业务挑战

照明行业巨头欧司朗决定进军瞬息万变的创新市场。这个规模巨大的企业如何保持足够的敏捷性,引领创新潮流?

 

转型

为了开启业务转型之旅,欧司朗专注于打造敏捷性,实施多云战略,选择将业务迁移到 IBM Cloud 和 IBM Cloud for SAP Applications。

成果

数百万美元

每年节省

支持企业的新型业务模式

通过增强灵活性

赢得竞争优势

能够迅速应对瞬息万变的市场状况

业务挑战故事

聚焦新战略

欧司朗希望通过前所未有的创新方法,点亮全球亿万民众的生活。2015 年,该公司决定转变业务重心,将一般照明灯业务剥离,成立了一家名为 LEDVANCE 的新公司。现在,欧司朗集中精力打造照明的数字化未来,谋划迅速进军新市场。

为实施新战略,欧司朗推出了基于物联网 (IoT) 技术的互联照明、用于自动驾驶车辆的专用 LED 组件、织物照明、建筑照明、激光、面部识别解决方案、园艺照明以及用于安全行业的不可见光等产品。欧司朗还为娱乐行业增光添彩,连续四年为欧洲电视歌唱大赛提供出色的照明支持,并为电影院和电影布景提供解决方案。目前,欧司朗希望拓展业务,成为照明服务提供商,这意味着公司业务模式需要经历重大转变。

随着企业不断发展,增强运营和业务灵活性已成为首要任务。欧司朗的许多新产品都聚焦于尖端技术。随着这些新技术的不断进步,市场状况和优先事项也呈现出瞬息万变之势。这家规模庞大的公司如何保持足够的敏捷度,即时调整业务,适应环境的持续变化?

多云战略使我们能够迅速敏捷地应对各种新需求,确保我们在成为高科技企业的道路上顺利前行。

Claus Ebner 博士, IT 基础架构和运营全球负责人, 欧司朗

转型故事

实施变革

为了提高敏捷性,欧司朗决定通过云计算支持新业务,并将现有业务也迁移到云端。

欧司朗 IT 流程和应用全球负责人 Martin Daigneault 解释说:“随着我们不断推出新产品并进军新市场,要保持领先地位,灵活性至关重要。云计算是完美之选,因为这种模式可以帮助我们快速适应不断变化的环境,随着需求的变化调整产能。而且,云计算还给我们带来了更大的自由度,可以尝试各种新想法并进行创新。

我们之所以选择 IBM,是因为他们强大的 SAP 平台即服务云服务解决方案以及支持大型剥离项目的能力。此外,IBM 还提出了一项管理服务,这样我们的 IT 人员就能解放出来,集中精力为业务咨询增添价值。我们确信 IBM 是理想之选,因为 IBM 曾为我们的一家子公司提供过托管服务,我们对该服务感到非常满意。 

当然,对于任何像我们这样规模的企业来说,数据安全性和合规性至关重要。考虑到这些因素,我们希望将数据保存在欧洲范围内 — 最好在德国。由于 IBM 在世界各地运营数据中心,因此能够满足我们的要求。”

为了支撑众多核心业务流程,欧司朗依靠各种 SAP®应用 ,包括由 SAP HANA® 支持的 SAP Business Warehouse、SAP Data Services、SAP ERP、SAP Customer Relationship Management、SAP Product Lifecycle Management、SAP Supplier Relationship Management、SAP Supplier Relationship Management、SAP Process Orchestration 和 SAP Solution Manager。SAP 环境分为三个实例,分别支持欧洲、北美和亚太地区。IBM Services 帮助欧司朗将整个 SAP 环境从本地迁移到基于 IBM Cloud for SAP Applications 的管理服务。如今,所有欧司朗员工不论在哪里都可以访问 SAP 应用。这些应用在德国的 IBM 数据中心内运行,并在法国设有灾难恢复站点。

同时,IBM Services 帮助欧司朗将其非 SAP 应用迁移到 IBM Cloud Managed Services®。两次迁移在短短 9 个月内同时完成,最终实现了“大爆炸”式的部署。

