利用云来重塑历史
对全球历史最悠久的公共建筑物之一进行翻新
圆柱式建筑物

公共建筑物在我们的社会中常扮演着多重角色。作为重大历史事件的发生地,它们是我们文化遗产的重要组成部分。加之其在建筑领域的重大意义,因而往往很吸引访客和游客。与此同时,很多此类建筑物至今仍在人们的日常生活中发挥着积极作用,如官邸、政府大楼、市政厅、博物馆、图书馆以及其他公共设施。

本故事讲述了一座极具标志性的建筑物,而它不仅是一大全球旅游景点,同时还是一个能容纳 2,500 多人的工作场所。该遗址始建于中世纪,最后一次重建则是在 150 多年前,而其维护工作一直都困难重重。由于主要工程只能在短暂的假期期间完成,因而会导致成本上升并使改造范围受限。

因此,该建筑物几乎每个方面均需更新:供暖、通风、电气系统、屋顶、窗户、石雕等等。从健康和安全的角度来看,石棉需清除,而消防安全系统也须进行现代化改造。残障人士通道和紧急疏散程序也是一大隐患,因为该建筑物在设计之初便并非为满足这些需求而建造。

2019 年 10 月,负责该遗址的公共机构决定采取行动。它成立了一个独立组织来负责对该建筑物进行全面翻修,同时采取措施以简化其维护并降低相关成本。该新组织采用两层结构:“发起机构”负责管理范围、预算和时间表,“交付机构”则负责监督并完成相关作业。

对该新组织来说,快速行动十分重要;在最初宣布后的六个月内,它需负责此恢复计划的供应商的入职、管理与付款事宜。此外,它还需迅速壮大内部团队,以便从最初的 25 人骨干成员发展为一个全方位的项目。

由于该组织在设立时采取完全独立运作的机制,因此无法分享到任何现有的公共部门 IT 基础设施。于是,它有约三个月的窗口时间来寻找这样一个解决方案:既能满足其财务、采购、人力资源与招聘需求,又能足够灵活地随着此恢复计划的扩张而不断发展。

更快的交付

 

在短短 3 个月内便交付基于最佳实践且功能齐全的解决方案

按时交付

 

通过转向 60% 远程工作模式,从而确保在 COVID 危机期间按时完成交付

在了解需求并协助定义最简化可实施产品从而确保运营系统的快速可用性方面,IBM 所采用的方法给该组织留下了深刻印象。
采用敏捷方法

由于时间在此项目中扮演者至关重要的角色,于是该组织决定专注于基础环节:奠定一个坚实的基础,而它可从第一天起便提供必备功能;然后,随着更多员工和供应商的加入对其进行扩展。

该组织认识到自己没有时间从头构建完整 IT 基础设施,且希望采用面向未来的现代化技术,因此决定采用一种“软件即服务”解决方案。该解决方案需要一个平台,而该平台需具备合理、符合行业标准且可立即使用的各项流程。同样重要的是,该平台应在云端运行;因为此举可让项目管理团队专注于设计其业务流程,而无需担心底层软件和基础设施,同时还能提供最先进的数据安全性。

在研究相关选项后,该组织选择了一套 Oracle Cloud Applications 作为其首选平台。借助 Oracle,该组织的决策者可查看从最初的小规模解决方案扩展为既定未来状态的清晰路线图,同时还可了解如何以可扩展且模块化的方式来实现发展。同时,他们还认识到 Oracle 在其他公共部门机构中也有大量应用,从而使其坚信这便是正确的解决方案。

然后,该组织希望找到一个具备在严格时间限制条件下交付 Oracle Cloud 解决方案的经验的实施合作伙伴。为此,Oracle 推荐了 IBM Services,而该组织近期也为同一国家的另一公共部门组织完成了一个极其相似的项目。

在了解需求并协助定义最简化可实施产品 (MVP) 方面,IBM 的方法给该组织留下了深刻印象。“IBM 设计思维”方法通过密切关注范围、区分 MVP 中必须包含的核心功能以及组织可在项目后续阶段提供的增强功能,来帮助确保此项目不偏离正轨。

