Oxford Cancer Biomarkers (OCB)
将前沿诊断技术与 AI 技术相结合,改善癌症患者的治疗效果
数值孔径为 0.14 的显微镜近景

预测哪些 II 期结直肠癌患者术后会复发并非易事。然而尽管化疗可能会产生严重的副作用,但许多患者还是会按常规接受化疗。对某些患者来说,这种疗法可能是致命的。Oxford Cancer Biomarkers 与 Meridian IT 合作运用 IBM® PowerAI Vision 来识别肿瘤微环境中的新型诊断标志物,有望增强早期诊断和治疗决策的效果。

业务挑战

OCB 认识到,只要尽早发现结直肠癌并减少不必要的过度化疗,仅在欧洲就能挽救成千上万条生命并节省数十亿美元。

变革

OCB 携手 Meridian IT 部署在 IBM Power Systems™ 服务器上运行的 IBM PowerAI Vision,加快了分析肿瘤数字图像来确定结直肠癌复发风险的速度。

结果 数月缩短至数小时
缩短了构建复发风险预测模型的时间
启用
新的医护标准,改善患者疗效并提高效率
加速
解决方案的扩展和部署,协助 OCB 将产品推向全球
业务挑战案例
个性化医疗

癌症是全球第二大死亡原因(ibm.com 外部链接)。吸烟、饮酒、不健康饮食和缺乏锻炼是癌症的主要风险因素,因此改变生活方式可以预防或减少癌症发病。一般来说,癌症越早确诊,疗效越好。因此,识别癌症的遗传易感性或早期迹象是肿瘤学研究的首要任务。

Oxford Cancer Biomarkers (OCB) 于 2012 年创立,致力于发现和开发生物标志物(一种可深入了解患者临床状态的可量化生物参数)来推进肿瘤学领域的个性化医疗,重点关注结直肠癌及其治疗。

Oxford Cancer Biomarkers 首席执行官 David Browning 解释道:“OCB 希望为临床医生提供尽可能多的患者病情信息,从而摈弃一刀切的癌症治疗方法。我们的目标是开发出比现有方法更快、更实惠、创伤更小的筛选试验来发现这些见解。”

增强治疗决策的效果

OCB 将注意力转向了化疗毒性。癌症患者的常见治疗过程是手术切除肿瘤,然后进行化疗,确保消灭所有癌细胞。但 20% 至 30% 的癌症患者在接受最常用的化疗药物 5FU(或卡培他滨)治疗时会出现严重的副作用。

此外,大约 1% 的患者极有可能因药物毒性而危及生命。30% 的结直肠癌患者被确诊为 II 期肿瘤阶段,其中只有大约 33% 的患者真正需要化疗。其余患者可能无需化疗就能生存,并且可以避免接触可能危及生命的毒性。但临床医生却无法准确识别出能够受益的第三类患者。各国/各地的治疗方案不尽相同,但有些国家或地区采用了会增加毒性风险的双保险方法去治疗所有患者,而另一些国家或地区则在没有可靠科学依据的情况下选择治疗方案。OCB 希望实现针对个人的精准医疗能力。

“许多患者都按常规接受 5FU 治疗,因为到目前为止,预测哪些患者术后可能会复发还是一项过于复杂的工作,”Browning 表示,"我们开始检查切除下来的组织样本,结合生物标志物来确定复发风险。

“以前,病理医生必须使用显微镜分析每个样本,这意味着我们每天只能评估大约十名患者。我们发现了使用正确技术大幅提高分析规模和分析速度的机会,并开始寻找相关专业知识来把握这个机会。”

IBM PowerAI 一投入使用,我们就知道它将对我们处理组织样本的能力产生巨大影响。我们以前需要几个月乃至几年的时间才能完成新模型的构建和测试工作,而现在我们只需几个小时就能完成。 David Browning 首席执行官 Oxford Cancer Biomarkers
变革案例
发展基于 AI 的数字病理学

