换种方式闪耀
GIA 与 IBM 携手为钻石行业带来变革

20 世纪 30 年代,美国宝石学院 (GIA) 推出了第一台高质量的珠宝放大镜。该放大镜体积小,可单手握持,能将宝石放大 10 倍,使珠宝商和宝石学家能够检查宝石的颜色和净度。放大镜彻底改变了宝石学,至今仍在广泛使用。

探索和创新的精神一直是 GIA 的动力,因此,该组织将人工智能 (AI) 作为优化钻石分级流程的理想方法也就不足为奇了。GIA 首席运营官 Pritesh Patel 解释说: “多年来,我们将许多不同的仪器引入这个行业,而且我们很早以前就解决了切工、克拉重量和颜色的问题。清晰度是最后一个前沿,而 AI 是征服它的关键。”

高容量

 

4 GIA 每年分析的钻石达百万颗

AI 的广泛应用

 

预计使用 AI 解决方案分析的钻石占所有钻石的 70%-80%

多年来,我们将许多不同的仪器引入这个行业,我们很早以前就解决了自动化切割、克拉重量和颜色的问题。清晰度是最后一个前沿,而 AI 是征服它的关键。” Pritesh Patel 首席运营官 美国宝石研究院

考虑到这一点,Patel 带着以下愿景与 IBM Research® 接洽:Patel 相信,凭借合适的技能和技术,可以利用云端 AI 的力量对钻石的净度进行分级。

IBM Research 对此表示同意,于是两个组织开始建立战略合作伙伴关系: GIA 提供专业图像以及由其钻石专家检验的数千万颗钻石的数据;IBM 提供 AI 功能和计算能力。这种合作的结果是 GIA 采用基于云的 AI 方法进行钻石分级。

重新思考流程

评估钻石的净度是一个复杂的过程。宝石学家使用放大镜、显微镜或图像,仔细检查每颗钻石的内含物,即隐藏在钻石结构中的微小特征。内含物可能是微小的内部斑点,也可能是从表面渗透到宝石内部的裂纹。

完美无瑕的钻石(即没有任何内含物的钻石)极为罕见。在全球经 GIA 评级的钻石中,只有不到一半的钻石属于这一类。绝大多数钻石都有一种或多种内含物,这些内含物组合在一起,使每颗钻石都独一无二。

在 IBM Research 成功开发出概念验证 (POC),证明 AI 确实可以帮助实现钻石分级流程自动化之后,IBM 全球云加速团队 (GCAT) 介入并将该项目推进到下一阶段。GCAT 团队与 GIA Engineering DevOps 团队合作,将解决方案从 POC 引导到具有独立开发、测试、生产和灾难恢复集群的生产就绪环境。

如今,该解决方案已进入测试阶段,即将全面投入使用。GIA 鉴定所将每颗钻石的专业图像上传到 IBM Cloud® 上的 IBM Cloudant® 数据库。该系统的中间件层由 IBM Cloud Kubernetes Services 集群组成。Patel 说:“我们决定使用 IBM Kubernetes Services,因为它为我们提供了处理大量数据的灵活性和计算能力。”

GIA 的集群由 3 个 NVIDIA K80 GPU 组成,每个 GPU 在无服务器架构中拥有 1 个共享虚拟节点和 1 个裸机节点。NVIDIA GPU 能够快速处理高分辨率图像,有助于加快整个流程,因此非常适合 GIA 的需求。它们还能缩短验证 AI 算法所需的时间。

新的解决方案使用两种自定义算法模型对每颗钻石进行分析。自动绘图 AI 模型可以直观地显示钻石的内含物,而分级模型则可以评估钻石的整体等级。然后,这些信息会通过 iPad 应用程序发送给 GIA 的宝石鉴定师,他们可以对自动绘图进行评估,并在必要时做出修改。这些变化随后会反馈到系统中,以重新评估等级,并可用于重新训练 AI 模型,以提高准确性。

保护流程

GIA 保护消费者的使命是其创新理念背后的驱动力。但 GIA 对该项目的另一个目标是:实现最高级别的数据安全,以保护钻石分级的完整性。钻石是一种高价值商品,保护分级过程至关重要。 IBM Cloud App ID  有助于确保通过高级安全功能(包括多重身份验证、单点登录和用户定义的密码策略)完成钻石图像的上传和处理。

“数据从我们的办公场所到云端的传输非常安全,”Patel 说。 “在云中工作的算法需要像可口可乐的配方一样受到保护。我们在架构中构建的所有内容都是为了确保整个端到端流程的安全性和完整性。”

这些图像使用  IBM Cloud Object Storage 进行存储,这是一种经济高效的存储解决方案,可满足 GIA 对可扩展性和可访问性的所有要求。IBM Cloud Object Storage 还提供内置加密和策略启用、可锁定、一次写入多次读取 (WORM) 存储功能。

在整个合作过程中, IBM 战略嵌入式合作伙伴关系  (ESA) 团队一直致力于发展两家公司之间互惠互利的战略合作伙伴关系。ESA 团队不仅从业务角度提供连续性和支持;还帮助建立了作为此类合作伙伴关系基石的法律和商业结构。

