基于科学的可持续性需要基于现实的报告
通过由 IBM Envizi ESG Suite 提供支持的自动报告,Downer 标准化并集中化处理其 ESG 跟踪工作
探索 IBM Envizi
海岸附近的海中大岩石

如今,各行各业都在谈论可持续性。举例来说,您投身工作的企业已经启动或正在考虑启动一项控制自身碳排放的计划。

如何确定这样的计划会产生影响?您的工作会得到严谨的科学数据的支持吗?还是会受到善意愿望的推动?

Downer Group(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家专门从事交通、公用事业和设施管理的综合服务提供商,该公司考虑到此类问题,同时专注于对迫在眉睫的气候危机产生可信、明显的影响,并且已针对业务运营方式进行了重大变革。

“大约在 2008 年左右,我们才真正开始关注环境的可持续性。”Downer 环境、可持续性和报告集团总经理 Ricky Bridge 回忆道,“我们意识到,如果我们要认真对待我们的影响,就需要确保我们的可持续性战略不是次要焦点。它需要与我们的整体业务策略相结合。”

事实上,在接下来的 15 年里,Downer 彻底改变其开展业务的方式。早在 2008 年,该公司就在采矿业占据了强势地位,大约 50% 的收入来自煤炭开采。但现在,Downer 专注于交通、设施和公用事业领域低资本、低碳的服务行。

随着过渡进程,Downer 开始捕获和跟踪更多数据,尤其是与其温室气体 (GHG) 排放量产生的相关数据。不过,这些跟踪工作在很大程度上依赖于手动数据收集和处理,这占用了人员和资源。“我们曾经说过,我们拥有世界上最大的 Excel 旋转表来管理我们的温室气体排放数据。”Bridge 补充道,“这种程度的努力是不可持续的,我们知道这一点。”

“我们还必须考虑合规问题。”Downer 集团可持续性经理 Nathan Brogden 指出,“澳大利亚有一项监管要求,即《国家温室能源报告法》,该法案旨在指导我们收集并报告相关环境数据。但要从电子表格中汇集正确的信息,不仅笨拙,而且还需要大量操作。”

因此,Downer 在 2017 年部署了一个新平台来跟踪其环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 工作,该产品现在称为 IBM® Envizi ESG Suite

下载此个案研究

集中式仪表板

 

通过集中式仪表板跟踪超过 300 个站点的温室气体排放和总体能源消耗

表现跟踪 

 

跟踪脱碳目标的表现,例如与 2020 年基线相比,到 2023 年运营(范围 1 和 2)温室气体排放量减少 50% 以上

范围 3 就绪

 

能够将现有数据关联到在运营层面从提供脱碳成果的部门手中收集的数据

我们曾经说过,我们拥有世界上最大的 Excel 旋转表来管理我们的温室气体排放数据。这种程度的努力是不可持续的,我们知道这一点。 Ricky Bridge 集团环境总经理 可持续发展与报告,Downer Group
数据驱动方法

随着 IBM Envizi ESG Suite 的应用,Downer 开始制定雄心勃勃的脱碳目标,例如到 2050 年实现净零排放,到 2032 年将其运营温室气体排放量降低到 2020 年使用量的 50% 以下。该业务反过来又依赖于 IBM 解决方案来捕获和管理相应的可持续性数据(能源消耗、废物、产生的温室气体),以推动全球集团实现这些目标。

“借助 Envizi,我们能够设定一个基于科学的目标,并根据该目标实际跟踪我们的表现。”Brogden 指出,“我们经常发现 Downer 内部发生重大的组织变化,现在我们可以在跟踪过程中解释这些转变。我们可以反思实际数据(我们的基线和目标),尽管发生变化,我们仍然可以跟踪减排轨迹并及时了解我们当前的温室气体排放表现。”

借助这种更简化、自动化的报告结构,Downer 还开始加速报告和跟踪工作的频率,转向实时数据库方法。正如 Brogden 解释的那样:“我们能够以更加敏捷的方式设计报告,关联来自不同业务领域的不同数据源并支持更多临时请求。然后,我们可以将这些信息从中央数据仓库传输到整个业务的不同仪表板。”

“计算温室气体排放量实际上非常复杂。”他继续说道,“因为必须考虑一系列外部因素并将其应用到收集到的消费数据中。但 Envizi 可以帮助我们相当轻松地跟踪和衡量我们的碳排放量。我们可以将所有需要的信息编译成可持续性报告,并向市场和任何审计员清楚展示我们的输出,以及支持这些披露的排放核算。”

