大型机开发运维之旅从 IBM Application Discovery 工具开始
Sun Life 通过现代化加速数字化转型
一位计算机程序员在研究新软件程序

对于保险和金融服务行业来说,提供高质量数字体验的需求不是“是否”的问题,甚至也不是“何时”的问题。随着积极进取的技术提供商(金融科技公司)越来越深入地进入保险和金融服务领域,Sun Life 认识到现在正是实现数字化的时机。变革刻不容缓。

最重要和最根本的变革是需要加快和简化应用程序交付管道。在当今的数字环境中,上市时间(将新服务交付给客户所需的时间)至关重要。但对于绝大多数依赖大型机运行核心应用程序的大型知名提供商来说,实现这种新的敏捷性要求他们克服一系列相互关联的共同核心挑战:应用程序年限和复杂性。

Sun Life Financial 案例说明了有多少提供商正在对应用程序开发实践进行现代化改造,以便加速为客户提供新的数字产品。作为加拿大最大的公司之一,Sun Life 深知,他们继续需要大型机应用程序中嵌入的所有业务逻辑(经过数十年的开发和实施)管理业务。与此同时,该公司还认识到,对这些应用程序的依赖对实施数字化转型战略构成的风险日益扩大。

作为 Sun Life 开发运维卓越中心的产品负责人和 Scrum Master,Gary Lesage 及其开发团队处于公司大型机开发运维之旅的前沿。除了人员和流程问题外,工具要求也是他的首要任务之一。

缩短搜索时间

 

与手动方法相比,应用程序代码搜索时间减少 50%

缩短上市时间

 

通过提高开发人员效率,缩短新服务的交付时间

上市时间对于挑战数字竞争对手和满足客户期望至关重要。我们所做的事情表明,借助 ADDI (Application Discovery and Delivery Intelligence) 等开发运维工具,从长远来看,大型机可以与分布式环境一样快。 Gary Lesage 产品负责人 Sun Life Financial

考虑到所有这些因素,他认为近三分之一的开发人员即将退休,以及随之流失的组织内部知识,是永明金融敏捷转型的最大挑战之一。“因为我们的大部分代码都是几十年前编写的,没有完善的文档记录,所以我们依赖于主题专家的知识和经验。”Lesage 解释道,“在他们退休之际,我们亟需一种方法,将他们的知识传授给新一代开发人员,继续推进转型。”

在对现有大型机代码进行修改时,例如在开发新的数字服务时,知识流失的影响最为明显。此类修改的问题在于,核心应用程序通常与其他应用程序交织在一起,并且在逻辑上依赖于其他应用程序。

Lesage 指出,除了内部专家的知识之外,分析修改对其他应用程序影响的唯一方法是使用自行开发的老旧搜索控制管理工具逐行解析代码。“使用这些工具,仅仅搜索代码也会占用开发团队多达 40% 的时间。”Lesage 表示,“坦率地说,该团队的设计并不支持开发运维 (DevOps) 类型的领域。”

更快发现意味着更加敏捷

毫不奇怪,Sun Life 大型机现代化之旅的第一步就是实施应用程序发现工具,使影响分析更快、更高效。作为 IBM® zSystems 的长期用户,Sun Life 实施了 IBM Application Discovery and Delivery Intelligence (ADDI) 解决方案。作为部署的一部分,该公司从 IBM Deployment Project Office (DPO) 获得了设计、配置和定制支持,这是一个专注于帮助客户部署开发运维工具的 IBM 计划。

从一开始,Lesage 就认识到,向自动化应用程序发现工具的转变代表着员工文化的重大变革,而逐步推出是获得认可的关键。“我们的策略是将应用程序发现组件引入一个试点开发人员小组。我们会让他们查看代码、编辑代码、使用调试器和应用程序发现进行影响分析,然后扩展到其他用户群,”Lesage 说,“我们所看到的情况证实,推动现有用户采用的最佳方式是展示价值。”

对于新员工来说,情况则不同。ADDI 的可视化和自动化功能立即引起了新一代应用程序开发人员的共鸣。这些员工已经熟悉最新的编程语言以及永明金融数字化转型所需的技能。

对于越来越多使用 ADDI 的 Sun Life 开发人员来说,用例不胜枚举。有些是连续进行的,而另一些则是在有限的项目基础上进行的。但这些用例的共同点是需要了解大型机应用程序的内部和外部结构,也许最重要的是,在开始对实现现代化之前,需要了解 ADDI 与其他应用程序的关系。

我们的策略是将应用程序发现组件引入一个试点开发人员小组。我们会让他们查看代码、编辑代码、使用调试器和应用程序发现进行影响分析,然后扩展到其他用户群。我们所看到的情况证实,推动现有用户采用的最佳方式是展示价值。 Gary Lesage 产品负责人 Sun Life Financial
为数字化转型做好准备

