打造电动汽车充电共享经济
Eljun 使用 IBM Cloud Code Engine 将电动汽车车主与充电站所有者紧密联系在一起
电动汽车充电

瑞典的电动汽车行业即将迎来一场巨变。该国的首都斯德哥尔摩最近宣布在 2030 年之前淘汰化石燃料汽车,该国最知名的汽车制造商 Volvo 承诺在同一时期内实现全电动化。

毫无疑问,这些举措将对气候产生深远的影响。不过,Eljun 首席技术官 (CTO) Tore Stenbock 有着更实际的考虑:“电动汽车的支持基础设施的增长速度落后于电动汽车行业本身。每 10 辆登记在案的电动汽车应该配备至少一个充电站,这样才能在不降低便利性和舒适性的情况下保证电动汽车能够正常移动。”

他继续说道:“目前,瑞典每辆车大约有 0.05 个充电站,而且这个数字正在缩减。根据欧盟委员会的规定,最低健康值应不低于 0.1。而且,我们甚至尚未真正开启电动汽车市场的指数级增长。除非我们采取措施修复这个问题,否则增长就会在某个时候中断。”

在瑞典 Startup with IBM® Accelerator 团队和 IBM Cloud® Code Engine 解决方案的帮助下,Stenbock 和 Eljun 团队希望能够实现这一目标。

充电站数量


瑞典目前拥有 14,000 个电动汽车充电站

扩展


到 2030 年,瑞典预计将拥有 300,000 个电动汽车充电站

我们之所以选择 IBM Cloud,是因为 IBM 采用了很多开源工具。这样不仅帮助我们避免将自己与特定的本土解决方案牢牢绑定,还使我们能够轻松将所有 Kubernetes 集群移植到 IBM。 Tore Stenbock 首席技术官 Eljun
开源方法

Eljun 在 2020 年 4 月首次了解了瑞典的 Startup with IBM Accelerator 计划。在此之前,该公司一直专注于开发功能,并向潜在的合作伙伴和投资者展示自己的解决方案。Eljun 的愿景是建立一个网络,以互惠互利的方式在电动汽车车主与充电站所有者之间牵线搭桥。使用该解决方案,汽车车主可以找到方便的充电站,充电站所有者可以在充电站闲置时赚钱。

Eljun 使用 Kubernetes 集群开发了该解决方案的关键功能,因此当需要迁移到云环境时,Eljun 也在寻求一家采用开源技术的提供商。“我们之所以选择 IBM Cloud,是因为 IBM 采用了很多开源工具。”Stenbock 表示,“这样不仅帮助我们避免将自己与特定的本土解决方案牢牢绑定,还使我们能够轻松将所有 Kubernetes 集群移植到 IBM。”

将该解决方案迁移到 IBM 云端之后,Eljun 开始研究不同的托管服务平台。Eljun 具有独特的服务管理需求,因为信息以某种特定的方式流动。“我们的大部分处理都是在有人寻找充电器或者开始或结束充电时进行的,”Stenbock 说道。“我们需要一个工具,以便能够灵活地利用资源。”

Stenbock 很快认识到,这意味着 Eljun 的解决方案最适合无服务器环境。当负责与他对接的 Startup with IBM Accelerator 联系人推荐 IBM Cloud Code Engine 时,Stenbock 很快就做出了决定。“我们在一次 IBM Think 活动中发现了一个用例,随后,我们立即决定迁移到 IBM Cloud Code Engine,因为从技术角度来看,它只是一些在后端运行的 Kubernetes 集群。这对我们来说是水到渠成的事,只需对应用程序进行一些改动。”

现如今,Eljun 正在 IBM 平台上运行 10 多种不同的微服务。“IBM Cloud Code Engine 负责管理所有的扩展和缩减以及流量进出,这意味着我只需设计架构并让它自行进行管理,”Stenbock 表示。

如今,该架构由三个不同的门户组成。第一个门户是一个面向用户的移动应用程序,它使用户能够提前定位和预订充电站。第二个门户是一个开发者门户,它提供了一个受密码保护的位置,合作伙伴可以在这里执行查看项目、获取 API 密钥、访问令牌、添加充电站等操作。最后一个门户是运营门户,充当 Eljun 内部管理活动(例如创建俱乐部和连接用户)的中心。

我们在一次 IBM Think 活动中发现了一个用例,随后,我们立即决定迁移到 IBM Cloud Code Engine,因为从技术角度来看,它只是一些在后端运行的 Kubernetes 集群。这对我们来说是水到渠成的事,只需对应用程序进行一些改动。 Tore Stenbock 首席技术官 Eljun
更清洁、更互联的未来

