业务机器人是团队的一部分
借助 IBM Robotic Process Automation 软件,Sicoob 从根本上提高了流程效率
Sicoob 的分支机构办公室

人们对机器人往往有一个坏印象,那就是认为它们会取代人类。System of Credit Unions Brazil (Sicoob) 的情况则并非如此。它是该国最大的信用合作社系统,正在使用 IBM® Robotic Process Automation 技术来构建商业机器人,用于执行最为日常和重复性的流程任务。员工们对此非常欢迎。

Sicoob 技术主管 Everton Gomede 博士解释说:“我们公司的文化就是团队合作。我完成一项任务,另一个人完成下一项任务,依此类推,我们一起合力完成工作。但人们一天能执行的任务数量是有限的。”

Sicoob 的许多流程,如保险报价、工资贷款和客户注册等,都是文件和表格密集型流程,需要输入大量数据。例如,直到最近,开立一个客户账户都要经过两天的严格评估,员工要审查和评估客户提供的多份表格的合法性。之后,他们将数据手动输入到 ERP 系统中。一旦出现错误,员工就必须进行回溯,这就需要更多的时间。他们对每个开户申请都重复这一过程,每天大约需要处理 150 个账户。

Gomede 博士说:“当人们成天都在输入数据时,数据质量堪忧是可以想见的。人类更擅长富于创造性的事物。而被动地一遍又一遍重复某项任务或活动,并非我们所长。”

确保遵守复杂的数据保护法规也是一项挑战,因为错误可能使公司面临处罚和罚款的风险。Gomede 补充说:“很难保证所有任务都按照合规规则执行。”

2019 年,Sicoob 推出了机器人流程自动化 (RPA) 计划,旨在缩短关键业务流程的交付时间。但同样重要的目标是将员工从琐碎的工作中解放出来,使他们能够以更有意义的方式参与并为公司做出贡献。

节省时间

 

根据业务流程,最多可节省 80% 的时间

成本节省

 

使用自动化可节省 10% – 20% 的成本

自动化减少的是损失和成本,而不是减员。 Everton Gomede 博士 技术主管 System of Credit Unions of Brazil
机器人可以提供极大的帮助

Sicoob 研究了多种 RPA 解决方案,最终选择了 IBM Robotic Process Automation 技术。该解决方案突出之处在于其集成性和强大功能,如监控功能、机器学习和密码保管库,这些功能支持隐私保护并有助于减少欺诈事件。

Gomede 博士表示:“我们列出了想要在系统中实现的特定功能,并且非常喜欢在 IBM RPA 解决方案中发现的功能。密码库是一个很棒的功能,因为我们可以删除特定用户访问某些软件的权限。我们使用监控功能来收集日志数据并为经理构建报告,以便他们可以查看今天或上个月完成了多少任务。”

RPA 计划从概念验证 (POC) 开始,以测试解决方案并了解该技术可能对公司的基础架构、业务流程和员工队伍产生的影响。Gomede 博士补充说:“在此之后,我们对机器人的利用充满信心,针对不同的问题创建不同的机器人。”

Sicoob 的机器人是有人员参与的,这意味着它们由员工启动并与员工并肩工作,以完成流程中的特定任务,如数据录入或分析。许多机器人为需要密集严格评估的流程提供支持,在这些流程中,收集、验证、评估和分析客户提供的信息需要花费大量时间。

第一个机器人名为 Eva,于 2020 年制造,专注于检测欺诈行为。如今,又有 13 台业务机器人投入生产,为以下流程提供支持:

  • 注册更新:接收和审查客户文件,并根据客户要求更新注册信息。
  • 信用额度分析:对客户提供的表格进行信用分析,将数据输入 ERP 软件并相应更新信用额度。
  • 保险报价:接收客户请求、访问各保险公司网站、确定价格并向客户提供最佳选择。
  • 支票账户开立:通过获取客户文件、分析信息有效性、将数据输入 ERP 软件和返回一个可立即使用的支票账户,可以自始至终处理新账户流程。
  • 文件转换器:在文档载入工作流程软件后,读取文件并将其转换为员工指定的不同格式。
  • 工资贷款:获取和审查客户文件,将数据输入 ERP 系统并生成信贷建议书。
  • 注册表:阅读并评估注册文件的准确性。

Gomede 博士表示,将人类与数字自动化相结合的关键在于让组织的各个领域都参与进来。“IT 部门参与其中,业务领域需要提供流程信息,人力资源部门需要确定全职员工以及今后需要的能力,并重新设计任务。”

我们列出了想要在系统中实现的特定功能,并且非常喜欢在 IBM RPA 解决方案中发现的功能。 Everton Gomede 博士 技术主管 System of Credit Unions of Brazil
人与机器人携手合作,节省时间

