推动创新,同时尽量减少对环境的影响
IBM Hursley 如何在碳中和之旅中实施自动化
估算您所节省的金额 开始免费试用

自 1950 年代以来,IBM 在英国汉普郡拥有的基于云的数据中心 IBM Hursley 一直是研究、开发和创新领域的佼佼者。IBM Hursley 一直是计算史上几种关键产品的发源地;例如,首次为计算机带来了语音和颜色

如今,IBM Hursley 团队还专注于企业可持续性。在格拉斯哥举行的联合国气候变化会议 (COP26) 后,IBM 的目标是到 2030 年实现温室气体净零排放。IBM Hursley 团队通过碳中和设施、遵循绿色操作程序和部署智能自动化,在实现碳中和的过程中采取了多面方法。例如,IBM Hursley 团队计划利用地下水库来支持冷却操作,并与 IBM 合作伙伴合作,使数据中心可以在一段时间内脱离电网。

作为碳中和之旅的一部分,Hursley 使用 IBM® Turbonomic® 混合云成本优化解决方案,确保 4,500 个物理系统的性能并节约用电。

系统优化

 

在 Turbonomic 的帮助下,已优化 6000 个虚拟系统

大量用户

 

依赖 IBM Hursley 数据中心的人员包括 11000 名开发人员

IBM Turbonomic 几乎是第六感。该解决方案可支持全面了解环境及其运行情况,根本不会破坏弹性,而是评估、建议和提高性能。 Colin Holyoake Colin Holyoake Certified Datacenter Design and Sustainability Manager IBM Hursley
部署 IBM Turbonomic

IBM Hursley 的 Colin Holyoake 和 Graham Eames 于 2021 年 11 月首次实施了 IBM Turbonomic。安装后短短几个小时内,团队的 Turbonomic 实例中就开始出现 6,000 个虚拟系统。该团队最终对应用程序(虚拟机/容器),甚至相关存储器的整个数据中心应用程序集具备独特的了解。在 Hursley 环境中 x86 虚拟化之外的其他实体中,Turbonomic 监控 IBM FlashSystem 以及在 IBM z15 上运行的 Red Hat OpenShift。

“IBM Turbonomic 几乎是第六感。”IBM Hursley 认证数据中心设计和可持续性经理 Holyoake 解释道,“该解决方案可支持全面了解环境及其运行情况,根本不会破坏弹性,而是评估、建议和提高性能。”

借助 Turbonomic,IBM Hursley 团队能够快速识别整个物理数据中心逻辑环境的相互依赖性,并重新分配资源以确保性能。例如,在安装 Turbonomic 后的 24 小时内,团队标识了关键的性能风险和调整大小的机会。他们观察到,在其中一个托管集群中,包含 60 个核心和 2 TB RAM 的每个节点都经历过多的 CPU 就绪状态,并对开发操作产生负面影响。根据 Turbonomic 的资源建议,IBM Hursley 团队随后标识了环境中其他位置较少使用的资源,这些资源可重新分配以降低这种性能风险,并且他们立即实施了这些建议。

这种全栈可见性的一个重要组成部分是 IBM Turbonomic 提供的集成范围。例如,IBM Hursley 团队实施了 Instana® 集成以及 Red Hat® OpenShift® 集成。在该集群上具有关键性能风险的工作负载中,很大一部分是基于 Red Hat OpenShift 的工作负载。在堆栈的这一级别部署 Turbonomic 可以更深入地了解这些工作负载,并帮助团队快速解决性能问题。这种级别的能见度还可以帮助团队通过自动化操作调整 OpenShift 内的工作负载大小,并在持续的基础上更好地平衡性能需求与其可用资源。

IBM Turbonomic 有助于确保充分利用和优化基础架构,以便同时确保性能并最大限度地降低财务和环境成本。 Colin Holyoake Colin Holyoake Certified Datacenter Design and Sustainability Manager IBM Hursley
IBM Turbonomic 如何管理成本和环境影响

由于 Turbonomic 可帮助团队标识在 IBM Hursley 数据中心重新平衡资源的机会,因此团队现在可以在不牺牲性能的前提下,更好地利用现有基础架构。这种最大化利用率的能力具有财务和环境效益,因为这种能力可以帮助团队减少未来的资本支出 (Capex) 需求。通过扩展现有基础架构的使用,IBM Hursley 团队避免了在新硬件上不必要的支出以及为其供电和冷却的运营费用。通过减少供电和冷却不必要的基础架构所需的电力,这种持续的性能优化型整合还可减少 IBM Hursley 的碳足迹。

