在使用容器

随着 Docker 和 Kubernetes 出现,人们对容器的兴趣达到了狂热的程度,因此理解 CF 与这些技术的关系对我们很重要。首先,像其他许多 PaaS 环境一样,CF 也使用容器。从最开始就是如此,比当前所有的容器编排平台还要早。如果考虑到容器的用途,您就会了解为什么容器始终对 CF 至关重要。

容器是 UNIX/Linux 系统中的一种隔离方法。通过使用各种内核特性,可以在 Linux 容器中运行应用程序,使应用程序拥有自己独立的系统资源视图,以及资源使用限制。

CF 从一开始就在使用容器。在最新的版本中,CF 中的容器层 (Garden runC) 已经升级,通过采用 CNCF-led runC 标准,不仅能遵从容器技术中的新兴行业标准,而且可以为容器技术贡献新的行业标准。因此,每次运行 CF 应用程序,都是在一个 runC 容器中运行它。

CF 添加的独特功能是对这些容器的管理,利用容器向最终用户隐藏了复杂性。CF 中的 Diego 运行时是一种高效的容器调度程序。该调度程序的(部分)目的是最大限度提高实例化 CF 时所使用的底层虚拟机的利用率。

为什么需要像这样的调度程序?因为 IaaS 中的资源是依据谨慎原则(discreet capacity)来提供容量的。例如,您可以创建包含 10 GB 内存、64 个 CPU 和 10 GB 以太网络的 VM。将 CF 安装在类似这样的 VM 上时,您最终可能得到 4 个专门运行最终用户的应用程序的 VM。CF Diego 调度程序的部分工作是确定应该如何和在何处放置应用程序,以及应该为任何一个应用程序分配多少可用资源。该调度程序尝试以最大化使用率的方式完成此工作,并使最大数量的应用程序能在环境限制内高效运行。

具体来讲,Diego 调度程序在分配用户应用程序实例时会保持后者可用。它还会在应用程序失败或升级后恢复和重新配备应用程序。Diego 利用了所有 CF 应用程序都无状态的事实(所以只要至少有一个实例保持运行,就能随时将它们安全转移到另一个主机);这使 Diego 在核心上保持简单的同时,能为用户应用程序提供灾备能力、健康管理和高效安排。这是 Diego 与其他更通用的调度程序的不同之处。

2

Cloud Foundry 能在超过 10 个 IaaS 上运行(相同的代码,不同的云)

最初发布 CF 时,它就能在少数云上运行(比如 VMware 和 AWS),这足以让早期的多云用户感到满意。随着时间的推移,当第一个 BOSH 版本出现并发展成熟时,还添加了其他云 — 主要包括 VSphere、VCloud 和 OpenStack。BOSH 支持一种明确的云提供商接口 (CPI),但添加新的 CPI 可能很困难,因为这些不同的 CPI 都嵌入在 BOSH Director 代码中。

图 1. CPI 是与云无关的
CPI 是与云无关的
CPI 是与云无关的

2015 年,BOSH 团队通过清理并外部化 BOSH Director 代码库中的 CPI,开始扭转这种状况。CPI 现在打包为 BOSH 版本,而且可以与 Director 分开部署和更新。另外,CPI 现在可以使用任何语言和任何所需的技术来针对目标云进行开发。

一旦所有现有 CPI 都转换为它们自己的存储库,并建立了一个单独的 CPI 团队,CF 社区就会注意到。作为这种新扩展机制的后果,其他许多云(甚至容器平台)都可以用来部署 CF。这些平台包括 SoftLayer、Azure 和 GCP,以及 Docker 和 Kubernetes,等等。

图 2. 可用的 CPI
可用的 CPI
可用的 CPI

借助超过 15 种不同的可用 CPI,包括裸机 SSH CPI 和允许您针对多种云进行开发的多 CPI,CF 轻松成为当今能跨最多平台使用的 PaaS。

3

Cloud Foundry 可扩展到成千上万个应用程序

随着 Cloud Foundry 发展成熟,它面临的一个最大挑战就是可扩展性。IBM、SAP、Pivotal 和 GE 等公司已将 CF 代码库用作其应用程序服务公有云战略的核心元素。该平台的多个部分都是用 Golang 重写的,并通过 Diego 添加了更现代化的分布式系统技术,为 CF 提供了一个更现代、更稳定的运行时。但这是否也提供了一个更可扩展的环境?

