利用预测性 AI 识别消费者模式
IBM 和 Kerry 帮助食品和饮料生产商利用新兴趋势
一名父亲与小女儿走在摆放农产品货架的过道上

社交媒体可提供跨越文化与地理障碍的洞察,且正在改变人们的生活方式以及消费者的行为方式。

“由于社交和食品电子商务的出现,食品和饮料领域呈现出前所未有的透明度”,Kerry 数字部门全球副总裁 James Sandora 说道。“如今,消费者可从世界各地寻找食品和饮料的灵感,同时也希望自己购买的东西也能具备同样的便利性。”

再加上前所未有的在线健康和营养信息获取途径,这一转变为凯爱瑞食品和饮料行业的客户带来了全新的挑战。消费者对产品的要求越来越高,而这些要求又瞬息万变。

Sandora 指出:“在最高层面上的挑战是食品和饮料行业的发展和变化较以往任何时候都要快。我们的客户必须非常灵活地满足消费者的需求。”

凯爱瑞的客户需要一种更快捷的方法来衡量和跟上消费者的预期,而不是仅仅依靠传统的研究方法。该公司设想了一种能够深入了解食品和饮料行业最新趋势的认知工具,于是开始探索 AI 平台。

处理速度更快

 

之前需要 4 – 6 周,现在却只需 5即可提供概念

 

 

缩短产品周期时间

 

从构思到商业化,将打造产品流程缩短至 2 个月以内

在与 IBM 合作的过程中,我最欣赏的是其迭代和协作的合作方式。 James Sandora 全球数字业务副总裁 Kerry
强大的 AI 识别消费者模式

在对领先 AI 解决方案进行评估时,Kerry 选择使用 IBM Watson 技术来构建其洞察工具。“这主要还是取决于我们从 IBM 团队获得的服务,以及 IBM 在洞悉如何处理自然语言并识别人们在说话与写作时所呈现趋势方面树立的先例”,Sandora 说道。“而这也是 IBM 与其他厂商的明显区别所在。”

通过与 IBM 开展合作,Kerry 开发出 Kerry Trendspotter,这是一个用于预测全球食品与饮料趋势的预测平台。此工具整合了 IBM Watson Natural Language Understanding,以便抓取来自全球消费者和食品行业影响者的社交媒体内容,从而对其进行分析来得出情绪强度等属性。

结合 IBM Watson Discovery News 所提供的在线媒体输入功能,提取的数据便可通过特定机器学习模型来运行,而此模型使用 IBM Watson Knowledge Studio 来构建并整合了 Kerry Taste & Nutrition 的专有知识产权。此定制模型可识别新兴模式并对其进行排名,从而预测最有可能演变为趋势的成分、口味和食品。

Sandora 表示:“我们使用‘Kerry IQ’来教 AI 如何思考食品和饮料以及我们所定义的宏观趋势。凯爱瑞拥有大量与消费者思考、谈论甚至与其吃喝的食品和饮料互动的方式相关的历史数据。”

整个解决方案在由 IBM Cloud Virtual Servers 组成的高性能 IBM® Cloud 基础架构上运行,并采用 IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service 进行工作量调整和安全防护。该环境支持持续整合/持续部署 (CI/CD) 管道,可快速高效地更改代码并更新 Kerry Trendspotter 平台。

这主要还是取决于我们从 IBM 团队获得的服务,以及 IBM 在洞悉如何处理自然语言并识别人们在说话与写作时所呈现趋势方面树立的先例。而这也是 IBM 与其他厂商的明显区别所在。 James Sandora 全球数字业务副总裁 Kerry
在需求高峰期发布的产品

IBM 和 Kerry 共同开发出一个高效的 AI 平台,从而帮助食品与饮料品牌掌握不断变化的消费者偏好,并向市场推出能取得成功的产品。“当我们的客户知道消费者想要哪些产品并尽早着手开发时,这些产品便会在消费者需求高峰期投放市场,从而让所有人受益”,Sandora 说道。

