内容


rsync 命令家族

使用 rsync 轻松地同步任意两台机器

Comments

如果您同时使用笔记本计算机和桌面计算机,就可能需要及时地同步它们。另外,除了在家里运行同步之外,还可能希望从远程站点运行同步;就拿我来说,我在旅途中使用笔记本计算机,在此期间希望确保把在笔记本上做的工作备份到桌面计算机上。(丢失笔记本并因此丢失所有工作是真正的大灾难!)对于这个问题有许多解决方案:本文介绍一种工具 — rsync — 和几种相关工具,它们都提供简便的同步过程。

什么是 rsync?

rsync 应用程序是在 Linux® 和 UNIX® 上广泛使用的文件传输和同步程序,而且它已经移植到了 Windows® 上。它的关键特性是一个非常快的算法,它只通过数据链路发送文件差异,因此把机器之间传输的数据总量降低到最低限度。(如果使用 File Transfer Protocol [FTP] 或 rcpscp 等实用程序,那么即使只修改了一个字节,也会发送完整的文件)。当然,rsync 并非只能处理现有的文件:它还可以处理只在链路一端存在的文件和目录。最后,通过压缩数据来优化通信,因此可以通过非宽带连接使用这个工具。

获取并安装 rsync

可以找到针对大多数当前 Linux 发行版预编译的二进制包,首先应该找到适合自己的包。我使用 Smart 对 OpenSUSE 进行包管理,所以只需使用 sudo smart install rsync 命令安装 rsync 的最新版本。如果您喜欢自己进行编译,那么可以获取源代码(见 参考资料 中的链接)并用传统的 configure, make, make install 方法安装它;详细步骤参见源代码中的 README 文件。

为了进行安全的通信,需要安装 Secure Shell (ssh)。(可以使用 remote shell [rsh],但是它不够安全)。OpenSSH 是 ssh 的一种免费实现,在所有发行版上都有。还需要在防火墙上打开一个端口,让计算机可以相互连接。这些都是标准配置,更多信息见 参考资料 中的链接。

使用 rsync

现在,我们使用 rsync 把笔记本计算机直接同步到一个远程服务器。为此,可以使用与 清单 1 相似的代码。还可以把远程服务器同步到笔记本(文件将从服务器发送到笔记本),或者同步两个本地目录,但是不能同步两个远程服务器。

清单 1. 相同 rsync 命令的两个版本
rsync --compress --recursive --delete --links \
--times --perms --owner --group \
--verbose --progress --stats \
--rsh="ssh" \
--exclude "*bak" --exclude "*~" \
/my/path/at/the/laptop/* myserver:/some/path/at/the/server

rsync -zrltpogve "ssh" --progress --stats --delete \
--exclude "*bak" --exclude "*~" \
/my/path/at/the/laptop/* myserver:/some/path/at/the/server

注意,清单 1 中选项的次序是任意的,而且大多数选项有短格式。首先,--compress(或 -z)指定将压缩数据,这可以节省带宽。应该总是使用这个选项。(在非常高速的数据链路上,不进行压缩可能也可以,但是对于大多数远程连接,压缩都是有帮助的)。可以使用补充选项 --compress-level=level 指定压缩的级别;但是,通常可以接受标准的压缩级别。

--recursive (-r) 选项让 rsync 递归地复制所有目录。这会复制目录中的所有文件,包括其中的子目录及其内容。如果不需要这个功能,可以使用 --dirs 选项 (-d) 产生相反的效果:跳过子目录及其内容。

在默认情况下,rsync 把需要的文件复制到目标计算机,但是并不删除额外文件。通过使用 --delete 选项,目标目录会与原目录保持完全一致。但是要注意:如果把一个空目录同步到远程目录,就会删除远程目录中的所有内容!

