Naming standards for business continuity

Best practices and definitions

From the developerWorks archives

Dana French

Date archived: May 14, 2019 | First published: November 25, 2008

In today's partitioned and virtualized computing environments, the requirement for naming standards is more apparent than ever before. Unfortunately, there is a widespread lack of understanding between the different categories of names used to identify managed systems, LPAR's, profiles, node names, host names, and aliases. This article defines naming categories and provide standards for creating enterprise-wide unique names associated with each category. This article also explains why it is important to distinguish between the different naming categories and how they are an integral part of data center automation projects and an overall business continuity plan.

This content is no longer being updated or maintained. The full article is provided "as is" in a PDF file. Given the rapid evolution of technology, some content, steps, or illustrations may have changed.

Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleTitle=Naming standards for business continuity