辉煌的未来

GIA 每年对数百万颗钻石进行分级。Patel 预计新解决方案可以处理其中 70–80% 的评估,主要集中在提交的较小尺寸钻石上,从而使人工分级人员能够专注于更复杂的情况,因为人工评估对确定等级至关重要。

但要达到这一点还需要时间。目前,GIA 正在其 11 个实验室中的 2 个使用该解决方案,在团队完善算法的同时,并行执行 AI 和人工评估。最终,在 GCAT 团队的持续支持下,GIA 打算在其所有实验室中采用新解决方案。

虽然该解决方案仍处于早期阶段,但 Patel 已经看到了它的几个主要好处。他说,首先是效率问题。“随着我们将每颗钻石所经历的许多步骤自动化,我们将大大缩短客户的周转时间。”

该解决方案还将提高准确性和可重复性。尽管人类钻石分级师经过严格指导的培训课程,但他们的工作还是在身体感官的限制范围内。当两个分级师查看同一颗钻石时,他们的评价可能会有很小的差异。借助 AI,这些细微的差异几乎可以消除,有助于确保钻石在进入市场时得到准确的估价。

GIA 将其声誉寄托在新解决方案的完整性和准确性上。正如 20 世纪 30 年代在钻石分级过程中引入珠宝商放大镜改变了整个行业一样,该项目也将把分级过程的精确度提升到一个全新的水平。

“IBM 拥有 AI 和云计算方面的专业知识,能够真正将整个项目整合在一起,”Patel 说。 “这就是 GIA 选择在这一特定领域与 IBM 合作的原因:我们都是各自领域的领导者,必须与 IBM 合作,以确保 GIA 在这一非常重要的战略举措中取得最佳成果。”

了解更多信息 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部) ,GIA 首席营销官 Mark Buntz 采访了 GIA 首席运营官 Pritesh Patel,了解与 IBM 的前沿合作如何使消费者、分级师和行业受益。

所有图片和视频 © GIA

美国宝石学院标志
关于美国宝石学院

美国宝石学院(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1931 年,是一家致力于研究和评估珍贵宝石和珍珠的非营利机构。除了提供世界一流的分析和分级服务外,GIA 还培养有抱负的宝石学家,被认为是宝石学研究领域的世界领导者。GIA 总部位于加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德,拥有 2500 名宝石学家。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM 阿布扎比国家石油公司

提高岩石分析的准确性、一致性和速度

阅读成功案例
IBM 博客

关于 Kubernetes 的 8 个提示和技巧

阅读博客
IBM 博客

Kubernetes 效应:启动团队转型

阅读博客
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 标志、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Cloudant 以及 IBM Research 是国际商业机器公司在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在  ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网站上找到。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

A new way to sparkle

GIA and IBM team up to revolutionize the diamond industry
by Leah Valentine
5-minute read

The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) introduced the first high-quality jeweler’s loupe in the 1930s. Small enough to be held in one hand, the loupe magnifies stones 10x, allowing jewelers and gemologists to inspect them for color and clarity. The loupe revolutionized gemology, and it is still widely used today.

A spirit of discovery and innovation continues to drive GIA, so it’s no surprise that the organization embraced the idea of artificial intelligence (AI) as an ideal way to optimize the diamond grading process. Pritesh Patel, Chief Operating Officer at GIA, explains: “We’ve brought a lot of different instruments into this industry over the years, and we solved the problems of cut, carat weight and color a long time ago. Clarity was the last frontier, and AI was the key to conquering it.”

Diamonds analyzed by GIA per year

4

million

Stones expected to be analyzed using the AI-based solution

70% - 80%

of all diamonds

With that in mind, Patel approached IBM Research® with a vision: with the right skills and technology, Patel believed it was possible to harness the power of AI on the cloud to grade the clarity of diamonds.

IBM Research agreed, and the two organizations began developing a strategic partnership: GIA provides the specialized imagery along with data from tens of millions of diamonds examined by its diamond experts; IBM provides the AI capabilities and the computing power. The result of that partnership is GIA’s cloud-based AI approach to diamond grading.

We’ve brought a lot of different instruments into this industry over the years, and we solved the problem of automating cut, carat weight and color a long time ago. Clarity was the last frontier, and AI was the key to conquering it.
Pritesh Patel
Chief Operating Officer, Gemological Institute of America
GIA modern diamond loupe

Rethinking the process

Evaluating the clarity of a diamond is a complex process. Using a loupe, a microscope or an image, gemologists meticulously examine each diamond for inclusions – tiny characteristics trapped in the stone’s structure. Inclusions can be miniscule internal spots or cracks penetrating into the stone from the surface.

Flawless diamonds – those without any inclusions – are exceedingly rare. Less than half a percent of all diamonds graded by GIA in the world fall into this category. The vast majority of diamonds have one or more inclusions that, taken together, make each stone unique.

After IBM Research developed a successful proof of concept (POC) showing that AI can indeed help automate the diamond grading process, the IBM Global Cloud Acceleration Team (GCAT) stepped in and shepherded the project along to the next stage. The GCAT team partnered with the GIA Engineering DevOps team to guide the solution from the POC into a production-ready environment with separate development, testing, production and disaster recovery clusters.

