全渠道配送从未如此出色
Sally Beauty Holdings 使用 IBM Sterling 软件来提高 DIY 产品的销量
一位面带微笑的女士打开送到家中的中号盒子

2020 年春季,很多人在发型设计上开始不再保守。冠状病毒已经侵袭北美,沙龙和理发店纷纷暂时停业或限制营业。不少消费者开始在网上购买自助 (DIY) 染发套装和其他个人护理产品,而此前他们从未考虑过自己染发这种冒险行为。

专业美容产品全球经销商和专门零售商 Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc. 的解决方案交付副总裁 Sonoma Taylor 表示:“从乐观的角度来看,这场疫情对我们来说并非只是灾难。”“此前,我们已经开始关注专业级 DIY 品牌,而现在消费者有更多时间使用这些产品,也有更多机会尝试自己造型。我的意思是,既然不能去办公室上班,那么不妨把头发染成紫色。”

Sally Beauty Holdings 通过两家公司运营业务:直接面向消费者的 Sally Beauty Supply LLC 以及为沙龙专业人员服务的 Beauty Systems Group LLC (BSG)(品牌名为 Cosmo Prof)。不出所料,疫情爆发之初,Sally Beauty Supply 的在线消费需求出现大幅飙升。与此同时,政府颁布了多项指令,出于对员工安全的考虑,Sally Beauty Supply 不得不放缓其在美国三个配送中心的运营。

Taylor 指出:“消费者希望购买我们的产品,但是仓库并不总是能够正常发货。”

幸运的是,前一年 Sally Beauty Holdings 已开始数字化转型,以期改善全渠道 B2C 和 B2B 客户体验。为了提高销售业绩和客户满意度,公司希望简化订购和采购流程,同时为线上客户和门店客户提供无缝衔接的服务。

在完成此举的过程中,Sally Beauty Holdings 利用 IBM Sterling Order Management 平台对订单管理和履行系统进行了现代化改造。这项解决方案可实时地集中观察和管理库存、订单和履行情况,同时有助于简化门店发货 (SFS) 和其他数字化履行选项的部署。此外,IBM 还提供了行业专业知识,指导公司完成数字化转型。

Sally Beauty Holdings 与 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Perficient Inc. 合作,在 IBM Cloud 上部署了 IBM Sterling 平台,该平台提供的可扩展性、可用性和高安全性功能可支持不同的业务部门和服务。

3 周

 

3 周内完成 SFS 功能的上市时间部署

540%

 

2020 年以来 SFS 出货量达 200 万件,销售额增长 540%

幸亏有 IBM Sterling 平台帮助我们保持领先地位,快速响应市场需求。 Sonoma Taylor 解决方案交付副总裁 Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.

到 2020 年 3 月,该公司已在新平台上顺利完成多项初步部署。该公司为 sallybeauty.com 和 cosmoprofbeauty.com 启动了订单管理系统,包括送货上门功能;为 Cosmo Prof 直销顾问启用在线订单履行,在 cosmoprofbeauty.com 上推出了当日送达 (SDD) 功能;还在 sallybeauty.ca 上试行 SFS 计划,覆盖 16 家加拿大 Sally Beauty 门店。

不久之后,病毒突然侵袭,Sally Beauty Holdings 立即考虑如何快速满足在线 DIY 产品消费需求的激增,同时保证优质的客户体验。

“这款应用程序功能十分强大”

Sally Beauty Holdings 接下来的行动展现了其足智多谋与灵活敏捷。由于无法及时履行来自配送中心的订单,他们找到了另一种方法。

“我们在想:‘美国 Sally Beauty 门店内有大量库存。我们为何不直接从门店发货呢?这种方法可以让我们在供应商尚未完全投入运营的情况下扩大产品种类。同时还能为门店增加工作岗位,增加客户选择我们的机会,’”Taylor 解释道。