Lesage 以两个项目为例。第一,他和他的团队被问到,在零利率甚至负利率的罕见(但并非闻所未闻)情况下,公司的大型机应用程序需要如何改变。“我们的开发人员使用 ADDI 查找各种投资和保险应用程序之间的复杂联系,”Lesage 说,“与逐行代码搜索相比,我们节省了 50% 的时间。”

第二,更常见的示例是对 COBOL 编译器进行更改,该编译器连接到 IBM zSystems 上运行的 100 多个程序。“除了确定连接在代码中的位置外,开发人员还需要知道这些更改是否遵循了 COBOL 基于规则的限制。使用 ADDI 使我们能够将分析时间缩短 35%。”

使用 ADDI 的另一个好处是,能够了解 JCL 和批处理调度程序信息中的使用和依赖关系。“从历史上看,我们的开发人员都没有能力生成工作图表,”他指出,“我们能够将调度信息注入 ADDI 并生成图表,这是一个全新的事实。它提高了我们团队的整体效率。”

从总体战略角度来看,永明金融采用 ADDI 代表着该公司在大型机现代化进程中迈出的重要一步,也是通过开发运维 (DevOps) 方法实现开发流程转型的重要一步。对 Lesage 来说,自动化应用程序发现的最大影响是将新的数字功能交付客户所需的时间。“上市时间对于挑战数字竞争对手和满足客户期望至关重要。”Lesage 解释道,“我们所做的工作表明,借助 ADDI 等开发运维 (DevOps) 工具,大型机可以像分布式环境一样快。我们可以适应未来的发展,为客户提供良好的数字体验,并且无需放弃大型机即可做到这一点。”

除了改变 Sun Life 的应用程序开发方式之外,ADDI 等大型机开发运维工具也开始改变思维方式。例如,开发人员对 ADDI 的视觉功能兴奋不已。Lesage 指出:“有了它的帮助,我们不再害怕劳动力挑战。”

但是,他补充道,ADDI 带来的最深刻的转变也许在于高管在数字化转型平衡中看待大型机的方式。“我们的高管认识到大型机现代化的重要性,因为我们在大型机上投入了大量资金,因为它们的安全性,也因为它们与我们的云战略紧密相关,”Lesage 解释道,“我们看到像 ADDI 这样的工具改变了我们关于大型机的话题,并使它们成为我们未来工具不可或缺的一部分。”

Sun Life 徽标
关于 Sun Life Financial

Sun Life(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家领先的国际金融服务组织,为个人和机构客户提供资产管理、财富、保险和健康解决方案。Sun Life 在全球多个市场开展业务,包括加拿大、美国、英国、爱尔兰、中国香港、菲律宾、日本、印度尼西亚、印度、中国、澳大利亚、新加坡、越南、马来西亚和百慕大。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 5 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

A mainframe DevOps journey starts with IBM application discovery tools

Sun Life accelerates digital transformation through modernization

by Dave Fawcett
5-minute read
Computer programmer working on new software program

For the insurance and financial services industries, the need to deliver a high-quality digital experience isn’t a question of “if,” and it’s not even a question of “when.” With aggressive technology-based providers — fintechs — encroaching ever deeper into the insurance and financial services space, Sun Life recognizes that the time for digitization is now. Change can’t wait.

The most significant and fundamental change is the need to speed up and streamline the application delivery pipeline. In today’s digital climate, time to market — the time required to get new services into the hands of customers — is everything. But for the vast majority of large, established providers that rely on mainframes to run their core applications, achieving this new level of agility requires them to overcome a series of interrelated challenges with a common core: application age and complexity.

The case of Sun Life Financial exemplifies how many providers are modernizing their application development practices to bring new digital offerings to their clients faster. One of the largest companies in Canada, Sun Life knew implicitly that all the business logic embedded in its mainframe applications — developed and implemented over decades — would continue to be required to administer its business. At the same time, it also recognized the widening set of risks that reliance on these applications posed to its digital transformation strategy.

As a product owner and scrum master within Sun Life’s DevOps Center of Excellence, Gary Lesage and his team of developers are at the leading edge of the company’s mainframe DevOps journey. In addition to people and process issues, tooling requirements are among his top priorities.

Code - stock video

Reduced application code search times by

50%

compared with manual approaches

Decreased time to market for new service delivery by

increasing

developer efficiency

Time to market is critical to going up against digital competitors and to meeting client expectations. What we’ve done shows that with DevOps tools like ADDI (Application Discovery and Delivery Intelligence), the mainframe can be just as quick as distributed environments in the long run.
Gary Lesage
Product Owner, Sun Life Financial

With all these factors in mind, he sees the expected retirement of nearly one third of his developer employees — and the institutional knowledge they possess — as one of the top challenges to Sun Life’s agile transformation. “Because much of our code was written decades ago and was not well documented, we rely on the knowledge and experience of subject matter experts,” Lesage explains. “As they retire, we need a way to pass knowledge on to the new generation of developers to keep the transformation ball rolling.”

The implications of knowledge loss are felt most when it comes to making changes to existing mainframe code, such as those that come with developing new digital services. The problem with such changes is that core applications are typically intertwined with — and logically dependent upon — other applications.