借助 Envizi,我们能够设定一个基于科学的目标,并根据该目标实际跟踪我们的表现。 Nathan Brogden 集团可持续发展经理 Downer Group
有效运行的可持续性

“气候变化是人类面临的头号最大威胁。”Brogden 指出,“Downer 非常严肃地对待这一威胁,以及我们在预防这一威胁方面所扮演的角色。”事实上,该企业雇佣超过 60 名员工致力于环境工作,其中许多员工就职于 Downer 的各个业务单位和项目站点。

“我们的公司实行去中心化制度。”Brogden 补充说道,“而且我们的每个业务领域都有自己独特的环境和可持续性触点。因此,只要业务单位在财务 KPI 或排放 KPI 方面满足我们更广泛的组织目标,我们就允许他们制定自己的路径。”

这种独立性已经指导 Downer 脱碳计划的实施。在该条件下,该集团提供了贯穿整个业务的关键主题,供每个业务单位确定并追求最符合其唯一业务目标的脱碳策略。为了帮助促进这些本地化举措的创建和实施,Downer 于 2022 年 6 月设立了集团脱碳基金。

“有时,这些减排工作可能需要相对较高的前期成本。”Brogden 解释道,“至少,与传统预算周期中已经分配的资金相比是这样的。因此,他们需要集团层面的干预,以确保组织的脱碳目标保持在正轨,并且该基金能够提供所需的资金。”

为了确定哪些领域最有可能产生显着的减排效果,各个业务单位可以使用 IBM Envizi ESG Suite 来隔离和标识消费趋势。正如 Brogden 指出的那样:“他们可以问问自己:‘是什么推动了我们的排放?从技术角度来看,实际上可以实现什么?我们使用的是什么燃料?有何影响?’”

相反,企业层面的可持续性工作人员可以使用 IBM 技术来评估资金请求,确定哪些计划最有可能帮助推动集团实现长期减排目标。此外,对于那些正在实施的计划,IBM Envizi ESG Suite 提供的实时跟踪转变有助于持续对这些减排工作施加压力,以取得成果。

“可靠的数据意味着组织的其他部分依赖我们的部门来了解正在发生的事情。”Bridge 澄清道,“在制定关键决策时,这让我们在高层领导和整个集团的其他项目干系人中获得了信任。它的帮助超过了我们的内部努力,在寻求融资选择时,能够令人信服地证明我们的可持续性资质是至关重要的,尤其是在澳大利亚和新西兰。”

气候变化是人类面临的头号最大威胁。Downer 非常严肃地对待这一威胁,以及我们在预防这一威胁方面所扮演的角色。 Nathan Brogden 集团可持续发展经理 Downer Group
真实跟踪。真实结果。

IBM Envizi ESG Suite 正在帮助 Downer 实现其可持续性目标,一次一份报告。

“简化的应计和报告系统为我们节省了大量精力。”Brogden 指出,“与使用 Excel 相比,完成月度报告所需的站点和数据收集可能需要大约一半的时间。以前,我们需要几天的时间来输入数据,还需要另外几天的时间来整理记录、标准化处理数据并为不同的业务领域定制报告。借助 Envizi,只需按一下按钮即可。”

而且,这种简化的报告可直接转化为更高效、更富有成效的可持续性工作。“这确实有助于理解我们数据中的异常之处。”Brogden 补充道,“它为我们提供了整体数据健康状况的诊断,以及是否存在因报告错误而可能出现的任何差距或异常情况。我们可以将当前数据与审计历史记录进行比较,并更轻松地厘清状况。总的来说,我们可持续性数据的可信度有所提高。”

更准确的记录还有助于年度报告工作和相应审计的监管合规性,特别是在过渡时期。Brogden 解释说:“如果审计员询问我们为什么某个站点的温室气体排放增加,我们可以查看系统中的记录,并快速、透明地找出导致这一变化的根本原因。”

他继续补充道:“我们的下一个新领域是范围 3 排放报告。这将为我们提供有趣的机会,将我们在 Envizi 中拥有的数据与我们在运营层面从提供脱碳成果的部门(例如铁路部门)手中收集的数据关联起来。”

