EL AL
通过近乎实时的航班监控,确保乘客安全和航班运营具有成本效益
联合品牌图像

每个航班都需要精心的规划和准备,飞机升空后,操作员必须不断监控其位置和状态。为了帮助飞行调度员引导飞行员和乘客安全抵达目的地,EL AL 利用来自 IBM® 旗下 The Weather Company® 的 WSI® Fusion 增强其航班规划能力。

业务挑战

为了遵守新规定并帮助乘客安全准时地抵达目的地,EL AL 必须能够全天候跟踪其 46 架飞机并快速做出反应,以避免天气危害、运营限制和安全威胁。

变革

EL AL 部署了 The Weather Company 提供的多功能航班跟踪解决方案 WSI® Fusion,以简化航班规划流程,从而提高安全性并简化运营效率。

结果 推动
飞行调度员对危险的意识,帮助飞行员安全导航
撤消锁定
通过规划更明智的路线和避免恶劣天气,节约燃油效率
启用
持续跟踪飞行中的飞机,支持新的监管要求
业务挑战案例
高效航班规划

为了将乘客准时运送到目的地,国际航空公司必须精心规划其运营的每个航班。如果飞机偏离预定航线、延误或取消,航空公司可能会承担巨额成本,因此高效、自适应的航班规划对于运营效率以及乘客安全和便利至关重要。

以色列国家航空公司 EL AL 被国际航空运输协会 (IATA) 认可为世界上最高效的航空公司之一,致力于确保每架航班准时起飞并安全抵达目的地。

EL AL Operation Control Center (OCC) 首席调度员 Alon Lavi 解释道:“我们的机队规模相对较小,共有 46 架飞机,但我们运营着横跨北美、欧洲、亚洲、非洲和中东的一系列短途到长途航班,这是我们这个规模的航空公司很少能比拟的。为实现这一目标,我们需要保持极高的效率,因此每个航班准时起飞和抵达至关重要。”

无论起飞前的航班规划多么详细,飞机升空后,恶劣的天气条件、ATC 限制或对机场安全的威胁都可能突然出现,这需要飞行员和飞行调度员共同努力,快速响应,并就飞行路径的变更和备用机场做出正确的决定。

EL AL OCC 值班经理 Michael Werner 表示:“我们的飞行调度员过去依赖基于文本的天气报告,这使得我们很难清晰地了解新兴天气系统,也很难找到避免的最佳方式。实时跟踪我们每个航班与天气事件相关的当前位置和状态同样很麻烦,而且几乎无法实现。”

在接下来的几个月中,所有航空公司都必须准备好遵守新的全球航班跟踪法规,该法规要求他们在某些区域每十五分钟捕获一次每个航班的位置和状态数据。如果航空公司未能跟踪其一架飞机,监管处罚可能会很严重。

Alon Lavi 表示:“航班跟踪的新要求不仅仅是监管合规问题,也是 EL AL 提高控制航班运营和效率的机会。”

WSI Fusion 不仅是行业领先的天气监测解决方案,它还是完整的航班跟踪解决方案,我们依靠其帮助我们高效运营、避免恶劣天气并确保乘客安全。 Alon Lavi Chief Dispatcher EL AL
变革案例
获得更清晰的视野

为了满足新的航班跟踪要求,EL AL 决定扩展 WSI Fusion (PDF) 的使用,这是 The Weather Company 提供的一项解决方案,使 EL AL 的 Operation Control Centers 的飞行调度员和管理人员能够近乎实时地了解所有飞机的当前位置和飞行路线,并结合全球实时天气数据进行综合考虑。

“我们使用 The Weather Company 的天气跟踪解决方案已有一段时间,我们知道该软件的可靠性值得信赖。”Alon Lavi 解释道,“WSI Fusion 将天气数据、飞机位置数据和机场信息以及其他类型的关键运营数据集成在一张易于阅读的地图中,使我们的飞行调度员能够获得提高态势感知。”