例如,当该组织开始管理参与此建筑物作业的大量承包商时,供应商入职流程便成为其中最重要的流程之一。但在第一天,该公司只需让相对较少数量的供应商完成入职,因为它自身已在负责处理大量现有合同和采购订单。

于是,该团队决定手动完成第一批供应商的入职流程,从而腾出时间来专攻 Oracle 初始实施中更为紧迫的其他优先事项。此外,手动完成初始入职流程也有助于员工清理数据并深入了解相关需求,从而帮助其在此项目的下一阶段建立起更为强大的自动化流程。

它们从 IBM 身上学到的重要经验之一便是:如何向组织的利益相关者传达 MVP 方法以及标准化的好处。设计冲刺期间,IBM 与客户联合团队会使用 IBM Blueworks Live 来规划和嵌入 Oracle 流程,以便每个人均可准确了解这些流程的工作方式。此举有助于大家接受一种更标准化且基于最佳实践的工作方式,而不是坚持自己对其流程应如何工作所持有的先入为主的想法。

MVP 设计完成后,该团队便会规划并执行 Oracle Cloud Applications 的构建和测试,从而确保在规定时间内完成交付。由于该团队尽可能使用了内置功能,因此大多数业务逻辑先前便已由 Oracle 进行彻底测试,于是可将测试工作的重心集中在预测会出现大量事务或高风险的方面。如此一来,便可在不影响质量的情况下将测试流程与可用工期进行有机衔接。

尽管由于 COVID-19 大流行,该项目 60% 以上的工作须采用远程交付,但该团队仍按时完成了任务。人力资源、采购与招聘模块在三个月内便已上线,而财务模块也在一个月后上线。所有切换活动均告成功,各大系统也及时上线,因而新员工在加入组织后即可高效地开始工作。

尽管由于 COVID-19 大流行,该项目 60% 以上的工作须采用远程交付,但该团队仍按时完成了任务。由于各大系统能及时上线,因而新员工在加入组织后即可高效地开始工作。
维护公众信任

随着 Oracle Cloud Applications 就位,该组织现已拥有管理日常业务所需的工具,因为它可扩大团队规模,并开始招募供应商来支持数十个重大改造项目的设计与交付工作。

通过采用针对财务、采购、人力资源和招聘的行业标准解决方案,该组织现已拥有一套明确且记录良好的业务流程,从而有助于组织在壮大过程中持续保持智能、高效和可扩展。与此同时,底层 Oracle Cloud 平台也会不断发展以便与监管要求保持同步并提供更为丰富的功能,从而使该组织能专注于业务层面的问题,而不是 IT 基础设施。

该解决方案可实现强大的治理和完全透明,而这些也是投入公共资金的组织的关键优先事项。Oracle Cloud Applications 提供的标准化报告有助于该组织的发起机构和交付机构了解资金用途,并围绕合同、请购单和采购订单开展评论与分析。此外,它还有助于对财务与运营决策进行审计,从而实现全面问责制。

随着此项工作的推进,该组织便可报告公司层面的年度控制总额,并发现该计划过度支出或支出不足的方面。同时,它还能分析供应链,确保授予正确授权,并确保向供应商公平、准确并准时地付款。

由于该组织最终需对政府和纳税人负责,因此必须具备核算用于此恢复计划的每一分钱的能力。在 IBM 和 Oracle 的帮助下,该组织有信心维护公众的信任,以使对方确信该恢复计划得到了有效管理,并可为公共资金提供最佳价值,因为它会将全球最具标志性的公共建筑物之一升级到现代标准。

关于此 IBM 客户

该 IBM 客户负责对全球最重要的某一历史公共建筑物进行翻修。该组织于 2019 年以独立公司的形式成立,其主要职责是进行采购并对该项目的承包商和供应链进行管理。

