一家领先的零售商
通过提供顺畅的移动旅程,获得数百万美元增量销售额
拿着手机看着信用卡的人

随着老牌零售商进军网络,他们必须提供能与灵活的、网络原生竞争对手所设定的标准匹敌的购物体验,否则将面临失去销售额的风险。为了应对挑战,这家领先的零售商使用客户体验分析来实时发现并纠正问题,从而获得数百万美元的销售额。

业务挑战

为了避免客户转向网络原生竞争对手,这家零售商希望抓住每个数字销售机会,但难点在于确定移动购物旅程中的症结。

变革

这家零售商通过实时客户体验分析,确定导致客户放弃移动购物的的根本原因和问题成本,并迅速采取行动解决问题。

结果 300 万美元
解决结账时的 PayPal 问题而降低的成本
130 万美元
解决结账时的优惠券错误而降低的成本
600 万美元
解决移动体验问题而总共降低的成本
业务挑战案例
扩大数字市场中的份额

移动业务持续增长,数字原生零售商在客户体验方面设立了高标准。今天的消费者希望在任何联网设备上都能实现从浏览到购买的无缝旅程,而中断会增加访问者放弃购物的风险。

随着消费者越来越热衷于网购,老牌零售商务必在数字领域竞争。为避免将宝贵的销售机会拱手让给对手,这家领先的零售商希望确保为每位数字访客提供出色的体验。

一位发言人解释说:“美国各地可支配收入的压力使得培养客户忠诚度变得空前重要。为了保护利润率并提高盈利能力,我们的目标是增加钱包份额并提高数字销售额在总收入中的占比。

“每年,越来越多的数字客户使用我们的移动网站来购买我们的产品。我们知道移动渠道是获取增量销售的宝贵机会,但前提是我们能够提供无摩擦的结账体验。”

过去,在识别阻碍客户完成购买的技术问题时,这家零售商面临严峻挑战。

发言人继续说道:“以前,产品或联络中心团队如果发现结账流程存在技术问题,就会开启一个生产事件,但通常仅限于此。”“由于我们无法重现产生问题的情景,因此可能需要数周才能发现并修复根本原因。我们知道自己错失了大量销售机会,但实际上不可能用货币价值量化这些机会值。

“我们想要快速识别症结点,了解其对转化的影响并及时修复最重要的问题。”

打造顺畅的数字化旅程能吸引人们再次光临;我们的实时客户体验洞察正在帮助我们实现这一目标。 Spokesperson leading retailer
变革案例
精准定位移动渠道的症结

为应对这个挑战,这家零售商采用了实时客户体验分析方法。如今,该公司使用业务逻辑来监控数字站点中的隐患,并自动突出显示问题以便迅速修复。

“以前,即使要查明问题原因也极其困难,更不用说回答诸如‘这个问题每周影响多少访客’以及‘这个问题对转化率有什么影响?’等问题”,发言人表示。

“我们现在不断监控我们的在线和移动网站,从而详细了解结账流程的运行状况。我们可以根据每个问题对转化率的估计影响实施问题检测和排名。

“我们还可以使用该解决方案重放客户亲身体验过的糟糕旅程,这有助于快速确定问题原因以及修复所需的时间。基于这些数据,我们可以立即解决容易实现的目标,并为解决复杂问题所需的投资制定业务案例。”

通过这种新型工作方式,这家零售商正从被动工作流程转向主动工作流程,使其能够紧跟最敏捷的网络竞争对手。

“我们使用敏捷方法开发电商网站,实时数据访问帮助技术团队几乎立即将一些问题的热修复推向生产。”发言人补充道。“事实上,现在整个企业有 100 多名员工,包括营销、产品、联络中心甚至反欺诈团队的人员,几乎每天都在使用这些洞察。”

案例成果
用无缝旅程取悦客户

通过实时分析,提供有关数字客户体验的深入可操作洞察,这家领先的零售商正在实现将更多访客转化为满意客户的目标。

“发现数字体验问题后,我们可以对其进行量化,”发言人表示。“这说明我们可以看到受影响的会话数量、每个问题对转化率的影响以及解决该问题的预计财务效益。这些信息使我们能够迅速采取行动解决最严重的问题,并促进增量销售。”

这种新型工作方式已经使该零售商能够在几天内发现并解决以往可能几周都未能发现的问题。

“移动设备是最难推动转化的渠道之一,因为使用小键盘输入大量信息会让客户感到沮丧,”发言人解释道。“我们看到 PayPal 这样的支付解决方案非常有助于克服这些挑战。客户首次输入配送和账单信息后,就可以非常简单又安全地重复使用,从而大大缩短结账过程。

“通过客户体验分析解决方案,我们很快发现因为网站没有将客户的税务信息发送到 PayPal 服务,每周导致近 2,000 个移动结账会话中断。重播这些旅程有助于我们及时解决问题,从而每年增加约 300 万美元销售额。”

他补充道:“促销也是推动移动销售的一种非常有效的方法,但我们注意到一个主要促销代码每天会导致超过 66 个会话出现结账错误。快速解决问题帮助营销团队使促销活动重回正轨,在促销期间实现估计 100 万美元的增量销售额。”

这家零售商估计,通过解决客户旅程中的问题,迄今已实现超过 600 万美元的增量销售额。展望未来,该公司计划继续向所有部门提供洞察,赋能他们在每个渠道为客户提供顺畅的购物体验。

发言人总结道:“打造顺畅的数字化旅程能吸引人们再次光临;我们的实时客户体验洞察正在帮助我们实现这一目标。

关于这家领先的零售商

这家领先的零售商通过实体店网络和先进的电商渠道为全美客户提供服务。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM 解决方案的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017 版权所有。IBM Corporation, 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States 美国制作,2017 年 2 月。IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Tealeaf 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

To avoid customers defecting to born-on-the-web competitors, this retailer wanted to capture every digital sales opportunity—but identifying sticking points in mobile journeys was a tough challenge.


