全球编程马拉松以可持续发展为目标
EY 的开发人员携手改变现实世界
两个人在忙着分配社区物资

Mayank Pandey 在孩提时代随父母从印度农村搬到了澳大利亚的城市,但他的父母决心毫不动摇地坚持深深地扎根于他们生活理念当中的价值观。他回忆道,最具代表性的或许是与自然生态保持平衡的重要性。

“我的父母非常重视回收利用、堆肥和其他绿色实践,这对我的成长产生了巨大的影响,”他说道。“同样的理念扎根于我的内心,随着时间的推移只会历久弥深。”

如今,Pandey 在墨尔本的 EY Oceania 担任高级技术顾问,他的团队负责帮助 EY 客户解决业务问题,他认为这项活动既具有挑战性,又能带来实质性的回报。当他听说 EY 和 IBM 共同赞助了另一种类型的挑战赛,也就是致力于解决全球可持续发展问题的编程马拉松时,他突然灵机一动。“作为一名开发人员,我设想过我了解的技术与我关心的事业之间的联系,”Pandey 解释道。“我认为这是一个能够改变现状并从体验中学到一些东西的好机会。”

在短短几周内,Pandey 与来自世界各地的四名开发团队成员利用他们的业余时间构建了一个基于云的解决方案,该解决方案利用 AI 向消费者展示他们在日常生活中使用的产品的碳排放。被他们命名为 No More Ripe Bananas 的这款解决方案是 1200 多名 EY 员工提交的 24 份参赛作品之一,并入围了决赛名单。

全球可持续发展

 

来自世界各地的 1200 名 EY 开发人员开发的可持续发展应用程序参赛作品

训练有素的专业人员

 

参与者们自愿在 4 周内接受了 23,000 小时的产品特定培训

要激励人们体验新技术,最佳方法之一是针对他们最关切的问题,为他们提供千载难逢的试用机会。 Brad Artigue 全球负责人 IBM TechHub@EY

EY 与 IBM 建立了强大的联盟,共同促成了此次编程马拉松挑战赛的诞生。这一联盟本质上以紧密的协作为纽带,并重点专注于可持续发展以及以 ESG 为导向的其他举措。在 EY 内部,编程马拉松背后的推动力是遍布全球的开发人员支持团队,称为 IBM TechHub@EY。作为长期联盟的一部分,IBM 与 EY 创建了 IBM TechHub@EY,以使世界各地的 EY 开发人员能够更轻松地访问 IBM 的开放式混合云平台、AI 产品以及其他的变革性技术。工具和技能支持是这一联盟的核心使命。

培养技能和解决问题

IBM TechHub@EY 的全球负责人 Brad Artigue 认为,事实证明,Call for Code 全球可持续发展挑战赛(编程马拉松的正式名称)能够极其有效地解决所有公司长期以来面临的一个挑战:为员工们提供培养技能集的机会。“要激励人们体验新技术,最佳方法之一是针对他们最关切的问题,为他们提供千载难逢的试用机会,”Artigue 解释道。“我们见证了 Call for Code 活动取得的巨大成功,因为它释放了人们解决问题的本能,同时为他们提供了强大的工具和培训以共同构建解决方案,并通过 IBM 混合云平台面向全世界提供这些解决方案。”

最终,EY 参与者们自愿在 4 周内接受了 23,000 小时的产品特定培训,并且同样是在他们的业余时间内完成的,这一事实证明可持续发展是一个强大的激励因素。而在另一个难以衡量的维度,该项目还取得了超出预期的结果,那就是全球团队建设。

EY 刻意让参与者们从全球的开发人员网络中随意寻找人选并组建自己的团队。在实践层面,这种方法有助于促进员工之间的全球协作文化。但它也充分利用了一个强大的理念,那就是要解决气候变化和环境可持续发展等全球化问题,需要进行跨国界的创新和团队合作。

团队的所有成员都分享了各自的本土经验和情况,以帮助定义解决方案的用途和信息的呈现方式。事实上,正是因为我们能够集思广议,才使该解决方案变得更好。 Anthony Wong 数据分析顾问 EY

以新西兰奥克兰的 EY 数据分析顾问 Anthony Wong 为例,他将这项挑战赛视为一次有助于更多地了解可持续发展问题的实践机会。在公司食堂与同事们共进午餐时,Wong 不仅惊讶地发现食物被丢弃,还看到垃圾桶里塞满了塑料杯盘。“让我不解的是,我真的不知道这样会造成什么样的后果,也不清楚我们的食物消费习惯是否构成了一个全球性问题,”他说道。“这正是我参加此次挑战赛的原因。”