2016 年,Diego 团队花费了一大半时间来调优运行时,以实现线性扩展特征。通过重新审视并优化各种组件选择和运行扩展试验,他们能配置 1,250 个 Diego 单元,每个单元对应于一个用来运行应用程序的基础 VM,而且可以将该平台扩展为运行 250,000 个容器。

图 3. 250,000 个容器
250,000 个容器
250,000 个容器

考虑到应用程序实例与容器之间的一对一映射关系,Diego 可扩展性测试证明了 CF 可以管理 250,000 个应用程序,同时在整个可扩展性测试期间保持它们可路由和响应迅速。而且这还没有考虑 CF 目前能在包含成千上万个应用程序的实际生产环境中运行的事实。

我们实际上并不知道 CF 扩展的极限,因为执行如此大规模的试验需要很高的成本,而且 Diego 团队并未尝试挑战极限。所以从理论上讲,CF 能够扩展到 500,000 甚至一百万个应用程序。有关如何执行可扩展性测试的更多细节,请参阅“生产中的 25 万个容器:真实世界中的真实测试”。

4

Cloud Foundry 适用于任何语言和框架

CF 从一开始就设计为可用于任何语言和框架。这个设计点得到了保持,所以现在 CF 中支持的语言和框架不仅广泛可用,而且还可以自定义。Java 支持是一个很好的例子,因为有许多运行 Java 应用程序的方法;无论您想要使用 OpenJDK 还是 IBM Liberty Java VM,都有一个受支持的 Java buildpack。

图 4. Cloud Foundry 核心设计点(云、框架/语言、与服务无关)
Cloud Foundry 核心设计点
Cloud Foundry 核心设计点

不是只有已得到公认的语言和框架才能在 CF 生态系统中高效运行。新的和难懂的语言也能在 CF 生态系统中高效运行。例如,在 Apple 于 2015 年 12 月发布其 Swift 语言 OSS 后,用于 Swift 的 CF buildpack 很快就开始出现。如今,至少可以通过社区获得两个版本。

此外,buildpack 保持着与 Heroku 的兼容性,所以社区中发布的版本都可以用在 CF 安装中。此外,CF 社区还在 buildpack 中开展了创新,探索如何支持将多个 buildpack 用于需要多个运行时的应用程序,以及如何支持私有 buildpack,在您需要为一种语言的运行时或一种框架建立分支来解决无法通过其他途径解决的深奥应用程序问题时,就会用到该私有 buildpack。

5

Cloud Foundry 是可扩展的

有人批评 Cloud Foundry 缺乏可扩展性和扩展点。尽管该平台是完全开放的,从理论上讲,任何提交 Github PR 的人都可以修改它,但无法采用系统的方式扩展该平台 — 即一种允许所有人在平台的所有部分查看并创建探索成果的方式。换句话说,如何本着“百花齐放”的战略精神来支持创新?

为了解决这个问题,2016 年末,指导平台发展方向的项目管理委员会 (PMC) 决定将构成 CF 的所有项目拆分为 3 个子 PMC:运行时、BOSH 和扩展。新的扩展 PMC 的任务是鼓励扩展该平台,并在允许社区探索各种富有成效或成效不大的选项的同时,将某种结构融入到这些扩展的演化过程中。

在前 6 个月对符合条件的现有项目进行组织并将它们改造为各种扩展,以及考虑新项目后,CF 现在已经有一个建立好的扩展流程和方法,以供社区中的任何人扩展该平台。这些扩展包括 API、工具、CPI、连接其他平台的连接器、buildpack、服务等。

随着社区不断添加更多扩展,一些扩展会消失,一些扩展会发展为核心。无论如何,我们的主要目的是确保该平台保持开放并充满生机,而且社区中的任何人都能通过自己下一个绝妙的想法来扩展该平台。

结束语

平台即服务将继续改进。随着不断的创新,像 Cloud Foundry 这样的早期平台得以继续在这一领域保持领导地位。然而,跟上采用新方法来解决容器编排(如Docker Swarm和Kubernetes)挑战的创新也同样重要 ,与他们共享令人激动的成果。

在许多方面,容器编排不是一种零和博弈,我们期望许多平台能取得成功,因为这些平台尝试解决的问题空间包含所有 IT 应用程序和服务管理。

在本文中,我们重点介绍了 5 个重要事实(一些是众所周知的,一些不是),当需要在 CF 和其他 PaaS 环境之间做出选择时,它们可以帮助企业 IT 管理人员制定正确的决策。


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=1055539
ArticleTitle=关于 Cloud Foundry 您可能不知道的 5 个事实
publish-date=12192017

Contents


Five facts you may not know about Cloud Foundry

Demystifying persistent misconceptions about the open source platform-as-a-service

Comments

As the usage of cloud technology matures, companies have found the need to move up the stack to get value. In particular Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) has provided a one-stop, complete operating system for the cloud.