采取下一步行动
查看更多案例研究 Gov Facility Services Ltd. 通过 Oracle 和 IBM Services 来保障财务控制 Freedom Powersports 通过及时掌握整个企业的财务驱动因素来推动增长
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Services 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Oracle Cloud Applications 不是 IBM 的产品或服务。Oracle Cloud Applications 会根据随此产品或服务一同提供的 Oracle 的条款和条件向用户进行出售或发放许可(视情况而定)。Oracle Cloud Applications 的可用性以及所有保证、服务和支持均由 Oracle 直接负责,并直接向用户提供。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Re-making history with the cloud

Renovating one of the world’s most historic public buildings
by Charles Lennard
10-minute read
Columned building

Public buildings often play multiple roles in our society. As the sites of key historical events, they are an important part of our heritage, which, together with their architectural significance, often makes them a draw for visitors and tourists. At the same time, many of these buildings still play an active role in day-to-day life as official residences, government buildings, town halls, museums, libraries and other public amenities.

This story is about one particularly iconic building, which is both a huge global tourist attraction and a workplace for more than 2,500 people. First built in medieval times and last rebuilt over 150 years ago, the site has always been difficult to maintain. Major works can only be completed during brief vacation periods, which increases the cost and limits the scope of renovations.

As a result, almost every aspect of the building needs renewal: heating, ventilation, electrical systems, roofs, windows, stonework and more. From a health and safety perspective, asbestos needs to be removed and fire safety systems must be modernized. Disabled access and emergency evacuation procedures are also a concern because the building simply wasn’t designed for these needs.

In October 2019, the public body responsible for the site decided to act. It set up an independent organization tasked with comprehensively renovating the building and putting measures in place to make it easier and more cost-effective to maintain. This new organization was set up as a two-tier organization, composed of a Sponsor Body, which manages the scope, budget and timescales, and a Delivery Authority, which oversees and completes the work.

It was important for the new organization to move quickly; within six months of its initial announcement, it would become responsible for onboarding, managing and paying the restoration program’s suppliers. It would also need to ramp up its own internal team rapidly, from an initial skeleton staff of 25 people to a full-scale program.

Since the organization was set up as a completely independent body, it was not feasible to share any existing public-sector IT infrastructure. As a result, it had a window of approximately three months to find a solution that could meet its finance, procurement, HR and recruitment needs, as well as being flexible enough to evolve as the restoration program expanded.

Architect woman and construction worker discuss the building plans

Delivered a fully functional solution based on best practices in just

3

months

Ensured on-time delivery during the COVID crisis by pivoting to a

60%

remote working model

The organization was impressed by IBM’s approach in understanding the requirements and helping define a minimum viable product to ensure rapid availability of operational systems.
Construction worker plastering cement on concrete block wall
Even though more than 60% of the project had to be delivered remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the team met its deadlines. The systems were online in time for new employees to start working productively as soon as they joined the organization.
Taking an agile approach
Even though more than 60% of the project had to be delivered remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the team met its deadlines. The systems were online in time for new employees to start working productively as soon as they joined the organization.

Since time was of the essence, the organization decided to focus on the basics: create a solid foundation that would provide the absolute must-have functionality on day one, and then extend it as more staff and suppliers came on board.

Recognizing that they did not have time to build a complete IT infrastructure from scratch and wanting to embrace modern, future-proof technology, the organization decided to adopt a software-as-a-service solution. It wanted a platform with sensible, industry-standard processes that were ready for immediate use. It was also important that the platform should run in the cloud because this would allow the program management team to focus on designing their business processes, without worrying about the underlying software and infrastructure, whilst providing state-of-the-art data security.

After researching the options, the organization selected a suite of Oracle Cloud Applications as its preferred platform. With Oracle, the organization’s decision-makers could see a clear roadmap for expanding from an initial small-scale solution to the planned future state and understood how to grow in a scalable and modular way. They also recognized that Oracle had a large existing footprint among other public sector agencies, which gave them confidence that it was the right solution.

Next, the organization wanted to find an implementation partner with experience of delivering Oracle Cloud solutions under severe time constraints. Oracle recommended IBM Services®, which had recently completed a very similar project for another public sector organization in the same country.

