每日预报:极端天气和金融稳定
The Climate Service 将气候变化纳入财务决策
粉色雷暴

过去十年是有记录以来自然灾害影响区域最大的年份¹,仅 2019 年自然灾害造成的全球经济损失就超过 2,320 亿美元²。这些事件不仅需要花费金钱来进行灾难恢复,而且还减少了市场收益。

在 S&P 最近的一项研究³ 中,首席财务官 (CFO) 和首席执行官 (CEO) 报告称,6% 的年收入受到极端天气和气候事件的影响。企业必须在决策时考虑气候变化因素,但如何才能做到这一点呢?输入:The Climate Service。

The Climate Service, Inc. (TCS)(ibm.com 外部链接)的使命是将气候数据整合到财务决策中。TCS Climanomics 平台可帮助组织了解、量化和减轻其气候风险,以增强抵御能力并减少财务损失。随着市场需求的迫切性和不断升级,TCS 选择依靠 IBM Garage™ 体验并借助 IBM 开源云平台来快速跟踪 Climanomics 平台的扩展。

¹Munich RE 2019 年自然灾害平衡表(ibm.com 外部链接)
² Aon 灾难报道(ibm.com 外部链接)
³ S&P Global Ratings 研究(ibm.com 外部链接)

提供决策支持

 

Climanomics 平台支持以下各项

简化工作流程

 

该解决方案的混合架构可以提高可用性并简化工作流程

当世界需要大规模技术应对极端难题时,他们会召唤 IBM。而这也正是 IBM 的职责所在。 James McMahon 首席执行官 The Climate Service, Inc.
改善用户体验

通过 IBM Garage,TCS 获得了全面的 IBM 专业知识和产品,包括 IBM Garage Enterprise Design ThinkingIBM CloudRed Hat OpenShift 容器平台。利用经过验证、敏捷、以用户为中心的实践,由设计师、开发人员和架构师组成的专门端到端团队首先与 TCS 合作制定商业机会声明,以实现关键目标:改善 Climanomics 平台上的整体用户体验,实现现有架构和数据管理的现代化,并最终为 TCS 带来持续收入。

随后,团队在伦敦举行为期三天关于 IBM Garage 的设计和架构研讨会,在设计师、架构师和开发人员的协作环境中解决问题。研讨会结果是,团队商定为重新架构的平台提供定义的最简化可实施产品 (MVP),接下来的八周将用于用户测试、开发和现代化。

启动速度、企业规模

在整个过程中,IBM 和 TCS 团队通过每日启动会议、每周回顾和迭代以及极限编程和结对编程(面对面和虚拟方式)密切合作。

通过遵循 IBM Garage 方法,TCS 从定义业务需求过渡到构建可工作和经过测试的软件,再过渡到扩展解决方案,以满足不断升级的气候需求。

庞大的问题,海量的数据

气候风险分析需要大量数据(PB 级数据和数千个方程式),这需要高效的云架构来管理和快速访问信息。为了扩展平台,TCS 采用 IBM 开源云平台,将任务关键型工作负载转移到跨 IBM Cloud 和 Red Hat OpenShift 的混合架构。结果:提高客户的可用性,实现更复杂的集成并简化工作流程。

随着气候变化继续产生不断升级的金融风险,Climanomics 平台使决策者能够将气候风险洞察分析融入决策中。这些洞察分析最大限度地提高抵御能力,并帮助投资者、企业和社区为未来做好准备:世界面临的最大挑战。

The Climate Service 徽标
关于 The Climate Service, Inc.

The Climate Service, Inc.(ibm.com 外部链接)利用尖端科学技术来帮助衡量、监控和管理气候对其客户业务和投资的财务影响。The Climate Service 成立于 2017 年,总部位于北卡罗来纳州达勒姆。

接下来:
Siemens Gamesa 加快风力发电上市 阅读成功案例 AI 如何帮助减少垃圾填埋场废物 阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Garage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Enterprise Design Thinking、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Garage 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade 网站上找到。

Red Hat 和 OpenShift 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Daily forecast: Extreme weather and financial stability

The Climate Service embeds climate change into financial decisions
IBM
4-minute read

The past decade had the largest natural disaster impact footprint of any decade on record¹, and in 2019 alone the global economic losses from natural disasters exceeded USD 232 billion². These events not only cost money to recover from but also reduced market earnings.