如果原目录中有符号链接,--links 选项(或 -l)会在目标目录中重新创建这些符号链接。另一种方法是使用 --copy-links(或 -L)复制符号链接指向的文件或目录,而不是复制符号链接本身。如果有符号链接指向复制的树之外的文件或目录(这是一种安全风险),可以使用 --copy-unsafe-links--safe-links 选项忽略这样的链接,这更安全。

后面四个选项(--times--perms--owner--group-tpog)分别让 rsync 保持原来的更新时间戳、权限、所有者和组信息。同时指定所有这些选项的简便方法是使用 --archive(或 -a),这还会设置 --recursive--links 选项。

后面三个选项(--verbose--progress--stats)提供关于 rsync 正在执行的操作的大量信息。如果对这些信息不感兴趣,只需跳过它们,除非出现错误,rsync 会悄悄地运行。

尽管当前的 rsync 版本默认使用 ssh,但是可以使用 --rsh(或 -e)选项强制使用 ssh。如果需要使用额外的 ssh 参数(例如希望让 ssh 使用非标准端口),可以添加这些参数,例如 --rsh "ssh -p 12345"

可以使用 --exclude 选项(和对应的 --include)选择要同步的文件。在这个示例中,排除了常见的备份文件。应该根据需要排除和包含文件,从而优化发送的内容。

最后,指定源路径和目标路径。不要忘记最后的 /*,否则结果可能不符合期望。可以通过查看文档了解 some/path、some/path/some/path/* 之间的差异。但是,使用 /* 是最保险的方法。

可以使用 -a 选项 (--archive) 简化清单 1 中的命令,见 清单 2。(如果作为根在服务器上运行 rsync-a 选项可能会复制一些额外的内容 — 请查阅文档 — 这不是一种安全的做法)。rsync 还有许多选项;可以通过 rsync --helpman rsync 了解所有选项。

清单 2. 相同命令的简短版本
rsync -zae "ssh" --delete --exclude "*bak" --exclude "*~" \
/my/path/at/the/laptop/* myserver:/some/path/at/the/server

图形化替代工具

如果您喜欢使用图形用户界面 (GUI) 而不是命令行,那么可以选择几种工具。但是,应该记住一点:并没有 “完美的替代工具”,在使用任何程序之前,应该进行充分的测试。一些程序尽管看起来很有意思,但是它们还处于开发阶段,还不太成熟;一些程序提供更先进的功能。还有一些失败的过时的工具。

GAdmin-Rsync

GAdmin-Rsync(见 图 1)是 Gadmintools 包的组成部分,Gadmintools 包是一组供 Linux 系统管理员使用的 GUI 工具。它的最新版本是 2009 年 1 月发布的 0.1.1,前一个版本是 2008 年 6 月发布的 0.1.0。它的安装非常简单:如果没有找到适合自己发行版的包,那么只需下载源代码并运行简单的 ./Autoinstall 过程。

图 1. 尽管 GAdmin-Rsync 的版本号很低,界面也需要进一步开发,但是它的功能很不错
Gadmin-rsync
Gadmin-rsync

让人吃惊的一点是这个程序需要根密码。您可以说我过分小心,但是除非绝对必须,我肯定不愿意作为根用户工作;根用户犯的错误往往会造成惨重的损失!

在第一次使用这个工具时,它要求指定要运行的备份的详细信息。GAdmin-Rsync 允许定义多个备份,很容易重新运行它们。需要指定备份的类型(本地到本地、本地到远程或远程到本地)以及适当的目录和服务器信息。但是,要注意一点:我没有找到编辑服务器参数的方法,所以修改服务器参数就需要创建新的备份 — 这对用户不太方便。我还遇到了另一个问题:这个程序不接受无密码连接。

GAdmin-Rsync 中没有什么花哨的东西。例如,无法进行 “演习”。相反,能够简便地指定在以后运行的 cron 作业。这种功能可能反映了这个程序的 “面向根用户” 思想:它并不适合一般用户,而是供系统管理员使用的。(Help 特性也反映了这种思想:它只说 “How to backup using GAdmin-Rsync: Visit http://www.gadmintools.org” — 这比 “RTFM” 注释强不了多少!)您是否喜欢这个程序,取决于您的系统管理经验,但是如果适当地使用,它是很有帮助的。