短短三周时间,该公司将 3,300 家美国零售门店中的 2700 家变为配送中心,还为其美国经销网络新增了数千个配送仓库,大幅提高了客户满意度和销售额。

Taylor 认为全新 SFS 功能的门店执行环节是一个复杂流程,包括制定新的订单配送和运输业务规则以及开展相关培训。该团队利用 IBM Sterling Order Management 解决方案快速完成了这项工作。

“我们的工作压力很大,而这正是 IBM 应用程序要解决的问题,了解需求在哪里、库存在哪里,以及如何更好地将产品交付给消费者。这款应用程序功能很强大,可以灵活配置来完成我们需要它执行的工作,”她表示。

在实施过程中,团队也与 IBM 和 Perficient 密切合作开展各项工作,包括采用敏捷交付方法将应用程序集成到公司的销售点系统中。“我必须要感谢 IBM 支持团队和 Perficient 团队,感谢他们与 Sally Beauty 团队携手合作,部署了全面的整合解决方案,”Taylor 说道。

例如,巨大的交易量导致 SFS 应用程序性能在上线后不久有所下降。“我们使用软件即服务 (SaaS) 交付模型,除了这次,我们从未遇到过任何与可扩展性和性能相关的问题,”Taylor 表示。“但是像我们这样扩展电子商务运营,难免会遇到一些挑战。我们立即与 IBM 和 Perficient 合作调整云功能,几小时内便恢复了正常运行。从那以后,我们再也没有遇到过性能问题。”

了解如何构建更智能的供应链

北美爆发疫情的头几个月里,Sally Beauty Holdings 迅速启用 SFS 功能并吸引了一批新的 B2C 客户。然而,供应链中断导致门店库存分散,因此客户经常收到分批发货的订单。为了提升品牌体验并尽量降低运输成本,该公司将提供 SFS 选项的门店数量从 2,700 家逐步减少到 245 家。期间公司持续优化网络,简化库存分配。

2020 年 4 月,部分门店开始安全地恢复营业,Sally Beauty Holdings 迅速开启试点计划,随后在美国和加拿大的大多数 Sally Beauty Supply 门店推出了路边提货和在线购买店内提货 (BOPIS) 功能。这种模式不仅降低了订单拆分和运输成本,也能让新客户更加熟悉门店位置和产品种类。

疫情爆发一年多后,Sally Beauty Holdings 仍在继续数字化转型。2021 年夏季,该公司在 cosmoprofbeauty.com 上推出了 BOPIS 选项,同时还在为 sallybeauty.com 部署当日两小时送达服务,以及 cosmoprofbeauty.com 的当日三小时送达服务。

“我们始终力求在正确的时间将库存配送到正确的地点,在打造卓越客户体验的同时优化我们的成本,”Taylor 说道。

 

我们立即与 IBM 和 Perficient 合作调整云功能,几小时内便恢复了正常运行。从那以后,我们再也没有遇到过性能问题。 Sonoma Taylor 解决方案交付副总裁 Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.
线上销售额飙升 540%

短短几周内,Sally Beauty Supply 为 2,700 家美国门店部署了 SFS 功能,此举使 SFS 出货量突破 200 万件,销售额增长了 540%。此外,1,046 家 Cosmo Prof 参与门店履行了超过 42,000 个当日送达订单。

在 IBM Sterling 平台的支持下,Sally Beauty Holdings 现在可以提供真正意义的全渠道购买体验,使客户能够通过自己需要的渠道与品牌进行互动。该公司利用高级履行选项不断完善在线业务,在提高客户满意度的同时也增加了盈利能力。

Taylor 表示,回顾过去的一年半,仿佛一段疯狂的旅程。“我们能在这么短的时间内取得这么大的进步,真是令人难以置信,”她说道。“坦白地说,我们认为自己有点幸运,至少我们在 2020 年疫情爆发和造成后续影响之前已经开始了数字化转型之旅。”

Sally Beauty Holdings 的转型之旅还在继续。Taylor 预计会采用 IBM Sterling Fulfillment Optimizer with Watson 软件进一步提升购买体验,包括通过预测配送地点的库存需求来优化下单后流程。该公司还将研究如何通过 Cosmo Prof 网站为沙龙专业人员和现场销售顾问提供更优质的服务。