Enterprises that use PaaS solutions like Cloud Foundry (CF) don’t have to worry about the details of how to manage cloud resources to run their apps. The platform takes care of that for them. All they have to focus on is their application code and access to a catalog of services. The platform does the rest: scaling, healing, HA/DR, and so on.

With constant innovation, early platforms like Cloud Foundry can continue to maintain their leadership in this space. However, it’s also important to keep up with the innovation and excitement that come with newer approaches to solving the challenge of orchestrating containers, such as Docker Swarm and Kubernetes.

While platforms such as CF have enjoyed considerable successes in recent years, they have also had their detractors. Specifically, by forcing a view of the cloud world (apps, services, org, users, and so on) these platforms can put certain limits on the kind of applications you can deploy.

For instance, CF is not well suited to deploying a service such as a database. In CF, this is done using BOSH (a multi-cloud scalable release engineering tool) directly and deploying onto an Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) using VMs or container clusters running on the VMs. These kinds of limitations have led to the rise of alternative platforms like Kubernetes and Docker Swarm, which give developers complete freedom by allowing them to directly manage clusters of containers and run their applications on them.

Alternative platforms to CF are a welcome addition, as they encourage innovation in all sides. However, there are a number of myths or misconceptions about the CF cloud operating system that are worth dispelling. This article explores five things you may not know about CF.

We are not highlighting these issues to fully compare or contrast CF with other platforms, but rather to make sure that the misconceptions are rectified and facts are exposed. We hope to illuminate the current CF architecture and design points such that enterprise users trying to use a PaaS can make the best decisions possible.

1

Cloud Foundry has always used containers

As interest in containers has reached a fever pitch with the advent of Docker and Kubernetes, it's important for us to understand how CF relates to these technologies. First, CF like many other PaaS environments uses containers. This has been true from the very start, and predates all the current container orchestration platforms. If you think about what containers do, you understand why containers have always been central to CF.

Containers are a means of isolation in UNIX/Linux systems. Using various kernel features, you can run applications in so-called containers in Linux such that they will have their own isolated view of system resources, as well as limits on resource usage.

CF has made use of containers from the very start. With recent releases, the container layer in CF (Garden runC) has even been upgraded to contribute and conform to emerging industry standards in container technologies by adopting the CNCF-led runC standard. So every time you run a CF application, you are running it inside a runC container.

What CF adds that is unique is the management of these containers, plus it hides the complexity from end users. The Diego runtime in CF is an efficient scheduler for containers. The goal (in part) is to maximize utilization of the underlying virtual machines that CF is being instantiated on.

Why would you need a scheduler like this? Because resources in an IaaS are offered in discreet capacity. For example, you can create VMs with 10 GB of memory with 64 CPUS and 10 GB Ethernet networks. When you install CF on VMs like this, you may end up with 4 VMs that are dedicated to running the end users’ applications. Part of the job of the CF Diego scheduler is to determine how and where you should place applications, and what portion of the available resources you should assign to any one application. The scheduler tries to do this in a way that maximizes usage and allows the largest number of apps to run efficiently within the limitations of your environment.

Specifically, the Diego scheduler allocates user application instances in a way that they stay available. It also recovers and re-provisions applications when they fail or are upgraded. Diego exploits the fact that all CF apps are stateless (so they can always be safely moved to another host as long as at least one instance stays running); this enables Diego to provide resilience, health management, and efficient placement for user applications while remaining somewhat simple at its core. This differentiates Diego from other, more general schedulers.

2

Cloud Foundry works on more than 10 IaaSes (same code, different cloud)

When CF was initially released, it worked on a few clouds (such as VMware and AWS) and that was enough to satisfy early multi-cloud users. In time, as the first version of BOSH emerged and matured, other clouds were also added—mainly VSphere, VCloud, and OpenStack. BOSH supported a clear Cloud Provider Interface (CPI), but adding new CPIs could be difficult because these various CPIs were embedded in the BOSH director code.

Figure 1. CPIs are cloud agnostic
CPIs are cloud agnostic
CPIs are cloud agnostic

In 2015, the BOSH team started rectifying this situation by cleaning up and externalizing CPIs in the BOSH director code base. CPIs are now packaged as BOSH releases, and can be deployed and updated separately from the director. Also, the CPIs can now be in any language and use whatever technology is required to target the cloud they are designed for.

Once all of the existing CPIs were converted into their own repos and a separate CPI team was created, it was time for the CF community to take notice. As a consequence of this new extensible mechanism, many more clouds and even container platforms could be used to deploy CF. These included SoftLayer, Azure, and GCP, as well as Docker and Kubernetes, to name just a few.