Grsync

Grsync(见 图 2)是一个基于 GTK 的 rsync GUI,但是它不仅能够在 Gnome 上使用。它的最新版本是 2008 年 12 月发布的 0.6.2,这意味着它仍然处于开发阶段。它最有意思的特性包括:

  • 把设置保存为 “会话”,这样就可以方便地重新运行备份过程。
  • 在实际提交备份之前,允许进行 “模拟”(演习)。
  • 可以在备份作业之前和之后执行额外命令。
  • 包含一个命令行版本 grsync-batch,可以使用它从 cron 作业运行 Grsync 会话。
图 2. Grsync 没有提供底层 rsync 命令的许多选项,但是非常方便和稳定。
Grsync
Grsync

在它的主页(见 参考资料 中的链接)上,可以找到源代码,如果您有 GTK 和 Autotools,可以自己编译源代码。但是,也可以找到针对许多发行版编译的二进制代码,包括 OpenSUSE、Mandriva、Red Hat(以及 Fedora 和 CentOS)等等。Grsync 只是一个前端,所以它不包含 rsync:您必须先自行安装 rsync

Grsync 并没有提供 rsync 的所有特性,但是对于大多数用户来说,它包含的选项已经足够了。如果需要其他特性,可以单击 Advanced Options 选项卡,然后就能够添加所需的任何选项。但是,要注意语法:如果出现语法错误,Grsync 并不会给出提示,但是在执行备份时 rsync 会显示错误消息。尽管有这些不足,这个程序仍然是非常方便和稳定的 — 可能是我考察的所有 GUI 中最好的一种。

QSync 和 TKsync

QSync 是一种基于 Qt 的界面,但是它的开发似乎到 2005 年 12 月发布的 0.3 版就已经停止了。我不推荐这个工具:它需要自己的 rsync 版本,所以不使用最新的 rsync 包,而是使用内部版本(肯定比较旧)。我下载了一个 OpenSUSE 包,但是它无法运行;坦白地说,对于一个似乎已经被放弃的包,不值得花费精力进行定制的编译。作者本人在 2003 年承认 “QSync 的同步部分还不十分完善”,在此之后没有更新,所以有理由相信这个问题还未解决。

在 Google 上搜索 rsync GUI 可能会搜索到另一个项目 TKsync,它的最新版本是 2004 年发布的 0.2.1。但是,搜索不到这个项目的主页(似乎被删除了)。因此,这个项目应该已经消亡了。如果您碰巧找到了它的安装包,最好不要使用它。

Zynk

尽管 Zynk 还处于开发的早期阶段,但是这个程序很值得注意。另外,可以找到针对多个发行版的版本,您还应该了解它当前的限制。最后要注意,Zynk 是一个 GTK+ 应用程序,但是没有 Gnome 也能运行;我在 K Desktop Environment (KDE) 中做过测试。

Zynk 的当前版本是 2009 年 2 月发布的 0.0.2。由于它还处于开发状态,作者本人警告说,“目前还有许多 bug!这个软件中只有一部分功能能够正常工作!要使用它的话,风险自负!” 根据他的估计,这个程序只完成了大约 10%,尽管看起来不止这么少,见 图 3

图 3. Zynk 还处于开发的早期阶段,但是似乎有前途
Zynk
Zynk

Zynk 显然提供 rsync 的大多数选项(也可能是所有选项)。(顺便说一句,需要先安装 rsync)。在窗口底部,可以看到要执行的命令及其输出。

经过测试之后,我不得不同意这个程序还需要进一步开发。但是与 QSync 不同,它的开发还在进行,有理由相信它会越来越成熟。

结束语

rsync 应用程序是命令行工作的必备工具,您需要学习如何使用它实现简便、安全且快速的笔记本-桌面同步。如果您更喜欢使用 GUI,Grsync 似乎是目前最好的工具,QSync 已经过时了,而 GAdmin-Rsync 和 Zynk 还处于开发的早期阶段。


