共同创造空中交通管理的未来
LFV探索人工智能驱动的自主空中交通管制
机场和飞机俯视图

2017年,一辆特斯拉超越了航空工程师 Robin Hughes。得知这家创新公司正在测试自动驾驶汽车后,Hughes 心想:“如果自动驾驶汽车在混乱的环境中可行,那么自动空中交通管制在受控环境中也可行吗?”好奇心驱使 Hughes 开始寻找答案。

为了安全地加快指定空域的交通流量,空中交通管制员使用雷达来监控飞机的位置并通过无线电与飞行员进行通信。为了防止碰撞,管制员强制执行间隔规则,确保每架飞机周围保持最少的空白空间。空中交通管制员的工作压力很大,几乎没有出错的余地。随着航空旅行需求的稳步增长,管制员不得不处理更大的航班容量。多年来,航空业一直致力于提高空中交通管理的效率,以减轻空中交通管制员的压力并降低相关成本。

作为瑞典空中导航服务提供商 Luftfartsverket(LFV)的工程主管,Hughes 脑海中浮现了这一切,还有看着 IBM Watson 计算机在问答节目Jeopardy!中击败顶级参赛者的回忆。他想,“如果 IBM 可以使用人工智能来做到这一点,他们一定可以帮助我做到这一点。”几个月后,来自 IBM Garage(数字化转型框架)的一个团队在 LFV 办公室举办技术发现和架构研讨会。通过这些研讨会,联合团队验证了自主空中交通管制的概念确实是可实现的。

增加容量

 

解决方案将空中交通管制模拟中的分离度保持在正常容量的大约 200%

增加功率

 

一秒钟内,该应用程序几乎可以运行 800 个 替代冲突解决方案

IBM Garage 是设置项目、运行项目以及访问 IBM 中的技能组的直接而有效的途径。 Robin Hughes 工程主管 Luftfartsverket
空域作为 3D 棋盘

当 LFV 工程师致力于融资和数据收集时,来自丹麦哥本哈根的 IBM Garage 专家吸引了IBM Research团队和 IBM Streams 分析平台的开发人员。扩大后的 LFV 和 IBM 团队在 IBM Enterprise Design Thinking Workshop™ 期间进行了合作。由于 IBM Garage Methodology 注重以用户为中心的设计,因此 LFV 包括两名空中交通管制员,他们提供有关飞机限制、燃油负载和飞行员合作等因素的见解。

凭借坚实的愿景和技术计划,该团队已准备好开始开发高级自动规划器(AAP),这是一款由瑞典交通管理局资助的人工智能驱动的自动空中交通管制解决方案。但是 COVID-19 来袭,北欧国家进入封锁状态。颠覆性是敏捷 IBM Garage Methodology 的 DNA,因此该项目仍保持在正轨上。欧洲和美国的团队成员保持着敏捷的站立会议、回放和技术状态电话会议的固定节奏,从而成功开发了第一个 AAP 最简化可实施产品 (MVP)。

航空标准要求每架飞行中的飞机始终保持五海里。在构建 AAP 时,LFV 和 IBM Garage 团队添加了一个缓冲区,需要 6 海里。如果飞机距离比这更近,则称为“失去分离”,随着时间的推移,可能会导致碰撞。AAP分两个阶段运作,负责监督特定的空域区域。首先,基于点阵的 3D 空间探索技术持续实时跟踪和预测飞机位置。如果该应用程序确定飞机将失去分离,它能够在一秒钟内运行近 800 种可能的场景,稍微改变飞机的方向、速度或高度。AAP 会像 3D 棋盘一样研究场景的轨迹将如何影响整个区域的空域,然后确定避免未来冲突的安全行动。

其次,该解决方案使用基于规则的方法对第一阶段确定的操作进行排名,并将最佳选项发送给飞行员。飞行员可以执行指令,也可以告知无法执行。例如,如果指令是将飞机的高度增加 1,000 英尺,而飞行员确定这不可行,则应用程序将提供替代指令,例如向东调整航向 5 度。AAP还跟踪飞机何时可以安全恢复其原始飞行计划。

被迫重新思考人工智能发展

令人惊讶的是,流行性疾病对该项目的一个重要方面产生了积极影响。由于 LFV 控制着瑞典的民用和军用空中交通,因此其数据高度安全,因此无法在异地访问。在封锁期间,扩展团队不再被允许在现场访问构建 AAP 解决方案的 AI 模型所需的数据。该小组被迫重新思考人工智能的发展,决定建立一个基于与 NLR(荷兰国家航空航天实验室)空中交通管制研究模拟器(NARSIM)集成的人工智能模型。