EL AL 的航班调度员 Tal Dillon 表示赞同:“如果我回想起我们使用 WSI Fusion 之前的情况,就会觉得我们几乎是盲人摸象。该解决方案使我们调度员的生活变得更加轻松。所有内容都在一个屏幕上,因此我们无需在系统之间切换即可获取所需信息。”

目前,EL AL 使用 WSI Fusion 以支持其调度员为从起飞到降落的每个航班制定和管理航班规划。该航空公司还将其新型 Boeing 787 机队的自动位置报告功能直接集成到 WSI Fusion 中,目前也正在致力于集成其 Boeing 777。这将有助于满足航班跟踪法规的主要技术要求。

OCC 开发和项目经理 Yamit Hahn 评论道:“部署航班跟踪解决方案涉及大量程序变更以及复杂的技术配置。在整个实施过程中,我们得到了美国 The Weather Company 团队的大力支持,他们通常可以在一个工作日内解决我们的问题。”

借助 WSI Fusion……我们收获了减少储备并优化航班规划中燃油使用的信心。我们的飞机现在可以携带更少的燃料,飞行更轻,既节省成本,又有利于环境。 Yamit Hahn Development and Project Manager EL AL
案例成果
保持航班平稳运行

借助 WSI Fusion 作为其 Operational Control Center 的核心,EL AL 的飞行调度员可以制定非常详细的航班规划,并近乎实时地适应空中或地面的变化。

Michael Werner 评论道:“由于他们所需的所有数据均可轻松方便地显示在 WSI Fusion 地图上,因此我们的飞行调度员可以更加灵活地响应不断变化的天气条件并调整航班规划。例如,在规划从特拉维夫飞往罗马的一趟航班时,我们注意到罗马机场将受到暴风雨天气的袭击,这意味着机场将无法为飞机加油。因此,我们的飞机可能会在罗马停飞,无法完成返回特拉维夫的旅程。

“为了降低返程航班取消的风险,我们在特拉维夫为飞机装载了额外的燃油,这样即使雷暴天气无法加油,飞机也能够从罗马返程。因此,我们能够避免因取消而产生的巨额费用。”

WSI Fusion 不仅使飞行调度员能够制定更明智的决策和更灵活的航班规划,还帮助 EL AL 实现燃油效率节约。

Yamit Hahn 评论道:“通过 WSI Fusion 加深了解实际飞行中的风险和天气条件的影响,我们收获了减少储备并优化航班规划中燃油使用的信心。我们的飞机现在可以携带更少的燃料,飞行更轻,既节省成本,又有利于环境。”

EL AL 将 WSI Fusion 与其余 Boeing 777 飞机上的自动位置报告工具集成后,该航空公司将拥有一种更强大且更具成本效益的方式来跟踪每架飞机的位置,从而促进监管合规性并提高乘客安全。

Alon Lavi 总结道:“WSI Fusion 不仅是行业领先的天气监测解决方案,它还是完整的航班跟踪解决方案,我们依靠其帮助我们高效运营、避免恶劣天气并确保乘客安全。”

关于 EL AL

EL AL(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)与以色列一起诞生于 1948 年,该公司不仅是这个新兴国家与世界之间的空中桥梁,也是国家存在和自豪感的表达,装饰在飞机尾部的以色列国旗出现在世界各地。如今,EL AL 的乘客遍布全球,并被 IATA 评为世界上效率最高的航空公司之一。

采取下一步行动

The Weather Company 是 IBM 旗下企业,帮助人们在面对天气时做出明智的决策并采取行动。该公司通过 Weather 的 API、其业务解决方案部门和 The Weather Channel (weather.com) 和 Weather Underground (wunderground.com) 的自有数字产品,为数百万消费者、营销人员和企业提供个性化且可操作的天气数据和洞察,在全球范围内提供最准确的天气预报。

