西门子歌美飒 (Siemens Gamesa) 让风电更快投入市场

在 Microsoft Azure 上使用计算机视觉提高涡轮机叶片制造效率
IBM Consulting
阅读时间:8 分钟

西门子歌美飒可再生能源 (Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy) 公司生产的风力发电机,可为全球数百万人提供清洁能源。

为引领这场绿色能源革命,公司要力求提高产能,但手动流程会引入错误,拖慢涡轮机叶片的生产进度。

为加速制造流程,西门子歌美飒与 IBM Consulting合作,在 Microsoft Azure 上创建了机器学习 (ML) 解决方案,该方案可利用激光栅格显示放置每个玻璃纤维层的确切位置,达到精准定位目的。

该新型解决方案涵盖多项技术,包括计算机视觉、机器学习、边缘计算和物联网 (IoT)。 通过聘请 IBM Consulting的专家与自己的数字风投实验室外部链接 (DVL) 开展合作,西门子歌美飒获得了所需的能力,可迅速将构想从图纸落实到工厂。

新的制造系统预计将在

2.5

年内收回全部投资回报

在实际叶片上测试该解决方案时大家一起无缝合作,IBM 甚至在运行中对代码进行了更改。 该项目的成功毋庸置疑,IBM 是西门子歌美飒完美的合作伙伴。
Finn Mainstone
西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司高级产品经理

面向大众的可再生能源

西门子歌美飒目前正在丹麦奥尔堡的一条生产线上使用其数据导向型制造解决方案,技术人员将通过该生产线用玻璃纤维铸造涡轮机叶片。

西门子歌美飒高级产品经理 Finn Mainstone 解释说:“每个涡轮机叶片都由我们的工程师根据精确的规格定制设计,制造过程中的任何缺陷都可能导致复杂、昂贵且费时的校正操作。 为避免这种情况,我们的团队会看到在每个叶片上方都会显示一个激光栅格,该栅格向他们确切显示了放置每个玻璃纤维层的位置。 最关键的是,如果解决方案检测到叶片表面有任何错误或异常,团队现在可以立即收到警报。”

他继续说道:“得益于工厂中连接到物联网的摄像头以及使用边缘上的机器学习模型进行的持续分析(均在 Microsoft Azure 上进行管理),我们的技术人员可以更快、更准确地放置每个叶片层。 因此,我们正在努力降低因材料放错位置而导致的制造错误率,这有助于我们的生产线保持平稳运转。 事实上,我们在全球范围内推出该解决方案后,能更好地共享最佳实践。 这将缩短我们新开张的工厂(例如在法国勒阿弗尔)内团队的学习曲线,支持我们提高产能,接受更多客户订单,并将绿色能源的好处带给全球更多的人。”

一位女士正在对风力涡轮机叶片展开工作
我们预计基于 Azure 的生产系统的回报期为 2.5 年。 此外,随着新功能的添加,我们有望实现越来越好的业务案例,并发现其他的更多优势。
Kenneth Lee Kaser
西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司海外运营高级副总裁

缺陷拖慢生产效率

两名工人手托笔记本电脑在叶片工厂内交流

涡轮机叶片的空气动力学特性对于高效发电至关重要,并且制造每个叶片都需要高技能的工作。 “即便我们用于最新款 SG 14-222DD 涡轮机的叶片长达 108 米,仍然几乎完全依靠手工来制造,”Mainstone 说道。 “由于每个叶片都是按订单生产的,因此我们的团队更像是打造家具的工匠,而非装配线上的工人。 但是,与任何手动过程一样,存在人为错误屡屡出现的风险。”

西门子歌美飒拥有严格的质量保证流程,且在制造的最终阶段对涡轮机叶片进行了检查和维修。 例如,如果一块玻璃纤维放错位置或放置在异物之上,就要切掉并更换叶片受影响的部分,这种情况不常出现,但一旦发生则代价十分高昂。

“每次对叶片进行返工时,都会增加成本,并限制了每个时段可生产的叶片数量,”Mainstone 继续说道。 “在竞争激烈的市场中,这给我们的利润和吞吐量造成了额外压力,无疑是一个严峻的挑战。 全球对风电的需求日益攀升,我们知道加大产能才能轻松抓住这些新的商机,发展业务。 为实现目标,我们迫切需要一种让技术人员快速精准地进行定位的方法。”

IBM 倾注了大量时间和资源来帮助我们优化构想。 此过程对于确定新解决方案的最佳设计和配置来说极其宝贵。
Finn Mainstone
西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司高级产品经理

