业务挑战

高等教育机构必须满足不断增高的学生期望 — 然而成本高昂、缺乏灵活性的本地系统却让他们难以前行。Jenzabar 如何帮助客户削减成本并获得敏捷性?

转型

通过使用 IBM Cloud 基础架构,Jenzabar 为学生信息系统提供了变革性的 SaaS 解决方案,包含全面的服务,可消除运行成本高昂的本地 IT 的需求。

结果

避免

避免与本地部署相关的时间和成本

支持

支持 Jenzabar 使其业务模式变得更具可扩展性和安全性

铺路

为国际扩张和进一步的商业机会铺平道路

业务挑战故事

学习热情

Jenzabar 致力于帮助其客户在高等教育领域取得成功,为全球超过 1300 个校区提供量身定制的学生信息软件和相关服务。从入学到毕业,Jenzabar 帮助精简学生和大学的行政管理及财务流程。

各个教育机构无论大小,运行内部 IT 基础架构的成本和复杂性都在不断增加,使这项工作变得不受欢迎,脱离了核心教育业务。Jenzabar 认识到了这一点,希望减轻其客户的技术资源压力,同时为使用传统 ERP 难以满足不断增高的学生期望的教育机构带来帮助。

为了抓住这一新商机,Jenzabar 需要一个灵活、强大且非常安全的平台,用于向日益壮大的客户群体交付专用的软件即服务解决方案。国际层面也很重要:Jenzabar 希望迎合关于数据在国界内的位置具有特定合规性要求的客户的需求。

Jenzabar 的外包服务项目经理 Gus Ortiz 解释道:“随着业务和眼界的开拓,我们想要一个可扩展且可靠的云平台,支持直接控制计算、存储和网络资源,以便我们能够快速响应托管客户的需求。如果没有一个标准化的全球云服务平台,我们就无法随心所欲地扩展业务,实现我们的远大目标。”

IBM 方法、交付系统、客户机界面、扩展能力 — 拥有使 IBM Cloud 成为我们首选平台的所有这些必要条件。

Gus Ortiz, 外包服务项目经理, Jenzabar

转型故事

云转型之旅

Jenzabar 评估多家全球领先的云服务提供商的产品后,最终选择了 IBM Cloud 。“IBM 方法、交付系统、客户机界面、扩展能力 — 拥有使 IBM Cloud 成为我们首选平台的所有这些必要条件”,Ortiz 指出。“我也很想知道设备的确切位置,这样我就可以向客户作出数据保证。”

目前,Jenzabar 正在将其客户端环境迁移到在 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器上运行的专用 VMware vSphere 虚拟化平台,此举旨在最大限度地提高灾备能力和灵活性。

“借助 VMware Site Recovery Manager,我们可以在 IBM Cloud 中设置站点到站点的复制功能,以便为客户提供快速恢复到第二个数据中心的服务,作为标准服务的一部分”,Ortiz 指出。“我们在 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器上的新方法还能够减少硬件使用,因此客户无需增加成本,就能获得托管在完全私有云中的额外安全性和隐私优势。”

Jenzabar 继续使用 IBM Cloud Block StorageIBM Cloud File Storage 为其客户的 ERP 解决方案存储实时和备份数据,利用多个高速连接来确保数据和应用实现卓越的性能和灾备能力。该公司借其外包服务部门之手,利用 IBM Cloud 的这些功能为客户提供备份即服务产品。教育机构使用该服务来备份和恢复各种系统,包括本地服务器、工作站和高管笔记本电脑 — 无论它们是否使用了 Jenzabar 的 SIS 解决方案。为了实现最高标准的吞吐量、安全性和低延迟,Jenzabar 提供 IBM Cloud Direct Link,使客户能够在其远程网络环境与 IBM Cloud 部署之间创建专用连接,用于支持混合工作负载。

“作为网络安全产品的一部分,我们正在向高等教育领域中的所有人士推销云备份即服务产品,因为非现场备份和保留是防范加密锁病毒和勒索软件的关键要素。”