数据科学家在 IBM Streams 分析平台上使用自定义算法构建了确定性 AI 模型,然后在 NARSIM 模拟器和 IBM Cloud上运行的 IBM Streams 之间建立了连接。他们模拟了确定空域的交通情况,并根据输出继续完善算法并迭代人工智能模型。IBM Db2 数据库为 IBM Streams 应用程序存储数据, IBM Cloudant 数据库为空中交通控制员和飞行员存储 AAP 解决方案的指令。

在 200% 的典型容量下取得成功

LFV 和 IBM 在短短四个月内共同打造了第一个 AAP MVP,这让 Hughes 印象深刻。“当我告诉他们我们在大约 17 周内完成了这件事时,没有人相信我。我的意思是,通常我们的开发时间在两到五年之间。”

完成工作的深度、广度和速度证明了 LFV 和 IBM 团队成员的奉献精神以及 IBM Garage 方法的有效性。Hughes 表示:“IBM Garage 是建立项目、运行项目以及获取 IBM 技能组合的直接而高效的途径。”他对该方法能够在进入下一步之前构建、测试和验证应用程序中风险最高的组件的能力感到特别兴奋。

安全将永远是航空业的首要任务。因此,虽然在模拟器上见证自主空中交通管制等创新概念的发展令人兴奋,但在现实世界中的实施将需要时间并逐步发展。AAP 的未来迭代将考虑天气条件和禁飞区,并纳入非确定性人工智能和机器学习功能。LFV 还计划从瑞典领空扩展到欧洲其他地区,欧洲工作组也渴望参与其中。AAP 继续以正常容量的 200% 左右成功运行模拟。

该解决方案有望减轻空中交通管制员的一些负担并提高整个空域的效率。几十年后,自动化空中交通管理可能成为标准。我们会惊叹于曾经的压力有多大,以及一位工程师永不满足的好奇心如何改变了一个行业。

想要实现业务转型?请咨询 IBM Garage 专家

Luftfartsverket 徽标
关于 Luftfartsverket

LFV (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)总部位于瑞典诺尔雪平,为瑞典的民用和军用航空提供空中交通管制和相关服务。在正常情况下(流行性疾病前),LFV 空中交通管制员每天在瑞典领空管理大约 2,000 架飞机。 LFV 拥有 1,100 名员工,年营业额达 31 亿瑞典克朗。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM FlightSafety International

飞行员以前所未有的方式为起飞做准备

阅读成功案例
Etihad Airways

提供优质的旅行体验

阅读成功案例
Bestseller India

在印度,利用 AI 引领未来时尚

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Garage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Cloudant、Db2、Enterprise Design Thinking、IBM Cloud、IBM Garage、IBM Research 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark网站上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Co-creating the future of air traffic management

LFV explores AI-driven autonomous air traffic control
by Allison Leking
5-minute read

In 2017, a Tesla passed aviation engineer Robin Hughes. Knowing that the innovative company was testing self-driving vehicles, Hughes thought to himself, “If autonomous cars are feasible in a chaotic environment, could autonomous air traffic control be feasible in a controlled environment?” Insatiably curious, Hughes set out to find the answer.

To safely expedite the flow of traffic in an assigned airspace, air traffic controllers use radar to monitor aircrafts’ location and communicate with pilots by radio. To prevent collisions, controllers enforce separation rules that ensure each aircraft maintains a minimum amount of empty space around it. Air traffic controllers have a highly stressful job with little room for error. As the demand for air travel has steadily increased, controllers have had to handle a greater capacity of flights. For years, the aviation industry has sought to increase efficiencies in air traffic management to alleviate the strain on air traffic controllers and reduce related costs.

As the Head of Engineering at Luftfartsverket (LFV), a Swedish air navigation service provider, Hughes had all of this swirling in his mind, along with memories of watching the IBM Watson® computer defeat top contestants on the quiz show Jeopardy!. He thought, “If IBM can use AI to do that, they can surely help me with this.” A few months later, a team from the IBM Garage™ — a framework for digital transformation — was at the LFV offices conducting technical discovery and architecture workshops. Through those workshops, the joint team validated that the concept of autonomous air traffic control should indeed be possible.

aircraft landing next to a control tower

Solution maintains separation in air traffic control simulations at approximately

200%

the normal capacity

In a single second, the app can run nearly

800

alternate conflict resolutions

The IBM Garage has been a direct and efficient route in setting the project up, running the project and gaining access to the skillsets that reside in IBM.
Robin Hughes
Head of Engineering, Luftfartsverket

Airspace as a 3D chessboard

While LFV engineers worked on funding and data collection, IBM Garage experts from the Copenhagen, Denmark location pulled in the IBM Research® team and developers for the IBM® Streams analytics platform. The expanded LFV and IBM team collaborated during an IBM Enterprise Design Thinking Workshop™. Because the IBM Garage Methodology focuses on user-centered design, LFV included two air traffic controllers who provided insight about factors such as aircraft limitations, fuel load and pilot cooperation.