引进行业专家

为搭建新的数字化功能,提升全球活动的标准化和效率,西门子歌美飒公司成立了一支内部转型专家团队:数字风险投资实验室。 DVL 的第一个项目是质量控制系统,该系统使用激光栅格向团队展示了生产过程中在何处放置玻璃纤维层。 但是,该系统检测不到制造过程中的缺陷,且需要大量重复的人工干预才能运行。

Mainstone 回忆说:“我们有信心为团队提供视觉线索,引领团队走上正确的道路,而且我们看到了通过智能自动化增强质量控制系统,进而改进流程的巨大潜力。”

IBM 高级管理顾问兼项目负责人 Melanie Beck 继续说道:“西门子歌美飒团队有一个雄心勃勃的构想:在每个制造工位上方安装一排摄像头,并使用计算机视觉和机器学习模型实时验证每一层的位置。”

SGRE 叶片工厂
凭借强大的机器学习能力和全面的云工程实践,IBM 帮助我们搭建了一个解决方案,可满足我们的全部需求。
Finn Mainstone
西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司高级产品经理
SGRE 叶片在外面排成一列

该 DVL 制定了一套详细的目标解决方案,并寻找合作伙伴一起来将远景变为现实。 “整个招标过程要求苛刻,IBM Consulting作为领导者一路脱颖而出,” Mainstone 说。 “经过一个月的深入讨论,IBM 制定出与我们的概要情况完全相符的提议书,并配备了拥有专业知识、热情和深入主题知识的员工。”

他继续说:“IBM 倾注了大量时间和资源来帮助我们优化构想。 此过程对于确定新解决方案的最佳设计和配置来说极其宝贵。 例如,我们必须要决定是部署数量较少但非常昂贵的高分辨率摄像头,还是部署数量较多但价格便宜的低分辨率摄像头。 IBM 帮我们分析了可供选择的各款软硬件的优缺点,并提出了均衡的方法来满足我们的需求。”

虽然 IBM 并非合同方,但额外帮助我们在工厂中配置了边缘计算系统。 当新冠疫情 (COVID-19) 来袭,IBM Consulting迅速将其 IBM Garage Methodology 调整为以远程方式工作,让我们能够继续稳定地开展业务。
Finn Mainstone
西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司高级产品经理

提供实时反馈

IBM Consulting与 DVL 合作,帮助西门子歌美飒通过频繁、可迭代的开发周期,快速推进项目。 在 IBM Garage™ Methodology 的助力下,两支团队在极短的时间里便完成了大量复杂工作。 短短数月内,西门子歌美飒便完成了奥尔堡工厂内最小可行产品 (MVP) 从设计到原型制作再到部署的全过程。

“我们在招标过程中制定了十分具体的要求,如能够以最低延迟检测出 97 米长的白色叶片上玻璃纤维板的白边,” Mainstone解释。 凭借强大的机器学习能力和全面的云工程实践,IBM 帮助我们搭建了一个解决方案,可满足我们的全部需求。 虽然 IBM 并非合同方,但额外帮助我们在工厂中配置了边缘计算系统。 当新冠疫情 (COVID-19) 来袭,IBM 咨询迅速将其 IBM Garage Methodology 调整为以远程方式工作,让我们能够继续稳定地开展业务。”

一位女士正在计算机屏幕上观察 CAD 涡轮机的图样
海上风力发电机

通过在 Microsoft Azure IoT Edge 平台上处理视频,该公司可以将先进的机器学习模型实时应用于大量非结构化数据,并使用其激光栅格系统向工厂团队提供反馈。 由于新解决方案基于 Microsoft Azure 构建,因此,西门子歌美飒可以放心,该任务关键型数字服务设计为能够 24×7 式平稳运行,这要归功于强大的高可用性云功能,且此类功能符合西门子歌美飒严苛的企业 IT 标准。

“西门子歌美飒在诸多业务领域广泛运用了微软的解决方案,因此,选择 Microsoft Azure 开展此项目顺理成章,”Mainstone 评论说。 “从一开始,我们就对 IBM Consulting团队在 Microsoft Azure 平台方面的知识和专业技能印象深刻。 IBM 所引入的技能和经验可帮助我们发掘 Microsoft Azure 的全部潜能,包括诸如 Microsoft Azure 机器学习、Microsoft Azure DevOps 和 Microsoft Azure IoT Edge 等各个组件。”

从一开始,我们就对 IBM Consulting团队在 Microsoft Azure 平台方面的知识和专业技能印象深刻。 IBM 所引入的技能和经验可帮助我们发掘 Microsoft Azure 的全部潜能。
Finn Mainstone
西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司高级产品经理