“这样想,”Holyoake 建议道,“当您在办公室时,您会让汽车发动机停止运转,以防万一。那么,如果您可以使用硬件资源,为什么还要允许闲置呢?IBM Turbonomic 有助于确保充分利用和优化基础架构,以便同时确保性能并最大限度地降低财务和环境成本。”

IBM Hursley 团队还依靠 Turbonomic 来规划增长。他们利用 IBM Turbonomic 的全栈可见性,在实施变更之前评估向集群中添加或移除资源产生的影响。这种在执行操作之前检查不同资源决策的能力已帮助团队优化其资本支出计划。借助 Turbonomic,Holyoake 及其团队获得了制定精确增长计划所需的数据,并规划出硬件更换的确切数量和规格,最大限度地减少浪费。

展望未来,IBM Hursley 团队计划在整个环境中扩展 Turbonomic 自动化资源操作的使用情况以及 Turbonomic 的集成。他们将继续探索依靠 AI 支持的自动化处理来减少浪费并加速实现碳中和的新方法。

自 20 世纪 50 年代以来,IBM Hursley 一直是技术行业及其他领域重大创新和持久变革的发源地。如今我们经历着气候变化,Hursley 团队将继承探索和创新的传统,采取一切可能的行动来支持 IBM 到 2030 年实现温室气体净零排放的目标。自动化已经并将继续成为这一旅程的重要组成部分。

IBM 徽标
关于 IBM Hursley

IBM Hursley 是 IBM 旗下的占地 27,000 平方英尺的旗舰云数据中心,位于英国汉普郡。该数据中心于 1977 年启动,支持 4,500 个物理系统,采用一系列技术,包括两个私有开发者云和 6,000 个基于 VMware 的系统,实现了 87% 的虚拟化进程。内含 11 台主机,支持约 11,000 名开发人员。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看 PDF 查看更多案例 J.B. Hunt Transport, Inc.

《财富 500 强》交通行业领导者安全地从一个云平台迁移到另一个云平台

阅读成功案例
Carhartt

一家知名品牌实现了创纪录的节假日销售额

阅读成功案例
普罗维登斯

加速云采用,提升医疗保健服务

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Instana 和 Turbonomic 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark 上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

Red Hat®、JBoss®、OpenShift®、Fedora®、Hibernate®、Ansible®、CloudForms®、RHCA®、RHCE®、RHCSA®、Ceph® 和 Gluster® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Driving innovation while minimizing environmental impact

How IBM Hursley implements automation in its journey to carbon neutrality

by Elizabeth Sheehan
4-minute read

Since the 1950s, IBM Hursley, a cloud-based data center owned by IBM and located in Hampshire, England, has been a leader in research, development and innovation. It has been the birthplace of several key products in the history of computing; for example, it brought speech and color to computers for the very first time.

Today, the team at IBM Hursley is also focused on corporate sustainability. Following the UN Climate Change Conference in Glasgow (COP26), IBM’s goal is to achieve net zero greenhouse gas emissions by the year 2030. The IBM Hursley team is taking a multi-facetted approach in this journey to carbon neutrality by carbon-neutralizing facilities, following green operating procedures and deploying intelligent automation. For example, the IBM Hursley team plans to utilize an underground reservoir to support cooling and is working with IBM partners to take the data center off grid for periods of time.

And as part of its journey to carbon neutrality, Hursley uses the IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management solution to assure performance and conserve power use across 4,500 physical systems.

The IBM Hursley Data Center

With the help of Turbonomic, optimized

6,000

virtual systems

Those who rely on IBM Hursley’s data center include

11,000

developers

IBM Turbonomic is almost like a sixth sense. It gives you a full visibility of your environment and how it’s running. It doesn’t compromise the resiliency at all. It assesses, advises, and improves performance.
Colin Holyoake
Certified Datacenter Design and Sustainability Manager, IBM Hursley

Deploying IBM Turbonomic

Hursley Data Center Team assessing performance

Colin Holyoake and Graham Eames at IBM Hursley first implemented IBM Turbonomic in November of 2021. Within just a couple of hours of the installation, 6,000 virtual systems started to appear in the team’s instance of Turbonomic. The team finally had a singular view into their full data center application stack from the application (virtual machine/container) all the way through to the associated storage.