该公司每天提供约 250 亿条预测。其产品包括全球下载量最大的天气应用程序、由 250,000 个个人气象站组成的网络、美国排名前 20 的网站、全球最大的 IoT 数据平台之一以及行业领先的业务解决方案。

Weather Means Business™。全球最大的航空、能源、保险、媒体和政府品牌依赖 The Weather Company 提供数据、技术平台和服务,以帮助改善决策并应对天气对业务的影响。

了解更多信息,请访问 ibm.com/weather

法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States。美国出品,2018 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 WSI 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business challenge

To comply with new regulations and help passengers get to their destinations safely and on time, EL AL must be able to track its 46 aircraft 24/7 and react quickly to avoid weather hazards, operational restrictions, and security threats.

Transformation

EL AL deployed WSI® Fusion, a versatile flight tracking solution from The Weather Company to streamline flight planning—boosting safety and streamlining operational efficiency.

Results

Boosts

flight dispatchers’ awareness of hazards, helping pilots navigate safely

Unlocks

fuel efficiency savings by planning smarter routes and avoiding adverse weather

Enables

continuous tracking of aircraft in flight, supporting new regulatory requirements

Business challenge story

Efficient flight planning

To transport passengers to their destination on time, international airlines must meticulously plan each flight that they operate. If a plane deviates from its intended route, or is delayed or cancelled, airlines can incur huge costs—making efficient, adaptive flight planning key to operational efficiency as well as passenger safety and convenience.

Recognized by the International Air Transport Association (IATA) as one of the most efficient airlines in the world, Israel’s national airline EL AL is committed to making sure each flight departs on time and arrives at its destination safely.

Alon Lavi, Chief Dispatcher in the Operation Control Center (OCC) at EL AL, explains: “We have a relatively small fleet of 46 aircraft, but we operate a range of short to long-haul flights across North America, Europe, Asia, Africa and the Middle East that few airlines of our size can match. To make this work, we need to be extremely efficient, so it’s critical for each of our flights to depart and arrive on time.”

No matter how detailed a flight plan may be prior to take off, once an aircraft is airborne, adverse weather conditions, ATC restrictions, or threats to airport security can suddenly arise—requiring pilots and flight dispatchers to work together to react quickly and make the right decisions about flightpath alterations and alternate airports.

Michael Werner, OCC Duty Manager at EL AL, says: “Our flight dispatchers used to rely on text-based weather reports, which made it difficult to build a clear picture of emerging weather systems and how best to avoid them. Tracking the current position and status of each of our flights in relation to weather events was equally cumbersome and near-impossible in real time.”

In the coming months, all airlines must be prepared to comply with new global flight tracking regulations, which require them to capture data on the position and status of each flight every fifteen minutes in certain areas. If an airline fails to track one of its aircraft, the regulatory penalties could be significant.

Alon Lavi says: “The new requirements for flight tracking are not just a matter of regulatory compliance—they are an opportunity for EL AL to gain even greater control of flight operations and efficiency.”

WSI Fusion is more than an industry-leading weather monitoring solution, it’s the complete flight tracking solution that we rely upon to help us run our operations efficiently, avoid hazardous weather and keep our passengers safe.

Alon Lavi, Chief Dispatcher, EL AL

Transformation story

Gaining a clearer view

To meet the new flight tracking requirements, EL AL decided to extend its use of WSI Fusion, a solution from The Weather Company that gives flight dispatchers and managers at EL AL’s Operation Control Centers insight into the current position and flight paths of all aircraft in near real-time, overlaid with live global weather data.

“We have used weather tracking solutions from The Weather Company for some time, and we knew we could trust in the reliability of the software,” explains Alon Lavi. “WSI Fusion integrates weather data, aircraft positional data and airport information, as well as other types of key operational data, in one easy-to-read map—enabling our flight dispatchers to gain greater situational awareness.”

Tal Dillon, Flight Dispatcher at EL AL, agrees: “If I think back to before we used WSI Fusion, it almost feels like we were blind. The solution makes our dispatchers’ lives so much easier. Everything is there on one screen, so we don’t have to switch between systems to get the information we need.”