由于其备份方法是捕获完整的系统映像,Jenzabar 可以将任何客户机的工作负载恢复到 IBM Cloud 上的新 VMware 虚拟机。这提供了完整的灾难恢复即服务选项,从而使客户不再需要维护可能从未使用过的重复本地硬件 — 这在对成本敏感的高等教育行业是一个巨大的优势。

“一位客户打来电话说,她的本地系统周五晚上就出现了故障,但服务合约周一才开始”,Ortiz 说道。“借助 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器,我能够立即通过门户分配新容量,支持迁移数据,并开始 60 天的免费试用期。这给她留下了深刻的印象,因此签署了全套服务合约。”

结果故事

开拓新市场

通过基于 IBM Cloud 的计算、存储和网络基础架构而构建其 SaaS 产品,使 Jenzabar 获得了可扩展性、业务连续性、安全性、高性能、灵活性和业务拓展,能够以极具竞争优势的价格满足日益壮大的客户群体的企业级需求。凭借指定专用裸机服务器的能力,该公司可以拥有和管理自己的专用资源,并将内部基础架构所特有的安全性和便利性融入到云计算的灵活性和成本效益优势之中。

Jenzabar 一方面致力于保持其作为高等教育领域的顶级 SIS 解决方案供应商的地位,一方面继续拓展其管理服务产品,并利用 IBM 云上提供的各种解决方案。此服务将使教育机构不再需要维护自己的 IT 基础架构。使用 IBM Cloud 消除与指定、订购和部署新硬件相关的延迟;团队仅需访问 IBM Cloud 门户并配置相应的资源即可。

“IBM Cloud 令人印象深刻的一个方面是客户门户,在这里,我们可以通过快捷且响应迅速的方式订购和管理环境”,Ortiz 说道。“现在,如果客户需要额外增加 12 TB 的磁盘空间,我通过手机仅用五分钟就能完成。敏捷性和响应能力使 IBM Cloud 成为了 Jenzabar 真正的业务推动因素。”

IBM Cloud 网络在全球拥有 60 多个数据中心,可帮助 Jenzabar 满足非洲、美洲、亚洲和欧洲客户的本地需求。如果客户要求将数据保留在特定地理边界内,Jenzabar 可以指定资源的物理位置。例如,一位客户的总部在美国境外,但出于法规方面的原因,需要将其数据保留在美国本土的 48 个州内 — 只需在客户门户中单击一下即可满足这个要求。Ortiz 表示:“借助 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器提供的可配置性和管理控制,我们能够以前所未有的方式发展业务。”

Jenzabar 通过选择 IBM Cloud,简化了运营,降低了成本,并能够更经济有效地为更广泛的高等教育机构提供服务。过去,前期硬件投资使 Jenzabar 解决方案超出了一些规模较小的学校和学院的财务能力范围。现在,即使是只有不到一百名学生的教育机构,也发现注册 Jenzabar SIS 解决方案具有成本效益。

“IBM Cloud 使我们能够为规模较小的教育机构提供他们通常无法负担得起或在校区内部署的计算资源,这些资源以最先进的安全性、可扩展性和灵活性为支持”,Ortiz 说道。“对于规模较大的客户,我们提供了一条脱离过时的本地数据中心的途径,这些数据中心不是硬件存在故障就是带宽不足,而且这种途径的成本低于他们单枪匹马实现目标所需的成本。这些客户不仅可以省钱,同时还提供更优质的服务,营造幸福感更高的学生和员工社区。”

对于没有现有基础架构的新客户,选择基于 IBM Cloud 的 Jenzabar SIS 解决方案,有助于其完全专注于高效的学生管理,而非平台。“几年前,我们承接了一个初创学校的业务”,Ortiz 回忆道。“他们从我们的云中起步,在我们的云中成长和发展,从零增长到了 5000 名学生,而且我们已经通过即付即用模式为其按需扩展。”