后来,欧司朗认为非管理式服务更符合公司要求。作为回应,IBM Services 为欧司朗部署了“多云战略”,包括将多个云服务组合在一起,最有效地满足其需求。IBM 只用了短短 6 个月,就帮助欧司朗将非 SAP 工作负载从 IBM Cloud 管理云迁移到了非管理式 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器 — 对于如此规模和复杂性的项目而言,殊为不易。

欧司朗 IT 基础架构和运营全球负责人 Claus Ebner 博士回想道:“当我们将非 SAP 工作负载从管理环境迁移到非管理环境时,IBM 在一个周末就帮助我们迁移了约 250 台服务器。由于我们使用实时生产系统,无法承受交割带来的较长停机时间,因此这次所花的迁移时间必须比从本地迁移到 IBM Cloud 的用时更短。

IBM Cloud 目录包含了众多可供选择的服务,使 IBM 团队能够根据我们的业务需求定制迁移方案。例如,IBM 团队采用先进的 IBM Cloud for VMware 解决方案,测试和调整各项迁移活动,以确保迁移当天一切正常。此外,IBM 使用 Zerto on IBM Cloud 的虚拟复制解决方案简化了迁移过程。在 IBM 的帮助下,我们能够按时完成交割,而业务仅仅中断了 14 小时。现在,我们准备持续优化环境,不断调整需求。”

如今,欧司朗使用 VMware Cloud Foundation 技术和软件定义的数据中心模型,在 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器上运行非 SAP 环境。主数据中心位于德国,灾难恢复站点设在另一个欧洲国家。 

“在所有云迁移项目中,IBM 团队都认真听取了我们的需求,从而确保每个项目都取得成功。”Ebner 博士这样说。“IBM 顾问给我们提供了大量帮助,他们知识渊博,经常提出关于如何改进的想法和建议。与 IBM 合作完成这些项目确实是愉悦的体验。我们将 IBM 视为真正的合作伙伴,欧司朗与 IBM 项目团队建立了良好的关系。”

通过使用 Zerto on IBM Cloud 和 Veeam on IBM Cloud 技术迁移到 IBM Cloud,提高了欧司朗关键的非 SAP 系统的业务弹性。

我们之所以选择 IBM,是因为他们强大的 SAP 平台即服务云服务解决方案以及支持大型剥离项目的能力。

Martin Daigneault, IT 流程和应用全球负责人, 欧司朗

成果

大获全胜

转向多云战略给欧司朗带来了更多机遇。IBM 提供的各种云解决方案使欧司朗能够为 SAP 和非 SAP 环境选择合适的运营模式,从而形成规模经济效应,每年可节省数百万美元。迁移到云之后,欧司朗的内部 IT 团队还可以更加专注于业务咨询。

Ebner 博士说:“有了 IBM 的资源,我们现在可以真正实现 7x24 小时全天候运营支持。”

将来,欧司朗计划采用更现代的技术(例如 VMware on IBM Cloud 的虚拟闪存技术),对 IT 环境进行持续优化。这种转变帮助欧司朗切实提高绩效,降低存储成本。

Ebner 博士总结道:“欧司朗在成为高科技公司的道路上取得了重大进展。多云战略使我们能够迅速敏捷地应对各种新需求,确保我们在发展道路上顺利前行。”

在所有云迁移项目中,IBM 团队都认真听取了我们的需求,从而确保每个项目都取得成功。

Claus Ebner 博士, IT 基础架构和运营全球负责人, 欧司朗

The word "OSRAM" is written in orange capitalized letters.

About 欧司朗 (OSRAM)

欧司朗总部位于慕尼黑,是一家全球领先的高科技公司,拥有超过 110 年的历史。欧司朗重点关注基于半导体的技术,产品应用范围广泛:从虚拟现实到自动驾驶,从智能手机到建筑和城市中的智慧互联照明解决方案,无所不包。欧司朗充分利用光的无限可能性,改善个人和社区的生活质量。欧司朗的创新技术不仅使世界各地的人们看得更明白,而且还能够更好地交流、旅行、工作和生活。欧司朗在全球拥有约 26,400 名员工,2017 年的营业额超过 41 亿欧元。

解决方案组件

后续步骤

要了解有关 IBM Cloud for SAP Applications 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:ibm.com/cn-zh/cloud/sap

了解更多客户案例了解关于 IBM Cloud 的更多信息

Business challenge

Lighting giant OSRAM is entering innovative, fast-evolving markets, where circumstances can change in the blink of an eye. How could this huge company remain nimble enough to stay ahead of the game?

