主页 Case Studies 拥抱精益方法 拥抱精益方法
对业务与临床流程进行转型
女医生

在快速增长导致难以满足会员和提供方的服务标准之后,总部位于加州的 Inland Empire Health Plan (IEHP) 认识到需要解决整个组织的多个流程,以提高其效率和服务。

该健康计划是美国最大的非营利性医疗保险和医疗补助计划,会员人数达 130 万,占当地市场份额的 89%。 为了跟上最初的会员激增,该组织雇用了更多员工来帮助满足会员需求,但这还不够。IEHP 面临着从会员对就医途径不满到提供方对服务延误不满等一系列问题。快速增长还产生了大量冗余且低效的流程,这些流程缺乏一致性、标准化和文档记录。

“我们的价值观是专注于做正确的事,”IEHP 首席执行官 Jarrod McNaughton 说。“我们的目标是在会员需要时为他们提供优质、可及和基于健康的医疗服务。”

“但是,快速的增长却让我们很难以一种自我感觉舒服的方式来履行我们的使命和价值观”,他补充道。

由于知道仅仅继续增加员工并不能充分解决所有这些挑战,IEHP 执行团队在解决一些潜在的流程问题方面取得了很大的进展。 由于该组织的领导层已经从之前的精益培训中看到了成功,因此他们决定致力于在整个组织中推行这种精益方法,并邀请精益管理组织通过征求建议书 (RFP) 流程进行合作,目标是转型成为一家精益公司。

IEHP 面临的挑战在于:在一个拥有 2,000 多名员工且有多个业务部门相互交织的组织中,实现人事与流程变更并使其制度化。该保健方案需要一个经验丰富的精益管理系统,而该系统应可更好地动员整个企业所做出的努力,并助力企业内的各个团队为其扩张后的成员群体提供服务,同时有效、高效地为其提供商提供更好的支持。

会员众多

 

IEHP 为超过 130 万会员提供服务

IEHP 已节省

 

每年 4100 万美元

精益转型引发流程变革

因此,2015 年,IEHP 的领导团队全心致力于组织的精益转型,并选择了 Simpler® Consulting(现为Simpler®,IBM 旗下公司)来推进全公司的转型。一开始,Simpler 和 IEHP 将工作重点放在两个关键领域:提供方服务和会员服务。

提供方服务团队被选为第一个开始精益转型的团队,通过一个深思熟虑的过程,了解提供方的体验如何贯穿于整个健康计划。Simpler 教练致力于帮助 IEHP 团队找出障碍并解决问题。

Simpler 和 IEHP 团队从提供方客户服务中心启动了精益流程,因为医疗保健提供方在出现问题时会打电话,所以客户服务中心是提供方和健康计划之间的关键接触点。在完成典型的精益价值流映射和分析后,工作迅速扩展到健康计划内的其他领域,包括医疗服务、索赔和提供方加盟部门。

此外,IEHP 已从提供方纸质加盟流程转变为提供方电子加盟流程,而这导致了其自身意想不到的低效率,包括大量积压和延误。IEHP 没有建立衡量新系统的指标,导致积压工作继续增加。 作为一种组织工具,Simpler 团队引入了可视化管理系统来帮助跟踪对提供方的资格认证。

IEHP 首席医疗官、医学博士 Karen Hansberger 表示:“即使是很小的变化,也会对效率以及部门管理工作流程的方式产生巨大影响。”

IEHP 甚至升级了其核心系统。预见到采用方面的挑战,提供方客户服务中心团队实施了一个简单的标记系统,员工可以在其中表明他们需要监督帮助或干预,以便在可能妨碍工作流程并危及及时为提供方提供服务的问题上获得即时帮助。

健康计划还在会员服务方面采取了多项举措。在一个案例中,Simpler 和 IEHP 发现,当会员最近更换了提供方时,一些会员的资格信息无法正确显示,这引起了会员和提供方的不满。这个问题经常导致会员等待三到四个小时才能由提供方接诊,而 IEHP 则更新了提供方门户网站。在某些情况下,会员甚至会被其提供方拒绝。