Ortiz 总结道:“通过选择 IBM Cloud 的计算、存储和网络基础架构,我们创造为各种事宜了丰富的机会,包括简化业务,为客户创建更多服务选项,以及通过新的服务产品生成额外的收入流。我们期待着未来的发展。”

Jenzabar 徽标

Jenzabar

Jenzabar(外部链接)为世界各地的高校提供高等教育软件解决方案,支持超过 1300 个校区。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器的更多信息,请联系 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下 Web 站点:ibm.com/cn-zh/cloud/bare-metal-servers

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Cloud 的更多信息

Business challenge

Higher-education institutions must meet evolving student expectations – but costly, inflexible on-prem systems are holding them back. How could Jenzabar help clients cut costs and gain agility?

Transformation

Using IBM Cloud infrastructure, Jenzabar offers a transformational SaaS solution for student information systems, with comprehensive services that eliminate the need to run costly on-prem IT.

Results

Avoids

the time and cost associated with on-prem deployments

Enables

Jenzabar to make its business model far more scalable and secure

Paves

the way to international expansion and further commercial opportunities

Business challenge story

Enthusiasm for learning

Jenzabar is dedicated to the success of its clients in higher education, supporting more than 1,300 campuses around the world with tailored student-information software and related services. From enrollment to graduation, Jenzabar helps to streamline student and university administration and finance.

For institutions large and small, the growing cost and complexity of running an in-house IT infrastructure makes it an unwelcome distraction from the core business of education. Recognizing this, Jenzabar wanted to ease the pressure on its clients’ technical resources, while at the same time helping institutions with legacy ERP struggling to meet growing student expectations.

To capitalize on this new opportunity, Jenzabar needed a flexible, robust, highly secure platform for delivering private software-as-a-service solutions to a growing number of clients. The international dimension was also important: Jenzabar wanted to cater to clients with specific compliance requirements regarding the location of data within national borders.

Gus Ortiz, Managed Services Program Manager at Jenzabar, explains: "As the business and our horizons grew, we wanted a scalable and reliable cloud platform that offered direct control over the computing, storage and network resources, so that we could respond rapidly to our hosted clients’ needs. Without a standardized global platform for cloud services, we would not be able to scale the business to match our ambitions.”

The IBM methodology, delivery system, the client interface, the ability to scale – all those things that were essential to making IBM Cloud our first choice have remained in place.

—Gus Ortiz, Managed Services Program Manager, Jenzabar

Transformation story

Journey to the cloud

Jenzabar reviewed offerings from leading global cloud service providers, ultimately choosing IBM Cloud. “The IBM methodology, delivery system, the client interface, the ability to scale – all those things that were essential to making IBM Cloud our first choice have remained in place,” says Ortiz. “I also like knowing exactly where the equipment is located so that I can assure clients about their data.”

Currently, Jenzabar is migrating its client environments to a private VMware vSphere virtualization platform running on IBM Cloud bare metal servers, a move designed to maximize resiliency and flexibility.

“With VMware Site Recovery Manager, we are setting up site-to-site replication across the IBM Cloud so that we can offer our clients very rapid recovery to a second data center as part of our standard service,” comments Ortiz. “Our new approach on IBM Cloud bare metal servers also enables us to use less hardware, so our clients will get the additional security and privacy benefits of being hosted in a completely private cloud without seeing their costs rise.”

Jenzabar continues to use IBM Cloud block storage and IBM Cloud file storage to store both live and backed-up data for its clients’ ERP solutions, taking advantage of multiple high-speed connections to ensure exceptional performance and resiliency for data and applications. Through its Managed Services division, the company uses these features of the IBM Cloud to provide a backup-as-a-service offering to clients. Educational institutions use the service to back up and recover all kinds of systems, from on-prem servers and workstations to executive laptops – regardless of whether they use Jenzabar’s SIS solutions. For the highest standards in throughput, security and low latency, Jenzabar offers IBM Cloud Direct Link, enabling clients to create private connections between their remote network environments and their IBM Cloud deployments to support hybrid workloads.