The retailer uses real-time customer experience analytics to identify the cost and underlying cause of issues that lead customers to abandon their mobile purchases, and take fast action to solve them.



sales saved by solving a PayPal issue at the checkout


sales saved by solving coupon error at the checkout


sales saved in total by resolving mobile experience issues

Business challenge story

Capturing a greater share of the digital market

Mobile continues to grow, and born-digital retailers have set the bar high when it comes to the customer experience. Today’s consumers expect a seamless journey from browsing to buying on any connected device—and interruptions increase the risk that visitors will abandon their baskets.

As consumers increasingly prefer to do their shopping online, it’s essential for well-established retailers to compete effectively in the digital space. To avoid losing valuable sales to competitors, this leading retailer wanted to ensure that it delivered an outstanding experience to every digital visitor.

A spokesperson explains: “Pressure on discretionary incomes across the US makes it more important than ever to nurture customer loyalty. To protect our margins and drive our profitability, we aim to increase share of wallet and boost digital sales as a proportion of overall revenues.

“Every year, we see larger numbers of digital customers using our mobile site to shop our catalog. We knew that the mobile channel was a valuable opportunity to capture incremental sales, but only if we could offer a frictionless checkout journey.”

In the past, the retailer faced a tough challenge in identifying technical issues that prevented customers from completing their purchases.

“Previously, if one of our product or contact center teams discovered a technical issue with the checkout process, they would open a production incident—but that was often as far as it went,” continues the spokesperson. “Because we had no way to recreate the circumstances that produced the issue, it could take weeks before we discovered and repaired the root cause. Meanwhile, we knew we were missing out on substantial sales—but it was practically impossible to quantify the dollar value.

“We wanted a way to identify sticking points quickly, understand their impact on conversion, and remediate the most significant issues in a timely manner.”

If you create a smooth digital journey, you keep people coming back for more—and our real-time customer experience insights are helping us to achieve exactly that.

—Spokesperson, leading retailer

Transformation story

Pinpointing sticking points on the mobile channel

To solve the challenge, the retailer shaped a real-time approach to customer experience analytics. Today, the company uses business logic to monitor its digital sites for potential issues, and highlight them automatically for swift remediation.

“In the past, it was extremely difficult even to pinpoint the cause of an issue, let alone answer questions such as: ‘How many visitors does this issue affect every week?’, and: ‘What is the impact of this issue on conversion rates?’” says the spokesperson.

“We now monitor our online and mobile sites constantly, which gives us a granular view of the health of our checkout processes. We can detect and rank every issue based on its estimated dollar impact on our conversion rates.

“Better still, we can use the solution to replay the journeys of customers who experienced the issue first-hand, which helps us to quickly discover the cause of the problem and the amount of time required to repair it. Based on this data, we can immediately fix the low-hanging fruit, and build business cases for the investment required to remediate the more complex issues.”

By embracing this new way of working, the retailer is shifting from a reactive to a proactive workflow, enabling it to get hot on the heels of even the nimblest born-on-the-web competitors.

“We use agile methodologies to develop our e-commerce sites, and access to real-time data helps our technical team push hot fixes to some issues into production almost immediately,” adds the spokesperson. “In fact, more than 100 employees from across the business now use the insights almost every day—including personnel from our marketing, product, contact center and even fraud teams.”

Results story

Delighting customers with seamless journeys

With real-time analytics delivering deep, actionable insights into the digital customer experience, this leading retailer is achieving its goal of turning more visitors into satisfied customers.

“If we find a digital experience issue, we can quantify it,” says the spokesperson. “That means we can see the number of affected sessions, the impact of each issue on our conversion rates, and the estimated financial benefit of solving the issue. This information enables us to act quickly to resolve the most serious issues, and boost our incremental sales.”

The new way of working is already enabling the retailer to identify and resolve issues within days that might otherwise have gone undetected for weeks.

“Mobile is one of the most notoriously difficult channels to drive conversion on, because customers quickly become frustrated if they need to type in a large amount of information using a small keyboard,” explains the spokesperson. “We see that payment solutions like PayPal are very helpful in overcoming these challenges, as they enable customers to enter their delivery and billing information once, and re-use it in a secure and streamlined way—shortening the checkout journey dramatically.

“Using our customer experience analytics solution, we quickly detected that almost 2,000 mobile checkout sessions per week were being interrupted because the site was not sending the customer’s tax information to the PayPal service. By replaying these journeys, we were able to fix the issue promptly—helping us to drive an estimated USD3 million in incremental sales each year.”

He adds: “Promotions are also a highly effective method to drive mobile sales—but we noticed that one of our major promotion codes were causing a checkout error in more than 66 sessions per day. By solving the issue fast, we helped our marketing team get the promotion back on track, delivering an estimated USD1 million in incremental sales over the lifetime of the offer.”

To date, the retailer estimates that it has generated more than USD6 million in incremental sales by remediating issues along the customer journey. Looking ahead, the company plans to continue to deliver the insights to departments across the organization, and enable them to delight customers with frictionless shopping experiences on every channel.

The spokesperson concludes: “If you create a smooth digital journey, you keep people coming back for more—and our real-time customer experience insights are helping us to achieve exactly that.”

About Leading retailer

This leading retailer serves customers across the United States through a network of physical stores and an advanced e-commerce channel.

Solution components

  • Digital Analytics
  • Tealeaf CX on Cloud

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Tealeaf solutions, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website:

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Watson Customer Engagement