敏捷、自动化的创新之路
在 IBM Automation 的帮助下,UWV 在六周内推出了荷兰紧急就业计划
日落时分的阿姆斯特丹 Zuidas 金融区

有时,只需要一个火花就可以点燃快速创新之火。 UWV* 的情况就是如此,荷兰政府责成该组织执行一项计划,以防止新冠疫情导致失业。

UWV 是一个自治管理机构,负责实施员工保险并提供劳动力市场和数据服务:帮助失业者寻找工作,确定职业残障人士的福利,并管理向符合条件人士提供的医疗和失业补助。

NOW** 计划,也称为 Temporary Emergency Measure Bridging Employment(过渡性就业临时紧急措施),向受新冠疫情影响的公司提供补偿,使他们能够继续支付员工的工资。 三个月内收入损失 20% 或以上的公司可获得最高相当于该期间工资成本 90% 的补贴。 该限期计划分六个登记期进行,每三个月进行一次,直至该计划于 2021 年 10 月 1 日结束。

*公司荷兰文全称:Uitvoeringsinstituut Werknemersverzekeringen
**计划荷兰文全称:Tijdelijke Noodmaatregel Overbrugging Werkgelegenheidd

缩短开发时间

 

将开发和发布新应用程序的时间从数年缩短至 6

工作流程自动化

 

自动化工作流程可处理 250,000 个核心业务流程中的例外情况

我们已经计划在更多部门的流程中实施该解决方案,现在人们对该解决方案的价值、灵活性和在短时间内交付成果的能力深信不疑。 Peter van der Heijden E-Werken 计划主管 UWV

政府只给了 UWV 六周的时间来启动和运行该计划。 为了满足紧迫的时间要求,UWV 需要一种自动化的方式来处理需要特殊考虑的请求,即由于先前的破产、缺乏历史数据或银行账户信息不正确等因素而不太符合典型模式的案例。

UWV 考虑了各种选择——从头开始构建 Java 应用程序、创建自动化电子表格——但最终转向了其已经拥有的技术: IBM Cloud Pak ® for Business Automation 解决方案。 UWV 已经开始使用该解决方案,但尚未在实际环境中完全实施。 现在正是付诸实践的时候。

速度和敏捷性的巨大飞跃

UWV 与 IBM 合作伙伴 You-Get BV 密切合作,使用 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 的 Business Automation Workflow 功能开发 NOW 请求豁免应用程序。 该应用程序帮助公司解决了在处理计划请求时面临的最大挑战之一:确保所有批准的请求符合 NOW 计划的复杂法规和要求。

其运作方式如下:一家公司通过在线门户网站申请了 NOW 资金。如果出现例外情况(例如地址过时或在荷兰境外设有办事处的公司),系统将根据既定流程通过 Business Automation Workflow 功能将请求发送到相应部门。 每种类型的例外都遵循其独特的处理过程,具体取决于需要采取什么操作来加以解决。 每晚都会对已解决的请求进行批处理,然后重新输入到应用程序中进行下一阶段的处理。

六周内,该团队发布了 NOW 应用程序的首个版本,这是一项了不起的成就,因为 UWV 通常需要数月甚至数年的时间才能推出新应用程序。 UWV E-Werken 计划主管 Peter van der Heijden 表示:“我们都对自己能够做到这一点感到惊讶,这不仅是从我们公司的角度来看,也是从荷兰整个公共部门的角度来看。 我们能够在如此短的时间内将其启动并运行,这真是太神奇了。”

发布后,团队使用敏捷方法继续开发该应用程序,立即开始下一次迭代工作,以进一步自动化和优化流程、修复已知问题并纳入用户反馈。 每两周,团队就会发布一个新版本。 以前,开发周期需要三个月或更长时间。 这种持续更新的能力对于确保遵循政府对计划做出的变更至关重要,每三个月的 NOW 登记周期都会发生这种变更。

新版本的快速迭代、团队在第一时间启动和运行解决方案的惊人速度以及解决方案的高质量输出吸引了 UWV 董事会和其他部门的关注。 van der Heijden说:“我们已经开始在 UWV 的此类应用程序中将 Business Automation Workflow 功能作为通用信息和通信技术(ICT)工具来实施,现在人们更加确信其价值、灵活性以及在短时间内提供出色结果的能力。”

