实现世界一流的服务
在 DWP 实现云和 IT 转型
一位男士在办公室的笔记本电脑前工作

就业和养老金部 (DWP) 的使命是消除贫困的根源、改善儿童的生活机会并帮助人们实现经济独立,它为全英国 2000 多万人提供支持和指导。

对于其中许多公民来说,DWP 的服务对于帮助他们克服经济困难并让生活重回正轨至关重要。因此,DWP 的系统和流程必须足够健全,以确保养老金和福利能够正确、按时地发放给每位申请人,这一点至关重要。

为了确保其重要的国家基础设施能够满足现在和未来的需要,DWP 必须能够不断发展其系统和流程,以适应政府政策和社会需求。

该部门希望通过采用新方法,在灵活的公共和私有云基础设施中架构、配置和管理应用程序,从而提高敏捷性。

这种现代化的 IT 管理方法将使 DWP 有能力开发并提供真正世界一流的数字服务,以支持公民并加强英国经济。

节省用户时间

 

通过将每月重大事件减少 73%,节省了 100 万个用户工时

应用迁移

 

超过 60 个关键应用程序迁移到新的私有云

服务器迁移

 

1,500 多台服务器迁移至新的私有云

DWP 采用的做法有助于其改善 IT 服务管理、提高独立性并加快转型,以往可能需要数年才能实现的目标,用新方法几个月内即可完成。
移动关键基础设施

DWP 意识到,其转型需要分两个阶段进行。首先,它需要从多年来一直为其提供系统支持的第三方提供商手中重新获得对其 IT 资产的控制权。其次,该公司需要重新设计其 IT 管理流程,并培训其内部团队来推动变革,这一举措在内部被称为“世界级服务”。

作为第一步,DWP 团队决定委托 IBM® Consulting 来建立新的混合云架构,该架构将使 DWP 能够在高度安全的私有云环境中托管其最关键的系统和敏感数据,同时还可以在适当的时候利用公共云服务来提高敏捷性和成本效益。

利用 Crown Hosting Services 提供的设施,DWP 和 IBM 团队构建并配置了两个最先进的新数据中心,它们与 DWP 的现有数据中心相连,并经过全面测试,以确保高可用性和弹性。新的基础设施是完全虚拟化的,并配置为私有云,与以前主要在独立物理服务器上运行应用程序的模式相比,具有更大的灵活性。

基础架构就位后,团队开始使用 IBM 经过测试和验证的数据中心迁移方法,将 DWP 的关键应用程序迁移到新的数据中心。规模较大、较为复杂的应用系统是分批进行迁移的,而规模较小、关键性较低或风险较低的应用系统则是采用传送带方式逐个迁移的。

该团队在非常紧迫的时限内考虑了每个系统的独特需求,对应用程序进行了适当的虚拟化、重新部署、补救或替换,以提高性能和稳定性,同时降低基础设施成本。

该团队在十个月内快速交付了迁移计划,总共将 60 多个应用程序迁移到 1,500 台虚拟服务器上。新数据中心采用高度可扩展的私有云架构,并由四 PB 存储器提供支持,现在已具备在未来数年内支持 DWP 工作负载的能力。

推动变革

搬迁到新的数据中心,意味着 DWP 现在拥有了现代化基础设施,得以更好地控制其 IT 战略,但为了充分获益,该组织还需要重新设计其 IT 服务管理实践。因此,DWP 与 IBM 合作的第二阶段重点是分析流程、识别问题、培训 DWP 的内部 IT 团队以及制定框架来推动持续改进。

例如,一个关键目标是减少用户损失的时间,即受系统中断影响的员工人数乘以中断持续时间。该团队调查了造成中断的主要原因,确定了关键热点并引入了新的管理实践,例如,对所有变更进行技术和风险评估,创建更准确的模型来对事件的严重程度进行分类,并使用主动监控工具,在潜在问题造成真正破坏之前就发现并解决这些问题。

重要的是,DWP 团队应迅速掌握自行实施这些变革的技能,并在今后的环境管理中实现自行管理、自行解决问题。因此,IBM 团队的工作重点是使 DWP 能够规划和实施转型:提供方法和最佳实践范例、定义工作产品、创建未处理工作订单,并使 DWP 团队能够独立实施变革。所有的沟通都强调了这样一个事实,即 DWP 正在推动和控制整个工作计划,而且该行动计划的责任和成功的功劳都将归于参与其中的 DWP 团队。