With a solid vision and technical plan, the team was ready to begin developing Advanced Autoplanner (AAP), an AI-driven autonomous air traffic control solution financed by the Swedish Transport Administration. But COVID-19 hit and the Nordic countries went into lockdown. Disruption is in the DNA of the agile IBM Garage Methodology, so the project remained on track. Team members across Europe and the US maintained a regular cadence of agile stand-ups, playbacks and technical status calls, leading to successful development of the first AAP minimum viable product (MVP).

Airport control tower
digital flight path map

Aviation standards require five nautical miles around each in-flight aircraft at all times. When building AAP, the LFV and IBM Garage team included a buffer, requiring six nautical miles. If planes are closer than this, it’s called a “loss of separation,” which — over time — can result in a collision. AAP operates in two phases as it oversees a specified airspace sector. First, a lattice-based 3D space exploration technique continuously tracks and forecasts aircraft locations in real time. If the app determines that a plane will experience a loss of separation, it is able to run nearly 800 possible scenarios — in one second — of slightly altering a plane’s direction, speed or altitude. AAP looks at how a scenario’s trajectory would affect the entire sector’s airspace, like a 3D chessboard, and then identifies safe actions that avoid future conflicts.

Second, the solution uses a rule-based approach to rank the actions identified in phase one and sends the best option to the pilot. The pilot can execute the instruction or communicate that it is not possible. For example, if the instruction is to increase the aircraft’s altitude by 1,000 feet and the pilot determines this is not feasible, the app would then provide an alternate instruction, such as adjust course five degrees east. AAP also tracks when the aircraft is safe to resume its original flight plan.

Forced to rethink AI development

Surprisingly, the pandemic positively impacted a vital aspect of the project. Because LFV controls both civil and military air traffic in Sweden, its data is highly secure and therefore inaccessible offsite. During lockdown, the extended team was no longer permitted onsite to access data needed to build the AAP solution’s AI model. Forced to rethink AI development, the group decided to build an AI model based on integration with an NLR (Dutch National Aviation and Aerospace Laboratory) Air Traffic Control Research Simulator (NARSIM).

Data scientists built a deterministic AI model with a custom algorithm on the IBM Streams analytics platform and then opened a connection between the NARSIM simulator and IBM Streams running on IBM Cloud®. They simulated traffic across the determined airspace, and based on the output, continued to refine the algorithm and iterate the AI model. An IBM Db2® database stores data for the IBM Streams application and an IBM Cloudant® database stores the AAP solution’s instructions for the air traffic controller and pilot.

Modernized airport control center

Success at 200% typical capacity

Airplane cockpit

LFV and IBM co-created the first AAP MVP in only four months, which impressed Hughes. “No one believes me when I tell them we did this in about 17 weeks. I mean, normally our development times are somewhere between two and five years.”

The depth, breadth and pace of work completed is a testament to the dedication of the LFV and IBM team members and the effectiveness of the IBM Garage approach. Hughes states, “The IBM Garage has been a direct and efficient route in setting the project up, running the project and gaining access to the skillsets that reside in IBM.” He was especially excited about the methodology’s ability to build, test and validate the riskiest components of the application before moving to next steps.

Safety will always be the aviation industry’s priority. So while development of innovative concepts such as autonomous air traffic control is exciting to see on simulators, implementation in the real world will take time and evolve incrementally. Future iterations of AAP will account for weather conditions and no-fly zones and incorporate non-deterministic AI and machine learning capabilities. LFV also plans to expand from the Swedish airspace to other parts of Europe, and European working groups are eager to get involved. AAP continues to run successful simulations at approximately 200% the normal capacity.

The solution is on track to alleviate some of the burden on air traffic controllers and improve efficiencies across airspaces. Decades from now, automated air traffic management may be standard. We’ll marvel at how stressful it once was and how one engineer’s insatiable curiosity transformed an industry.

Want to transform your business? Experience virtual IBM Garage.

Luftfartsverket logo

About Luftfartsverket

Headquartered in Norrköping, Sweden, LFVExternal Link provides air traffic control and associated services for civil and military aviation in Sweden. During normal situations (pre-pandemic), LFV air traffic controllers manage approximately 2,000 aircraft daily within the Swedish airspace. LFV employs 1,100 people and has an annual turnover of SEK 3.1 billion.

Solution components
Luftfartsverket logo

About Luftfartsverket

Headquartered in Norrköping, Sweden, LFVExternal Link provides air traffic control and associated services for civil and military aviation in Sweden. During normal situations (pre-pandemic), LFV air traffic controllers manage approximately 2,000 aircraft daily within the Swedish airspace. LFV employs 1,100 people and has an annual turnover of SEK 3.1 billion.

Solution components