相关主题

  • Andrew Tridgell 在他的博士论文 “Efficient Algorithms for Sorting and Synchronization” 中讨论了 rsync,并在他的 技术报告 中详细讨论了 rsync 算法。
  • rsync 站点 是必须访问的站点。它提供 FAQ文档示例 和其他参考资料。
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 新手入门:访问“AIX and UNIX 新手入门”页面可了解更多关于 AIX 和 UNIX 的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • 研究 ssh,安装 OpenSSH(ssh 的免费版本)来实现安全的通信。
  • 下载 rsync 并安装它。
  • GAdmin-Rsync 是 Gadmintools 包的组成部分,Gadmintools 包是一组供 Linux 系统管理员使用的 GUI 工具。
  • Grsync 仍然在更新,其功能虽然有限,但是相当有用。
  • Krsync 是在 Linux 图形化脚本工具 Kommander 上构建的。
  • QSync 已经过时了,可能会被放弃;建议不要使用它。
  • Zynk 看起来很有意思,但是它还处于早期阶段,还不成熟。
  • 使用 Smart 进行包管理。

评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Linux
ArticleID=394161
ArticleTitle=rsync 命令家族
publish-date=06042009

Contents


The rsync family

Synchronizing any two machines is easy when you use rsync

Comments

If you work with both a laptop and a desktop computer, you know you have to synchronize the machines to keep them up to date. In addition, you probably want to run the synchronization not only at your home but also from a remote site; in my case, whenever I travel with my laptop, I make sure that whatever I do on it gets backed up to my desktop computer. (Losing your laptop and thereby losing all your work isn't nice at all!) Many solutions to this problem exist: This article introduces one such tool—rsync—and mentions several related tools, all of which provide easy synchronization procedures.

What is rsync?

The rsync utility is a file-transfer and synchronization program widely available for Linux® and UNIX® and even ported to Windows®. Its key feature is a very fast algorithm that just sends file differences over the data link, thus minimizing the total data flow between machines. (If you use the File Transfer Protocol [FTP] or utilities such as rcp or scp, complete files will be sent, even if just one byte has changed.) Of course, rsync isn't limited to existing files: It can also deal with files and directories that might be present only at one end of the link. Finally, communications are optimized by compressing data, so you can use the tool even without a broadband connection.

Getting and installing rsync

You can get precompiled binary packages for most current Linux distributions, and this is the first thing you should check. I use Smart for package management with OpenSUSE, and sudo smart install rsync was all I needed to install rsync's latest version. If you are a die-hard compile-everything fan, you can get the source code (see Related topics for a link) and install it with the classic configure, make, make install method; check the included README file for detailed instructions.

For secure communications, you will want to have Secure Shell (ssh) installed. (You could use remote shell [rsh], but it's nowhere near as secure.) OpenSSH, a free implementation of ssh, is commonly available with all distributions. You will also need to open a port in your firewall so that your computers can connect with each other. All this configuration is standard: Check Related topics for links to more information.

Using rsync

So, let's start using rsync and directly synchronize your laptop with a remote server. To do so, you use code similar to that shown in Listing 1. You can also synchronize your remote server to your laptop (files will be sent over from the server to your laptop) or even two local directories, but not two remote servers.

Listing 1. Two versions of the same complete rsync command
rsync --compress --recursive --delete --links \
--times --perms --owner --group \
--verbose --progress --stats \
--rsh="ssh" \
--exclude "*bak" --exclude "*~" \
/my/path/at/the/laptop/* myserver:/some/path/at/the/server

rsync -zrltpogve "ssh" --progress --stats --delete \
--exclude "*bak" --exclude "*~" \
/my/path/at/the/laptop/* myserver:/some/path/at/the/server

Note that the order of the options in Listing 1 is arbitrary, and most have a shorter version. First, --compress (alternative: -z) specifies that data will be compressed, saving bandwidth in the process. You should always include this option. (It can be argued that over a very high-speed data link, you might do without compression, but for most remote connection links, compression will help.) A complementary option, --compress-level=level can be used to specify different levels of compression; however, the standard compression level is typically acceptable.

The --recursive (-r) option makes rsync copy all directories recursively. All files within a directory, including possibly other directories and their own contents, will be copied. If you don't happen to need this functionality, the --dirs option (-d) provides the opposite effect: Directories and their contents will be skipped.