更好的是,所有这些努力都不会被忽视。正如 Brogden 所补充的那样:“它可以帮助我们赢得工作。我们现在发现,如果您没有 ESG 资质并且不专注于脱碳,那么与客户互动就会变得越来越困难。我认为可持续性是我们 Downer 的三大胜利主题,帮助我们在谈判桌上占有一席之地,特别是与我们经常合作的政府客户。”

Downer 徽标
关于 Downer Group

Downer(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 150 多年前,是一家集成服务提供商,专门从事交通、公用事业和设施管理。

该公司共雇用约 33,000 名员工,并维护着主要位于澳大利亚和新西兰的数百个项目和永久站点。

接下来:
探索 IBM Envizi Celestica

拥有广泛的国际制造基地组合的 Celestica 改变了 ESG 数据捕获和报告方式。

阅读成功案例
Melbourne Water

Melbourne Water 简化了其可持续发展报告,以创建单一的能源使用和 ESG 绩效记录系统。

阅读成功案例
Growthpoint Properties

满足项目干系人对主动披露范围 3 排放的要求。

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 12 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:http://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

There’s a lot of talk these days around sustainability across industries. And let’s say, for example, that the business where you work has launched—or is considering launching—a program to rein in its own carbon output. How can you be certain that such a plan will have an impact? Will your efforts be backed by rigorous scientific data? Or will they be powered by well-meaning wishes?

Considering questions like these while focusing on making a credible, demonstrable impact on the looming climate crisis, Downer Group—a provider of integrated services, specializing in transportation, utilities and facilities management—has made significant changes to how it runs its business.

“It was around 2008 that we really started to focus on our environmental sustainability,” recalls Ricky Bridge, Group General Manager of Environment, Sustainability and Reporting at Downer. “We realized that if we were going to be serious about our impact, we needed to make sure that our sustainability strategy wasn’t a secondary focus. It needed to be integrated with our overall business strategy.”

In fact, over the next 15 years, Downer revolutionized how it conducted business. Back in 2008, the company held a strong presence in the mining industry, with roughly 50% of its revenue coming from coal mining in particular. But now, Downer focuses on lower-capital, low-carbon-oriented service lines in transport, facilities and utilities.

And with this transition, Downer started capturing and tracking more data—particularly related to its production of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. However, these tracking efforts relied heavily on manual data collection and processing, which tied up staff and resources. “We used to say that we had the world’s largest Excel pivot table to manage our GHG emissions data,” adds Bridge. “That level of effort wasn’t sustainable, and we knew it.”

“There was a compliance piece as well that we had to consider,” notes Nathan Brogden, Group Sustainability Manager at Downer. “We have a regulatory requirement here in Australia—the National Greenhouse Energy Reporting Act—that directs us to gather up and report on relevant environmental data. But pulling together the right information from spreadsheets was clunky and required a lot of manipulation.”

So in 2017, Downer deployed a new platform to track its environmental, social and governance (ESG) efforts, an offering now known as the IBM® Envizi ESG Suite.

Tracks the GHG emissions and overall energy consumption of

> 300

sites via a centralized dashboard

Tracks performance for decarbonization targets, like a

> 50%

reduction by 2032 in operational (Scope 1 and 2) GHG emissions against a 2020 baseline

A data-driven approach

With the IBM Envizi ESG Suite in place, Downer began setting ambitious decarbonization targets—such as achieving net zero emissions by 2050 and lowering its operational GHG emissions by 2032 to less than 50% of its 2020 usage. The business relies on the IBM solution, in turn, to capture and manage the corresponding sustainability data—energy consumption, waste, GHG generated—needed to drive the global group towards these goals.

“With Envizi, we’re able to set a science-based target and actually track our performance against it,” notes Brogden. “We often see large organizational changes happen within Downer, and now we can account for those shifts in our tracking. We can reflect on the actual data—our baselines and our targets—and despite the changes, we can track our emissions reduction trajectory and get timely access to our current GHG emissions performance.”

With this more simplified, automated reporting structure, Downer also began accelerating the frequency of its reporting and tracking efforts, shifting to a live database approach. As Brogden explains: “We can design our reports in more of an agile fashion, linking different data sources from different business areas and supporting more ad hoc requests. And we can then funnel that information from our central data warehouse to different dashboards throughout the business.”