OCB 与 IBM 合作伙伴 Meridian IT 合作,继续开发图像分析算法,增强其现有的基于 IBM PowerAI Vision 的 ColoProg(ibm.com 外部链接)平台。这些增强功能在由 Meridian IT 托管的 IBM Power System AC922 加速服务器上运行,利用深度学习模型增强 OCB 专有的 DNA 倍体(衡量肿瘤细胞内 DNA 含量的指标)和基质含量(可提供肿瘤细胞生长所需细胞外基质的非恶性细胞)测定,对切除下来的组织样本进行分类。Power System AC922 服务器将 POWER9 CPU 和 NVIDIA Tesla V100 与 NVLink GPU 配对,为高性能计算、深度学习和人工智能工作负载提供海量吞吐量。

该公司结合这些生物标志物,将结直肠癌患者分为复发低危组、中危组和高危组,从而做出更好的临床决策。

“我们一见到 IBM 和 Meridian IT 的团队,就觉得我们的知识正好与他们互补:OCB 可以提供临床背景知识,而 IBM 和 Meridian IT 则懂得如何将前沿技术应用于我们的用例,”Browning 评论道,“IBM 和 Meridian IT 都走在人工智能创新的最前沿,因此我们知道他们是陪伴我们踏上这一旅程的好伙伴。”

IBM PowerAI Vision 专为图像分类而设计,具有直观的工具集和最受欢迎的深度学习框架。利用这些功能,Meridian IT 能够快速为 OCB 构建模型。该团队利用 IBM Power Systems 加速服务器(配有 NVIDIA 和 NVLink GPU)提供的海量吞吐量来加快模型训练,使增强型 ColoProg 比预期更早投用。

“IBM PowerAI Vision 和 IBM Power Systems 加速服务器是应对 AI 挑战的完美组合,”Browning 说道,“我们一直在努力推动这项技术在新领域取得突破性进展,它也没有让我们失望。Meridian IT 在迭代过程中与我们密切合作,反复推敲并完善我们的想法,确保取得最佳效果。”

如今,ColoProg 已在约 1,000 名 II 期结直肠癌患者以及总共约 2,500 名结直肠癌患者身上得到了临床验证。该平台大获成功,使 OCB 携手 University Hospital Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust 及其他领先团体一起赢得了 PathLAKE(ibm.com 外部链接)项目合同。PathLAKE 是英国政府的一项举措,旨在新建五个数字病理与成像卓越中心。

凭借 IBM 的全球医疗服务经验和 Meridian IT 对 AI 解决方案的深入了解,我们可以有效地将先进的精准诊断试验技术推向全球市场。 David Browning 首席执行官 Oxford Cancer Biomarkers
案例成果
挽救生命,造福患者

通过 IBM 人工智能驱动的图像分析功能,OCB 预测患者风险状况的能力发生了转变。Browning 回忆说:“IBM PowerAI 一投入使用,我们就知道它将对我们处理组织样本的能力产生巨大影响。我们以前需要几个月乃至几年的时间才能完成新模型的构建和测试工作,而现在我们只需几个小时就能完成。”

OCB 提供的见解有助于在癌症手术后做出更明智的临床决策,从而改善患者的治疗效果。尽量减少过度化疗后,医疗成本也随之降低。

“在癌症治疗过程中,时间至关重要,”Browning 表示,“有了 IBM 技术,我们就能让临床决策者更快了解患者的复发风险以及患者可能对化疗产生的反应,从而挽救生命。我们还可以帮助医疗保健提供方提高资源利用效率。”

OCB 正在与 Meridian IT 和 IBM 一起努力缩短增强型 ColoProg 平台的上市时间,使其尽早开始为患者提供价值并创造收益。该公司还在着手研究如何将这一解决方案扩展应用于乳腺癌和前列腺癌。

Browning 总结道:“与 IBM 和 Meridian IT 联手解决结直肠癌诊断和治疗方面的问题不过是精彩合作之路的开端。凭借 IBM 的全球医疗服务经验和 Meridian IT 对 AI 解决方案的深入了解,我们可以有效地将先进的精准诊断试验技术推向全球市场。”

Oxford Cancer Biomarkers 徽标
Oxford Cancer Biomarkers (OCB)

Oxford Cancer Biomarkers(ibm.com 外部链接)是牛津大学旗下衍生公司,旨在实现癌症风险的早期预测,提高癌症治疗的精准度,从而推动个性化医疗的发展。为实现这一目标,该公司使用各种平台整合了研发团队和合作伙伴提供的生物标志物技术。

脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2019 年 2 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Power、Power Systems 和 Power9 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Home Case Studies oxford-cancer-biomarkers-systems-hardware-ai-diagnostics Oxford Cancer Biomarkers (OCB)
Combining leading-edge diagnostics with AI technology to improve outcomes for cancer patients
Closer view of microscope with 0.14 of numerical aperture

Predicting which patients with stage II colorectal cancer will suffer a recurrence after surgery is difficult. However, many are routinely prescribed chemotherapy, even though it may cause severe side effects. In some patients these can be fatal. Oxford Cancer Biomarkers worked with Meridian IT to apply IBM® PowerAI Vision to identify novel diagnostic biomarkers in tumor microenvironments, with the potential to enhance early diagnosis and treatment decisions.

Business Challenge

OCB recognized that hundreds of thousands of lives and billions of dollars could be saved in Europe alone by detecting colorectal cancer sooner and reducing unnecessary overtreatment with chemotherapy.

Transformation

Working with Meridian IT to deploy IBM PowerAI Vision running on IBM Power Systems™ servers, OCB accelerated analysis of digital images of tumors to determine the risk of recurrence of colorectal cancer.

Results Months to hours
improvement in time to build models predicting risk of relapse
Enables
new standards of care, enhancing patient outcomes and boosting efficiency
Accelerates
scaling and deployment of the solution, helping OCB to take its offering global
Business challenge story
Personalizing medicine

Cancer is the second leading cause of death worldwide (link resides outside of ibm.com). Tobacco use, alcohol consumption, unhealthy diet and lack of physical activity are key cancer risk factors, so undertaking lifestyle changes can prevent or mitigate the onset of the disease. Generally, the sooner cancer is diagnosed, the better the outcomes. As a result, identifying genetic predisposition to cancer or early signs of the disease is a priority in oncology research.

Oxford Cancer Biomarkers (OCB) was established in 2012 to discover and develop biomarkers (a quantifiable biological parameter that provides insight into a patient’s clinical state) to advance personalized medicine within oncology, focusing on colorectal cancer and its treatments.

David Browning, CEO of Oxford Cancer Biomarkers, explains: “At OCB, we want to move away from a one-size-fits-all approach to cancer care by giving clinicians as much information about a patient’s condition as possible. We aim to develop screening tests that discover these insights more quickly and cost-effectively and less invasively than existing methods.”

Enhancing treatment decisions

OCB turned its attention to chemotherapy toxicity. A common treatment process for cancer patients is surgery to remove the tumor, followed by a cycle of chemotherapy to ensure all cancerous cells are destroyed. However, between 20 and 30 percent of cancer patients experience severe side effects when treated with the most frequently used chemotherapy drug: 5FU (or capecitabine).

Furthermore, approximately 1 percent of patients are at high risk of life-threatening toxicities from the drug. 30 percent of colorectal cancer patients are identified with stage II tumors. Of these, only about 33 percent actually need chemotherapy. The rest are likely to survive without chemotherapy and can be spared toxicity exposure that is potentially life-threatening. However, clinicians are unable to accurately identify the third who will benefit with any degree of certainty. Treatment protocols vary by country, but some treat all patients in a belt-and-braces approach that increases risk of toxicity whilst others select without robust scientific backup. OCB wanted to provide the ability to target precision medicine for the individual.

“Many patients are routinely prescribed 5FU therapy because, until now, it’s been too complicated to predict which patients are likely to suffer a recurrence after surgery,” says Browning. “We began examining resected tissue samples, combining biomarkers to identify the risk of relapse.

“Before, a pathologist had to analyze each sample using a microscope, meaning we could only assess around ten patients per day. We saw the opportunity to dramatically increase the scale and speed of analysis using the right technology—and began looking for the expertise to make this happen.”