Figure 2. Available CPIs
Available CPIs
Available CPIs

With more than 15 different CPIs available, including a bare-metal SSH CPI and a multi-CPI that allows you to target more than one cloud, CF is easily the most cross-platform PaaS in existence.

3

Cloud Foundry scales to hundreds of thousands of applications

As Cloud Foundry has matured, one of the biggest challenges it has faced is scalability. Companies like IBM, SAP, Pivotal, and GE have betted on the CF code base as a core element of their public cloud strategy for application services. Multiple parts of the platform were rewritten in Golang, and the addition of more modern distributed systems technology with Diego provided a more modern and stable runtime for CF. But did this also provide a more scalable environment?

The Diego team spent the better part of 2016 fine tuning the runtime so that it could achieve linear scaling characteristics. By revisiting and refining various component choices and running scaling experiments, they were able to provision 1,250 Diego cells, each corresponding to a base VM for running applications, and scaling the platform to run 250,000 containers.

Figure 3. 250,000 containers
250,000 containers
250,000 containers

Given the one-to-one mapping between an application instance and a container, Diego scalability tests showed the possibility for CF to manage 250,000 applications while keeping them routable and responsive throughout the entire scalability test. And that does not account for the fact that CF currently runs in live production environments with hundreds of thousands of apps.

We don't actually know the limits of CF scaling, since it's so costly to run such large experiments and the Diego team did not try to push the limits to reach a breaking point. So in theory, CF could scale to 500,000 or even a million applications. More details on how the scalability test was performed can be found in "250k Containers In Production: A Real Test For The Real World."

4

Cloud Foundry works with any language and framework

From the very start, CF was designed to work with any language and framework. This design point has been maintained such that now languages and frameworks supported in CF are not only widely available, but they are also customizable. Java support is one good example as there are many approaches to running Java applications; whether you want to use the OpenJDK or the IBM Liberty Java VM, there is a supported Java buildpack.

Figure 4. Cloud Foundry core design points (cloud, framework/language, service - agnostics)
Cloud Foundry core                     design points
Cloud Foundry core design points

And it’s not just well-established languages and framework that get to play well in the CF ecosystem. It’s also new and esoteric languages. For instance, as soon as Apple released its Swift language OSS in December 2015, CF buildpacks for Swift started showing up. Today, at least two versions are available through the community.

Furthermore, buildpacks have maintained compatibility with Heroku such that those released by that community are usable in a CF installation. Additionally, the CF community has innovated in buildpacks by exploring support for multi-buildpacks for applications that need more than one runtime, as well as private buildpacks for when you need to fork a language’s runtime or a framework to solve an esoteric issue with your application that cannot be solved through other means.

5

Cloud Foundry is extensible

Cloud Foundry has been criticized for lacking extensibility and extension points. While the platform is completely open and thus could, in theory, be modified by anyone who submits a Github PR, there was no way to extend the platform in a systematic fashion—meaning, a way to allow exploratory works to be viewed by all and created by all, on all parts of the platform. In other words, how could you allow innovation with the spirit of the "let a thousand flowers bloom" strategy?

To solve this issue, in late 2016 the project management council (PMC), which controls the direction of the platform, decided to divide all the projects that constitute CF intro three sub-PMCs: Runtime, BOSH, and Extensions. The mission of the new Extensions PMC was to encourage extensions to the platform, and put some structure into the evolution of these extensions while allowing the community to explore all kinds of fruitful or not-so-fruitful options.

After the first six months of organizing and retrofitting existing projects that fit as extensions and considering new projects, CF now has an established extension process and means for anyone in the community to extend the platform. These extensions include APIs, tools, CPIs, connectors to other platforms, buildpacks, services, and more.

As the community continues to add more extensions, some will disappear and some will graduate to become core. Regardless, the primary goal is to ensure that the platform remains open and vibrant, and that anyone in the community can extend the platform with their next brilliant idea.

Conclusion

Platform as a Service will continue to evolve. With constant innovation, early platforms like Cloud Foundry can continue to maintain their leadership in this space. However, it’s also important to keep up with the innovation and excitement that come with newer approaches to solving the challenges of orchestrating containers, such as Docker Swarm and Kubernetes.

In many ways, container orchestration is not a zero-sum game and we expect that many platforms can succeed as the problem space that these platforms are trying to solve includes all of IT applications and service management.

In this article, we've highlighted five important facts (some well known and some not) that can help enterprise IT managers make the right decision when they need to choose between CF and other PaaS environments.


Downloadable resources


Related topics


Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=1049839
ArticleTitle=Five facts you may not know about Cloud Foundry
publish-date=10032017