“IBM Turbonomic is almost like a sixth sense,” explains Holyoake, Certified Datacenter Design and Sustainability Manager at IBM Hursley. “It gives you a full visibility of your entire environment and how it’s running. It doesn’t compromise the resiliency at all. It assesses, advises, and improves performance.”

With Turbonomic, the IBM Hursley team has the ability to quickly identify inter-dependencies of the logical environment throughout the physical data center and reallocate resources to assure performance. Within 24 hours of installing Turbonomic, for example, the team identified a critical performance risk and resizing opportunity. They observed that in one of their hosting clusters each node containing 60 cores and 2 TB RAM was experiencing excessive CPU ready states and was negatively impacting development operations. Using Turbonomic’s resourcing recommendations, the IBM Hursley team then identified lightly used resources elsewhere in their environment which could be reallocated to reduce this performance risk and they implemented those recommendations right away.

An important component of this full-stack visibility is the range of integrations IBM Turbonomic offers. For example, the IBM Hursley team implemented the Instana® integration as well as the Red Hat® OpenShift® integration. A large percentage of the workloads on that cluster with critical performance risks consisted of Red Hat OpenShift-based workloads. Deploying Turbonomic at this level of the stack provided much deeper visibility of those workloads and helped the team quickly resolve the performance issue. This level of visibility has also helped the team tune the workload sizings within OpenShift via automation and better balance performance demands with their available resources on an ongoing basis.

IBM Turbonomic can help you make sure you are fully utilizing and optimizing your infrastructure to simultaneously assure performance and minimize cost, both financially and environmentally.
Colin Holyoake
Certified Datacenter Design and Sustainability Manager, IBM Hursley

How IBM Turbonomic manages cost and environmental impact

Because Turbonomic helps the team identify opportunities to rebalance resources across the IBM Hursley data center, the team is now better equipped to maximize their utilization of their existing infrastructure without sacrificing performance. This ability to maximize utilization has financial and environmental benefits as it helps the team reduce future capital expenditure (Capex) demands. By extending the use of their existing infrastructure, the IBM Hursley team avoids unnecessary expenditures on new hardware as well as the operational expense to power and cool it. This continuous performance-optimized consolidation also reduces IBM Hursley’s carbon footprint by reducing the electricity required to both power and cool unnecessary infrastructure.

“Think of it this way,” Holyoake advises. “You don't leave your car engine running while you’re in the office just in case you need it. So why are you allowing your hardware resources to sit unused when you could instead make use of them? IBM Turbonomic can help you make sure you are fully utilizing and optimizing your infrastructure to simultaneously assure performance and minimize cost, both financially and environmentally.”

The IBM Hursley team also relies on Turbonomic to plan for growth. They use IBM Turbonomic’s full-stack visibility to assess the impact of adding or removing resources into clusters before they implement those changes. This ability to examine different resourcing decisions before acting on them has already helped the team optimize their Capex plans. With Turbonomic, Holyoake and his team have the data they need to develop precise growth plans and map out the exact quantity and specification of hardware replacements so that they minimize waste.

As they look ahead, the IBM Hursley team plans to expand their usage of Turbonomic’s automated resourcing actions across their environment as well as Turbonomic’s integrations. They will continue to explore new ways they can rely on AI-powered automation to reduce waste and accelerate their journey to carbon neutrality.

Since the 1950s, IBM Hursley has been the birthplace of meaningful innovation and lasting change within the technology industry and beyond. In this era of climate change, the Hursley team will carry on that legacy of exploration and innovation by taking any action they can to support IBM’s goal of achieving net zero greenhouse gas emissions by the year 2030. Automation has been and will continue to be an important part of that journey.

IBM logo
About IBM Hursley

IBM Hursley is a 27,000 square-foot flagship cloud data center owned by IBM and located in Hampshire, England. Launched in 1977, this data center supports 4,500 physical systems. It is 87% virtualized with a range of technologies including two private developer clouds and 6,000 VMware based systems. It includes 11 mainframes, and it supports approximately 11,000 developers.

Solution component
IBM logo
About IBM Hursley

IBM Hursley is a 27,000 square-foot flagship cloud data center owned by IBM and located in Hampshire, England. Launched in 1977, this data center supports 4,500 physical systems. It is 87% virtualized with a range of technologies including two private developer clouds and 6,000 VMware based systems. It includes 11 mainframes, and it supports approximately 11,000 developers.

Solution component