Eljun 展望瑞典及其他地区更加可持续的未来,而 Stenbock 将 IBM Code Engine 视为推动其组织走向成功的因素之一。他表示:“首先,我们在 IBM Cloud Code Engine 上花费的每一分钱都为我们的客户带来了价值,我们的财务经理对此非常欣慰。”

“除此之外,IBM Cloud Code Engine 在快速测试方面为我提供帮助,而不必启动一个全新的 Kubernetes 集群来进行测试。我们只要有一个 Code Engine 环境,需要测试时,就可以根据需要提取资源。这确实简化了主动开发流程。”他表示。

Eljun 也是 IBM Event Streams 技术的一个测试版用户。Eljun 平台可以处理很多不同类型的事件,有些事情必须立即处理,而其他的事情(例如基础设施更新)可以异步处理。因此,在过去的几年里,Eljun 处理事件流的方式发生了很大的变化。现如今,该公司已经在 Kafka 上实现了标准化。“作为一项 Kafka 服务,IBM Event Streams 还可以轻松绑定到 IBM Cloud Code Engine,这样就使这一过程变得非常顺利,”Stenbock 说道。

最终,Eljun 希望将 IBM Watson® 技术添加到自己的产品中,并利用预测性分析执行一些操作,例如根据天气情况提供建议或者预测加油站何时需要维护。“我们希望我们的客户能够发现这款解决方案确实有效,并为此而感到欣慰。他们是这一愿景的一部分,他们在为社区做出贡献,他们在通过充电站赚取被动收入,而且他们不必担心任何事情。这款解决方案做到了这一点。”

他总结道:“在几年内,我们会将瑞典的公共充电站从大约 14,000 个增加到大约 30 万个。如果每个私有充电站都能连接到某种形式的共享经济中,我们就能解决基础设施问题。这比人们想象的要容易得多。”

Eljun 徽标
关于 Eljun

Eljun外部链接(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 2020 年,总部位于瑞典的斯德哥尔摩,该公司相信,不断进步、可持续的变革的关键在于共同行动。为此,该公司正在开发一款解决方案,以便在电动汽车车主与充电站所有者之间牵线搭桥。对汽车车主来说,使用该解决方案可以更加轻松地找到充电站。对充电站所有者来说,它提供了赚取被动收入的机会。

采取下一步行动
让绿色环保变得更容易 Rebase Energy 不错过连接 BOGESTRA 让数字通信变得人性化 2Mee
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 12 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Building an electric vehicle charging sharing economy

Eljun uses IBM Cloud Code Engine to connect electric vehicle owners to charging station owners
by Leah Valentine
5-minute read
Electric car charging

Sweden is on the verge of an electric car revolution. The country’s capital city, Stockholm, recently announced its intention to become free of fossil-fueled cars by 2030, and the country’s best-known automaker, Volvo, has pledged to become fully electric within the same timeframe.

Without a doubt, these initiatives will have a profound impact on the climate. But Tore Stenbock, Chief Technology Officer (CTO) of Eljun, has much more practical considerations on his mind: “The support infrastructure for electric vehicles is not growing as quickly as the electric vehicle industry itself. There should be at least one charging station per 10 registered electric vehicles for a normal flow to happen without having to reduce convenience and comfort.”

He continues: “Right now, Sweden has about 0.05 charging stations per car, and that number is shrinking. The minimum healthy value is no less than 0.1, according to the European Commission. And we haven’t even really started the exponential growth of the electric vehicle market. It’s going to break at some point unless we do something to fix it.”

With help from the Startup with IBM® Accelerator team in Sweden and the IBM Cloud® Code Engine solution, Stenbock and the team at Eljun hope to do just that.

Electric car charging

Sweden currently has

14,000

electric vehicle charging stations

By 2030, Sweden expects to have

300,000

electric vehicle charging stations

We chose IBM Cloud because IBM has adopted a number of open-source tools. Not only did that help us avoid locking ourselves into a particular homegrown solution, but it also made it very easy to port all of our Kubernetes clusters over to IBM.
Tore Stenbock
Chief Technology Officer, Eljun
Electric car in solar power station
We saw a use case at an IBM Think event, and right away we decided to migrate over to IBM Cloud Code Engine because it’s technically just Kubernetes clusters running at the back end. It was a natural move for us that required just a few changes to the application.
Tore Stenbock
Chief Technology Officer, Eljun
An open-source approach
We saw a use case at an IBM Think event, and right away we decided to migrate over to IBM Cloud Code Engine because it’s technically just Kubernetes clusters running at the back end. It was a natural move for us that required just a few changes to the application.
Tore Stenbock
Chief Technology Officer, Eljun

Eljun first learned about Sweden’s Startup with IBM Accelerator program in April 2020. Until then, the company’s focus had been on developing features and demonstrating its solution to potential partners and investors. Eljun’s vision is to build a network that connects electric vehicle owners to electric charging station owners in a mutually beneficial manner. Vehicle owners can use the solution to locate convenient charging stations, while charging station owners can use it to earn money in the hours when their stations are not otherwise in use.