The organization was impressed by IBM’s approach in understanding the requirements and helping define a minimum viable product (MVP). The IBM Design Thinking approach helped keep the project on track by focusing tightly on the scope, differentiating between core features that absolutely had to be in the MVP and enhanced features that the organization could deliver in a later phase of the project.

For example, supplier onboarding will be one of the most important processes for the organization when it begins managing large numbers of contractors to work on the building. However, on day one, the company only had to onboard a relatively small number of suppliers as it took on responsibility for a number of existing contracts and purchase orders.

The team therefore decided to handle the onboarding process manually for this first set of suppliers, freeing up time to focus on more urgent priorities for the initial Oracle implementation. As a side benefit, running this initial onboarding process manually will help staff clean the data and gain a deeper understanding of the requirements, which should help them build a more robust automated process in the next phase of the project.

Architect and a builder using a tablet computer to check data while standing on a network of reinforcing bars laid down to become a reinforced concrete floor on a large building site
Close-up of Architect engineer drawing plan on blueprint with architect equipment

One of the key lessons learned from IBM was how to communicate the MVP approach and the benefits of standardization to the organization’s stakeholders. During the design sprints, the combined IBM and client team used IBM® Blueworks Live to map out and embed the Oracle processes so everyone could see exactly how they worked. This helped people buy into a more standardized, best-practice way of doing things, instead of sticking to their preconceived ideas about how their processes should work.

Once the MVP design was complete, the team planned and executed the build and testing of the Oracle Cloud Applications to ensure delivery within the timeframe. Because the team had used built-in functionality wherever possible, most of the business logic had already been thoroughly tested by Oracle, which meant that the testing effort could focus primarily on areas where high volumes of transactions or high levels of risk were expected. This made it possible to fit the testing process into the time available without compromising on quality.

Even though more than 60% of the project had to be delivered remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the team met its deadlines. The HR, procurement and recruitment modules went live in less than three months, followed by the finance module one month later. All of the cutover events were successful, and the systems were online in time for new employees to start working productively as soon as they joined the organization.

Maintaining public trust

With the Oracle Cloud Applications in place, the organization now has the tools it needs to manage its day-to-day business as it scales up its team and begins onboarding suppliers to support the design and delivery of dozens of vital renovation projects.

By adopting industry-standard solutions for finance, procurement, HR and recruitment, the organization now has a single set of clear and well-documented business processes, which will help it stay smart, efficient and scalable as it grows. Meanwhile, the underlying Oracle Cloud platform will evolve to keep pace with regulatory requirements and provide richer functionality, allowing the organization to focus on business-level concerns, not IT infrastructure.

The solution enables strong governance and complete transparency, which are critical priorities for an organization that is investing public money. Standardized reports from the Oracle Cloud Applications help the organization’s Sponsor Body and Delivery Authority understand where money is being spent and build commentary and analysis around contracts, requisitions and purchase orders. It is also easy to audit financial and operational decisions, providing full accountability.

As the work ramps up, the organization will be able to report on annual control totals at a corporate level and identify areas where the program is over-spending or under-spending. It will also be able to analyze the supply chain, ensure that the right authorizations are in place and check that suppliers are paid fairly, accurately and on time.

As the organization is ultimately accountable both to government and the taxpayer, it is critical to be able to account for every penny of the money spent on the restoration program. With help from IBM and Oracle, the organization is confident that it will be able to maintain public trust that the restoration program is being managed efficiently and providing the best value for public money as it brings one of the world’s most iconic public buildings up to modern day standards.

About this IBM client

This IBM client is responsible for delivering the renovation of one of the world’s most important historic public buildings. Formed as an independent company in 2019, the organization’s main role will be to procure and manage the contractors and supply chain for the project.

Solution components
About this IBM client

This IBM client is responsible for delivering the renovation of one of the world’s most important historic public buildings. Formed as an independent company in 2019, the organization’s main role will be to procure and manage the contractors and supply chain for the project.

Solution components