Currently, EL AL uses WSI Fusion to support its dispatchers in creating and managing flight plans for each of its flights from takeoff to landing. The airline has also integrated the automatic positional reporting features of its new Boeing 787 fleet directly into WSI Fusion, and is currently working on integrating its Boeing 777s too. This will help to meet the major technical requirements of the flight tracking regulation.

Yamit Hahn, Development and Project Manager in the OCC, comments: “Deploying a flight tracking solution involves a significant amount of procedural change as well as complex technical configuration. Throughout the implementation we have received excellent support from The Weather Company team in the US, who can typically resolving our issues within one working day.”

With WSI Fusion… we gained the confidence to reduce reserves and optimize our fuel usage in flight planning. Our aircraft can now carry less fuel and fly lighter, which saves costs and is better for the environment.

Yamit Hahn, Development and Project Manager, EL AL

Results story

Keeping flights running smoothly

With WSI Fusion at the core of its Operational Control Center, EL AL’s flight dispatchers can produce highly detailed flight plans and adapt to changes in the air or on the ground in near real-time.

Michael Werner comments: “Because all the data they need is easily and conveniently displayed on the WSI Fusion map, our flight dispatchers can respond to changing weather conditions and adapt flight plans with much greater agility. For instance, when planning one of our flights from Tel Aviv to Rome, we noticed that the airport in Rome was due to be hit by stormy weather, which meant that the airport would have been unable to refuel the aircraft. As a result, our plane could have been grounded in Rome and unable to complete its return journey to Tel Aviv.

“To mitigate the risk of having to cancel the return flight, we loaded extra fuel into the aircraft at Tel Aviv, so that it would be able to make the return journey from Rome, even if thunderstorms prevented refueling. As a result, we were able to avoid the huge costs of a cancellation.”

Not only does WSI Fusion empower flight dispatchers to make smarter decisions and more flexible flight plans, it also helps EL AL to achieve fuel efficiency savings.

Yamit Hahn comments: “With WSI Fusion providing better awareness of the risks and the impact of weather conditions in actual flight, we gained the confidence to reduce reserves and optimize our fuel usage in flight planning. Our aircraft can now carry less fuel and fly lighter, which saves costs and is better for the environment.”

Once EL AL has integrated WSI Fusion with the automatic positional reporting tools on its remaining Boeing 777 aircraft, the airline will have an even more robust and cost-effective way to track the position of each plane, facilitating regulatory compliance and boosting passenger safety.

Alon Lavi concludes: “WSI Fusion is more than an industry-leading weather monitoring solution, it’s the complete flight tracking solution that we rely upon to help us run our operations efficiently, avoid hazardous weather and keep our passengers safe.”

About EL AL

EL AL was born in 1948 along with the State of Israel, not only as an airborne bridge between the fledgling state and the world, but as an expression of national existence and pride, as the Israeli flag adorning the aircraft's tail appeared in destinations around the world. Today, EL AL flies passengers across the globe and is ranked by the IATA as one of the most efficient airlines in the world.

Solution components

Take the next step

The Weather Company, an IBM Business, helps people make informed decisions and take action in the face of weather. The company offers the most accurate  forecasts globally with personalized and actionable weather data and insights to millions of consumers, as well as thousands of marketers and businesses via Weather’s API, its business solutions division, and its own digital products from The Weather Channel (weather.com) and Weather Underground (wunderground.com).

The company delivers around 25 billion forecasts daily. Its products include the world’s most downloaded weather app, a network of 250,000 personal weather stations, a top-20 U.S. website, one of the world’s largest IoT data platforms, and industry-leading business solutions.

Weather Means Business™. The world’s biggest brands in aviation, energy, insurance, media, and government rely on The Weather Company for data, technology platforms and services to help improve decision-making and respond to weather’s impact on business.

For more, visit business.weather.com.