Original GIA diamond loupe
Side-by-side images of a diamond and the AI rendering of the same diamond

Today, the solution is well into its testing phase and on the way to full production. GIA labs upload specialized images of each diamond to an IBM Cloudant® database housed on the IBM Cloud®. The system’s middleware layer is made of an IBM Cloud Kubernetes Services cluster. Says Patel, “we decided to use IBM Kubernetes Services because it gives us the flexibility and the computing powers to process a very high volume of data.”

GIA’s cluster is composed of three NVIDIA K80 GPUs, each of which has one shared virtual node and one bare metal node in a serverless architecture. NVIDIA GPUs are uniquely suited to GIA’s needs because of their ability to process high-resolution imagery quickly, helping speed up the entire process. They can also reduce the time required to validate AI algorithms.

The new solution analyzes each diamond using two custom algorithmic models. The autoplot AI model creates a visual representation of the diamond’s inclusions, and the grading model assesses the diamond’s overall grade. This information is then sent to GIA’s gemologists on an iPad application, where they can evaluate the autoplot and, if necessary, make changes. Those changes are then fed back into the system to re-evaluate the grade and can be used to retrain the AI model to improve accuracy.

Protecting the process

GIA’s mission to protect consumers is the driving force behind the idea for their innovation. But GIA had another goal for the project: to achieve the highest levels of data security to protect the integrity of diamond grading. Diamonds are a high-value commodity, and protecting the grading process was of paramount importance. IBM Cloud App ID helps ensure that uploading and processing the diamond images are done with advanced security capabilities, including multifactor authentication, single sign-on and user-defined password policies.

“The transmission of the data from our premises to the cloud is very secure,” says Patel. “The algorithm that does the work in the cloud needs to be protected like the formula for Coca-Cola. Everything that we have built in our architecture is designed to ensure the security and integrity of the entire end-to-end process.”

Close up of flawed diamond
Diamnond being held with a pair of tweezers

The images are stored using IBM Cloud Object Storage, a cost-effective storage solution that meets all of GIA’s requirements for scalability and accessibility. IBM Cloud Object Storage also offers built-in encryption and policy-enabled, lockable, write once read many (WORM) storage.

Throughout the engagement, the IBM Strategic Embedded Partnerships (ESA) team has been on hand to develop a mutually beneficial strategic partnership between the two companies. Not only does the ESA team provide continuity and support from a business perspective; it also helped establish the legal and business structure that serves as the bedrock for this type of partnership.

A brilliant future

GIA grades millions of diamonds per year. Patel expects the new solution to handle 70 - 80% of those evaluations, primarily focused on the smaller sizes of diamonds submitted, allowing human graders to focus on the more complicated cases where a human evaluation is critical to determining the grade.

Man inspecting a diamond

But getting to that point will take time. Right now, GIA is using the solution in 2 of its 11 labs, performing AI and human evaluations in parallel as the team refines the algorithms. Eventually, thanks to continued support from the GCAT team, GIA intends to make the new solution available in all of its labs.

Although the solution is still in its early stages, Patel can see several major benefits on the horizon. The first, he says, is efficiency. “As we automate the many steps that each diamond goes through, we will significantly improve turnaround time for our customers.”

The solution will also bolster both accuracy and repeatability. Even though human diamond graders go through a training course of rigorous instruction, they work within the limits of their physical senses. When two graders look at the same diamond, their evaluations might differ in some very small way. With AI, those slight differences will be virtually eliminated, helping to ensure that diamonds are valued accurately when they reach the marketplace.

GIA is staking its reputation on the integrity and accuracy of the new solution. Just as introducing the jeweler’s loupe into the diamond grading process transformed the industry in the 1930s, this project will introduce a whole new level of precision to the process.

“IBM has the expertise in AI and cloud computing to really bring this whole project together,” says Patel. “That’s why GIA chose to work with IBM in this particular space: we are both leaders in our respective fields and it was imperative to collaborate with IBM to ensure the best possible results on this very important strategic initiative for GIA.”

Learn moreExternal Link as GIA CMO Mark Buntz interviews GIA COO Pritesh Patel on how this cutting-edge collaboration with IBM benefits consumers, graders, and the industry.

All images and video © GIA

Gemological Institute of America logo

About the Gemological Institute of America

Founded in 1931, the Gemological Institute of AmericaExternal Link is a non-profit institute dedicated to the study and evaluation of precious gems and pearls. In addition to providing world-class analysis and grading, GIA educates aspiring gemologists and is considered a world leader in gemological research. GIA is based in Carlsbad, California, and employs 2,500 gemologists.

Solution components
Gemological Institute of America logo

About the Gemological Institute of America

Founded in 1931, the Gemological Institute of AmericaExternal Link is a non-profit institute dedicated to the study and evaluation of precious gems and pearls. In addition to providing world-class analysis and grading, GIA educates aspiring gemologists and is considered a world leader in gemological research. GIA is based in Carlsbad, California, and employs 2,500 gemologists.

Solution components