超过 7000 个奶牛场分布在挪威独特的地形上。 每天,TINE 卡车穿越该国巨大的峡湾和山脉,收集各个农场的牛奶,将其运送到该公司的 30 个加工厂。 从那里,TINE 将牛奶和其他奶制品发往挪威全国和世界各地。

“我们喜欢说,我们拥有挪威最复杂的价值链。”TINE 的数据与集成主管 Siri Torgersen 说道。

多年来,TINE 的复杂价值链一直有机地增长,但并没有总体计划。 工厂、仓库和分销商必须彼此共享数据,但所采用的方式千差万别。

“他们都进行专门的集成,但并没有共同的方法或技术,这导致在我们的系统之间建立点对点的集成,形成典型的意大利面式架构。”Torgersen 解释道,“这导致了高度的运营风险和大量的人工维护任务。 我们的大部分时间都专注于运营,而不是新的开发工作和其他创造价值的活动。”

TINE 的供应链包括

30

个加工厂

集成工作涉及

32

个旧系统

TINE 目前正维护着

超过 100

个集成

点对点集成架构也使得 TINE 难以解决价值链中的低效率问题。 卡车并非总能装满,或按照效率最高的路线运输,这意味着牛奶并非始终优先用于最有价值的产品 — 比如 TINE 驰名世界的 Jarlsberg 牌奶酪,而且被运去用于较低价值的用途,比如奶粉。 解决这些问题需要更灵活、可扩展性更高的集成方法。

当新的 CIO 于 2018 年加入该公司时,他看到的是错综复杂的集成架构及其对业务的负面影响。 很明显必须做出改变。

TINE 工厂传送带上的纸盒装 Kefir 牌酸牛乳酒

集成能力中心

TINE 使用 IBM 技术已经有很多年,因此 IT 团队迈向集成现代化的第一步是要求 IBM 推荐咨询服务。 IBM 将 TINE 推荐给位于挪威 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Avella,后者专业从事集成、架构和自动化方面的业务。 Avella 帮助 TINE 开发了基于 IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration 平台的新集成架构,其中包括 IBM API Connect®IBM® App Connect EnterpriseIBM MQ 技术

TINE、IBM 和 Avella 共同开发了 TINE 集中集成能力中心,整个 TINE 范围的项目负责人都可使用这个接口申请新的业务集成。 这种方法使 TINE 能够优先处理最关键的业务集成。

戴着黄色耳标的棕白色小牛

现在,新的集成请求将发送到 TINE 集成主管 Roger Høgli 领导的 TINE 集成工厂。 通过能力中心处理所有新集成,TINE 可确保这些集成都遵循基于 IBM Cloud Pak for Integration 技术的特定方法。 在新工作流程建立后两年内,集成工厂日益繁忙。

“目前的情况是,我们仍维护着超过 100 个集成。”Høgli 说道,“情形相当复杂,新项目不断涌入,有些项目还相当大。 我们不断寻找有助于改进工作的方法。 我们以有趣的方式使用 IBM Cloud Pak,特别是使用 IBM API Connect,显著简化了治理工作,这证明 IBM 解决方案对我们非常有益。”

他解释道:“我们在 IBM App Connect Enterprise 中构建集成,然后将其公开给 IBM API Connect,使用 IBM API Connect 内置的治理功能,确保负责应用的人员就是负责确保应用的使用保持稳定的人员。 这样,我们将 IBM API Connect 作为关口,既确保复用,又防止后端免遭滥用。”

多赢局面

新的集成方法已经为 TINE 带来了巨大的业务收益。 例如,该组织将 IBM Cloud Pak 平台用作高级规划和调度 (APS) 解决方案开发工作的基本组成部分。 与 Avella 合作实施的 APS 解决方案从 32 个旧系统(包括 ERP、分销和客户系统)中抽取数据,然后集成数据并应用规划算法,确保卡车装满以及采用经过优化的运输路线。 因此, TINE 的运输成本显著下降,公司能够更高效地运送牛奶,为高价值产品分配更多的鲜奶供应,并减少分配给低价值产品的奶量。