DWP 将“世界级服务”视为一项持续改进的举措,而不是一次性计划。在与 IBM 的合作中,该部门采用了有助于其改善 IT 服务管理、提高独立性并加快转型,以往可能需要数年才能实现的目标,用新方法几个月内即可完成。

面向未来

如今,DWP 拥有完全适合未来的 IT 基础设施和一套 IT 管理实践。转型计划两个阶段的成功实施对 DWP 系统的稳定性产生了直接而深远的影响,进而显著提高了生产力。

例如,DWP 估计,自该计划启动以来,其 IT 领域的重大事件数量已减少了 73%。这样,用户工时损失率从 2% 降至 0.03%,提高了近两个数量级,为部门节省了 100 多万个用户工时。

此外,2019 年 5 月期间,DWP 实现了整月零生产中断的目标,这是一项前所未有的成果,这在以前的基础设施和支持流程中几乎是不可想象的。这不仅是 IT 团队的一项重要指标,而且还显示出 DWP 员工和他们所支持的公民的服务质量得到了切实改善。

通过亲自控制自己的 IT 资产,DWP 也摆脱了商业和技术限制的阻碍,更得心应手地推动变革。结果,重大变更的交付量增加了 600%,变更的成功率提高到 99.5% 以上。

最重要的是,转型计划以公民和用户为中心的方法意味着,DWP 不仅能更有效地利用公共资金,还能集中精力为最需要的人提供更高效、创新和方便用户的服务。结果,该计划获得 2020 年 MCA 奖(ibm.com 外部链接)的认可,赢得了“公共部门绩效改进”类别的荣誉奖项。

通过与 IBM 携手合作,DWP 已经牢牢掌控自身的 IT 命运,并通过建设关键国家基础设施,为未来发展奠定了坚实基础。该部门现在可以自由地改变其服务,以执行政府政策并满足公民在未来几年的需求。

就业和养老金部徽标
关于英国就业和养老金部 (DWP)

就业和养老金部(ibm.com 外部链接)是英国负责福利、养老金和儿童抚养政策的政府部门。它为大约 2000 万人管理和提供一系列工作年龄、残疾和疾病福利。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM 披露和禁止服务

通过基于云的敏捷公共服务交付改变客户体验

阅读 PDF
英国合作银行

英国合作银行搭建了一个独立的 IT 架构

阅读成功案例
国防部

国防部通过企业应用程序和分析解锁创新

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站  ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Enabling world-class service

Delivering cloud and IT transformation at the DWP
by Dan McBride and Rhodri Arrowsmith
10-minute read
Man working at his laptop at the office

In its mission to address the causes of poverty, improve children’s life chances and help people achieve financial independence, the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) provides support and guidance for over 20 million people throughout the UK.

For many of these citizens, the DWP’s services are vital to help them overcome financial difficulties and get their lives back on track. As a result, it’s critically important that the DWP’s systems and processes are robust enough to ensure that pensions and benefits are paid correctly and on time to each claimant.

To ensure that its critical national infrastructure remains fit for purpose now and in the future, the DWP must be able to evolve its systems and processes to align with government policy and the needs of society.

The department wanted to increase agility by adopting new methods of architecting, provisioning and managing applications in flexible public and private cloud infrastructures.

This modern approach to IT management would empower the DWP to develop and deliver truly world-class digital services to support citizens and strengthen the UK economy.

Group of professionals meeting and shaking hands

User-hours saved by reducing major incidents per month by 73%

1 million

Critical applications migrated to a new private cloud

60+

Servers migrated to a new private cloud

1,500+

The DWP has adopted practices that are helping it improve IT service management, increase independence and accelerate transformation — delivering in months what might have taken years without this new approach.

Moving critical infrastructure

The DWP realized that its transformation needed to happen in two stages. First, it needed to regain control of its IT estate from the third-party providers that had been supporting its systems for several years. Second, it needed to re-engineer its IT management processes and train its internal team to drive change — an initiative known internally as “World Class Service.”

As a first step, the DWP team decided to engage IBM Services® to establish a new hybrid cloud architecture that would enable the DWP to host its most critical systems and sensitive data in a security-rich private cloud environment, while also taking advantage of public cloud services where appropriate to increase agility and cost-efficiency.

Making use of facilities provided by Crown Hosting Services, the DWP and IBM team built and provisioned two new, state-of-the-art data centers, linked to the DWP’s existing data centers and fully tested to ensure high availability and resilience. The new infrastructure is fully virtualized and configured as a private cloud, providing much greater flexibility than the previous model, which mainly ran applications on separate physical servers.