业已证明,对于追捧流行零食品牌所推出的独特新口味的 Kerry 客户来说,该解决方案可谓至关重要。通过使用 Kerry Trendspotter,Kerry 在短短五天内便确定了新兴口味并交付产品概念,而不是此流程通常所需的四到六周时间。从构思到产品商业化的整个流程,客户只用了不到两个月时间,较之先前六到九个月的时间可谓实现了巨大飞跃。

通过结合 Watson 技术和 Kerry 的行业专业知识,Kerry Trendspotter 在市场中堪称独树一帜。“各大科技公司正试图在此领域展开竞争”,Sandora 表示。“但我们在食品与饮料领域拥有近 50 年的从业经验,因而可充分验证我们所发现的趋势并提供相应的产品。就我们客户如何发现价值来说,这是我们的一大优势。

凯爱瑞正根据全球客户对 Kerry Trendspotter 的需求,与 IBM 合作为全球食品和饮料生产商提供多种语言的翻译结果。该公司对 IBM 持续不断的创新和支持努力表示赞赏。

Sandora 指出:“与 IBM 合作的过程中,我最欣赏其迭代和协作的合作方式。与我们合作的团队非常出色,他们不断改进想法,使我们能够真正达到预测未来趋势的期望。”

凯爱瑞徽标
凯爱瑞简介 

凯爱瑞是全球领先的风味与营养公司,在全球 32 个国家或地区设有办事处,拥有 150 家制造工厂和超过 26,000 名员工,其中包括 1,000 多名食品科学家,为世界各地的民众提供营养解决方案。凯爱瑞提供了深厚的食品传统、40 多年的经验、全球洞察分析和市场知识、烹饪和应用方面的专业知识,以及一系列能够预测和满足客户需求的独特解决方案。

 
采取下一步行动
 
提升帮助台的支持水平 CrushBank 显著提高数据迁移速度 IBM 全球首席数据办公室 实现混合性突破 — 优化陶瓷粘土 ESAN
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Identifying consumer patterns with predictive AI

IBM and Kerry help food and beverage producers tap into emerging trends
by Deirdre Puleo
4-minute read
Father with baby daughter in produce aisle

Offering insight across cultural and geographical barriers, social media is changing the way people live and how they behave as consumers.

“Because of social and food e-commerce, there is transparency in the food and beverage landscape that’s never before existed,” says James Sandora, Global Vice President for Digital at Kerry. “Now, consumers find food and beverage inspiration from anywhere around the world, and expect the same accessibility in the things they buy.”

Combined with unprecedented access to health and nutritional information online, this shift is creating new challenges for Kerry’s customers in the food and beverage industry. Consumers demand more from their products, and those demands change rapidly.

“At the highest level, the challenge is simply that the food and beverage landscape is evolving and shifting faster than it ever has in the past,” says Sandora. “Our customers have to become extremely nimble in how they address consumer needs.”

Instead of relying solely on traditional research methods, Kerry’s customers needed a quicker way to gauge and keep pace with consumer expectations. Envisioning a cognitive tool for delivering insight into breaking food and beverage trends, the company began exploring AI platforms.

Two people adding groceries to a basket

Instead of the 4 – 6 weeks required previously, provides concepts in

5

days

From ideation to commercialization, shortens product creation process to

< 2

months

What I appreciate most about working with IBM is its iterative and collaborative approach to partnership.
James Sandora
Global Vice President for Digital, Kerry
Woman adding vegetables to her reusable grocery bag in produce aisle
It came down to the service that we got from the IBM team and the precedent IBM had set in understanding how to process natural language and identify trends within the way people speak and write. That’s where IBM clearly differentiated itself.
James Sandora
Global Vice President for Digital, Kerry
Powerful AI to identify consumer patterns
It came down to the service that we got from the IBM team and the precedent IBM had set in understanding how to process natural language and identify trends within the way people speak and write. That’s where IBM clearly differentiated itself.
James Sandora
Global Vice President for Digital, Kerry

Evaluating leading AI solutions, Kerry chose to build its insight tool with IBM Watson® technology. “It came down to the service that we got from the IBM team and the precedent IBM had set in understanding how to process natural language and identify trends within the way people speak and write,” says Sandora. “That’s where IBM clearly differentiated itself.”