通过授权组织中合适的人员来解决此问题,会员现在可以在几分钟内获得医生接诊。另一个需要改进的领域是口译服务。 该计划提供多种语言的口译员,但需要花费大量时间来确定口译员并为与会员建立连接。通过在流程中引入精益原则,IEHP 缩短了在需要时确定、分配和提供口译员的时间。

在提升提供商服务领域的员工敬业度方面,IEHP 领导层将 Simpler 教练和 Senseis(顾问)的承诺归功于他们对 IEHP 转型而投入的工作。

“我很感谢 Simpler 教练,”Hansberger 博士说。“应用他们的工具和概念让我能够提出更好的问题并真正思考我的决定。”

Simpler 拥有一个全面的系统,其顾问在自己的公司中作为领导者使用了这些方法。 Jarrod McNaughton 首席执行官 Inland Empire 保健方案
精益 2.0

由于 IEHP 的精益转型取得了成功,因此 IEHP 执行团队选择扩大对精益方法的采用。与 Simpler 合作四年后,IEHP 寻求 Simpler 咨询团队的进一步帮助,以扩大采用其精益流程——这次是进入其业务的临床方面。IEHP 领导层将这种扩展称为“精益 2.0”。

“我们一直在寻求如何继续改变和发展,”Hansberger 博士说。 “重要的是要审视我们的所有流程,并扪心自问,我们所做的一切在整个医疗护理过程中如何影响我们的会员和提供方,而不仅仅是关注我们各部门内部发生的事情。”

虽然 IEHP 精益之旅的第一次实施侧重于修复流程和打破孤岛,但 2.0 版本则会聚焦于切实深入探索精益方法并学习如何打造覆盖整个企业的全面精益公司,同时也更为关注临床操作(例如,再入院和药物管理)。

IEHP 与内陆帝国地区的 40 家医院和 6,000 多家医疗服务提供方签订了合同。该健康计划的庞大规模及其服务的地区是独一无二的,这带来了明显的问题。但为了满足会员和提供方的需求,IEHP 执行团队专注于可以在内部(IEHP 内部)和外部(医院内部)做的事情,以有所作为。

我们会看到提供方陷入困境,我们学会了如何帮助他们,”McNaughton 说。 “因此,我们实际上开始在一些医院安排病例经理,以便与住院的会员实时联系。”

McNaughton 表示:这一微小的变化已对提供商社区产生巨大影响,而 IEHP 也成为了“更好的社区和患者合作伙伴”。

“看到我们的临床团队开始跳出框框思考如何继续修复流程,这是一件很好的事情,”Hansberger 博士说。“他们正在学习联系、沟通和从不同的角度评估情况。”

她补充说:“对我来说,这是这种转型中最重要的部分。这与流程转型无关,这是关于人的转变。”

我们的 Simpler 顾问帮助我们起步,但真正的奇迹始于我们组织内的领导者拥有了精益流程。 Karen Hansberger 董事总经理兼首席执行官 Inland Empire 保健方案
流程转型产生全系统结果

在 Simpler 的医疗保健管理主题专家 (SME) 的指导下,IEHP 的精益转型对整个组织的提供方服务、会员服务、临床服务和员工敬业度产生了深远的影响。

IEHP 领导者和团队成员接受了不断变革的理念,以更好地为会员和提供方服务。员工感到更有能力,现在他们有了个人精益流程。

除了满足 IEHP 修复低效和问题流程的最初目标外,该组织还取得了更多成就。

“精益帮助我们改进了流程,从而提高了会员和提供方的满意度,”McNaughton 说。 “这对我们来说非常重要,因为在很大程度上,我们的社区是由我们的会员组成的。通过对我们的会员产生积极影响,这最终会以某种方式为更大的社区做出贡献。”