TINE 的另一个成功集成项目名为 Yard Manager。 过去,当一辆空卡车到达 TINE 的仓库时,仓库工人根本不知道卡车将使用哪个停车点。 因此,他们总是处于被动状态,在卡车到达后才匆匆忙忙的装货。 通过 Yard Manager 解决方案,仓库工人可以提前知道哪些卡车将到达哪些停车点,因此可以预先准备好要装运的货品。“现在,卡车装载的效率显著提高。 这是巨大的成功,仓库工人对新应用非常满意。”Torgersen 说道。

在使用更为巧妙的基于 IBM Cloud Pak for Integration 的方法几年之后,Torgersen 和 Høgli 现在正考虑解散集成工厂,根据需要将集成开发人员派往不同的产品团队。 集中集成能力中心将成为治理机构,确保项目团队保持 TINE 新集成架构的完整性。

对于 Torgersen 而言,这种转变使该组织向着 TINE 的长期愿景又迈进了一步:“我们希望确保 TINE 的数据是自由和民主化的,能够在公司中无缝流动,需要数据的人都能获得单一的共同事实。”

TINE SA 徽标

关于 TINE SA

TINE(外部链接)的历史可追溯到 160 多年前,是挪威最大的乳制品生产商、分销商和出口商。 它是由在 7000 个奶牛场工作的 8000 多名挪威农民组成的合作社性质的组织。 其产品包括范围完整的乳制品,以及许多其他食品和饮料。

Avella 徽标

关于 Avella AS

Avella (外部链接)成立于 2007 年,是一家专门从事集成、架构和自动化业务的咨询公司。 他们的服务涵盖从战略规划到日常解决方案管理的方方面面。 Avella 约有 30 名员工,其 CTO Thor Ingham 被评为 2022 年 IBM Automation Champion。 Avella 总部位于挪威奥斯陆,为整个北欧地区提供服务。

解决方案组件
IBM API Connect®
IBM® App Connect Enterprise
IBM Cloud® Pak for Integration
IBM MQ

法律条款

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 5 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM API Connect 和 IBM Cloud Pak 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Untangling a complex value chain

Norwegian dairy company TINE goes from ad hoc integrations to streamlined operations

Leah Valentine
5-minute read
Cows in a pasture in Norway

More than 7,000 dairy farms dot Norway’s dramatic terrain. Every day, TINE trucks traverse the country’s massive fjords and mountains to collect milk from the farms and deliver it to the company’s 30 processing plants. From there, TINE ships the milk and other dairy products across the country and the world.

“We like to say we have the most complex value chain in Norway,” says Siri Torgersen, Head of Data and Integration at TINE.

For years, TINE’s complex value chain grew organically, without an overarching plan. Factories, warehouses and distributors all had to share data with one another, but the manner in which they did so varied widely.

“People were doing ad hoc integrations with no common methodology or technology, creating point-to-point integrations between our systems and causing a classic spaghetti architecture,” explains Torgersen. “That led to high operational risk and a lot of manual maintenance tasks. Much of our time was focused on operations instead of new development and more value-giving activities.”

Two people in a dairy barn looking at a tablet

TINE’s supply chain includes

30

processing plants

The integration effort included

32

legacy systems

TINE is now actively maintaining

> 100

integrations

We like to say we have the most complex value chain in Norway.
Siri Torgersen
Head of Data and Integration, TINE

The point-to-point integration architecture also made it difficult to address inefficiencies in TINE’s value chain. Trucks weren’t always filled to capacity or sent on the most efficient routes, which meant that instead of milk being used for the most high-value products — like TINE’s world-famous Jarlsberg brand cheese — it was diverted to more low-value uses like powdered milk. Addressing these problems would require a more flexible, scalable approach to integrations.

When a new CIO joined the organization in 2018, he saw the tangled integration architecture and its impact on the business. It was clear that something had to change.

Farmer and cow

An integration competency center

Brown and white calf with yellow eartag

TINE has used IBM technology for many years, so the IT team’s first step toward integration modernization was to ask IBM to recommend a consultancy service. IBM pointed TINE to Norway-based IBM Business Partner Avella, which specializes in integration, architecture and automation. Avella helped TINE develop a new integration architecture based on the IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration platform, including IBM API Connect®, IBM® App Connect Enterprise and IBM MQ technology.

Together, TINE, IBM and Avella developed the TINE Central Integration Competency Center, an interface that project owners across TINE can use to request new business integrations. This approach allows TINE to prioritize the most business-critical integrations involved.