加快新工厂建成

一名女士正在一个大型室内风力涡轮机存储设施内的过道中向里看

新解决方案非常通用,这意味着西门子歌美飒可以轻松添加新功能。 “我们最近利用自己开发的模型扩充了 IBM 创建的机器学习模型,”Mainstone 说。 “此新功能可检测模具中的异物(如工具和碎屑),并主动提醒团队将其清除,帮助我们避免了下游代价高昂的维修工作。”

奥尔堡一条生产线的试点项目取得巨大成功,在此基础上,西门子歌美飒计划在全公司范围内部署新的制造解决方案。

Beck 补充道:“由于西门子歌美飒的核心解决方案构建在 Microsoft Azure 上,并利用了 IBM Consulting AI@Scale 最佳实践,因此,可直接以经济有效的方式向外扩展。 部署完成后,我们预计西门子歌美飒将显著改善其生产流程的质量和一致性,同时可降低成本并保护利润率。”

在该项目的下一阶段,西门子歌美飒将扩展解决方案,使其覆盖奥尔堡的所有生产线、法国勒阿弗尔的工厂以及英国赫尔的工厂。 展望未来,该公司正在探索在全球所有工厂中实施该解决方案的构想。

“我们预计基于 Azure 的生产系统的投资回收期约为 2.5 年,”西门子歌美飒海上业务高级运营副总裁 Kenneth Lee Kaser 说道。 “而且我们希望随着功能的增加,业务案例越来越出色,并出现更多附加优势。

“在我们开办新工厂时,此类决策支持系统将带来强大优势,因为它会显著缩短新生产团队的培训时间,更快投入市场,”Mainstone 总结说。 “IBM Consulting是我们最值得信赖的合作伙伴之一。 西门子歌美飒已准备好面向全球客户引入下一代可再生能源技术,我们期待与 IBM 合作,携手在整个企业中推出制造解决方案。”

风力发电机西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司徽标

关于 西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司

西门子歌美飒外部链接是可再生能源行业的全球技术领导者。 该公司专注于开发、制造、安装和维护风力涡轮机,自上世纪 80 年代以来,始终在推进向可持续能源的全球性转移。 西门子歌美飒作为可再生行业的主要参与者和创新先驱,其总装机容量已超 107 GM,在全球 75 个国家或地区中都能获得产能。

解决方案组件
风力发电机西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司徽标

关于 西门子歌美飒可再生能源公司

西门子歌美飒外部链接是可再生能源行业的全球技术领导者。 该公司专注于开发、制造、安装和维护风力涡轮机,自上世纪 80 年代以来,始终在推进向可持续能源的全球性转移。 西门子歌美飒作为可再生行业的主要参与者和创新先驱,其总装机容量已超 107 GM,在全球 75 个国家或地区中都能获得产能。

解决方案组件

Siemens Gamesa cuts time to market for wind power

Enhancing the efficiency of turbine blade manufacturing with computer vision on Microsoft Azure
Global Business Services
8-minute read

Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy builds wind turbines that generate clean energy for millions of people worldwide.

To lead the green energy revolution, the company aims to boost capacity, but manual processes led to errors that slowed turbine blade production.

To accelerate manufacturing, Siemens Gamesa partnered with IBM Services® to create a machine learning (ML) solution on Microsoft Azure — using a laser grid to show exactly where to place each fiberglass layer with pinpoint accuracy.

The new solution involves multiple technologies, including computer vision, ML, edge computing and the Internet of Things (IoT). By engaging experts from IBM Services to work with its own Digital Ventures LabsExternal Link (DVL), Siemens Gamesa gained the capabilities it needed to quickly lift its ideas off the drawing board and onto the factory floor.

Aalborg blade factory outdoor storage area

New manufacturing system expects full ROI within

2.5

years

Everyone worked together seamlessly as we tested the solution on a real blade — and IBM even made changes to the code on the fly. The project was an undisputed success, and IBM is the perfect partner for Siemens Gamesa.
Finn Mainstone
Senior Product Manager, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.

Renewable energy for all

Siemens Gamesa is now using its data-driven manufacturing solution on one of its production lines in Aalborg, Denmark, where technicians cast turbine blades from fiberglass.

Finn Mainstone, Senior Product Manager at Siemens Gamesa, explains: “Each turbine blade is custom designed by our engineers to precise specifications, and any defects during the manufacturing process can result in complex, costly and time-consuming corrections. To avoid this situation, our teams see a laser grid displayed on top of each blade that shows them exactly where to place each fiberglass layer. Crucially, they can now get instant alerts if the solution detects any errors or abnormalities in the surface of the blade.”

