边缘计算在数据源采取行动

边缘计算是一种分布式计算框架,使企业应用更接近数据源,例如,IoT 设备或本地边缘服务器。这样接近数据源可以带来显著的业务效益:更快获得洞察,缩短响应时间,提高带宽可用性。

Gartner 预计到 2025 年,75% 的数据将在传统数据中心或云环境之外进行处理。¹

为何选择边缘计算?

IoT 设备的爆炸式增长和不断增加的计算能力产生了前所未有的海量数据。随着 5G 网络促进互联移动设备数量不断增加,数据量将继续增长。

过去,云计算和 AI 的承诺是通过从数据中获得的切实可行的洞察来自动实现快速创新。但是,互联设备产生的海量数据和前所未有的复杂性已经超出了网络和基础架构的能力范围。

将设备生成的所有数据发送到集中式数据中心或云端会导致带宽和延迟问题。边缘计算提供了更高效的替代方法:在更接近创建数据的位置处理和分析数据。由于数据不会通过网络传输到云端或数据中心以进行处理,因此延迟显著减少。边缘计算以及在 5G 网络上进行的移动边缘计算支持更快、更全面的数据分析,创造机会获得更深入的洞察,缩短响应时间并改善客户体验。

边缘设备:利用潜力

无论是互联汽车还是工厂车间的智能机器人,全世界各种设备生成的数据量比以往任何时候都要多得多,但是,海量物联网数据中的大多数根本没有得到开发利用。例如,McKinsey & Company 的一项研究发现,某海上石油钻井平台从 30,000 个传感器生成数据,但目前只有不到百分之一的数据用于决策。²

边缘计算利用不断发展的设备内计算能力,接近实时地提供深入洞察和预测性分析。边缘设备中这种增强的分析能力可以推动创新、提高质量并提升价值。它还提出了重要的战略问题:在计算能力增加的情况下,如何管理执行这些类型的操作的工作负载的部署?如何使用设备中的嵌入式智能,以更具响应性的方式影响员工、客户和业务?为了从所有这些设备中获取最大价值,大量计算量必须移动到边缘。

您的边缘计算之旅:需考虑的事项

边缘计算可以帮助您发掘互联设备生成的大量未开发数据的潜力。您可以发掘新的商机,提高运营效率,更快为客户提供更可靠且始终如一的体验。最佳边缘计算模型可以通过在本地分析数据来帮助提高性能。一种经过深思熟虑的边缘计算方法可以根据预定义的策略使工作负载保持最新状态,帮助确保隐私并遵守数据存储位置法律和法规。

但这一过程并非没有挑战。有效的边缘计算模型应该能够解决网络安全风险、管理复杂性以及延迟和带宽的限制。一个可行的模型应该可以帮助您:

  • 管理所有云环境和任意数量的设备上的工作负载。
  • 可靠无缝地将应用部署到所有边缘位置。
  • 保持开放性和灵活性,以适应不断变化的需求。
  • 更安全、充满信心地开展运营

了解业内边缘计算的未来

银行、采矿、零售或其他行业的 CIO 正在制定战略,旨在打造个性化的客户体验,更快地生成洞察和采取行动,并确保持续运营。这可以通过采用大规模分布式计算架构来实现,这种架构也称为边缘计算。但是,各行各业都有推动边缘 IT 需求的特定用例。

银行可能需要借助边缘计算实时分析 ATM 视频馈入,以确保消费者的安全。采矿企业可以使用自己的数据优化运营,改善工人安全状况,减少能源消耗以及提高生产力。 零售商可以为客户打造个性化的购物体验,快速宣传专门的优惠活动。利用多媒体终端服务的企业可以自动远程分发和管理基于多媒体终端的应用,确保应用即使在未连接网络或网络信号不佳的情况下,仍能继续运行。

探索边缘计算如何在您的行业中创造各种可能性

边缘计算的主要功能

无论您对哪种边缘计算感兴趣(云边缘计算、IoT 边缘计算或移动边缘计算),请确保找到能够帮助您实现以下目标的解决方案:

大规模管理软件分发

减少不必要的管理员,节省相关成本,并在需要的位置和时间部署软件。

利用开源技术

利用边缘计算解决方案,培养创新能力,轻松应对当今市场中设备的多样性。

解决安全问题

了解正确的工作负载在正确的时间在正确的机器上运行。确保有一种简便的方法来管理和执行企业的策略。

利用深厚的行业专业知识,吸引可信赖的合作伙伴

寻找拥有经过验证的多云平台和旨在提高可扩展性、加速性能并增强边缘部署安全性的全面服务组合的供应商。向您的供应商询问有关扩展服务的信息,从而最大程度提升边缘智能和性能。

探索 5G 和边缘计算解决方案

边缘计算和 5G 技术在各行各业创造了巨大的机遇。它使计算和数据存储更靠近生成数据的位置,从而实现更好的数据控制,降低成本,更快地获得洞察和采取行动,以及确保持续运营。事实上,到 2025 年,50% 的企业数据将在边缘处理,而现在这个比例仅为 10%。

