快速、灵活且随时可以增长
Tabadul 通过迁移到微服务开启了一个新时代
沙特阿拉伯吉达港的拖船和货船

2016 年,沙特阿拉伯宣布了“沙特 2030 年愿景”,这是一项政府倡议,为该国的文化和经济发展制定了宏伟目标。

作为在该地区保持领先地位的工作重点之一,该愿景包括将沙特阿拉伯建设成为全球物流中心的目标。

作为促进该国进出口活动的主要技术公司,Tabadul 需要评估自己是否做好了支持这项新举措的准备。在进行全面的 IT 评估后,该公司认为现在是进行全面数字化转型的最佳时机。

支持沙特 2030 年愿景

 

通过增强可扩展性和性能更好地支持沙特 2030 年愿景

缩短开发时间

 

开发新功能的时间减少了 2/3,从而加快了产品上市时间

IBM Cloud 是我们改变架构的主要原因,我们可以根据需要进行扩展。 Jehad Alsuwaid 解决方案经理 Tabadul

Fasah 是 Tabadul 的系统,用于促进进出口程序相关方之间的信息交流,由第三方供应商托管和管理。除了限制 Tabadul 对其应用环境的可见性和控制外,供应商的单体 IT 架构还缺乏公司发展所需的可扩展性、灵活性和性能。

Tabadul 解决方案经理 Jehad Alsuwaid 说道:“我们希望能够根据需要快速扩展。我们还希望我们的应用变更、产品和服务能更快地推向市场。”

通过向微服务的转变实现现代化

在对潜在解决方案进行调查后,Tabadul 决定迁移到基于 IBM® Cloud Pak for Integration 技术的微服务架构,从而实现应用环境的现代化。Alsuwaid 说:“IBM Cloud 是我们改变架构的主要原因。它为我们提供了容器管理功能,以便我们可以根据需要进行扩展。”

Tabadul 委托 IBM® Cloud Integration Expert Labs 设计其新的微服务环境,并委托 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Saudi Business Machines (SBM) 提供全套咨询、实施、集成、支持和知识转移服务。

SBM IBM 软件部总监 Amr Kalil 说道:“SBM 的核心使命是提供创新解决方案,增强客户的能力。我们之所以推荐 Cloud Pak,是因为我们知道它有可能大大提高 Tabadul 的开发速度和敏捷性。

基于 IBM 团队的解决方案设计,SBM 在 Tabadul 的开发、测试、生产和灾难恢复环境中部署了 IBM Cloud 集群,将 IBM® App Connect Enterprise 技术融入 Cloud Pak 平台中,用于与外部系统的连接。

Alsuwaid 指出:“Tabadul 的业务支柱是整合。在我们的业务中,我们要与政府机构、公司和其他外部各方打交道,因此我们需要一个强大的整合层来处理大量事务。我们使用 App Connect 来尽快在各方之间开发这些集成。”

Cloud Pak 产品中的 IBM® API Connect 技术充当该架构的灵活平台,用于在新环境中公开和管理 API。最后,该解决方案在 Cloud Pak 平台中包含 IBM® DataPower Gateway 技术,以保护和优化 Tabadul 架构中跨渠道的工作负载交付。

在我们的业务中,我们要与政府机构、公司和其他外部各方打交道,因此我们需要一个强大的集成层来处理大量事务。 Jehad Alsuwaid 解决方案经理 Tabadul
加快开发速度,延长正常运行时间

对于 Tabadul 来说,其应用环境的现代化是更大使命的第一步:支持沙特阿拉伯转型为具有更大全球影响力的物流领导者。借助灵活的微服务架构,该公司可以更快、更高效地工作,以满足沙特 2030 年愿景的要求,并根据需求轻松扩展其系统。

目前,Tabadul 正在将其 Fasah 应用程序的模块迁移到新环境中,并已经看到了迁移带来的好处。通过将 DevOps 开发运维平台集成到架构中,该公司创建了一个持续集成/持续交付 (CI/CD) 管道,可显著加速开发。