Taylor 建议零售企业能够继续灵活变通地利用 Sterling 平台的强大功能。她指出:“解决方案不断发展,功能也在推陈出新,但消费者的期望在变化,运营方式也在变革。”“我们可以自信地推出新功能,满足各种需求,日后重新审视和完善这些决策,获得更好的结果。”

尽管起初的 DIY 产品热潮已经消退,但是消费者对家用护发、护肤和美甲产品的需求仍会持续下去。Taylor 表示,还有一些事情是必然的。消费者不会舍弃疫情期间兴起的网购便利体验,供应链也不会总是按预期流动。

“幸亏有 IBM Sterling 平台帮助我们保持领先地位,快速响应市场需求,”她说道。

Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc. 徽标
关于 Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.

Sally Beauty(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家全球专业美容产品经销商和零售商,总部位于德克萨斯州丹顿,门店数量庞大,遍布世界各地。Sally Beauty Holdings 为零售消费者和沙龙专业人员提供服务,供应数千种染发护发、护肤和美甲产品。该公司在全球拥有 27,000 名员工和 3,700 家门店,2020 年销售额达 35 亿美元。

关于 Perficient Inc.

IBM 业务合作伙伴 Perficient(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家全球数字咨询公司,总部位于密苏里州圣路易斯,提供战略、创意和技术功能。该公司凭借全局思维和创新理念以及务实方法,助力全球众多大型企业和领先品牌取得成功。Perficient 成立于 1997 年,拥有约 3,300 名员工,在北美、欧洲、印度和中国均设有分部。

接下来:
IBM 如何帮助 JOANN Store 的供应链快速响应新冠疫情 IBM 新闻中心 通过无缝销售和履约提供卓越的客户体验 Parker Hannifin Corporation 成功案例 从独立运营到合作共赢 Follett 成功案例
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson Supply Chain, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Sterling 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可参见以下网站的“版权和商标信息”部分:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。IBM 业务合作伙伴自行设定价格,价格可能会有所不同。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Omnichannel shipping never looked so good

Sally Beauty Holdings uses IBM Sterling software to boost sales for DIY products
by Karen Boush
6-minute read
A smiling woman opens a medium-size box delivered to her home

In spring 2020, many people became daredevils when it came to styling their hair. The coronavirus had arrived in North America, and salons and barbershops had temporarily closed or limited their operations. Consumers who had never considered such risky behavior as coloring their own hair went online to purchase do-it-yourself (DIY) dye kits and other self-care products.

“The pandemic was a little bit of a perfect storm for us, if we’re being optimistic,” says Sonoma Taylor, VP Solution Delivery at Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc., a global distributor and specialty retailer of professional beauty products. “We already had a big focus on professional-grade, DIY brands, and now the consumer had more time to use them and more opportunity to experiment. I mean, since you’re not going to the office anyway, you might as well dye your hair purple.”

Sally Beauty Holdings operates through two business enterprises: Sally Beauty Supply LLC to serve consumers, and Beauty Systems Group LLC (BSG), branded as Cosmo Prof, to serve salon professionals. Not surprisingly, Sally Beauty Supply experienced a huge spike in online demand at the pandemic’s onset. At the same time, government mandates and company concern for employee safety slowed operations at the retailer’s three US distribution centers.

“The consumer really started wanting our products, but we weren’t always able to ship from the warehouses,” comments Taylor.

Fortunately, the previous year Sally Beauty Holdings had embarked on a digital transformation to improve its omnichannel B2C and B2B customer experiences. The company wanted to drive higher sales and customer satisfaction by simplifying ordering and purchasing processes and offering seamless services to online and in-store customers.

As part of that initiative, Sally Beauty Holdings modernized its order management and fulfillment system with the IBM Sterling® Order Management platform. The solution provides centralized, real-time visibility into and management of inventory, orders and fulfillment. It also helps streamline deployment of ship from store (SFS) and other digital fulfillment options. In addition, IBM offers the industry expertise and knowledge to help guide the company through a digital transformation.