Eljun developed the solution’s key features using Kubernetes clusters, so when it came time to move to a cloud environment, Eljun sought a provider that embraced open-source technology, too. “We chose IBM Cloud because IBM has adopted a number of open-source tools,” says Stenbock. “Not only did that help us avoid locking ourselves into a particular homegrown solution, but it also made it very easy to port all of our Kubernetes clusters over to IBM.”

After moving the solution to the IBM cloud, Eljun began looking at different managed service platforms. Eljun’s service management needs are unique because information flows in a somewhat ad hoc fashion. “The majority of our processing is when someone seeks a charger or when the charging begins or ends,” says Stenbock. “We needed something that would be flexible in terms of resource utilization.”

That, Stenbock soon learned, meant Eljun’s solution was best suited to a serverless environment. When his contact at the Startup with IBM Accelerator suggested IBM Cloud Code Engine, it didn’t take long for Stenbock to make his decision. “We saw a use case at an IBM Think event, and right away we decided to migrate over to IBM Cloud Code Engine because it’s technically just Kubernetes clusters running at the back end. It was a natural move for us that required just a few changes to the application.”

Today, Eljun is running more than 10 different microservices on the IBM platform. “Having IBM Cloud Code Engine manage all of the scaling up and down and in and out means I can just design the architecture and let it manage itself,” says Stenbock.

Today, that architecture consists of three distinct portals. The first is a mobile app for the user, which allows users to locate and book charging stations in advance. The second is a developer portal, which provides a password-protected place where partners can look at projects, get API keys, access tokens, add charging stations and more. Finally, the operations portal acts as the hub for Eljun’s internal management activities like creating clubs and connecting users.

A cleaner, more connected future

As Eljun looks toward a more sustainable future in Sweden and beyond, Stenbock counts IBM Code Engine among the things that are propelling his organization toward success. “First of all,” he says, “everything we spend on IBM Cloud Code Engine delivers value to our customers, which makes our financial manager very happy.”

“Beyond that, IBM Cloud Code Engine has helped me in terms of testing things really quickly — I don’t have to spin up an entire new Kubernetes cluster for testing things. We just have a Code Engine environment, and when we need to test something, we can just draw resources as needed. That’s really streamlined active development,” he says.

Eljun is also a beta user for IBM Event Streams technology. The Eljun platform handles many different types of events — some things must be handled immediately, while others, like infrastructure updates, can be handled asynchronously. As a result, the way Eljun handles event streaming has evolved quite a bit over the years. Today, the company is standardized on Kafka. “IBM Event Streams being Kafka and also easily binded into IBM Cloud Code Engine makes this smooth,” says Stenbock.

Eventually, Eljun hopes to add IBM Watson® technology to its offering, too, using predictive analytics to do things like make suggestions based on weather or predict when a fueling station may need maintenance. “We want our customers to have the comfort of knowing that this solution just works. They’re a part of it, they’re contributing to the community, they’re making passive income on their charging stations, and they don’t have to worry about anything. It just works.”

He concludes: “We’re going to go from about 14,000 publicly available charging stations in Sweden to about 300,000 within a very short number of years. If every single privately owned charging station could connect to some sort of sharing economy, we’d solve the infrastructure problem. It’s a lot easier than people realize.”

Eljun logo
About Eljun

Founded in 2020 and based in Stockholm, Sweden, EljunExternal Link believes that the key to progressive and sustainable change is doing it together. To that end, the company is developing a solution that will connect electric vehicle owners with charging station owners. For vehicle owners, the solution will make it easier to find charging stations. For station owners, it will offer opportunities to make passive income.

Solution components
Eljun logo
About Eljun

Founded in 2020 and based in Stockholm, Sweden, EljunExternal Link believes that the key to progressive and sustainable change is doing it together. To that end, the company is developing a solution that will connect electric vehicle owners with charging station owners. For vehicle owners, the solution will make it easier to find charging stations. For station owners, it will offer opportunities to make passive income.

Solution components