Domain Name Services features

The Domain Registration Agreement (DRA) covers various topics, including registration fees and how to set your domain name to automatically renew itself. The DRA also covers the transfer of domain names. The DRA is a binding agreement between IBM Cloud and the registrant (“Customer”). The Customer agrees to be bound by all conditions of the DRA. IBM Cloud may supplement and/or amend, at any time, the terms and conditions of the DRA.

Domain dispute resolution

Download the DDRP (PDF, 75 KB)

IBM Cloud periodically modifies its Domain Dispute Resolution Policy (DDRP), and posts any changes to its DDRP at least thirty (30) days before they become effective. The Customer agrees to review IBM Cloud’s website periodically to determine if changes have been made to the DDRP. Find out more by reading the DDRP.

If a domain name isn’t renewed within 40 days of expiration, it’s moved into “Redemption Grace Period” and renewal costs an additional $200. It stays in a redemption state for 30 days. After that, the domain name is moved to “Pending Delete” and can’t be renewed by the user or IBM Cloud. The domain name remains in “Pending Delete” for up to 10 days. It is then released by the registry and may be re-registered by the public. (IBM Cloud doesn’t auto-renew domain names except under extenuating circumstances.)

Registration renewal reminders

IBM Cloud sends domain renewal reminder emails to the registered owner contact of the domain names, as mandated by ICANN Expired Registration Recovery Policy (ERRP). A first renewal reminder notice is sent about 30 days before domain expiration and a second notice about one week before domain expiration. IBM Cloud sends one more renewal reminder email to the registered owner contact of the domain three days after expiration.

Renewal, post-expiration renewal fees and redemption fees apply to each TLD: .com, .net, .org, .info, .biz. and us. View the PDF to see the fees.

Get started on domain name services in minutes

Register for a selection of top-level domains — like .com, .net and .org.