以下只是整个组织中新的精益管理实践带来的可衡量改进的一些最重要的例子:

• 目前,提供方满意度得分在美国处于前 1% 的水平。
• 在某些情况下,授权审批时间已从几周缩短到几小时。
• 再入院率从 16% 下降至 15%。
• 短短两年内,IEHP 提供方资格认证部门的员工敬业度就提高了 50% 以上。
• 提供方服务中关键的提供方资格认证流程过去需要 194 天(即超过六个月),现在只需 20 天(即不到三周)——时间减少了 90%。
• IEHP 显著提高了会员服务方面的首次通话解决率,从 65% 提高到了 81%。这也反映在更高的会员满意度上:2017 年为 97%。

最后,整个组织都能节省大量成本。比如,IEHP 现在每年都可节省 4,100 万美元。

虽然 IEHP 取得了巨大的成果,但对其领导团队来说最令人兴奋的是未来。

“结果非常好,”McNaughton 说。 “但我认为 Simpler 团队让我们意识到真正的难题是,要使变革不仅发生并且可持续,这不一定与数字有关,而确实与文化有关。”

他继续说:“必须有意识地推进精益之旅。精益不只是一项举措,也不仅仅是某个计划的一部分。 精益正在嵌入一种新的文化,并使文化成为我们所做的一切的基石。这正是 Simpler 团队帮助我们做的事情。必须身体力行,活学活用,并真正相信自己正在做的事情。”

IEHP 将继续以有助于维持改进结果的方式巩固 Simpler 帮助其建立的精益系统。 但是,为了忠实履行其使命,IEHP 将努力通过社区的精益工作来帮助提供方和医院,并成为社区合作伙伴的精益资源。

精益正在嵌入一种新的文化,并使文化成为我们所做的一切的基石。这正是 Simpler 团队帮助我们做的事情。 Jarrod McNaughton 首席执行官, Inland Empire 保健方案
HSL HRT 徽标
关于 Inland Empire Health Plan

IEHP 是该国十大医疗补助保健方案之一,同时也是规模最大的非营利性医疗保障与医疗补助方案。IEHP 拥有由 6,000 多家提供商和 2,000 多名员工组成的网络,并为里弗赛德县和圣贝纳迪诺县已注册医疗补助或加州 MediConnect 方案(医疗保障与医疗补助方案)的 130 多万名居民提供服务。

关于 IBM 旗下公司 Simpler Consulting

SimplerIBM® Watson Health® 旗下公司。近 30 年来,Simpler 团队一直与客户合作,指导并帮助他们实现财务和非财务绩效指标的快速改善。Simpler 的价值在于能够与客户合作开发业务系统并实施系统性改进,从而促进长期业绩的提升和可持续增长。

关于 Watson Health

Watson Health 是医疗行业的数据、分析和技术合作伙伴。在 IBM 和 IBM Watson® 的创新及智能技术支持下,我们致力于帮助构建更智能的健康生态系统。通过结合我们在健康、数据和分析、可操作见解方面的深厚专业知识以及安全和信任方面的声誉,Watson Health 与其客户和合作伙伴协作,帮助他们建立更简单的流程、获得更好的医疗护理见解、更快实现突破,并改进世界各地人们的体验。如需了解更多信息,请访问 ibm.com/watson-health

采取下一步行动
一个医疗保健系统如何在新冠疫情期间迅速采取行动帮助其社区 精益管理方法可以治愈发展之痛
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, Simpler, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 1 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Watson、Simpler 和 Watson Health 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Embracing lean methodology

Transforming operational and clinical processes
by Michelle Cloutier
8-minute read
female doctor

After rapid growth resulted in difficulties meeting service standards for members and providers, California-based Inland Empire Health Plan (IEHP) understood it needed to address many processes throughout the organization to improve its efficiency and services.