In a recent S&P study³, CFOs and CEOs reported that 6% of annual earnings were affected by extreme weather and climate events. Businesses must factor climate change into their decision-making — but how do they go about doing that? Enter: The Climate Service.

The Climate Service, Inc.External Link (TCS) is on a mission to integrate climate data into financial decision-making. The TCS Climanomics platform helps organizations understand, quantify and mitigate their climate risks to build resiliency and reduce financial losses. With urgent and escalating demands from the marketplace, TCS chose to embark on an IBM Garage™ experience and adopt the IBM open-source cloud platform to fast-track the scaling of the Climanomics platform.

¹External Link Munich RE 2019 Natural disaster balance
²External Link Aon catastrophe report
³External Link S&P Global Ratings study

The Climanomics platform

empowers

decision-makers

The solution’s hybrid architecture

improves

usability and streamlines workflows

When the world needs technology at scale, applied to a really hard problem, they call IBM. And that’s exactly what we did.
James McMahon
Chief Executive Officer, The Climate Service, Inc.
Dying tree

Improving user experience

Through the IBM Garage, TCS gained access to the full breadth of IBM expertise and products, including IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking®, IBM Cloud® and the Red Hat® OpenShift® container platform. Leveraging proven agile, user-focused practices, a dedicated end-to-end team of designers, developers and architects began by working with TCS to build a business opportunity statement to align on the key goals: improve overall user experience on the Climanomics platform, modernize existing architecture and data management, and ultimately enable continued revenue for TCS.

From there, teams met at the IBM Garage in London for a three-day design and architecture workshop to problem-solve in a collaborative environment with a mix of designers, architects and developers. The output was an agreed-upon, defined minimum viable product (MVP) for the re-architected platform, with the next eight weeks spent in user testing, development and modernization.

Tornado on the Sea

Startup speed, enterprise scale

Dead tree and dry cracks in the land, serious water shortages

Throughout the process, the IBM and TCS teams worked in close collaboration through daily standups, weekly retrospectives and iterations, and extreme and pair programming — both in person and virtually.

Following the IBM Garage Methodology, TCS moved from defining the business need, to building working and tested software, to scaling a solution to meet the escalating climate demand.

Gargantuan problem, gargantuan data

Terra satellite image of tropical cyclone Ingrid in Coral Sea

Climate risk analytics requires a vast amount of data — petabytes of data and thousands of equations — which necessitates an efficient cloud architecture to be able to manage and quickly access information. To scale its platform, TCS adopted the IBM open-source cloud platform, moving mission-critical workloads to hybrid architecture across IBM Cloud and Red Hat OpenShift. The result: improved usability for clients, more sophisticated integrations and streamlined workflows.

As climate change continues to produce escalating financial risks, the Climanomics platform empowers decision-makers to embed climate risk insights into decision-making. These insights maximize resilience and help investors, corporations and communities prepare for what lies ahead: the biggest challenge facing the world.

Ready to see what IBM Garage can do for your business? Talk to an IBM Garage expert.

The Climate Service, Inc. logo

About The Climate Service, Inc.

The Climate Service, Inc.External Link uses cutting-edge science and technology to help measure, monitor and manage the financial impacts of climate on its customers’ businesses and investments. Founded in 2017, The Climate Service is headquartered in Durham, North Carolina.

Solution components
The Climate Service, Inc. logo

About The Climate Service, Inc.

The Climate Service, Inc.External Link uses cutting-edge science and technology to help measure, monitor and manage the financial impacts of climate on its customers’ businesses and investments. Founded in 2017, The Climate Service is headquartered in Durham, North Carolina.

Solution components