“We’re promoting the cloud backup-as-a-service to anyone in higher education as part of a cyber-security offering, because offsite backup and retention are key elements in protecting against crypto locker and ransomware software,” says Ortiz.

Since its method for backing up is to capture complete system images, Jenzabar can recover any client’s workloads to new VMware virtual machines on IBM Cloud. This provides a complete disaster-recovery-as-a-service option, so that clients no longer need to maintain duplicate on-prem hardware that may never be used – a great advantage in the cost-sensitive higher-education industry.

“One client called to say that her on-prem systems had failed on a Friday evening before term started on Monday,” says Ortiz. “With IBM Cloud bare metal servers, I was able to commission new capacity through the portal right away, and offer to migrate the data and start a free 60-day trial. She was so impressed that she signed up to the full service.”

Results story

Reaching new markets

Building its SaaS offering on IBM Cloud compute, storage and network infrastructure gives Jenzabar the scale, resilience, security, performance, flexibility and geographic reach to meet enterprise-class needs for a growing client base at highly competitive pricing. The ability to specify dedicated bare metal servers enables the company to own and manage its own private resources, adding the security and convenience typical of an in-house infrastructure to the flexible, cost-effective benefits of the cloud.

While dedicated to remaining a top SIS solution vendor in Higher Education, Jenzabar continues to expand its Managed Service offerings and utilizes the comprehensive range of solutions available on the IBM cloud. This service will eliminate the need for institutions to maintain their own IT infrastructure. Using the IBM Cloud removes the delays associated with specifying, ordering and deploying new hardware; all the team has to do is access the IBM Cloud portal and configure the appropriate resources.

“One of the really impressive aspects of IBM Cloud is the client portal, where we can order and manage the environment ourselves, in a fast, responsive way,” says Ortiz. “Today, if a client needs another 12 TB of disk space, I can do that from my mobile in five minutes. The agility and responsiveness make IBM Cloud a real business enabler for Jenzabar.”

With more than 60 data centers worldwide, the IBM Cloud network helps Jenzabar satisfy the local needs of clients in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe. If a client requires that data be retained within a specific geographic boundary, Jenzabar can specify the physical location of the resources. For example, one client is based outside the U.S., but for regulatory reasons needs their data to be retained within the lower 48 states – a simple click in the client portal made this possible. Ortiz says: “The configurability and management control offered by IBM Cloud bare metal servers enables us to grow our business in a way not previously possible.”

Choosing IBM Cloud has simplified operations for Jenzabar, reducing costs and enabling it to serve a wider range of higher-education institutions more cost-effectively. In the past, the up-front hardware investment put Jenzabar solutions beyond financial reach for some smaller schools and colleges. Now, even institutions with fewer than one hundred students find it cost-effective to sign up for a Jenzabar SIS solution.

“IBM Cloud enables us to give smaller institutions access to computing resources they typically would not be able to afford or deploy on campus, backed by the most advanced security, scalability and flexibility,” says Ortiz. “For larger clients, we offer an escape route from outdated on-prem data centers with failing hardware and insufficient bandwidth, at a lower cost than they could achieve for themselves. These clients can save money while providing better services to a happier community of students and staff.”

For new clients with no existing on-prem infrastructure, choosing a Jenzabar SIS solution on the IBM Cloud enables full focus on efficient student administration rather than the platform. “We took on a start-up school a few years back,” recalls Ortiz. “They started in our cloud, stayed in our cloud, and have grown in our cloud from literally zero to 5,000 students, and we have scaled them as needed in a pay-as-you-go model.”

Ortiz concludes: “By selecting IBM Cloud compute, storage and network infrastructure, we have opened up a wealth of opportunity, for streamlining our business, creating additional service options for clients, and for generating additional revenue streams through new service offerings. We are excited to see where the future will take us.”

About Jenzabar

Jenzabar provides higher education software solutions for colleges and universities worldwide, supporting over 1,300 campuses.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Cloud bare metal servers, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/cloud/bare-metal-servers

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Cloud