他的项目团队成员来自新西兰、澳大利亚和菲律宾,他们发现彼此有很多共同点,比如在疫情期间都依赖外卖食品,并且普遍厌恶不必要的包装。但更重要的是,他们都决心设计注重最终用户体验的解决方案。“我们不想开发一些花里胡哨但却无法发挥应有影响力的东西,”Wong 解释道。

Wong 表示,团队成员们的多元化背景恰好可以在这方面发挥重要的作用。“团队的所有成员都分享了各自的本土经验和情况,以帮助定义解决方案的用途和信息的呈现方式。”他解释道。“事实上,正是因为我们能够集思广议,才使该解决方案变得更好。”他们的团队将该解决方案命名为 Sussit,最终成为了此次编程马拉松的获胜者。

Sussit 利用众包数据和基于云的 AI 模型,针对餐厅从食物来源到可堆肥食品包装的使用情况的各项实践,执行整体可持续发展评级。通过帮助消费者“发现”(suss 一词的本义)餐厅的实践方法与他们个人的可持续发展优先事项的契合程度,Sussit 应用程序能够帮助消费者将他们的价值观付诸行动。

在我们看来,Call for Code 挑战赛的成功很好地诠释了全球团队如何全力以赴地解决可持续发展这样的全球性难题。 Steve Varley 可持续发展全球副总裁 EY
创新平台

正如项目结束后的讨论所揭示的那样,同样的本能 – 出于对环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 事业的个人兴趣而有所作为 – 也是编程马拉松参与者们的一个主要激励因素。但这绝不是他们的唯一动机。在内心深处,大多数开发人员都渴望进行创造和试验。为此,IBM TechHub@EY 的核心功能之一是为开发人员提供一个平台,以使他们能够访问多种 IBM 工具和技术,包括他们在日常工作中通常无法获得的工具和技术。

为了进一步支持这种对新技术的沉浸式体验,IBM TechHub@EY 还使参与者们能够在需要时获得技术援助和以研讨会形式提供的培训。通过将技术、工具和培训相结合,EY 希望创造一个能够孕育创新的温床。

很少有解决方案像 Project Net Zero 那样淋漓尽致地展现了这一精神,该解决方案同样入围了编程马拉松的决赛名单。该解决方案由来自印度南部的两名 EY 创新工程师开发,旨在通过一个用来对照参考的记分卡深入了解公司的碳减排工作。该解决方案的独到之处在于,它采用一种全面、复杂的方法验证和激励各个公司的可持续发展活动。

希望获得环保资质的公司首先需要在该应用程序中提交实证信息,也就是证据。采集这些信息之后,Project Net Zero 将利用机器学习 (ML) 模型验证这些信息,并在此过程中分配所谓的碳减排指数 (CRI) 值。根据这一计算,该应用程序随后发行被称为 ZeroCarb Coins 的加密代币,并将它们记录在 IBM 区块链分类账中。该应用程序的开发人员之一 Nandu Krishna 表示,这种双轨方法“可以帮助各个公司确定需要在哪些方面进行投资,以改进他们的可持续发展实践,同时积累‘环保’资金以支持这些投资。”

以可持续发展为主题的此次编程马拉松是 EY 做出的一个正确决定,完全符合该企业的座右铭“让世界变得更美好”所倡导的更广泛的社会价值观。不过,此举还有更深的意义。该公司的 ESG 愿景的基石是,他们坚信,尽管可持续发展可能是一个责任问题,但对于 EY 及其客户来说,它也是一个巨大的机遇。

EY 在 2020 年决定设立可持续发展全球副总裁一职,此举不仅开创了四大会计师事务所的先河,还充分体现了他们的这一承诺。在这一岗位任职期间,Steve Varley 帮助 EY 客户从可持续发展中创造商业价值,同时为该公司的整体环境可持续发展战略保驾护航。对 Varley 来说,编程马拉松挑战赛代表了一种协作创新,这对于释放可持续发展的价值至关重要。“可持续发展的关键推动力是商业价值,无论是提高能源效率、重新审视供应链还是重塑商业模式,”Varley 说道。“在我们看来,Call for Code 挑战赛的成功很好地诠释了全球团队如何全力以赴地解决可持续发展这样的全球性难题。”

Ernst & Young Global Limited (EY) 徽标
关于 Ernst & Young Global Limited (EY)

EY(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于伦敦,运营着世界上最大的专业服务网络之一。作为四大会计师事务所之一,EY 致力于为客户提供鉴证、税务、咨询和顾问服务。截至 2021 年年底,该公司的全球收入高达 400 亿美元,拥有 312,250 名员工。