Apart from the knowledge of in-house experts, Lesage points out, the only way to analyze the impact of changes on other applications was to use aging, home-grown search control management tools to parse through the code, line by line. “Even with these tools, simply searching through code can account for up to 40% of a development team’s time,” he says. “Frankly, the team was not designed to support a DevOps-type world.”

Abstract IT technology background. Software source code

Faster discovery means improved agility

Software developing team. - stock photo

It’s not surprising that one of the first steps on Sun Life’s mainframe modernization journey was to put implement application discovery tools to make impact analysis faster and more efficient. A longtime IBM® zSystems user, Sun Life implemented the IBM Application Discovery and Delivery Intelligence (ADDI) solution. As part of the deployment, the company received design, configuration, and customization support from the IBM Deployment Project Office (DPO), an IBM program focused on helping customers with their DevOps tooling rollouts.

From the start, Lesage recognized that the shift to automated application discovery tools represented a significant cultural change for employees, and that a gradual rollout was key to getting buy-in. “Our strategy was to introduce the application discovery component to a pilot group of developers. We would get them to look at code, edit code, use the debugger and application discovery for impact analysis — and then to expand to the rest of the user base,” says Lesage. “What we’ve seen confirms that the best way to drive adoption among existing users is to demonstrate value.”

Among new hires it’s a different story. The visualization and automation capabilities of ADDI resonated right off the bat with the newer generation of application developers. These employees were already familiar with the newest programming languages, skills essential to Sun Life’s digital transformation.

For the growing number of the Sun Life developers putting ADDI to work, the use cases are countless. Some are performed continuously, while others on a limited project basis. But what they all have in common is the need to know the structure of a mainframe app inside and out, and perhaps most importantly, how it relates to others — before they start modernizing it.

Our strategy was to introduce the application discovery component to a pilot group of developers. We would get them to look at code, edit code, use the debugger, and use application discovery for impact analysis — and then to expand to the rest of the user base. What we’ve seen confirms that the best way to drive adoption among existing users is to demonstrate value.
Gary Lesage
Product Owner, Sun Life Financial

Poised for digital transformation

Lesage points to two projects as examples. In the first, he and his team were asked how the company’s mainframe applications would need to change in the rare (but not unheard of) case of interest rates going to zero or even negative. “Our developers used ADDI to find complex connections between a variety of investment and insurance applications,” says Lesage. “It took us 50% less time than a line-by-line code search.”

The second, more common example was a change to the COBOL compiler that was connected to over 100 programs running on the IBM zSystems. “In addition to identifying where the connections were in the code, the developers needed to know whether the changes followed COBOL’s rules-based restriction. Using ADDI enabled us to reduce analysis time by 35%.”

Another benefit of using ADDI is to be able to understand the use and dependencies within the JCL and batch scheduler information. “Historically, none of our developers had the ability to generate job graphs,” he notes. “The fact that we were able to inject our scheduling information into ADDI and generate graphs was a totally new. It added to the overall improvement in the efficiency of our team.”

In the big strategic picture, Sun Life’s adoption of ADDI represents an important step in the company’s mainframe modernization journey, and in the transformation of its development processes through DevOps practices. To Lesage, the biggest impact of automated application discovery is the time required to get new digital capabilities into the hands of clients. “Time to market is critical to going up against digital competitors and to meeting client’s expectations,” Lesage explains. “What we’ve done shows that with DevOps tools like ADDI, the mainframe can be just as quick as distributed environments. We can adapt to what’s coming, provide clients with a good digital experience and not having to move off the mainframe to do it.”

In addition to changing the way app development is done at Sun Life, mainframe DevOps tools like ADDI are also beginning to change mindsets. Developers, for example, are excited about the visual capabilities of ADDI. Lesage notes that “it’s helping us get to the point where we’re not afraid of the workforce challenges anymore.”

But, he adds, perhaps the most profound shift caused by ADDI is in the way the senior executives see mainframes in the equation of digital transformation. “Our executives recognize the importance of modernizing our mainframes because of how much we have invested in them, because of their security, and because they tie into our cloud strategy,” Lesage explains. “We see tools like ADDI changing our conversation about mainframes, and making them an integral part of our tools going forward.”

Sun Life logo
About Sun Life Financial

Sun LifeExternal Link is a leading international financial services organization providing asset management, wealth, insurance and health solutions to individual and institutional Clients. Sun Life has operations in a number of markets worldwide, including Canada, the US, the UK, Ireland, Hong Kong, the Philippines, Japan, Indonesia, India, China, Australia, Singapore, Vietnam, Malaysia and Bermuda.

Solution component
Sun Life logo
About Sun Life Financial

Sun LifeExternal Link is a leading international financial services organization providing asset management, wealth, insurance and health solutions to individual and institutional Clients. Sun Life has operations in a number of markets worldwide, including Canada, the US, the UK, Ireland, Hong Kong, the Philippines, Japan, Indonesia, India, China, Australia, Singapore, Vietnam, Malaysia and Bermuda.

Solution component