下一个项目——简化 UWV 失业补助计划的流程——更加复杂。 “有许多旧版系统在其中发挥作用,每个系统都有自己的工作负载。” van der Heijden 说。 “我们的目标是将所有这些系统和工作负载整合到一个应用程序中,员工可以用它来查看、确定优先级和组织他们的工作。”

客户流程涉及遵守许多政府法规,需要多个决策点。 “我们使用 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 的运营决策管理功能来帮助解决这个问题,”van der Heijden 解释说。 “在我们的网站上,这种功能可以与客户交互,根据他们的输入提供答案,以帮助完成申请过程。 在后端,该功能可以从一些相同的监管信息中提取信息,为员工提供决策支持。” 经过精心准备(有 2,000 名员工依赖该应用程序,因此从一开始就满足他们的需求至关重要),团队于 2021 年 7 月推出了该应用程序。

 

我们实施解决方案的方式非常成功,即从选定部门的小项目开始,然后启动、运行并扩展。 Peter van der Heijden E-Werken 计划主管 UWV
扩展路线图

如今,UWV 继续扩展 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 解决方案的使用,最终目的是将其用于所有流程。 UWV 19,500 名员工中已有超过 3,500 名员工在某种程度上在使用该解决方案。

与此同时,UWV 仍在当前和新项目中使用 Business Automation Workflow 功能并不断取得进步。 对于就业应用程序,UWV 正在努力用单一工作流程应用程序替换其 22 个旧版系统中的多个系统。 “到目前为止,我们已经能够用我们的工作流程功能替换两个系统,并正在开发下两个系统,”van der Heijden 说。

公司现已在其医疗部门启动了一个新项目,为职业残障人士提供支持,从电子表格系统转向基于 IBM 解决方案的 Business Automation Workflow 功能的系统。 这一过程涉及约 3500 位用户。

UWV 还在其供应和服务以及工作许可流程中实施了该解决方案。 此外,UWV 还计划在其就业部门流程中实施该解决方案,以帮助人们重返工作岗位并为残障人士提供支持。 就业部门从一个小项目开始,但最终希望在其所有流程中使用工作流程功能。

从技术角度来看,UWV 计划在 2022 年实施 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 解决方案的 Business Automation Insights 功能。 “为管理层生成有关我们流程的信息,包括跟踪响应时间、评估有效性和重新平衡机会,这对我们来说至关重要,”van der Heijden 说。 “在我们使用工作流程功能的任何地方,我们可能都需要使用 Automation Insights 功能。”

“当我们展望未来时,我们看到了新技术的使用,包括人工智能(例如机器人流程自动化和机器学习)和流程挖掘,”他继续说道。 如果 UWV 决定采用这些技术中的任何一种,IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 的各项功能可能会满足公司的需求。

但 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 解决方案的真正影响远远超出了技术范围。 “我们实施解决方案的方式非常成功,即从选定部门的小项目开始,然后启动、运行并扩展,”van der Heijden 说。 “我认为这是 UWV 内部首次使用相同的工具来交付应用程序。 这在以前从未发生过。”

UWV 徽标
关于 UWV(员工保险机构)

UWV(员工保险机构)(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一个自治管理机构 (ZBO),受荷兰社会事务和就业部 (SZW) 委托实施员工保险并提供劳动力市场和数据服务。 UWV 拥有 19,500 名员工,总部位于阿姆斯特丹 HG,负责监督为荷兰公民提供的服务,涵盖四个主要领域:协助就业、评估工作能力方面的残疾和疾病、福利管理和数据管理。

关于 You-Get BV

IBM 合作伙伴 You-Get(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)总部位于荷兰北荷兰省 Watergang,提供流程改进、机器人流程自动化、认知解决方案以及变更和项目管理等领域的技术服务。 公司成立于 2007 年,是一家私营企业,拥有约 70 名员工。

接下来:
通过业务流程自动化投资未来 TD Ameritrade 利用流程自动化提供以客户为中心的服务 CDG Prévoyance 简化和优化财务结算 Swiss Re
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 1 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud Pak 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:http://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

An agile, automated route to innovation

UWV launches a Dutch emergency employment program in six weeks with the help of IBM automation
by Kristin Fern Johnson
5-minute read
The Zuidas financial district of Amsterdam at sunset

Sometimes, it just takes a spark to ignite rapid innovation. Such was the case for UWV* when the Dutch government tasked the organization with executing a program to prevent unemployment in the face of COVID-19.