In a collaborative effort with IBM, Kerry developed Kerry Trendspotter, a predictive platform for forecasting global food and beverage trends. The tool incorporates IBM Watson Natural Language Understanding to crawl through social media content from global consumers and food industry influencers, analyzing it for attributes that include strength of sentiment and emotion.

Combined with online media input provided by IBM Watson Discovery News, the extracted data runs through a machine learning model built using IBM Watson Knowledge Studio and incorporating Kerry Taste & Nutrition’s proprietary intellectual property. The custom model identifies and ranks emerging patterns, predicting ingredients, flavors and foods with the highest probabilities of trending.

“We used the ‘Kerry IQ’ to teach the AI how to think about food and beverage and what we would define as a macro trend,” says Sandora. “At Kerry,we have ahuge amount of historical data relating to the ways in which consumers think about, talk about and even interact with the foods and beverages that they eat and drink.”

The entire solution runs on high-performance IBM Cloud® infrastructure comprising IBM Cloud Virtual Servers and employing the IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service for workload scaling and security purposes. The environment supports a continuous integration/continuous deployment (CI/CD) pipeline for quick and efficient code changes and updates to the Kerry Trendspotter platform.

Products released at the peak of demand

Together, IBM and Kerry developed a highly effective AI platform that helps food and beverage brands tap into shifting consumer preferences and bring successful offerings to market. “When our customers know what products consumers want and begin development earlier, those products hit the market at the peak of consumer demand and everyone wins,” says Sandora.

The solution has already proven critical for a Kerry customer seeking a distinctive new flavor for a popular snack brand. Instead of the four to six weeks the process typically required, Kerry identified emerging flavors and delivered product concepts in just five days using Kerry Trendspotter. The entire undertaking from ideation to product commercialization took the customer less than two months — a significant acceleration of the previous six- to nine-month timeline.

Combining Watson technology and Kerry’s industry expertise, Kerry Trendspotter is unlike other offerings in the marketplace. “Tech companies are trying to compete in this landscape,” says Sandora. “But we have nearly 50 years of experience in food and beverage to validate trends we’re seeing and deliver a product. It’s a huge differentiator in terms of how our customers are seeing value.”

Based on global customer demand for Kerry Trendspotter, Kerry is working with IBM to deliver translated results in multiple languages for food and beverage producers worldwide. The company credits IBM for an innovative and supportive ongoing effort.

“What I appreciate most about working with IBM is its iterative and collaborative approach to partnership,” says Sandora. “The team we worked with was fantastic in continually improving on ideas so that we could really meet the expectations we had in predicting future trends.”

Kerry logo
About Kerry

KerryExternal Link, a leading taste and nutrition company, offers solutions that nourish lives all over the world with offices in 32 countries, 150 manufacturing facilities and more than 26,000 employees globally, including over 1,000 food scientists. Kerry brings to the table its strong food heritage, coupled with over 40 years of experience, global insights and market knowledge, culinary and applications expertise, as well as a range of unique solutions that anticipate and address its customers’ needs.

Solution components
Kerry logo
About Kerry

KerryExternal Link, a leading taste and nutrition company, offers solutions that nourish lives all over the world with offices in 32 countries, 150 manufacturing facilities and more than 26,000 employees globally, including over 1,000 food scientists. Kerry brings to the table its strong food heritage, coupled with over 40 years of experience, global insights and market knowledge, culinary and applications expertise, as well as a range of unique solutions that anticipate and address its customers’ needs.

Solution components