自从部署业务机器人以来,Sicoob 的关键业务流程平均节省了 80% 的时间。这意味着可节省 10% 至 20% 的成本,具体取决于流程。Gomede 博士解释说:“通过缩短处理时间和准备时间,我们还减少了开支,因为开支与人员、纠正错误和管理信息有关。此外,当我们使用机器人时,错误几乎为零。”

例如,如今,客户账户的开设时间从两天缩短到 30-40 分钟。更重要的是,数据没有错误。过去,这一过程都是手动处理的,无法了解任务在流程中的位置。现在,借助新的报告生成功能,管理人员可以了解整个过程和工作流程。

利用密码保管库,过去每天需要花费长达 10 个小时的欺诈检测过程,现在可以实现端到端的全自动流程。负责这项工作的员工现在可以利用他们的技能调查欺诈的高级类型和原因。密码保管库还支持合规性和安全性工作,因为它使 Sicoob 能够控制谁可以访问系统以及可以访问系统的哪些部分。例如,当 RPA 机器人使用保管库时,它可以独占平台、系统和财务账户。在不知道密码的情况下,员工只能访问系统中的信息,而不能访问平台,从而保护平台。

Gomede 博士说:“自动化减少的是损失和成本,而不是减员。机器人是团队中的一员,要执行很多任务。技术的有趣之处在于组织如何真正利用它。机器人提高了我们的速度,改善了我们的业务战略,有助于我们实现目标。”

在实施新机器人时,Gomede 博士非常尊重人类知识的价值。他总结道:“重要的是要考虑机器人可以执行哪些任务以及人类可以执行哪些任务。因为它们承担完全不同的工作内容。让机器人处理信息和任务。让人类创造新的流程,与客户互动,思考我们的战略和业务。”

Sicoob 徽标
关于 System of Credit Unions of Brazil (Sicoob)

Sicoob(外部链接)成立于 1998 年,是巴西最大的金融合作社,其 500 多万客户也是合作社的所有者。产品包括支票账户、信用卡、养老金等。Sicoob 总部位于米纳斯吉拉斯州帕托斯德米纳斯市,拥有 41,000 多名员工,在 22 个州运营着 3,000 多个服务点和自动取款机,此外还有数字渠道业务。

接下来:
通过自动化更快地交付关键管理报告 Deloitte 消费金融解决方案的智能自动化 Credigy 解决方案 利用机器人流程自动化消除增长障碍 Cobmax
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 12 月

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:http://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Where business robots are part of the team

Sicoob radically boosts process efficiencies with IBM Robotic Process Automation software
by Deirdre Puleo
6-minute read
A Sicoob branch office

Robots tend to have a bad reputation; namely, they replace humans. That’s not the case at System of Credit Unions of Brazil (Sicoob). The country’s largest credit union system is using IBM® Robotic Process Automation technology to build business robots to perform the most mundane and repetitive process tasks. And employees couldn’t be happier.

“The culture of our organization is we work as a team,” explains Dr. Everton Gomede, Head of Technology at Sicoob. “I do one task, another person does the next task, and so on, and we produce together. But people have limits to how many tasks they can perform in a day.”

Many processes at Sicoob, such as those for insurance quotes, payroll loans and customer registration, are document- and form-intensive, and require a significant amount of data entry. For example, until recently, opening a customer account was a two-day process of due diligence, with employees reviewing and evaluating multiple customer-provided forms for legitimacy. After, they manually entered the data into the ERP system. When there were errors, employees had to backtrack, which added more time. They repeated the process for each account opening request — roughly 150 a day.

“When people type data all day, data quality suffers,” says Dr. Gomede. “Humans are very good at creating things. But we aren’t good when we have to repeat tasks or activities over and over again.”

Ensuring compliance to complex data protection regulations was also a challenge because mistakes could put the company at risk of penalties and fines. “It was very difficult to guarantee that all the tasks were performed following the rules of compliance,” adds Dr. Gomede.

In 2019, Sicoob launched a robotic process automation (RPA) initiative aimed at reducing lead times of key business processes. But equally important was the goal of freeing employees from menial tasks so they could engage with and contribute to the company in more meaningful ways.

A woman sitting at her desk

Depending on business process, gains up to

80%

time savings

Using automation delivers

10% – 20%

cost savings

Automation reduces losses and costs, not people.
Dr. Everton Gomede
Head of Technology, System of Credit Unions of Brazil
Three people looking at a computer tablet
We had a list of specific features we wanted to implement with our systems and liked what we found in IBM’s RPA solution.
Dr. Everton Gomede
Head of Technology, System of Credit Unions of Brazil
Robots to the rescue
We had a list of specific features we wanted to implement with our systems and liked what we found in IBM’s RPA solution.
Dr. Everton Gomede
Head of Technology, System of Credit Unions of Brazil

Sicoob investigated several RPA solutions before ultimately choosing IBM Robotic Process Automation technology. What stood out was the solution’s integration and robust functionalities, such as monitoring capabilities, machine learning and a password vault, which supports privacy and helps mitigate instances of fraud.