接下来:
查看更多案例研究 EY 与 IBM 联手扩张全球联盟,以帮助各个组织加速数字化转型 EY 和 IBM 新闻 采取行动保护我们的海洋 威尔逊中心成功案例 利用机器学习拯救海洋 PlasticNet 成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

A global hackathon takes aim at sustainability

EY’s developers team up to make a real-world difference
by Dave Fawcett
5-minute read
Two individuals working on their community allotment together

When Mayank Pandey moved from rural India to a more urban setting in Australia as a child, his parents were determined to hold onto the deeply held values that had grounded their lives. Perhaps most pervasive, he recalls, was the importance of maintaining a balance with nature.

“The fact that my parents were so dedicated to recycling, composting, and other green practices had a huge impact on me growing up,” he says. “That same mindset took root in me and has only grown with time.”

Today, as a Senior Technology Consultant at EY Oceania in Melbourne, Pandey is part of a development team that helps EY clients solve their business problems — an activity he considers both challenging and intrinsically rewarding. When he heard about a different kind of a challenge, a hackathon sponsored by EY and IBM focused on addressing global sustainability issues, something clicked. “As a developer, I envisioned links between the technology I know and a cause that I care about,” Pandey explains. “I saw it as a great opportunity to make a difference, and to learn something from the experience.”

In a matter of weeks — and working on their own time — Pandey and his four developer teammates from around the world built a cloud-based solution that uses AI to show consumers the carbon impact of the products they use in their everyday lives. The solution, which they call No More Ripe Bananas, was one of 24 submissions from over 1,200 EY employees that took up the challenge, and was selected as a finalist.

Family in silhouette at sunset while walking between the wind turbines.

Generated sustainability app submissions from

1,200

EY developers from around the world

Participants voluntarily completed

23,000

hours of product-specific training over 4 weeks

One of the best ways to motivate people to experiment with new technologies is to present opportunities they wouldn’t normally have, around issues they care deeply about.
Brad Artigue
Global Leader, IBM TechHub@EY

The backdrop of the hackathon challenge is EY’s strong alliance with IBM, which is both highly collaborative in nature and intensely focused on sustainability and other ESG-oriented initiatives. Within EY, the driving force behind the hackathon is a globally distributed developer support team known as the IBM TechHub@EY. As part of their longstanding alliance, IBM and EY created the IBM TechHub@EY to make it easier for EY developers around the world to access IBM’s open hybrid cloud platform, AI offerings and other transformative technologies. Tools and skills enablement are central to its mission.

Woman holding reusable cotton zero waste bag with text No More Plastic.
Portrait of Woman Farmer With Digital Tablet While Working at Corn Field.
All members of the team brought in their own local experiences and situations to define what the solution did and how information was presented. The fact that we were able to incorporate so many different perspectives made it a better solution.
Anthony Wong
Data Analytics Consultant, EY
Building skills and solving problems
All members of the team brought in their own local experiences and situations to define what the solution did and how information was presented. The fact that we were able to incorporate so many different perspectives made it a better solution.
Anthony Wong
Data Analytics Consultant, EY

To Brad Artigue, the IBM TechHub@EY Global Leader, the Call for Code Global Sustainability Challenge — the hackathon’s official name — proved particularly effective at addressing a perennial challenge for all companies: giving employees the chance to build their skill sets. “One of the best ways to motivate people to experiment with new technologies is to present opportunities they wouldn’t normally have, around issues they care deeply about,” Artigue explains. “We see the Call for Code as a big success because it unleashed their problem-solving instincts, while providing them with powerful tools and training to collaboratively build solutions, and the IBM Hybrid Cloud platform to make them available anywhere in the world.”

Ultimately, the fact that EY participants voluntarily completed 23,000 hours of product-specific training over four weeks — again, all on their own time — stands as a testament to the power of sustainability as a motivating factor. But there’s also another, harder-to-measure dimension of the project where the outcome exceeded expectations: call it global team building.

By design, EY gave participants the freedom to seek out and form their own teams from its global network of developers. On a practical level, this approach served to promote a culture of global collaboration among employees. But it also tapped into the powerful notion that solving “borderless” problems — like climate change and environmental sustainability — requires innovation and teamwork that transcend borders.

Take the case of Anthony Wong, an EY data analytics consultant in Auckland, New Zealand, who saw the challenge as a hands-on opportunity to learn more about sustainability issues. Eating lunch with coworkers in the company cafeteria, Wong was struck by not only the food that was discarded, but also the plastic plates and cups that overflowed their bins. “It troubled me that I didn’t really know where it was all going, and the idea that our food consumption habits were contributing to a global problem,” he says. “And that’s exactly why I joined this challenge.”