The health plan is the largest not-for-profit Medicare and Medicaid plan in the country, with members totaling 1.3 million and 89% of the local market share. To keep up with an initial membership spike, the organization hired additional staff to help meet membership demands, but it wasn’t enough. IEHP faced issues ranging from member dissatisfaction with access to care to provider dissatisfaction with service delays. Rapid growth had also produced a myriad of redundant and inefficient processes that lacked consistency, standardization and documentation.

“Our values are focused on doing the right thing,” says Jarrod McNaughton, Chief Executive Officer of IEHP. “We aim to deliver quality, accessible and wellness-based medical care to members when they need it.”

“However, our rapid growth made it difficult to fulfill our mission and values in a way we felt comfortable,” he adds.

Knowing that simply continuing to add more staff could not adequately address all these challenges, the IEHP executive team made great strides in addressing some of the underlying process issues. Since the organization’s leadership had already seen success from prior lean-based training, they decided to commit to applying this lean methodology across the organization and invited lean management organizations to partner through a request for proposals (RFP) process with the goal of becoming a lean company.

IEHP faced the challenge of implementing and institutionalizing personnel and process changes across a 2,000-plus person organization with multiple, interconnected business units. The health plan needed an experienced lean management system offering that could better mobilize efforts and empower teams across the business to serve its expanded membership and better support providers effectively and efficiently.

IEHP serves more than

1.3

million members

IEHP has seen cost savings of

USD 41

million annually

Doctor and medical professional walking and talking
Simpler has a comprehensive system with consultants who have used these methods as leaders in their own companies.
Jarrod McNaughton
Chief Executive Officer, Inland Empire Health Plan
Lean transformation leads to process change
Simpler has a comprehensive system with consultants who have used these methods as leaders in their own companies.
Jarrod McNaughton
Chief Executive Officer, Inland Empire Health Plan

So, in 2015, the leadership team at IEHP fully committed to the lean transformation of their organization and selected Simpler® Consulting (now Simpler®, an IBM Company) to implement the company-wide transformation. At the beginning, Simpler and IEHP focused their efforts on two critical areas: provider services and member services.

The provider services team was chosen as the first group to start its lean transformation through a thoughtful process of how the provider experience crosses through a health plan. The Simpler coaches worked to help the IEHP team think through obstacles and problem solve.

The Simpler and IEHP teams started the lean process with the provider call center, which, because healthcare providers call when something isn’t right, is a critical touchpoint between providers and the health plan. After working through typical lean value stream mapping and analysis, the work quickly branched out into other areas within the health plan, including the medical services, claims and provider onboarding departments.

In addition, IEHP had moved from a paper-based to an electronic provider onboarding process, which created its own unexpected inefficiencies, including major backlogs and delays. IEHP hadn’t built in metrics to follow through on the new system, and the backlog continued to increase. As an organizational tool, the Simpler team introduced a visual management system to help track provider credentialing.

“Even small changes can make a big difference in efficiency and how departments can manage their workflow,” says Karen Hansberger, MD, Chief Medical Officer at IEHP.

 Paper medical records
Team of professionals collaborating around a conference table

IEHP even upgraded its core system. Anticipating challenges with adoption, the provider call center team implemented a simple flag system where employees could indicate that they needed supervisory help or intervention to get immediate assistance with issues that may hinder workflow and jeopardize servicing the provider in a timely manner.

The health plan also undertook several initiatives in member services. In one, Simpler and IEHP discovered that some members’ eligibility information did not display correctly when members had recently changed providers, causing dissatisfaction from both members and providers. This issue often resulted in a three- to four-hour wait for members to be seen by their provider, while IEHP updated the provider web portal. In some cases, members were even turned away by their providers.

By empowering the right people in the organization to resolve this issue, members can now be seen by a doctor within minutes. Another area identified for improvement was interpreter services. The plan provides interpreters for many languages, but it was taking an inordinate amount of time to identify the interpreter and connect them with the member. By introducing lean principles to the process, IEHP shortened the timeframe to identify, assign and deliver interpreters when needed.