By default, rsync copies needed files to the destination computer but won't delete extra files there. By using the --delete option, the destination directory will be exactly like the original one. Be careful, though: If you ever happen to sync an empty file with a remote directory, you will delete everything at the remote machine directory!

If there are symlinks in your original directory, the --links option (also -l) recreates those symlinks in the destination directory. As an alternative, --copy-links or -L copies the item the symlink points to instead of the symlink itself. If you have symlinks that point outside the copied tree (a safety risk), you can use --copy-unsafe-links instead. The --safe-links option provides a safer method, ignoring such links.

The next four options—--times, --perms, --owner, and --group or -tpog—make rsync keep the original update timestamp, permission, owner, and group details, respectively. An easier way to specify all these options is by using --archive or -a, which also sets the --recursive and --links options.

The three following options (--verbose, --progress, and --stats) provide lots of information as to what rsync is doing. If you are not interested, just skip them, and rsync will be quiet unless an error pops up.

Although current rsync versions default to using ssh, the --rsh (or -e) option lets you force its usage. If you happened to require extra parameters for ssh (say, if you had set up ssh to use a non-standard port), you can add them, as in --rsh "ssh -p 12345".

The --exclude option (and its sibling, --include) lets you be more selective as to which files to synchronize. In this example, I excluded common backup files. Exclude and include files as desired to optimize what's sent over.

Finally, specify both the source and the destination paths, and you are done! Don't forget the final /*, or the result might not be as desired. If you check the documentation, you can find out the difference between some/path, some/path/, and some/path/*. But using /* is the safest way out.

You can shorten the command from Listing 1 by using the -a option (--archive), as shown in Listing 2. (For purists, the -a option can copy some extra elements—check the documentation—but only if you are running rsync as root in the server, which isn't a secure thing to do anyway.) There are far more options; check rsync --help and man rsync for a complete list.

Listing 2. A shorter, more silent version of the same command
rsync -zae "ssh" --delete --exclude "*bak" --exclude "*~" \
/my/path/at/the/laptop/* myserver:/some/path/at/the/server

Graphic alternatives

If you'd rather use a graphical user interface (GUI) instead of the command line, there are several possibilities. However, you should keep in mind that there's no "perfect alternative" and that you should do some thorough testing before committing to any program in particular. Some programs are in development (though they look interesting enough to include them in this review), and some are more advanced in their capabilities. (There also are some duds, which I include as a warning!)

GAdmin-Rsync

GAdmin-Rsync (shown in Figure 1) is part of the Gadmintools package, a set of GPL-licensed GUI tools for Linux systems administration. Its latest version is a surprisingly low 0.1.1 from January 2009, while the previous version was 0.1.0 from June 2008. Installation is quite simple: If you don't find a distribution-ready package, it's just a matter of downloading the source code and running a simple ./Autoinstall procedure.

Figure 1. Despite its low version number, GAdmin-Rsync promises good functionality, though its interface needs more development.
Gadmin-rsync
Gadmin-rsync

A small surprise was that the program requires the root password. Call me safety conscious, but I certainly don't like working as root unless I have to; mistakes are usually costlier for the root user!

The first time you use this tool, it asks for details about the backup you want to run. GAdmin-Rsync allows you to define several backups, so it's easier to re-run them. You need to specify the kind of backup (local to local, local to remote, or remote to local) and the appropriate directories and server data. But be careful here: I didn't find a way to edit the server parameters, so fixing them would require creating a new backup—not too user friendly. I also met another problem: The program wouldn't accept a password-less connection.

There are not many frills in GAdmin-Rsync. For example, you cannot just do a "dry run." In contrast, there's an easy way to specify cron jobs to be run at later times. Probably, this functionality reflects the "root-oriented" idea of the program: It's not for casual users but for systems administrators. (The Help feature agrees with this: It just says "Howto backup using GAdmin-Rsync: Visit http://www.gadmintools.org"—just a notch above a "RTFM" comment!) How much you will like this program depends on your systems administrator bent, but it can be useful.