His project team — hailing from New Zealand, Australia and the Philippines — found they had a lot in common, like a shared reliance on takeout food during the pandemic and a general revulsion at its unnecessary packaging. More importantly, though, they shared a common determination to design their solution with a laser focus on the end user experience. “We didn’t want to fall into the trap of developing something ‘gee wiz’ that wasn’t as impactful as it could be,” Wong explains.

That, says Wong, was where the diversity of the team members’ backgrounds proved valuable. “All members of the team brought in their own local experiences and situations to define what the solution did and how information was presented,” he explains. “The fact that we were able to incorporate so many different perspectives made it a better solution.” Known as Sussit, their team’s solution was declared the hackathon’s winner.

Sussit uses crowd-sourced data and cloud-based AI models to rate eateries on the overall sustainability of their practices, ranging from where they source their food to the use of compostable packaging. By helping consumers figure out — or “suss” — how well various eatery options align with their personal sustainability priorities, the Sussit app empowers consumers to put their values into action.

We see the success of the Call for Code Challenge as a great example of how global teams are best equipped to solve global challenges like sustainability.
Steve Varley
Global Vice Chair of Sustainability, EY
A platform for innovation

As post-project discussions revealed, the same instinct — acting on a personal interest in environmental, social and governance (ESG) causes — was also a major motivating factor for the hackathon’s participants. But certainly not the only one. At the core of most developers’ identities is an urge to create and experiment. To that end, one of the core functions of the IBM TechHub@EY is to provide developers with a platform to access a broad range of IBM tools and technologies, including those they wouldn’t ordinarily encounter in the course of their “day job.”

To further support this immersion in new technologies, IBM TechHub@EY also provided participants with access to technical assistance and workshop-based training when they needed it. It was through this combination of technology, tools and training that EY sought to create a fertile ground for innovation.

Few solutions exemplified this spirit in action like Project Net Zero, another hackathon finalist. Developed by a pair of EY innovation engineers from southern India, the solution is designed to provide a kind of X-ray view into a company’s carbon-reducing efforts, with a scorecard to match. What sets the solution apart is the comprehensive and sophisticated approach it takes to both validate and incentivize each company’s sustainability activities.

Companies seeking to establish their green credentials begin by submitting empirical information — the evidence — into the app. Once ingested, Project Net Zero uses machine learning (ML) models to both verify the information and, in the process, assign what it calls a carbon reduction index (CRI) value. On the basis of that calculation, the app then issues crypto tokens called ZeroCarb Coins that are recorded on an IBM blockchain ledger. According to Nandu Krishna, one of the app’s developers, this two-track approach “helps companies identify where they need to invest to improve their sustainability practices, while also providing a way to generate ‘green’ capital to support these investments.”

EY’s decision to run a sustainability-themed hackathon is entirely consistent with the broader societal values espoused in its corporate motto: “Building a better working world.” But it goes further. Underlying the company’s ESG vision is the deeply held conviction that while sustainability may be a matter of responsibility, it’s also a huge source of opportunity — for EY and for its customers.

One strong indicator of this commitment was EY’s 2020 decision to create the role of Global Vice Chair of Sustainability — a first amongst the Big Four. In that role, Steve Varley helps EY clients create business value from sustainability, while also leading the company’s overall environmental sustainability strategy. To Varley, the hackathon challenge represents the kind of collaborative innovation that’s critical to unlocking the value of sustainability. “The key impetus for sustainability is business value, whether it’s improving energy efficiency, rethinking supply chains or reinventing business models,” says Varley. “We see the success of the Call for Code Challenge as a great example of how global teams are best equipped to solve global challenges like sustainability.”

Ernst & Young Global Limited (EY) logo
About Ernst & Young Global Limited (EY)

Based in London, EYExternal Link operates one of the largest professional services networks in the world. One of the Big Four accounting firms, EY provides assurance, tax, consulting and advisory services to its clients. With global revenues of USD 40 billion, the company had 312,250 employees as of year-end 2021.

Solution component
Ernst & Young Global Limited (EY) logo
About Ernst & Young Global Limited (EY)

Based in London, EYExternal Link operates one of the largest professional services networks in the world. One of the Big Four accounting firms, EY provides assurance, tax, consulting and advisory services to its clients. With global revenues of USD 40 billion, the company had 312,250 employees as of year-end 2021.

Solution component