了解有关 IBM 5G 和边缘计算解决方案的更多信息

只需几分钟即可设计、部署和扩展新的通信服务,同时能够显著降低成本

IBM 提供自主管理产品,用于应对边缘环境、基于边缘的行业解决方案和服务中设备的巨大规模、纷繁种类和变化速度。 IBM 还提供解决方案,帮助通信服务提供商 (CSP) 实现网络现代化,在边缘提供新型服务。

了解有关 IBM Edge Application Manager 的更多信息

 

¹“What Edge Computing Means for Infrastructure and Operations Leaders”Rob van der Meulen,Gartner Research,2018 年 10 月(链接位于 IBM 外部)

²“物联网:在炒作之外映射价值”,McKinsey Global Institute, McKinsey & Company,2015 年 6 月(链接位于 IBM 外部)

进一步了解 IBM 云计算

IBM 专家为您服务(工作日9:00-17:00)

关注“IBM云计算”公众号,及时掌握最新资讯

Edge computing acts on data at the source

Edge computing is a distributed computing framework that brings enterprise applications closer to data sources, such as Internet of Things (IoT) devices or local edge servers. This proximity to data at its source can deliver real business benefits: faster insights, improved response times and better bandwidth availability.

Gartner estimates that by 2025, 75 percent of data will be processed outside the traditional data center or cloud.¹

Why edge computing?

The explosive growth of internet of things (IoT) devices, and the increasing computing power of these devices, have resulted in unprecedented volumes of data. And data volumes will continue to grow as 5G networks increase the number of connected mobile devices.

 In the past, the promise of cloud and artificial intelligence (AI) was to automate and speed innovation by driving actionable insight from data. But the unprecedented scale and complexity of data that’s created by connected devices has outpaced network and infrastructure capabilities.

Sending all that device-generated data to a centralized data center or to the cloud causes bandwidth and latency issues. Edge computing offers a more efficient alternative: data is processed and analyzed closer to the point where it is created. Because data does not traverse over a network to a cloud or data center in order to be processed, latency is significantly reduced. Edge computing — and mobile edge computing on 5G networks — enables faster and more comprehensive data analysis, creating the opportunity for deeper insights, faster response times and improved customer experiences.

Learn more about edge computing and cloud

Devices at the edge: Harnessing the potential

From connected vehicles to intelligent bots on the factory floor, the amount of data being generated in our world from devices is higher than ever before, yet most of this vast amount of IoT data is not exploited or used at all. For example, a McKinsey & Company study finds that an offshore oil rig generates data from 30,000 sensors — but less than one percent of that data is currently used to make decisions.²

Edge computing harnesses the growing in-device computing capability to provide deep insights and predictive analysis in near-real time. This increased analytics capability in edge devices can power innovation to improve quality and enhance value. It also raises important strategic questions: How do you manage the deployment of workloads that perform these types of actions in the presence of increased compute capacity? How can you use the embedded intelligence in devices to influence operational processes for your employees, your customers and your business more responsively? In order to extract the most value from all those devices, significant volumes of computation must move to the edge.

Your journey to edge computing: Things to consider

Edge computing helps you unlock the potential of the vast untapped data that’s created by connected devices. You can take action to uncover new business opportunities, increase operational efficiency and provide faster, more reliable and consistent experiences for your customers. The best edge computing models can help you accelerate performance by analyzing data locally. A well-considered approach to edge computing can keep workloads up-to-date according to pre-defined policies, can help maintain privacy and will adhere to data residency laws and regulations.

But this process is not without its challenges. An effective edge computing model should address network security risks, management complexities, and the limitations of latency and bandwidth. A viable model should help you:

  • Manage your workloads across all clouds and on any number of devices.
  • Deploy applications to all edge locations reliably and seamlessly.
  • Maintain openness and flexibility to adopt to evolving needs.
  • Operate more securely and with confidence.


Read how edge computing can transform your business

Key capabilities for edge computing

No matter which variety of edge computing interests you — cloud edge, IoT edge or mobile edge computing — be sure that you find a solution that helps you accomplish the following goals:

Manage the distribution of software at massive scale

Reduce unnecessary administrators, save the associated costs, and deploy software where and when it’s needed.

Leverage open source technology

Leverage an edge computing solution that nurtures the ability to innovate and that can handle the diversity of equipment and devices in today’s marketplace.

Address security concerns

 Know that the right workloads are on the right machine at the right time. Make sure there’s an easy way to govern and enforce the policies of your enterprise.

Engage a trusted partner with deep industry expertise

Find a vendor with a proven multicloud platform and a comprehensive portfolio of services designed to increase scalability, accelerate performance and strengthen security in your edge deployments. Ask your vendor about extended services that maximize intelligence and performance at the edge.

¹"What Edge Computing Means for Infrastructure and Operations Leaders," Rob van der Meulen, Gartner Research, October 2018 (link resides outside IBM)

²"The Internet of Things: Mapping the Value Beyond the Hype," McKinsey Global Institute, McKinsey & Company, June 2015 (link resides outside IBM)