“Calculating greenhouse gas emissions is actually really complicated,” he continues. “Because you must consider a series of outside factors and apply them to the gathered consumption data. But Envizi helps us track and measure our carbon output rather easily. We can compile all the needed information into a sustainability report and clearly show the market—and any auditors—not only our output, but also the emissions accounting that supports these disclosures.”

Downer staff working in a control room

Operationalized sustainability

“Climate change is the number one, greatest threat to humanity,” notes Brogden. “And Downer takes this threat—and our part in preventing it—very seriously.” In fact, the business employs over 60 staff dedicated to its environmental efforts, with many of these workers entrenched in Downer’s various business units and project sites.

“Our company is very decentralized,” adds Brogden. “And each of our business areas have their own unique environment and sustainability touchpoints. So we allow the business units to chart their own paths as long as they’re meeting our broader organizational goals in terms of financial KPIs or emissions KPIs.”

This independence has guided the implementation of Downer’s decarbonization plan. Under which, the group has provided key themes that permeate across the business—for each business unit to identify and pursue the decarbonization strategies that align best with their unique business goals. And to help facilitate the creation and pursuit of these localized initiatives, Downer set up a group decarbonization fund in June 2022.

Two maintenance engineers standing next to a train

“Sometimes these reduction efforts might require relatively high, upfront costs,” explains Brogden. “At least, compared to what was already allocated in the traditional budgetary cycle. So they need group-level intervention to ensure that the organization’s decarbonization goals remain on track and the fund can provide the needed capital.”

To identify which areas will most likely yield significant emissions savings, the individual business units can use the IBM Envizi ESG Suite to isolate and identify consumption trends. As Brogden notes: “They can ask themselves, ‘What’s driving our emissions? What’s actually achievable from a technical perspective? What fuels are we using and how does that factor in?’”

Conversely, sustainability staff at the corporate level can use the IBM technology to evaluate funding requests, determining which programs will most likely help drive the group towards its long-term emissions reduction goals. Further, for those programs that are pursued, the shift to real-time tracking offered by the IBM Envizi ESG Suite helps to keep pressure on these reduction efforts to produce results.

“Robust data means other parts of the organization rely on our department to know what’s going on,” clarifies Bridge. “It gives us crediblity with senior leadership and other stakeholders across the group as key decisions are being made. And it helps beyond our internal efforts as being able to convincingly prove our sustainability credentials is critical—particularly in Australia and New Zealand —when pursuing financing options.”

Real tracking. Real results.

The IBM Envizi ESG Suite is helping Downer to reach its sustainability goals, one report at a time.

“The streamlined accrual and reporting systems save us a lot of effort,” notes Brogden. “It probably takes around half the time to complete the necessary site and data collection for our monthly reporting than it would with Excel. Before, we would need a couple of days for data entry, as well as another couple to pull the records together, standardize the data and customize the reporting for different business areas. With Envizi, it’s just the push of a button.”

And this streamlined reporting translates directly into more efficient and more productive sustainability efforts. “It really helps with understanding the anomalies in our data,” adds Brogden. “It provides us with a diagnostic of overall data health and if there are any gaps or oddities that might have arisen from a reporting error. We can compare current figures against the audit history and more easily figure out what’s going on. Altogether, we’ve seen an increase in the credibility of our sustainability data.”

The more accurate records also help with regulatory compliance surrounding annual reporting efforts and corresponding audits—particularly during periods of transition. “If an auditor asks us why there was an increase in GHG at one of our sites,” explains Brogden, “we can look through our records in the system and quickly and transparently isolate the root cause of that change.”

He continues, adding: “Our next frontier is Scope 3 emissions reporting. This will open up interesting opportunities to connect the data we have in Envizi with the data we are collecting at the operational level from divisions delivering decarbonization outcomes—such as our rail division.”

Even better, all of these efforts don’t go unnoticed. As Bridge adds: “It helps us win work. We now find that if you don’t have the ESG credentials and aren’t focused on decarbonization, it’s growing more difficult to engage with customers. I think sustainability is a top three win theme for us at Downer—it gets us a seat at the table, particularly with our government customers that we frequently work with.”

Downer logo

About Downer Group

Founded over 150 years ago, Downer (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a provider of integrated services, specializing in transportation, utilities and facilities management. Altogether, the company employs approximately 33,000 people and maintains hundreds of projects and permanent sites, predominately in Australia and New Zealand.



Solution component

IBM® Envizi ESG Suite

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in United States, December 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, and ibm.com are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at http://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.