Alsuwaid 说:“要在我们的传统应用程序中实现一个小功能,过去至少需要四周时间。现在,我们可以在大约十天内实现功能,而我们未来的目标是一周。”

除了在大约三分之一的时间内执行开发任务外,Tabadul 还减少了应用程序停机时间并提高了新环境中的性能。Alsuwaid 说:“我们受益于 IBM Cloud 平台的 Kubernetes 功能,支持始终保持可靠、可扩展的应用程序。”

Tabadul 徽标
关于 Tabadul

Tabadul(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家技术服务提供商,专注于引领沙特阿拉伯物流行业的数字化转型。该公司为政府和私营部门组织服务,其物流集成解决方案包括 Fasah,该平台支持进出口活动中的信息交流。Tabadul 成立于 2009 年,总部位于利雅得,是沙特阿拉伯政府设立的公共投资基金 (PIF) 的子公司。

关于 Saudi Business Machines

IBM 合作伙伴 Saudi Business Machines (SBM)(ibm.com 外部链接)于 1981 年成立,总部位于沙特阿拉伯吉达,为各行业的企业提供 IT 和电信解决方案。除了全面的硬件和软件平台外,该公司还提供综合技术服务、专业服务和网络服务。SBM 大约有 900 名经过认证的顾问和项目经理。

阅读更多
揭开集成的神秘面纱:构建新一代数字集成平台 为微服务选择正确的数据库 IBM CloudLabs:免费的交互式 Kubernetes 教程
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 10 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM API Connect、IBM Cloud、IBM Cloud Pak 和 DataPower 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分包含 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Fast, flexible and ready to grow

Tabadul ushers in a new era when it migrates to microservices
by Chelle Kifer
5-minute read
Tugs and freighter boats, Jeddah Harbor, Saudi Arabia

In 2016, Saudi Arabia announced Saudi Vision 2030, a government initiative setting ambitious goals for the country’s cultural and economic development.

As part of its focus on maintaining a leading presence in the region, the mandate includes objectives for establishing Saudi Arabia as a global logistics hub.

Serving as the primary technology firm facilitating the country’s import and export activities, Tabadul needed to gauge its readiness for supporting the new initiative. After performing a comprehensive IT assessment, the company decided the timing was right for a complete digital transformation.

Colorful container ships in the harbor at night, view from above

Better supports Saudi Vision

2030

by enhancing scalability and performance

Time to develop new features decreased by

2/3

thereby speeding time to market

IBM Cloud is the main reason we went with our change in architecture — we can scale up as we need.
Jehad Alsuwaid
Solutions Manager, Tabadul

Fasah, Tabadul’s system for enabling information exchange between parties involved in import and export procedures, was hosted and managed by a third-party vendor. In addition to limiting Tabadul’s visibility into and control over its application environment, the provider’s monolithic IT architecture lacked the scalability, flexibility and performance the firm required moving forward.

“We wanted to be able to expand as quickly as we needed,” says Jehad Alsuwaid, Solutions Manager for Tabadul. “We also wanted a faster time to market for our application changes, products and services.”

Tabadule building exterior
Panoramic view of Riyadh, capital city of Saudi Arabia at sunset showing Kingdom tower.
In our business, we are dealing with government agencies, companies and other external parties, so we need a robust integration layer that can handle a huge number of transactions.
Jehad Alsuwaid
Solutions Manager, Tabadul
Modernizing with a shift to microservices
In our business, we are dealing with government agencies, companies and other external parties, so we need a robust integration layer that can handle a huge number of transactions.
Jehad Alsuwaid
Solutions Manager, Tabadul

Investigating potential solutions, Tabadul decided to modernize its application environment by migrating to a microservices architecture built on IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration technology. “IBM Cloud is the main reason we went with our change in architecture,” says Alsuwaid. “It gives us container management capabilities so that we can scale up as we need.”