Dr. Gomede elaborates: “We had a list of specific features we wanted to implement with our systems and liked what we found in IBM’s RPA solution. The password vault is a great feature because we can remove specific users from accessing certain software. And we use the monitoring feature to collect log data and build reports for managers so they can see, for example, how many tasks were completed today or last month.”

The RPA program began with a proof of concept (POC) to test the solution and understand the how the technology might affect the company’s infrastructure, business processes and workforce. “After that, we had the confidence to move forward and create different bots for different issues,” adds Dr. Gomede.

Sicoob’s robots are attended, meaning they are activated by and work alongside employees to complete specific tasks in a process, such as data entry or analyses. Many of the robots support processes with intensive due diligence, where collecting, verifying, evaluating and analyzing customer-provided information is time intensive.

The first robot, named Eva, built in 2020, focuses on detecting fraud. Today, 13 additional business robots are in production to support the following processes:

  • Registration update: receives and reviews customer documents and updates registration information per customer requests.
  • Credit limit analysis: performs credit analyses on customer-provided forms, enters data into the ERP software and updates credit limits accordingly.
  • Insurance quotes: receives customer requests, accesses websites of various insurance companies, determines prices and delivers the best option to customers.
  • Checking account opening: handles the new account process from start to finish by obtaining customer documents, analyzing information validity, entering data into ERP software and returning a ready-to-use checking account.
  • File converter: reads and converts documents into different formats specified by employees after documents are loaded into the workflow software.
  • Payroll loans: obtains and reviews customer documents, enters data into the ERP system and generates credit proposal.
  • Registration form: reads and evaluates registration documents for accuracy.
  • Dr. Gomede says the key to integrating humans with digital automation is to involve all areas of the organization. “IT participates, the business area needs to provide the process information, and human resources needs to define the full-time employees and what competencies are needed from now on, with the redesign of tasks.”

    People and robots, together, save time

    Since deploying its business robots, Sicoob has gained an average of 80% time savings for key business processes. This translates to 10% – 20% in costs savings, depending on the process. “By reducing our processing and lead times, we also reduced expenses because expenses are related to people, fixing errors and managing information,” explains Dr. Gomede. “Plus, when we use robots, errors are near zero.”

    Today, for instance, customer accounts are opened in 30 – 40 minutes, instead of two days. What’s more, the data is error-free. In the past, this process was handled manually, and provided no visibility into where a task was in the process. Now with new report building capabilities, managers have visibility across processes and the entire workflow.

    With the password vault, the fraud detection process that used to take up to 10 hours a day is now fully automated end to end. The employee in charge of that task now uses their skills to investigate advanced types and causes of fraud. The password vault also supports compliance and security efforts because it enables Sicoob to control who can access systems and which parts of systems. For instance, when an RPA bot uses the vault, it has exclusive access to the platform, system and financial account. Without knowing the password, employees can access only the information in the system, not the platform, thereby protecting the platform.

    “Automation reduces losses and costs, not people,” says Dr. Gomede. “The bot is a member of a team that performs a lot of tasks. The interesting point about the technology is how the organization absorbs it. Robots improve our velocity and our business strategies, which help us reach our goals.”

    When implementing new robots, Dr. Gomede deeply respects the value of human knowledge. “It’s important to think about what kind of tasks a bot can perform and what tasks humans can perform,” he concludes. “Because it’s totally different. Let the bots process information and tasks. Let humans create new processes, interact with our customers and think about our strategy and business.”

    Sicoob logo
    About System of Credit Unions of Brazil (Sicoob)

    Founded in 1998, SicoobExternal Link is Brazil’s largest financial cooperative, where its five million-plus clients are also the owners. Products include checking accounts, credit cards, pensions and more. Based in Patos de Minas, Minas Gerais, Sicoob employs over 41,000 people and operates more than 3,000 service points and ATMs across 22 states, in addition to its digital channels.

    Solution component
    Sicoob logo
    About System of Credit Unions of Brazil (Sicoob)

    Founded in 1998, SicoobExternal Link is Brazil’s largest financial cooperative, where its five million-plus clients are also the owners. Products include checking accounts, credit cards, pensions and more. Based in Patos de Minas, Minas Gerais, Sicoob employs over 41,000 people and operates more than 3,000 service points and ATMs across 22 states, in addition to its digital channels.

    Solution component