He continues: “Thanks to IoT-connected cameras in our factory and continuous analysis using machine learning models on the edge, all managed on Microsoft Azure, our technicians can place each blade layer with greater speed and accuracy. As a result, we are on course to reduce manufacturing error rates caused by misplaced material, which helps keep our production lines moving smoothly. In fact, once we roll the solution out globally, we will be better able to share best practices. This will reduce the learning curve for teams in our newly opened factories, such as Le Havre, France — enabling us to boost our throughput, accept more client orders, and bring the benefits of green energy to more people around the world.”

Woman working on a wind turbine blade
We expect a payback period of about two and a half years for our Azure-based production system. And we expect the business case to get better and better as we add more functionality and see more secondary benefits.
Kenneth Lee Kaser
Senior Vice President of Operations – Offshore, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.

Defects drag down productivity

Two workers confer with a laptop in blade factory

The aerodynamic profile of turbine blades is crucial for efficient power generation, and building each blade involves highly skilled work. “Even though our blades for the newest SG 14-222DD turbine are 108 meters long, they are still built almost entirely by hand,” says Mainstone. “Because each blade is made to order, our teams are more like artisan craftspeople building furniture than workers on an assembly line. But as with any manual process, there is an ever-present risk of human error.”

Siemens Gamesa has a rigorous quality assurance process, and turbine blades are inspected and repaired during the final stages of manufacturing. For example, if a piece of fiberglass is placed incorrectly or laid on top of a foreign object, the affected section of blade is cut out and replaced — a rare but costly occurrence.

“Each time we rework a blade, it raises our costs, and limits the number of blades we can produce in each period,” continues Mainstone. “This additional pressure on our margins and throughput is a tough challenge in a highly competitive marketplace. Global demand for wind power is on the rise, and we knew that increasing our throughput would make it easier to capture these new opportunities and grow the business. To achieve our goal, we looked for a way to empower our technicians to work quickly with pinpoint precision.”

IBM dedicated significant time and resources to help us refine our ideas. This process was extremely valuable when it came to determining the optimal design and configuration for the new solution.
Finn Mainstone
Senior Product Manager, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.

Bringing in industry experts

To build new digital capabilities that bring greater standardization and efficiency to its global activities, Siemens Gamesa formed an internal team of transformation specialists: the Digital Ventures Lab. One of the DVL’s first projects was a quality control system, which used a laser grid to show teams where to place fiberglass layers during production. However, the system could not detect defects in the manufacturing process and required significant and repetitive manual intervention to operate.

“We were confident we were on the right track by providing visual cues to our teams,” Mainstone recalls, “and we saw great potential to enhance our processes by augmenting the quality control system with intelligent automation.”

Melanie Beck, Senior Managing Consultant and Project Lead at IBM, continues, “The Siemens Gamesa team had an ambitious idea: mount an array of cameras above each manufacturing station, and validate the placement of each layer in real time using computer vision and ML models.”

SGRE Blades factory
With strong capabilities in machine learning and thorough cloud engineering practices, IBM helped us build a solution that meets all our needs.
Finn Mainstone
Senior Product Manager, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.
SGRE Blades lined up outside

The DVL created a detailed schematic of its target solution and looked for a partner to bring its vision to life. “Throughout a demanding tender process, IBM Services consistently stood out as the leader,” says Mainstone. “During a month of in-depth discussions, IBM developed a strong proposal that was fully aligned with our brief and staffed by people with expertise, enthusiasm and deep subject-matter knowledge.”

He continues: “IBM dedicated significant time and resources to help us refine our ideas. This process was extremely valuable when it came to determining the optimal design and configuration for the new solution. For example, we had to decide whether to deploy a small number of very expensive, high-resolution cameras or a large number of cheaper, lower-resolution cameras. IBM helped us identify the advantages and disadvantages of the various hardware and software options and come up with a balanced approach that met our needs.”

Even though it wasn’t part of the contract, IBM went the extra mile to help us configure the edge computing systems in our factory. And when COVID-19 hit, IBM Services rapidly adapted their IBM Garage Methodology for remote working, which helped us to stay on track.
Finn Mainstone
Senior Product Manager, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.