UWV is an autonomous administrative authority that implements employee insurances and provides labor market and data services: it helps the unemployed find work, determines benefits for those with occupational disabilities and manages medical and unemployment payments to those who qualify.

The NOW** program, otherwise known as the Temporary Emergency Measure Bridging Employment, provided compensation to companies negatively impacted by COVID-19 so they could continue to pay their employees’ salaries. Companies that suffered a loss of 20% or greater in revenue over a three-month period received a subsidy of up to 90% of wage costs for that period. The limited-duration program was administered over six enrollment periods, which occurred every three months until the program ended on October 1, 2021.

*Full company name in Dutch: Uitvoeringsinstituut Werknemersverzekeringen
**Full program name in Dutch: Tijdelijke Noodmaatregel Overbrugging Werkgelegenheid

People walking in front of UWV office

Reduces time to develop and launch a new application from years to

6

weeks

Automates workflows to handle exceptions among

250,000

company requests for NOW program services

We already had plans to implement the solution in more departments’ processes, but now people were convinced of its value, flexibility and ability to deliver results in a short timeframe.
Peter van der Heijden
Program Director E-Werken, UWV

The government gave UWV a mere six weeks to get the program up and running. To meet the short timeline, the organization needed an automated way to handle requests that required special consideration — cases that didn’t quite fit the typical mold due to factors such as previous bankruptcies, lack of historical data or incorrect bank account information.

UWV considered various options — building a Java application from scratch, creating an automated spreadsheet — but ended up turning to technology it already had in its possession: the IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation solution. The organization had started using the solution but hadn’t fully implemented it in a live environment. The time was right to put it into action.

Businesswoman in wheelchair leading group discussion
Manager addressing his team during meeting
The way we’re implementing the solution — starting with small projects in select departments and then getting it up and running and expanding upon it — has been highly successful.
Peter van der Heijden
Program Director E-Werken, UWV
A giant leap in speed and agility
The way we’re implementing the solution — starting with small projects in select departments and then getting it up and running and expanding upon it — has been highly successful.
Peter van der Heijden
Program Director E-Werken, UWV

UWV worked closely with IBM Business Partner You-Get BV to develop the NOW requests exemption application using the Business Automation Workflow capability of IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation. The application helped address one of the greatest challenges the company faced in processing program requests: ensuring all approved requests complied with the complex regulations and requirements of the NOW program.

Here’s how it worked: A company applied for NOW funds via an online portal. If there was an exception — such as an outdated address or a company with offices outside of the Netherlands — the system routed the request through the Business Automation Workflow capability to the appropriate department based on an established process. Each type of exception followed its own unique process depending on what actions were needed to resolve it. Requests that were resolved were batched nightly and entered back into the application for the next stage of processing.

Within six weeks, the team released its first iteration of the NOW application — a notable feat, considering it usually takes UWV months, or even years, to launch new applications. “We were all amazed we could manage it,” says Peter van der Heijden, Program Director E-Werken at UWV, “not only from the perspective of our company, but from that of the whole public sector in the Netherlands. It was amazing that we were able to get it up and running in such a short time.”

Post-launch, the team used the agile methodology to continue to develop the application, immediately starting work on the next iteration to further automate and optimize processes, fix known issues and incorporate user feedback. Every two weeks, the team issued a new release. Previously, development cycles took three months — or longer. This ability to make ongoing updates was crucial to remaining compliant with government changes to the program, which occurred with each three-month NOW enrollment cycle.

The fast turnaround time for new releases, the remarkable speed with which the team got the solution up and running in the first place and the high quality of the solution’s output attracted the attention of the UWV Board of Directors and other departments. “We already had started implementing the Business Automation Workflow capabilities as a generic information and communications technology (ICT) tool within UWV this type of application, but now people were even more convinced of its value, flexibility and ability to deliver excellent results in a short timeframe,” says van der Heijden.