Tabadul engaged IBM Cloud® Integration Expert Labs to design its new microservices environment and IBM Business Partner Saudi Business Machines (SBM) to provide a full suite of consulting, implementation, integration, support and knowledge transfer services.

“SBM’s core mission is to provide innovative solutions that will empower our customers,” says Amr Kalil, IBM Software Group Director at SBM. “We recommended Cloud Pak because we knew it had the potential to greatly improve development speed and agility for Tabadul.”

Based on the IBM team’s solution design, SBM deployed IBM Cloud clusters in Tabadul’s development, testing, production and disaster recovery environments, incorporating IBM® App Connect Enterprise technology within the Cloud Pak platform for connections with external systems.

“Tabadul’s backbone is integration,” says Alsuwaid. “In our business, we are dealing with government agencies, companies and other external parties, so we need a robust integration layer that can handle a huge number of transactions. We use App Connect to develop those integrations between parties as quickly as possible.”

IBM API Connect® technology in the Cloud Pak offering serves as the architecture’s flexible platform for exposing and managing APIs in the new environment. And finally, the solution includes IBM DataPower® Gateway technology within the Cloud Pak platform to safeguard and optimize workload delivery across channels incorporated in Tabadul’s architecture.

Faster development and a boost in uptime

For Tabadul, the modernization of its application environment is the first step in a larger mission: supporting its country’s transformation into a logistics leader with even greater global reach. With flexible microservices architecture in place, the company can work far more quickly and efficiently to accommodate Saudi Vision 2030 requirements as they arise and easily scale its systems with demand.

Currently in the process of migrating modules of its Fasah application to the new environment, Tabadul is already seeing benefits from the shift. By integrating a DevOps platform into the architecture, the company created a continuous integration/continuous delivery (CI/CD) pipeline that accelerates development significantly.

“For a small feature to be implemented in our legacy application, it used to take a minimum of four weeks,” says Alsuwaid. “Now, we can achieve that in roughly ten days and we’re targeting one week.”

In addition to performing development tasks in approximately one-third of the time, Tabadul reduces application downtime and improves performance in the new environment. “We benefit from the IBM Cloud platform’s Kubernetes features supporting a reliable, scalable application that stays up all the time,” says Alsuwaid.

Tabadul logo
About Tabadul

TabadulExternal Link is a technology services provider focused on leading the digital transformation of the logistics sector in Saudi Arabia. Serving government and private-sector organizations, the company’s logistics integration solutions include Fasah, its platform supporting information exchange during import and export activities. Founded in 2009 and headquartered in Riyadh, Tabadul is a subsidiary of the Public Investment Fund (PIF) established by the government of Saudi Arabia.

About Saudi Business Machines

Established in 1981 and based in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, IBM Business Partner Saudi Business Machines (SBM)External Link provides IT and telecommunications solutions to enterprises across industries. In addition to a comprehensive range of hardware and software platforms, the company offers integrated technology services, professional services and network services. SBM employs approximately 900 certified consultants and project managers.

Solution components
Tabadul logo
About Tabadul

TabadulExternal Link is a technology services provider focused on leading the digital transformation of the logistics sector in Saudi Arabia. Serving government and private-sector organizations, the company’s logistics integration solutions include Fasah, its platform supporting information exchange during import and export activities. Founded in 2009 and headquartered in Riyadh, Tabadul is a subsidiary of the Public Investment Fund (PIF) established by the government of Saudi Arabia.

About Saudi Business Machines

Established in 1981 and based in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, IBM Business Partner Saudi Business Machines (SBM)External Link provides IT and telecommunications solutions to enterprises across industries. In addition to a comprehensive range of hardware and software platforms, the company offers integrated technology services, professional services and network services. SBM employs approximately 900 certified consultants and project managers.

Solution components