Sally Beauty Holdings collaborated with IBM Business Partner Perficient Inc. to implement the IBM Sterling platform on IBM Cloud®, which provides the scalability, availability and security-rich features to support diverse business lines and services.

Time-to-market deployment of SFS capabilities in

3

weeks

2 million SFS shipments fulfilled since 2020, increasing sales by

540%

Thank goodness we have the IBM Sterling platform to help us keep ahead and respond quickly to marketplace demands.
Sonoma Taylor
VP Solution Delivery, Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.

By March 2020, the company had successfully completed several initial deployments on the new platform. It had launched the order management system, including ship-to-me functions, for sallybeauty.com and cosmoprofbeauty.com. It had also enabled online order fulfillment for Cosmo Prof direct sales consultants, introduced same-day-delivery (SDD) capabilities on cosmoprofbeauty.com, and piloted a SFS program for sallybeauty.ca involving 16 Sally Beauty stores in Canada.

Then, with the sudden arrival of the virus, Sally Beauty Holdings immediately considered what it could quickly do to meet surging online demand for DIY products while still delivering an optimal customer experience.

A woman wearing plastic gloves uses a pink brush to apply hair dye
A woman with hair dyed bright blue at the ends works from home on a laptop
We immediately collaborated with IBM and Perficient to resize our cloud capabilities, and within hours we were back up and running. We’ve never had a performance issue since.
Sonoma Taylor
VP Solution Delivery, Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.
“An incredibly strong application”
We immediately collaborated with IBM and Perficient to resize our cloud capabilities, and within hours we were back up and running. We’ve never had a performance issue since.
Sonoma Taylor
VP Solution Delivery, Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.

Sally Beauty Holdings’ next steps revealed its resourcefulness and agility. The business couldn’t fulfill orders on a timely basis from its distribution centers, so it found an alternative way.

“We said, ‘We’ve got a lot of inventory sitting in our Sally Beauty stores in the US. Why don’t we just roll out ship from store? This would allow us to extend our product assortment while our suppliers are not fully operational. It would also give our store associates jobs and our customers a chance to come shop us,’” Taylor explains.

Within three weeks, the company enabled 2,700 of its 3,300 US retail stores to function as fulfillment centers. Essentially adding thousands of new shipping nodes to its US network, the company significantly increased customer satisfaction and sales.

Taylor describes the in-store execution of new SFS capabilities, including establishing and training new business rules for order distribution and transportation, as a complicated process. Capitalizing on its IBM Sterling Order Management solution, the team rapidly got the work done.

“It was super stressful, but that’s what the IBM application is built for, to understand where the demand is, where the inventory is and how to best get it to consumers. It is an incredibly strong application that can be flexibly configured to do what we need it to do,” she says.

The team also closely worked with IBM and Perficient during the implementation, including applying agile delivery methods to integrate the application into the company’s point-of-sale system. “I have to give all the credit in the world to the IBM support team and to our Perficient team for working closely with our Sally Beauty teams to deploy a consolidated and comprehensive solution,” Taylor says.

For instance, shortly after going live, the SFS application performance dipped because of the huge transaction volumes. “We use a software-as-a-service (SaaS) delivery model, and outside of this moment we’ve never had any issue as it relates to scalability and performance,” says Taylor. “But when you scale your e-commerce operations like we did, you’re going to have a little bit of a challenge. We immediately collaborated with IBM and Perficient to resize our cloud capabilities, and within hours we were back up and running. We’ve never had a performance issue since.”

Learn how to build smarter supply chains

Fast to enable SFS capabilities, Sally Beauty Holdings attracted new B2C customers during the pandemic’s early months in North America. However, supply chain disruptions had fragmented in-store inventories, so customers often received split order shipments. To improve the brand experience and minimize its shipping costs, the company gradually reduced the number of stores offering a SFS option from 2,700 to 245 stores. The business continues to optimize the network, helping streamline inventory allocation.