Group of professionals meeting and shaking hands
Professional woman looking at documents

With the infrastructure in place, the team began migrating the DWP’s critical applications over to the new data centers, using IBM’s tested and demonstrable data center migration method. Larger and more complex sets of applications were migrated in a series of waves, while smaller, less critical or lower risk applications were moved one by one using a conveyor approach.

The team took the unique needs of each system into account against the challenging timescales, virtualizing, redeploying, remediating or replacing applications as appropriate to improve performance and stability while reducing infrastructure costs.

The team delivered the migration plan at a rapid pace over ten months, moving a total of more than 60 applications onto 1,500 virtual servers. With a highly scalable private cloud architecture supported by four petabytes of storage, the new data centers now have the capacity to support the DWP’s workloads for years to come.

Driving change

Moving to the new data centers meant that the DWP now had the modern infrastructure it needed to take greater control of its IT strategy — but in order to see the full benefits, the organization also needed to re-engineer its IT service management practices. Stage two of the DWP’s engagement with IBM therefore focused on analyzing processes, identifying issues, training the DWP’s internal IT team and putting a framework in place to drive continuous improvement.

For example, one key objective was to reduce the number of user hours lost — that is, the number of staff impacted by a system outage multiplied by the duration of the outage. The team looked into the major causes of disruption, identified the key hotspots and introduced new management practices — for example, performing technical and risk assessments for all changes, creating a more accurate model for classifying the severity of incidents and using proactive monitoring tools to help identify potential problems before they caused real disruption.

Young man sitting at his desk working on a desktop computer
Group of professionals meeting around a table

It was important that the DWP team should quickly gain the skills to implement these changes themselves and become self-sufficient in managing the environment going forward. The IBM team therefore focused on enabling the DWP to plan and execute the transformation: providing methodology and best practice examples, defining work products, creating a backlog and empowering the DWP teams to deliver change independently. All communications emphasized the fact that the DWP was driving and controlling the entire program of work, and that both responsibility for the initiative and credit for its success would go to the DWP teams involved.

The DWP sees World Class Service as an ongoing initiative of continuous improvement, not a one-off program. In its work with IBM, the department has adopted practices that are helping it to improve IT service management, increase independence and accelerate transformation — delivering in months what might have taken years without this new approach.

Fit for the future

Three professionals meeting around a table

Today, the DWP has both an IT infrastructure and a set of IT management practices that are fully fit for the future. The successful delivery of both phases of the transformation initiative has had an immediate and profound impact on the stability of the DWP’s systems, which in turn has enabled significant gains in productivity.

For example, the DWP estimates that since the start of the initiative, it has reduced the number of major incidents across its IT estate by 73%. This has reduced user hours lost from 2% to just 0.03%, an improvement of nearly two orders of magnitude that has already saved more than one million user hours for the department.

Furthermore, during May 2019, the DWP achieved its goal of a full month with zero production outages, an unprecedented achievement that would have been almost unthinkable with the previous infrastructure and support processes. This is not only an important metric for the IT team — it also demonstrates a real improvement in service quality for the DWP staff and the citizens they support.

By taking control of its own IT estate, the DWP has also freed itself from the commercial and technical constraints that had prevented it from driving change. As a result, it has seen a 600% increase in the delivery of significant changes, and the success rate for changes has increased to more than 99.5%.

Most importantly, the transformation initiative’s citizen- and user-centric approach means that not only is the DWP making much more effective use of public money, it is also able to focus on delivering more efficient, innovative and user-friendly service to the people who need it most. As a result, the initiative was recognized at the MCA Awards 2020External Link, earning a high commendation in the “Performance Improvement in the Public Sector” category.

Through collaboration and teamwork with IBM, the DWP has been able to take control of its own IT destiny and put its critical national infrastructure on a sound footing for the future. The department now has the freedom to transform its services to implement government policy and meet citizens’ needs in the years to come.

the Department for Work and Pensions logo

About the Department for Work and Pensions

The Department for Work and PensionsExternal Link is the UK government department responsible for welfare, pensions and child maintenance policy. It manages and delivers a range of working age, disability and ill health benefits to approximately 20 million people.

Solution components
the Department for Work and Pensions logo

About the Department for Work and Pensions

The Department for Work and PensionsExternal Link is the UK government department responsible for welfare, pensions and child maintenance policy. It manages and delivers a range of working age, disability and ill health benefits to approximately 20 million people.

Solution components