Grsync

Grsync (shown in Figure 2) is a GTK-based GUI for rsync, but it isn't limited to Gnome. Its latest version is 0.6.2, dated December 2008, which means that the program is still supported and in development. Among its most interesting features are:

  • Saving your settings as "sessions" so that you can easily re-run a backup procedure.
  • Allowing a "simulation" (dry run) before actually committing to the backup.
  • Executing extra commands before and after the backup job.
  • Including a command-line version, grsync-batch, that lets you run Grsync sessions from a cron-scheduled run, for example.
Figure 2. Grsync doesn't offer too many of the options of the underlying rsync command but is quite usable and stable.
Grsync
Grsync

At the home page (see Related topics for a link), you will find only source code, which you can compile on your own if you have GTK and Autotools. However, you can find ready-made binaries for many distributions, including OpenSUSE, Mandriva, Red Hat (and Fedora and CentOS, as well), and more. Grsync is just a front end, so it doesn't include rsync: You will have to install that on your own first.

Not all rsync features are available, but for most users, the included options will be enough. If you need something, click the Advanced Options tab, and you will be able to add any option you require. Be careful with the syntax, though: If you make a mistake, Grsync won't complain, but rsync will, and you will get its error message when you try to execute the backup. Other than that, the package is quite usable and stable—probably the best of all the GUIs I reviewed.

QSync and TKsync

QSync is a Qt-based interface, but its development seems to have stopped at version 0.3, from December 2005. I won't recommend this tool: It requires its own rsync version, so it won't use your specific, up-to-date rsync package but rather the internal (certainly old) version of the command. I downloaded an OpenSUSE package, but it wouldn't run, and frankly, it didn't seem worthwhile trying a custom build for a seemingly abandoned package. The author himself admitted (in 2003) that "The syncing portion of QSync isn't quite right yet," and because there have been no updates since then, it stands to reason that this problem hasn't been solved.

Running a Google search for rsync GUIs might lead you to another project—TKsync—whose latest version (0.2.1) was released in 2004. Searching, however, failed to get the (apparently deleted) project page. So, it's fairly safe to call this project dead. If you happen to find an installation package, you'd probably be better off ignoring it.

Zynk

Even with Zynk being (obviously) at the beginning of its development cycle, the program looks promising enough to mention. Also, you might find versions of it for several distributions, and you should be aware of its (current) limitations. Finally, note that Zynk is a GTK+ application but can be run without Gnome; in particular, I ran my tests under the K Desktop Environment (KDE).

As to development status, Zynk is currently at version 0.0.2, dated February 2009, and the author himself warns, "There are hundreds of bugs at the moment! Only some parts of the software work as expected! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!" On his estimate, the program is only about 10 percent done, though it looks like it is more complete than that, as Figure 3 shows.

Figure 3. Zynk is at the beginning of its development cycle but looks promising.
Zynk
Zynk

Zynk apparently provides for most (if not all) of the rsync options. (By the way, you need have rsync previously installed.) At the bottom of the window, you can see the command that will be executed and its output.

Having run some tests, I must agree that the program needs more work. But unlike QSync, it seems like development is ongoing, so there's a reasonable chance that the program will actually become usable.

Conclusion

The rsync utility is a mandatory tool for your command-line work, and you need to learn how to use it for easy, safe, quick laptop-desktop synchronization. If a GUI is more your thing, Grsync seems the best option available today, as QSync is badly outdated and both GAdmin-Rsync and Zynk are at the beginning of their development cycles.


Downloadable resources


Related topics

  • Check the Unison Web site for more on this program, or this article I wrote some time ago, for a more hands-on view.
  • Read up on ssh, and install OpenSSH (a free version of ssh) for secure communications.
  • GAdmin-Rsync is a part of the Gadmintools package, a set of GUI tools for Linux systems administrators.
  • Grsync is still being updated and, though a bit limited, is quite usable.
  • Krsync is built upon Kommander, a visual scripting tool for Linux.
  • QSync is dated and probably abandoned; I'd suggest staying away from it.
  • Zynk looks interesting, though it's at an early stage and not ready yet.
  • Use Smart for package management.

Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=381524
ArticleTitle=The rsync family
publish-date=04142009