The next project — streamlining processes for the UWV unemployment payments program — was more complex. “There are many legacy systems that play a role here, each system with its own workloads.” says van der Heijden. “Our goal is to incorporate all of these systems and workloads into one application that employees can use to view, prioritize and organize their work.”

The client process involves compliance with many government regulations, requiring multiple decision points. “We used the IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation’s Operational Decision Management capability to help with that,” explains van der Heijden. “On our website, this capability interacts with clients, providing answers based on their input to help with the application process. On the back end, the capability pulls from some of the same regulation information to provide decision-making support to employees.” After careful preparation — with 2,000 employees relying on the application, it was critical that it served their needs from the start — the team launched the application in July 2021.

A roadmap for expansion

Today, UWV continues to expand upon its use of the IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation solution, with eventual plans to use it across all processes. More than 3,500 of the organization’s 19,500 employees are already using the solution in some capacity.

Meanwhile, UWV is still making progress using the Business Automation Workflow capability for current and new projects. For the employment application, the organization is moving forward on replacing several of its 22 legacy systems with the single workflow application. “So far, we have been able to replace two systems with our workflow capability and are working on the next two,” says van der Heijden.

The company has now started a new project in its medical division to support people with occupational disabilities, moving from a spreadsheet system to one based on the IBM solution’s Business Automation Workflow capability. That process involves approximately 3,500 users.

UWV also is implementing the solution in its supplies and services as well as its work permit processes. In addition, it is planning to implement the solution in its employment department processes to help people get back to work and support people with disabilities. The employment department is starting with a small project but eventually wants to use the workflow capability across all of its processes.

From a technology perspective, UWV plans to implement the Business Automation Insights capability of the IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation solution in 2022. “Generating information for management about our processes, including tracking response times, evaluating effectiveness and rebalancing opportunities, is critical for us,” says van der Heijden. “Everywhere we use the workflow capability, we will probably need to use automation insights.”

“As we look at the future, we see the use of new technologies, including artificial intelligence — such as robotic process automation and machine learning — and process mining,” he continues. If UWV decides to pursue any of these technologies, IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation has capabilities that could potentially meet the company’s needs.

But the real impact of the IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation solution goes far beyond the technology. “The way we’re implementing the solution — starting with small projects in select departments and then getting it up and running and expanding upon it — has been highly successful,” says van der Heijden. “I think it’s the first time within UWV that we are all using the same tool for delivering applications. That’s never happened before.”

UWV logo
About UWV (Employee Insurance Agency)

Commissioned by the Netherland’s Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment, UWVExternal Link (Employee Insurance Agency) is an autonomous administrative authority (ZBO) and is commissioned by the Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment (SZW) to implement employee insurances and provide labor market and data services. With 19,500 employees, UWV is headquartered in HG Amsterdam and oversees services for Dutch citizens covering four primary areas: assistance finding employment, evaluation of disability and illness regarding ability to work, benefits administration and data management.

About You-Get BV

Based in Watergang, North Holland, in the Netherlands, IBM Business Partner You-GetExternal Link provides technology services in the areas of process improvement, robotic process automation, cognitive solutions, and change and project management. Founded in 2007, the company is privately owned and employs approximately 70 people.

Solution components
UWV logo
About UWV (Employee Insurance Agency)

Commissioned by the Netherland’s Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment, UWVExternal Link (Employee Insurance Agency) is an autonomous administrative authority (ZBO) and is commissioned by the Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment (SZW) to implement employee insurances and provide labor market and data services. With 19,500 employees, UWV is headquartered in HG Amsterdam and oversees services for Dutch citizens covering four primary areas: assistance finding employment, evaluation of disability and illness regarding ability to work, benefits administration and data management.

About You-Get BV

Based in Watergang, North Holland, in the Netherlands, IBM Business Partner You-GetExternal Link provides technology services in the areas of process improvement, robotic process automation, cognitive solutions, and change and project management. Founded in 2007, the company is privately owned and employs approximately 70 people.

Solution components