As soon as we saw IBM PowerAI in action, we knew that it was going to have a seismic effect on our ability to process tissue samples. Previously it took us months to years to build and test new models, now we can do it in hours. David Browning CEO Oxford Cancer Biomarkers
Transformation story
Developing AI-based digital pathology

Working with IBM Business Partner Meridian IT, OCB continued development of image analysis algorithms to enhance its existing ColoProg (link resides outside of ibm.com) platform, based on IBM PowerAI Vision. Running on IBM Power Systems AC922 accelerated servers hosted by Meridian IT, these enhancements utilize deep learning models to augment OCB’s proprietary DNA ploidy (a measure of the DNA content within tumor cells) and stroma content (non-malignant cells that can provide an extracellular matrix on which tumor cells can grow) assays, to classify resected tissue samples. Power Systems AC922 servers pair POWER9 CPUs and NVIDIA Tesla V100 with NVLink GPUs to provide massive throughput capability for high performance computing, deep learning and artificial intelligence workloads.

The company combines these biomarkers to stratify patients into low, intermediate and high-risk groups of colorectal cancer recurrence, enabling better clinical decision-making.

“As soon as we met the IBM and Meridian IT teams, we felt that our knowledge complemented theirs: OCB could provide the clinical background, while IBM and Meridian IT knew how to adapt leading-edge technology to our use case,” comments Browning. “Both IBM and Meridian IT are at the forefront of artificial intelligence innovation, so we knew that they were the right partners to come on this journey with us.”

Designed for image classification, IBM PowerAI Vision includes an intuitive toolset and the most popular deep learning frameworks. Using these features, Meridian IT was able to build models for OCB fast. The team took advantage of massive throughput capability offered by the accelerated IBM Power Systems servers equipped with NVIDIA with NVLink GPUs to expedite training of the models, bringing enhanced ColoProg to life sooner than expected.

“IBM PowerAI Vision and IBM accelerated Power Systems servers are a match made in heaven for AI challenges,” says Browning. “We’ve been pushing the technology hard to make breakthroughs in a new area, and it hasn’t let us down. Meridian IT have collaborated closely with us in an iterative process, challenging and refining our ideas to ensure the best results.”

Today, ColoProg has been clinically validated in around 1,000 stage II colorectal cancer patients and approximately 2,500 colorectal patients in total. The success of the platform has led to OCB winning a bid for the PathLAKE (link resides outside of ibm.com) project, in partnership with the University Hospital Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust and other leading groups. PathLAKE is a UK government initiative that will launch five new centers of excellence for digital pathology and imaging.

With IBM’s global healthcare experience and Meridian IT’s deep knowledge of AI solutions, we’re in good hands to bring leading-edge precision diagnostic tests to markets worldwide. David Browning CEO Oxford Cancer Biomarkers
Results story
Delivering life-saving benefits

Using IBM AI-powered image analysis, OCB has transformed its ability to build patient risk profiles. Browning recalls: “As soon as we saw IBM PowerAI in action, we knew that it was going to have a seismic effect on our ability to process tissue samples. Previously it took us months to years to build and test new models, now we can do it in hours.” 

OCB provides insights that support more informed clinical decisions following cancer surgery, improving patient outcomes. By minimizing overtreatment with chemotherapy, it also reduces the cost of care. 

“Time is of the essence in cancer treatment,” says Browning. “With IBM technology, we can get information about a patient’s risk of recurrence and their likely reaction to chemotherapy to clinical decision-makers more quickly, which can have life-saving impact. We also help healthcare providers use their resources more efficiently.”

Working with Meridian IT and IBM, OCB is reducing time-to-market for the enhanced ColoProg platform, helping it start to deliver value to patients and generate revenues sooner. The company is already exploring how the solution can be extended to breast and prostate cancers.

Browning concludes: “Teaming up with IBM and Meridian IT to tackle issues in colorectal cancer diagnosis and treatment is just the beginning of an exciting collaboration. With IBM’s global healthcare experience and Meridian IT’s deep knowledge of AI solutions, we’re in good hands to bring leading-edge precision diagnostic tests to markets worldwide.”

Oxford Cancer Biomarkers logo
Oxford Cancer Biomarkers (OCB)

Formed as a spin-out from the University of Oxford, Oxford Cancer Biomarkers (link resides outside of ibm.com) aims to enable early prediction of cancer risk and increased precision of cancer treatment to drive personalized medicine. It does this through the use of platforms incorporating biomarker-based technology from its research and development teams and partners.

Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. Produced in the United States of America, February 2019.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Power, Power Systems, and POWER9 are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copytrade

Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Contact IBM to see what we can do for you.

It is the user’s responsibility to evaluate and verify the operation of any other products or programs with IBM products and programs.

The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.