New integration requests now go to TINE’s Integration Factory, which is headed up by Roger Høgli, Integration Supervisor at TINE. By funneling all new integrations through the competency center, TINE can be sure that they all follow a specific methodology based on IBM Cloud Pak for Integration technology. In the two years since the new workflow was established, the Integration Factory has grown increasingly busy.

“As it stands today, we’re maintaining more than 100 integrations,” says Høgli. “It’s been quite complicated, and we have projects coming in all the time, some of which are fairly large. We’re continuously finding ways to improve things. We’re using IBM Cloud Pak in interesting ways to make governance easier, especially by using IBM API Connect, which has proven to be quite the boon for us.”

He explains: “We build integrations in IBM App Connect Enterprise, then expose them to IBM API Connect, using the governance built into IBM API Connect to make sure that the people who own the applications are the ones responsible for making sure the application consumption remains steady. In that way, we’re using IBM API Connect to be the gateway for both reuse and for protecting the back end from abuse.”

We’re using IBM Cloud Pak in interesting ways to make governance easier, especially by using API Connect, which has proven to be quite the boon for us.
Roger Høgli
Integration Supervisor, TINE

Multiple wins

The new approach to integration has resulted in numerous business benefits for TINE. For example, the organization used the IBM Cloud Pak platform as an essential part of the development of an Advanced Planning and Scheduling (APS) solution. The APS solution, implemented in collaboration with Avella, pulls data from 32 legacy systems, including ERP, distribution and customer systems, integrating the data and applying planning algorithms that help ensure that trucks are filled and delivery routes are optimized. As a result, TINE’s transportation costs have decreased, and the company has been able to move milk more efficiently, allocating a greater supply of fresh milk to high-value products and reducing the amount that is relegated to lower-value products.

Another of TINE’s successful integration projects is called the Yard Manager. In the past, when a new truck arrived at TINE’s warehouses, the warehouse workers had no way to know which dock the truck would be using. As a result, they were always in a reactive mode, hurrying to deliver products to the trucks after they’d arrived. With the Yard Manager solution, warehouse workers know ahead of time which trucks will be arriving at which docks, so they can prepare shipments proactively. “Loading the trucks is much more efficient now. It’s been a great success, and the warehouse workers are very happy with the new app,” says Torgersen.

After several years using its more elegant approach based on IBM Cloud Pak for Integration, Torgersen and Høgli are now thinking about breaking up the Integration Factory and sending integration developers out to separate product teams as needed. The Central Integration Competency Center will become more of a governing institution, making sure that project teams are maintaining the integrity of TINE’s new integration architecture.

For Torgersen, that move will bring the organization one step closer to realizing TINE’s long-term vision: “We want to ensure that the data at TINE is liberated and democratized, so that it flows seamlessly across the company and those who need data can access it in one single, common truth.”

TINE logo
About TINE SA

With a history that dates back more than 160 years, TINEExternal Link is Norway’s largest producer, distributor and exporter of dairy products. It is owned by a cooperative of more than 8,000 Norwegian farmers working on more than 7,000 dairy farms. Its products include a full range of dairy products, as well as many other food and beverage items.

Avella logo
About Avella AS

Founded in 2007, AvellaExternal Link is a consulting company specializing in integration, architecture and automation. Its services cover everything from strategic planning to ongoing solution management. Avella has approximately 30 employees, and its CTO, Thor Ingham, was named an IBM Automation Champion for 2022. Avella’s head offices are in Oslo, Norway, but it serves the entire Nordic region.

Solution components
TINE logo
About TINE SA

With a history that dates back more than 160 years, TINEExternal Link is Norway’s largest producer, distributor and exporter of dairy products. It is owned by a cooperative of more than 8,000 Norwegian farmers working on more than 7,000 dairy farms. Its products include a full range of dairy products, as well as many other food and beverage items.

Avella logo
About Avella AS

Founded in 2007, AvellaExternal Link is a consulting company specializing in integration, architecture and automation. Its services cover everything from strategic planning to ongoing solution management. Avella has approximately 30 employees, and its CTO, Thor Ingham, was named an IBM Automation Champion for 2022. Avella’s head offices are in Oslo, Norway, but it serves the entire Nordic region.

Solution components