In April 2020, as some stores began safely opening back up, Sally Beauty Holdings also quickly piloted and then rolled out curbside pickup and buy online pickup in store (BOPIS) capabilities for most Sally Beauty Supply stores in the US and Canada. This model further reduced order splitting and shipping costs, while helping new customers become more familiar with store locations and product assortments.

More than a year after the pandemic began, the digital transformation at Sally Beauty Holdings continues. In the summer of 2021, the company introduced BOPIS options for cosmoprofbeauty.com. It is also in the process of deploying same-day, two-hour delivery for sallybeauty.com, and same day, three-hour delivery for cosmoprofbeauty.com.

“We remain focused on having inventory in the right place at the right time, so customers have excellent experiences, and we optimize costs,” says Taylor.

Online sales soar by 540%

Having deployed SFS capabilities for 2,700 US stores in just weeks, Sally Beauty Supply has made more than two million SFS shipments and increased sales by 540%. Also, 1,046 participating Cosmo Prof stores have fulfilled more than 42,000 SDD shipments.

With the IBM Sterling platform, Sally Beauty Holdings can now offer a truly omnichannel purchasing experience, empowering customers to engage with the brand through the avenues of their choice. By enhancing its online businesses with advanced fulfillment options, the company not only improved customer satisfaction but increased profitability.

Looking back on the past 1.5 years, Taylor notes that it’s been a wild ride. “It’s just incredible to think back on how much we’ve done in such a short amount of time,” she says. “We honestly count ourselves a little bit lucky that we had at least started our digital journey in time for the 2020 year and all that it brought.”

And the journey continues for Sally Beauty Holdings. Taylor anticipates adopting IBM Sterling Fulfillment Optimizer with Watson software to further enhance the purchasing experience, including optimizing post-order processes by forecasting demand for inventory at fulfillment locations. The company will also look at how to better service salon professionals and field sales consultants through its Cosmo Prof website.

Taylor recommends that retail enterprises stay flexible in how they harness the power of the Sterling platform. “The solution continues to evolve and add new capabilities, but consumer expectations change, and operations change,” she says. “We know we can confidently introduce new capabilities to meet those demands and later revisit and refine those decisions to drive different outcomes.”

Even though the initial rush for DIY products has tapered, demand for at-home hair, skin and nail care products is expected to continue. A few other things are certain, Taylor says. Consumers won’t give up online shopping conveniences introduced during the pandemic, and supply chains won’t always flow as expected.

“Thank goodness we have the IBM Sterling platform to help us keep ahead and respond quickly to marketplace demands,” she says.

Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc. logo
About Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.

Headquartered in Denton, Texas, Sally BeautyExternal Link is the world’s largest distributor and retailer of professional beauty products based on store count. Sally Beauty Holdings serves both retail consumers and salon professionals by offering thousands of products for hair color and care, skin and nails. With 27,000 employees and 3,700 stores worldwide, the company generated USD 3.5 billion in sales in 2020.

About Perficient Inc.

Based in St. Louis, Missouri, IBM Business Partner PerficientExternal Link is a global digital consultancy offering strategy, creative and technology capabilities. It brings big thinking and innovative ideas, along with a practical approach, to help the world’s largest enterprises and leading brands succeed. Founded in 1997, Perficient employs approximately 3,300 people who work across North America and in Europe, India and China.

Solution components
Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc. logo
About Sally Beauty Holdings, Inc.

Headquartered in Denton, Texas, Sally BeautyExternal Link is the world’s largest distributor and retailer of professional beauty products based on store count. Sally Beauty Holdings serves both retail consumers and salon professionals by offering thousands of products for hair color and care, skin and nails. With 27,000 employees and 3,700 stores worldwide, the company generated USD 3.5 billion in sales in 2020.

About Perficient Inc.

Based in St. Louis, Missouri, IBM Business Partner PerficientExternal Link is a global digital consultancy offering strategy, creative and technology capabilities. It brings big thinking and innovative ideas, along with a practical approach, to help the world’s largest enterprises and leading brands succeed. Founded in 1997, Perficient employs approximately 3,300 people who work across North America and in Europe, India and China.

Solution components