Transformation

To kick-start its business transformation, OSRAM focused on gaining agility, and chose to migrate its business to the IBM Cloud and the IBM Cloud for SAP Applications, pursuing a multi-cloud strategy.

Results

7-digit

annual savings

Supports

the company’s new business model by boosting flexibility

Wins

competitive advantage as OSRAM can respond fast to changing market conditions

Business challenge story

Spotlight on a new strategy

OSRAM is finding ever more innovative ways to light up the lives of millions of people around the globe. In 2015, the company decided to change its focus by divesting its general lighting lamps business as a newly established company called LEDVANCE. Now, OSRAM’s vision is centered on the digital future of light, and the company is rapidly entering new markets.

Setting out on its new course, OSRAM launched connected lighting based on Internet-of-Things (IoT) technology, specialized LED components for self-driving vehicles, textile lighting, architectural illumination, lasers, facial recognition solutions, horticultural lighting, invisible light for the security industry, and more. OSRAM is brightening up the entertainment industry too, providing striking displays for the Eurovision Song Contest for four consecutive years, as well as solutions for cinemas and film sets. Now, OSRAM is branching out to become a service provider for light – representing a major transformation of its business model.

As the company evolves, operational and business flexibility has risen to the top of the agenda. Many of OSRAM’s new offerings focus on cutting-edge technologies. As these new technologies progress, market conditions and priorities can change in the blink of an eye. How could this massive company remain nimble enough to adapt its business on-the-fly as circumstances change?

Our multi-cloud strategy gives us the agility to react fast to new demands as we continue our journey in becoming a high-tech company.

—Dr. Claus Ebner, Global Head of IT Infrastructure & Operations, OSRAM

Transformation story

Sparking change

To sharpen its agility, OSRAM decided to support its new business with cloud computing, and to migrate its existing business to the cloud, too.

Martin Daigneault, Global Head of IT Processes and Applications at OSRAM, explains: “As we launch new products and enter new markets at pace, flexibility is vital to staying ahead of the game. Cloud computing was a perfect fit, as the model would allow us to adapt rapidly to changing circumstances, and scale capacity up and down as demand fluctuates. What’s more, we have greater freedom to try out new ideas and innovate.

“We selected IBM because of their strong SAP Platform-as-a-Service cloud service solution and their capacity to support a large carve-out project. Additionally, IBM proposed a managed service, which would free up our IT personnel so that they could focus on adding value in consultancy to our business. We were confident that IBM was a good fit, because IBM had previously provided hosting for one of our subsidiaries, and we were satisfied with the service. 

“Naturally, data security and compliance are serious concerns for any company of our size. With these factors in mind, we were keen for our data to reside within Europe – ideally in Germany. Because IBM operates data centers all over the world, they were able to meet our requirements.”

To underpin many of its core business processes, OSRAM relies on SAP® applications, including SAP Business Warehouse powered by SAP HANA®, SAP Data Services, SAP ERP, SAP Customer Relationship Management, SAP Product Lifecycle Management, SAP Supplier Relationship Management, SAP Supply Chain Management, SAP Process Orchestration, and SAP Solution Manager. The SAP environment is divided into three instances, supporting Europe, North America and Asia Pacific. IBM Services helped OSRAM migrate its entire SAP landscape from an on-premise environment to a managed service built on the IBM Cloud for SAP Applications. Today, the SAP applications are accessible to all OSRAM personnel regardless of location. They run in an IBM data center in Germany, with a disaster-recovery site in France.

In parallel, IBM Services helped OSRAM move its non-SAP applications to IBM Cloud Managed Services®. Both migrations were completed in parallel within just nine months, culminating in a ‘big bang’ deployment.