Delivering real-time feedback

Working with the DVL, IBM Services helped Siemens Gamesa drive the project forward rapidly using frequent, iterative development cycles. Assisted by the IBM Garage™ Methodology, the two teams compressed large amounts of complex work into a very short period of time. Within a matter of months, Siemens Gamesa moved from design to prototyping to deployment of a minimum viable product (MVP) for its factory in Aalborg.

“We set out very specific requirements during the tender process, such as the ability to detect the white edges of fiberglass sheets over a white, 97-meter-long blade with minimal latency,” explains Mainstone. “With strong capabilities in machine learning and thorough cloud engineering practices, IBM helped us build a solution that meets all our needs. Even though it wasn’t part of the contract, IBM went the extra mile to help us configure the edge computing systems in our factory. And when COVID-19 hit, IBM Services rapidly adapted their IBM Garage Methodology for remote working, which helped us to stay on track.”

Woman viewing CAD turbine drawing on a computer screen
Offshore wind turbines

By processing video on the Microsoft Azure IoT Edge platform, the company can apply advanced ML models to large amounts of unstructured data in real time and use its laser grid system to deliver feedback to factory teams. Because the new solution is built on Microsoft Azure, Siemens Gamesa gains the peace of mind that this mission-critical digital service is designed to run smoothly 24x7, thanks to robust high-availability cloud capabilities in line with Siemens Gamesa’s demanding corporate IT standards.

“Siemens Gamesa uses Microsoft solutions widely in many parts of the business, so selecting Microsoft Azure for this project was a natural choice,” comments Mainstone. “From the very start, we have been extremely impressed with the IBM Services team’s knowledge and expertise around the Microsoft Azure platform. IBM brought the skills and experience to help us harness the full potential of Microsoft Azure, including components such as Microsoft Azure Machine Learning, Microsoft Azure DevOps and Microsoft Azure IoT Edge.”

From the very start, we have been extremely impressed with the IBM Services team’s knowledge and expertise around the Microsoft Azure platform. IBM brought the skills and experience to help us harness the full potential of Microsoft Azure.
Finn Mainstone
Senior Product Manager, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.

Spinning up new factories faster

Woman looking down aisle in a large indoor wind turbine storage facility

The new solution is extremely versatile, which means it is easy for the Siemens Gamesa to add new capabilities. “We recently augmented the ML models created by IBM with a model we developed ourselves,” says Mainstone. “This new capability detects foreign bodies such as tools and debris in the mold, and proactively alerts our teams to remove them, helping us to avoid costly repair work further downstream.”

Building on the strong success of its pilot project for one production line in Aalborg, Siemens Gamesa is targeting a company-wide deployment of the new manufacturing solution.

Beck adds: “Because Siemens Gamesa built the core of the solution on Microsoft Azure and utilized IBM Services AI@Scale best practices, scaling out is very straightforward and cost-effective. Once the deployment is complete, we predict that Siemens Gamesa will significantly improve the quality and consistency of its production processes while reducing costs and protecting its margins.”

In the next phase of the project, Siemens Gamesa will extend the solution to cover all its manufacturing lines in Aalborg, its factory in Le Havre, France, and its factory in Hull, UK. Looking further ahead, the company is exploring the idea of implementing the solution in all its factories around the world.

“We expect a payback period of about two and a half years for our Azure-based production system,” says Kenneth Lee Kaser, Senior Vice President of Operations – Offshore at Siemens Gamesa. “And we expect the business case to get better and better as we add more functionality and see more secondary benefits.”

“Having a decision-support system of this kind will bring powerful benefits when we open new factories, as it will dramatically reduce the time required to train new production teams, cutting time to market,” Mainstone concludes. “IBM Services is one of our most trusted partners. Siemens Gamesa is poised to bring the next generation of renewable energy technologies to customers around the world, and we look forward to working with IBM as we roll out our manufacturing solution across the business.”

Wind turbine Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A. logo

About Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.

Siemens GamesaExternal Link is a global technology leader in the renewable energy industry. Specializing in the development, manufacturing, installation and maintenance of wind turbines, the company has been supporting the global transition toward sustainable energy since the 1980s. A key player and innovative pioneer in the renewables sector, Siemens Gamesa has installed over 107 GW of generating capacity in 75 countries worldwide.

Solution components
Wind turbine Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A. logo

About Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, S.A.

Siemens GamesaExternal Link is a global technology leader in the renewable energy industry. Specializing in the development, manufacturing, installation and maintenance of wind turbines, the company has been supporting the global transition toward sustainable energy since the 1980s. A key player and innovative pioneer in the renewables sector, Siemens Gamesa has installed over 107 GW of generating capacity in 75 countries worldwide.

Solution components