In terms of improving employee engagement in the provider services area, IEHP leadership credits the commitment of the Simpler coaches and Senseis (consultants) to their work of transforming IEHP.

“I’m grateful for the Simpler coaches,” says Dr. Hansberger. “Applying their tools and concepts have allowed me to ask better questions and really think through my decisions.”

Two coworkers working on a tablet
Team of professionals laughing and talking together
Our Simpler consultants helped us get started, but the real magic began when the leaders within our organization owned the lean process.
Karen Hansberger, MD
Chief Medical Officer, Inland Empire Health Plan
Lean 2.0
Our Simpler consultants helped us get started, but the real magic began when the leaders within our organization owned the lean process.
Karen Hansberger, MD
Chief Medical Officer, Inland Empire Health Plan

Because IEHP has seen success with its lean transformation, the IEHP executive team chose to expand upon its lean journey. Four years into working with Simpler, IEHP sought further assistance from the Simpler Consulting team to expand its lean processes — this time into the clinical side of its business. IEHP leadership refers to this expansion as “lean 2.0.”

“We are constantly looking to see how we can continue to change and grow,” says Dr. Hansberger. “It’s important to look at all of our processes and ask ourselves how everything we are doing is impacting our members and our providers across the continuum of care and not just focusing on what’s happening within our departments.”

While the first implementation of IEHP’s lean journey was focused on fixing processes and breaking down silos, the 2.0 version focused on really diving into lean and learning how to truly create an enterprise-wide lean company, while also focusing more attention on clinical operations such as readmissions and medication management.

IEHP contracts with 40 hospitals and over 6,000 providers in the Inland Empire region. The sheer size of the health plan and the region it serves is unique, posing obvious problems. But to meet the needs of members and providers, the IEHP executive team focused on what could be done internally — inside IEHP — and externally — inside hospital walls — to make a difference.

“We would see providers struggling and we learned how we could help them,” says McNaughton. “So, we actually began placing case managers in some of our hospitals for real-time connection to our members who were hospitalized.”

This small change resulted in great impact with the provider community, and IEHP became a “better community and patient partner” according to McNaughton.

“It’s a beautiful thing to see our clinical teams beginning to think outside the box on how they can continue to fix processes,” says Dr. Hansberger. “They’re learning to connect, to communicate and to evaluate situations from a different point of view.”

“That, to me, is the most important part of this transformation,” she adds. “This is not about a process transformation. It’s about a people transformation.”

Two medical professionals talking together
Coworkers socializing
It’s embedding a new culture and making culture the building blocks — the literal cornerstone — of everything you do. And that is what the team at Simpler has helped us do.
Jarrod McNaughton
Chief Executive Officer, Inland Empire Health Plan
Process transformation yields system-wide results
It’s embedding a new culture and making culture the building blocks — the literal cornerstone — of everything you do. And that is what the team at Simpler has helped us do.
Jarrod McNaughton
Chief Executive Officer, Inland Empire Health Plan

The lean transformation of IEHP, guided by healthcare management subject matter experts (SMEs) at Simpler, has had a far-reaching impact in provider services, member services, clinical services and on employee engagement throughout the organization.

IEHP leaders and team members have embraced the idea of constant change to make things better for its members and providers. Employees feel more empowered, and are now owning individual lean processes.

In addition to meeting IEHP’s initial goal of fixing broken and inefficient processes, the organization has accomplished so much more.

“Lean has helped us improve our processes, which has led to higher member and provider satisfaction scores,” says McNaughton. “This is very important to us because, for the most part, our community is made up of our members. By positively affecting our members, ultimately this contributes to the larger community in some way.”