Later, OSRAM decided that an unmanaged service would be a closer fit with its requirements. In response, IBM Services helped OSRAM adopt a 'multi-cloud strategy', which involves combining several cloud services to best meet its requirements. IBM helped OSRAM migrate its non-SAP workloads from IBM Cloud Managed Services to unmanaged IBM Cloud bare metal servers in just six months – an impressive timeframe for a project of this size and complexity.

Dr. Claus Ebner, Global Head of IT Infrastructure and Operations at OSRAM, recalls: “As we migrated our non-SAP workloads from the managed to the unmanaged environment, IBM helped us move around 250 servers over a single weekend. We could not afford a longer downtime for the cutover because we were dealing with live production systems, so we had to work within an even tighter timeframe than the one we had for the move from OSRAM’s on-premise environment to IBM Cloud.

“The IBM Cloud catalog features a huge array of services from which we can pick and choose, enabling the IBM team to tailor the migration to suit our business requirements. For example, the IBM team took advantage of cutting-edge IBM Cloud for VMware solutions to test and adapt individual migrations, to ensure that everything would go smoothly on the day. Additionally, IBM simplified the migration using virtual replication solutions from Zerto on IBM Cloud. With IBM’s help, we were able to complete the cutover on time and with only 14 hours of disruption for the business. Now we are ready to continuously optimize our environment and adjust to our needs.”

Today, OSRAM’s non-SAP environment runs on IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers using VMware Cloud Foundation technologies and a software-defined data-center model. The main data center resides in Germany, with a disaster-recovery site in another European country. 

“Throughout our various cloud migrations, the IBM team listened carefully to our needs, which helped to make each project a success,” remarks Dr. Ebner. “The IBM consultants were extremely helpful and knowledgeable, often coming up with ideas and suggestions on how we could improve. Working with IBM in these projects was a real pleasure. We see our work with IBM as a real partnership, and we have good relationships between the OSRAM and the IBM project teams.”

Moving to IBM Cloud improved the business resiliency of OSRAM’s critical non-SAP systems by using Zerto on IBM Cloud and Veeam on IBM Cloud technologies.

We selected IBM because of their strong SAP Platform-as-a-Service cloud service solution and their capacity to support a large carve-out project.

—Martin Daigneault, Global Head of IT Processes & Applications, OSRAM

Results story

Glowing success

Moving to a multi-cloud strategy has unleashed additional opportunities for OSRAM. The different cloud solutions offered by IBM enabled OSRAM to choose the appropriate operating model for its SAP and non-SAP environments, which generates economies of scale to the tune of seven-digit annual savings. What’s more, the shift to cloud enabled OSRAM’s internal IT team to focus more closely on consulting the business.

Dr. Ebner says: “With resources from IBM, we can now rely on truly 24/7 operational support.”

In the future, OSRAM plans to further continuously optimize its IT landscape, by moving to more modern technology, such as virtual flash storage from VMware on IBM Cloud. This shift will enable OSRAM to improve performance and reduce storage cost.

Dr. Ebner concludes: “OSRAM has made significant strides on the journey towards becoming a high-tech company. Our multi-cloud strategy gives us the agility to react fast to new demands as we continue our journey.”

Throughout our various cloud migrations, the IBM team listened carefully to our needs, which helped to make each project a success.

—Dr. Claus Ebner, Global Head of IT Infrastructure & Operations, OSRAM

business logo

About OSRAM

OSRAM, based in Munich, is a leading global high-tech company with a history dating back more than 110 years. Primarily focused on semiconductor-based technologies, its products are used in highly diverse applications ranging from virtual reality to autonomous driving and from smart phones to smart and connected lighting solutions in buildings and cities. OSRAM uses the endless possibilities of light to improve the quality of life for individuals and communities. OSRAM’s innovations enable people all over the world not only to see better, but also to communicate, travel, work and live better. OSRAM has approximately 26,400 employees worldwide and generated revenue of more than EUR 4.1 billion in 2017.

Solution components

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM Cloud for SAP Applications, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/cloud/sap

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Cloud