The following are just a few of the most significant examples of measurable improvement resulting from new lean management practices throughout the organization:

• Provider satisfaction scores are now in the 99th percentile in the country.
• Authorization approval turnaround times have gone from weeks to hours in some cases.
• Readmission rates have dropped from 16% to 15%.
• IEHP has experienced a more than 50% improvement in employee engagement in the provider credentialing department in just two years.
• The critical provider credentialing process in provider services that used to take 194 days, or over six months, now takes 20 days, or less than three weeks — a 90% time decrease.
• IEHP has significantly improved first-call resolution in the member services area, from 65% to 81%. This is also reflected in a higher level of member satisfaction: 97% in 2017.

And, finally, cost savings abound across the organization. For example, IEHP now saves USD 41 million annually.

While the results have been tremendous for IEHP, it’s the future that is most exciting for its leadership team.

“The results are great,” says McNaughton. “But the real piece of the puzzle that I think the Simpler team has helped us to be reminded of is that for change to not only take place and be sustainable, it’s not necessarily about the numbers, it’s truly about the culture.”

He continues: “You have to be intentional about the lean journey. It’s not just an initiative, it’s not just part of your plan. It’s embedding a new culture and making culture the building blocks — the literal cornerstone — of everything you do. And that is what the team at Simpler has helped us do. You have to be it, live it and truly believe what you’re doing.”

IEHP will continue to hardwire the lean system instilled by Simpler in a way that can help sustain improvement results. But, lending true to its mission, IEHP will work to leverage lean efforts in the community to help providers and hospitals, and become a lean resource for community partners.

IEHP logo

About Inland Empire Health Plan

IEHPExternal Link is one of the top 10 largest Medicaid health plans and the largest not-for-profit Medicare-Medicaid plan in the country. With a network of more than 6,000 providers and more than 2,000 employees, IEHP serves more than 1.3 million residents in Riverside and San Bernardino counties who are enrolled in Medicaid or Cal MediConnect Plan (Medicare-Medicaid Plan).

About Simpler Consulting, an IBM Company

Simpler is part of IBM® Watson Health®. For nearly 30 years, the Simpler team has worked with clients to collaborate, coach and enable them to achieve rapid improvement across financial and nonfinancial performance indicators. Simpler’s value lies in its ability to work with clients to develop a business system and implement systematic improvements that facilitate long-term performance and sustainable growth.

About Watson Health

Watson Health is a data, analytics and technology partner for the health industry. Supported by the innovation of IBM and intelligence of IBM Watson®, we are committed to helping build smarter health ecosystems. Through the combination of our deep industry expertise in health, data and analytics, actionable insights, and reputation for security and trust, Watson Health is working together with its clients and partners to help them achieve simpler processes, better care insights, faster breakthroughs and improved experiences for people around the world. Learn more at ibm.com/watson-health.

Solution component
IEHP logo

About Inland Empire Health Plan

IEHPExternal Link is one of the top 10 largest Medicaid health plans and the largest not-for-profit Medicare-Medicaid plan in the country. With a network of more than 6,000 providers and more than 2,000 employees, IEHP serves more than 1.3 million residents in Riverside and San Bernardino counties who are enrolled in Medicaid or Cal MediConnect Plan (Medicare-Medicaid Plan).

About Simpler Consulting, an IBM Company

Simpler is part of IBM® Watson Health®. For nearly 30 years, the Simpler team has worked with clients to collaborate, coach and enable them to achieve rapid improvement across financial and nonfinancial performance indicators. Simpler’s value lies in its ability to work with clients to develop a business system and implement systematic improvements that facilitate long-term performance and sustainable growth.

About Watson Health

Watson Health is a data, analytics and technology partner for the health industry. Supported by the innovation of IBM and intelligence of IBM Watson®, we are committed to helping build smarter health ecosystems. Through the combination of our deep industry expertise in health, data and analytics, actionable insights, and reputation for security and trust, Watson Health is working together with its clients and partners to help them achieve simpler processes, better care insights, faster breakthroughs and improved experiences for people around the world. Learn more at ibm.com/watson-health.

Solution component